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From the Commissioner’s Desk

The holiday season is again upon us with all the good
and bad that brings. On the good side are the gatherings
with family and friends, the exchanging of gifts with loved
ones and spreading good cheer with both friends and
strangers. On the bad list are shopping for those gifts,
preparing for end of year reports (many of them that go to
regulators!) and, for some of you, preparing renewal
applications.

We at the Banking Department hope that the good things
of the season will be yours and the extra duties of the
season are not too onerous.

Happy Holidays to all. We look forward to working with
you in the New Year.

New Personnel in the Banking Department

The department added three new staff members. Jo Lacoy is
joining the department as a new examiner in the Consumer Credit
Division. Rebecca Stone and Teresa Moulton have joined the
licensing section of the Consumer Credit Division.

BANKING DIVISION

Annual Reports

You have probably already received the annual report forms
from us. Once again we have revised the annual reporting
requirements to make them more efficient. We made some minor
changes to certain forms and removed portions of others. The
only major change was the removal of the detailed reporting
required of credit unions on their investments, allowance, and
capital accounts.

Please remember that original signatures are needed on all
forms that require a signature. All forms should be typewritten
originals, authenticated copies, or computer duplicates. All filings
need to be received by our office on or before January 30, 2005.
A statutory fine of $25 per day will be assessed for each day
delinquent.

If you have any questions do not hesitate to contact Chief Bank
Examiner Chuck O’Connor. All the state forms are available on
our website.

New State Chartered Entity

On October 25, 2004 the Bank Commissioner authorized State
Street Bank and Trust Company of New Hampshire, Nashua,
N.H. to open as a non-depository trust company.

Branch Applications

All FDIC insured institutions and Non Depository Trust
Companies chartered by the State of New Hampshire Banking
Department are required to comply with the requirements of
RSA 384-B:2 regarding branch applications. Compliance with
the statute includes completing the Branch Application form.
Applications must be typewritten, signed in ink and forwarded
to the Banking Department. A separate application form must be
filed for each location. All information provided must be certified
by an authorized officer.

The $1,500 fee for each branch must accompany the
application and be sent to the Department.

An exception exists for well-capitalized banks with a
composite rating of 1 or 2. These institutions may establish a
branch if the bank does not exceed 30 percent of the dollar
volume of the total deposits, time and savings, and demand of all
banks, national banks, and federal savings and loan associations
in the state (see RSA 384-B:2-e) by giving written notice to the
Bank Commissioner at least 30 days in advance of the opening
of the new branch and by paying the required $1,500 fee.

Applications may be downloaded from the Department’s web
site, by selecting Branch Application Instructions and Branch
Application Forms. Also, FDIC insured institutions may submit
their applications to the FDIC and send a copy of the submission
to the Banking Department.

The Department is working with the FDIC to become part of
the electronic submission process in place at the FDIC.

Account Information At-a-Glance

We send the form (NHBD-10) out in December and June.
Submission of the form is required by all state chartered depository
institutions by January 1% and July 1% of each year. BAN 705,
available on our website, is the governing regulation. In addition,
the form is required to be posted in the lobby of the institution’s
main office as well as all branches. The form is available on our
website and can be emailed to NHBD @banking.state.nh.us when
it is complete or you can mail it.

Interest on Escrow Accounts

We send out the form in December and June of each year to all
state chartered depository institutions. From the information received
we calculate the interest rate payable on escrow accounts for the next
six month period. RSA 384:16-c and RSA 384:16-e, available on our
website, are the governing laws. The form is available on our website
and can be emailed to NHBD @banking.state.nh.us when it is
complete or you can mail it in.




Bank Secrecy Act and Related Issues

Just a reminder to state chartered financial institutions, Bank
Secrecy Act (BSA) related issues are rising in importance and
resultantly in regulatory attention. We will provide tips on BSA
related compliance in this and coming issues of the Department’s
“Newsletter”. As a basis to ensuring BSA compliance, all
financial institution employees need a solid understanding of BSA
requirements and intent and select institution employees need a
thorough understanding of the entire BSA program. This thorough
understanding should cover all the requirements of the Bank
Secrecy Act, Office of Foreign Asset Control (OFAC), and the
USA Patriot Act.

This quarter’s newsletter will address some aspects of
Suspicious Activity Reporting (SAR).

All state-charted financial institutions that experience suspicious
activity are required to file SAR Form TD F 90-22.47 in its entirety
and forward a copy of all SAR’s to the NH Banking Department.

