Smaller text size Reset text size Larger text size
skip navigation
Air Rail Highway Bike/Ped Public Transit


For Immediate Release
August 4, 2011
Christopher Waszczuk
Turnpikes Bureau Administrator
(603) 485-3806
Bill Boynton
Public Information Office
(603) 271-6495
E-ZPass Violation Enforcement Reciprocity Takes Effect
NH Signs Agreements With Massachusetts And Maine

The States of New Hampshire, Massachusetts and Maine have signed agreements that will enable each state to pursue out-of-state toll violators in the northern New England region through denial of vehicle registration renewal (New Hampshire and Massachusetts) or registration suspension (Maine).

The enforcement reciprocity agreements between the three states are the first of their kind in the nation. New Hampshire can request denial of registration renewal for Massachusetts residents or suspension of vehicle registrations for Maine residents based upon toll violations. New Hampshire residents with violations in Maine and Massachusetts will be subject to denial of registration renewal.

"The ability to treat all users equally on the New Hampshire Turnpike System is essential," said NHDOT Turnpikes Bureau Administrator Christopher Waszczuk. "This is not a huge problem. Only a small percentage of E-ZPass users refuse to pay. These reciprocity agreements will ensure fairness for all users of electronic tolling in all three states."

After the first year, the pilot enforcement reciprocity program can be extended for up to two years, or made permanent upon agreement by the three states.

New Hampshire Department of Transportation
PO Box 483 | 7 Hazen Drive | Concord, NH | 03302-0483
Tel: 603.271-3734 | Fax: 603.271.3914

copyright 2015. State of New Hampshire