Front line employees should receive extensive training to
identify what constitutes suspicious activity. It is important to
understand that money laundering can involve multiple branches,
multiple persons, and multiple transactions and occur over
multiple days. Money laundering can involve customer
transactions, cash management, currency exchange, lending,
monetary instruments, safe deposit boxes and wire transfers. The
Department will be offering “Red Flags” for each of these areas
in this and upcoming newsletters.

SARs are required to be filed no later than 30 calendar days
from the date of initial detection of the suspicious activity. If no
suspect can be identified, the time period for filing is extended
to 60 days. Institutions should report continuing suspicious
activity at least every 90 days.

The narrative section of the report is the key. Narratives should
be carefully written so the described activity is clearly understood.
SAR'’s that do not specify the suspicious activity or fail to provide
an explanation as to what led the institution to become suspicious
are of minimal value to law enforcement and regulators.

Also remember, not to attach any supporting documents to the
SAR. Instead provide a detailed description of the documentation
in the narrative and retain the documentation for five years. When
forms are received at the IRS Detroit Computing Center (DCC),
only information in narrative format is keypunched, thus other
financial information is not included in the narrative.

Federal law prohibits the notification of any person that is
involved in the activity being reported on a SAR. In addition,
management is reminded that while SAR’s need to be reviewed
by an institution’s board of directors, identification of suspects
should be excluded from all board minutes.

Money Laundering Red Flags: Customer
Transactions

® Reluctance or withdrawal (all or a portion of) a transaction
after being informed that a CTR will be filed, or that the
purchase of a monetary instrument will be recorded.

® Reluctance or refusal to provide identifying information when
opening an account, cashing a check, recording the purchase
of a monetary instrument, or providing information for a CTR.

® Individuals or groups may attempt to avoid BSA requirements
by breaking up, or structuring a currency transaction or
purchase of monetary instruments in amounts less than
$10,000. May be conducted with multiple branches, tellers,

and accounts and/or on different days in an attempt to avoid
reporting requirements. Look for related, but non-reportable
transactions.

® Numerous transactions are conducted in even dollar amounts.
Money laundering and check kiting have very similar
characteristics.

e The financial institution may be asked to process internal debit
or credits containing minimal or no description in an attempt to
“separate” a transaction from its account and lose the paper trail.

® A large increase in the number of or amount of transactions
involving currency or non-cash items, the purchase of
monetary instruments, wire transfers, may indicate potential
money laundering.

® Transactions not consistent with the customer’s business or
income level.

® Multiple accounts with numerous deposits under $10,000.

® Numerous cash deposits under $10,000 in a short period of
time including deposits at the ATM.

® Accounts with high volume of activity, low balance or
frequently overdrawn.

® Accounts with large deposits and large balances with little or
no apparent justification.

® Deposits and the immediate request for wire transfers or cash
shipments.

® Numerous small incoming wires or monetary instruments
followed by a large outgoing wire.

® Account appears to be a temporary repository of funds that
will be transferred out of the financial institution. There is little
account activity.

® Funds deposited into several accounts, transferred to another
account and then transferred outside of the United States.

® Disbursements of certificates of deposit are made by multiple
checks, each under $10,000.

e C(Certificates of deposit are redeemed early.

® Inconsistent deposit and withdrawal activity by a customer
with a retail business account.

® Deposits of large amounts of currency, wrapped in currency
straps stamped by a financial institution.

® Large amounts of food stamps not consistent with the
customer’s legitimate business.

® A non-customer conducts or attempts to conduct transactions
such as currency exchanges, or the purchase or redemption of
monetary instruments for no apparent legitimate reason.

CONSUMER CREDIT

2005 Renewals

The renewal packets were sent out to all licensees on October 25.
The packets consisted of the two-page renewal form applicable to
whatever type of license is held by the licensee. If you hold both
a first mortgage and a second mortgage license, you will receive
two renewal forms in the same packet. The renewals must be
received at the Banking Department on or before December 1,
2004. The procedure has not changed from last year. Complete
the renewal form, making sure all of the information is correct.
If there are any branch offices being renewed, be sure to complete
the applicable section of the form. If you are paying for more than
one renewal for the same company, you may combine your
payment in one check payable to “State of New Hampshire.”




Remember, if your license was issued at any time during the
2004 year — even if only recently — it will expire on December 31,
2004 and must be renewed. There is no provision in our law that
enables us to issue an extended license when a license is issued
close to the expiration date.

You need not submit anything other than the renewal form(s)
and fee(s). All licensees who are required to have a surety bond
on file should have the continuous bond in effect at this time. This
matter was addressed last year. It is not necessary to submit a
renewal bond to this Department although you are required to pay
a renewal premium to your insurer.

Finally, please do not co-mingle applications for new branch
office licenses with the renewal applications. Remember also that
you do not have out-of-state branches licensed. Only those with
New Hampshire locations are licensed and renewed.

The renewal procedures are explained in the attachment to
your renewal forms. Please read it carefully, and you should be
able to find the answer to any questions you may have.

Annual Reports

On February 1, 2005, all licensees (except retail sellers and
mortgage servicers) must file an annual report of business
conducted in New Hampshire for any period of time that a license
was held during 2004. An annual report must be filed for each
type of license that your company holds. You will also report
information about the company such as its officers, directors and
owners and if it is an out-of-state company, the name and address
of the New Hampshire registered agent. Mortgage brokers and
bankers will have to report information about all mortgage
originators who worked for them during any period in 2004. It
is very important to include the end dates of their employment
if they no longer work for you because originators can only work
for one company at a time. The form is now on the website. It is
very important to file the report in a timely manner because it
must reach us on or before February 1, 2005. As in the past, a
statutory penalty of $25-per-day accrues for each day each report
is late, which can quickly become very expensive. Accuracy of
the information is imperative. The reason for the strictness of this
entire provision in the law is that the Bank Commissioner must
make a consolidated report of such information to the Governor
and Executive Council. Further, the accuracy of the information
is important because it will be used by this Department if
assessment calculations are needed.

If you were issued a 2004 license even for only a short period
of time prior to renewal, you are still required to file an annual
report even if no business was done. You can get detailed
information on how to complete the annual reports for 2004 in
addition to the form itself from our website at www.nh.gov/
banking/consumercredit.html.

Please note: The NH Banking Department annual report
filing is not to be confused with the annual report filing for
businesses registered with the NH Secretary of State’s office.
Their annual report is due on or before April 1. If you receive
a card in the mail reminding you to send an annual report, it will
more than likely be from the Secretary of State’s office, not the
Banking Department.

New Procedures for Background Checks

Effective October 15, a new procedure was instituted which
enables the Department to obtain a more comprehensive
background check on individuals associated with new applicants

or any person who is being appointed to a new position with an
existing licensee who would require a criminal background check
(individual owners, investors or beneficiaries of 10% or more;
each principal officer; manager (senior vice president or higher);
LLC member; partner in a partnership; director; trustee or NH
branch manager of the applicant.)

Previously, the NH Department of Safety Criminal Records
Division provided a service to agencies with licensing authority
to run background checks on their applicants at no charge. The
Department was notified that effective October 15, this free
service would no longer be provided. We are now part of a
compact which enables us to receive a background check in 21
other states in addition to New Hampshire. There is a charge of
$39 for each background check requested by us which must be
accompanied by the Department of Safety’s criminal background
release form and a fingerprint card.

This new requirement is only for those individuals referenced
in paragraph one above. The new form is posted on the
Department’s website and will be made part of each application
packet that will require it. You may make additional copies of the
form as needed. The check must be made payable to “State of
NH - Criminal Records” and submitted to this Department as
part of your application filing. You may combine fees for multiple
individuals into one check. Please do not make your check
payable to the Banking Department or incorporate it into your
other application fees. We will then submit the form(s) and fee(s)
to the Department of Safety.

You may have your fingerprints taken at your local police
or sheriff’s department. However, you must first obtain the
fingerprint cards from this Department. You may contact the
Licensing Department at 603-271-8675 or e-mail at
licensing@banking.state.nh.us. Indicate the number of cards
needed and the address where they should be sent and we will
send the cards out to you right away. These, of course, cannot be
made available through the website.

Please be aware that the Release Authorization form for this
criminal background check is not taking the place of the current
Banking Department Authorization/Release form but rather, is in
addition to it. Make sure that both forms are completed and
submitted as part of your application packet or filing to add or
change a new company principal or branch manager.

Although this new requirement may be viewed by some as
being burdensome, it is just one more step that is being taken to
protect your clients who are also the consumers of the State of
New Hampshire.

Pre-qualification and Pre-approval —
What is the difference?
By: Andrea J. Boudreau, Staff Attorney

A. What do the terms mean?

At a recent Mortgage Bankers Association seminar many of
the folks I spoke with had the recurring question “What is the
difference between pre-qualification and pre-approval?” Pre-
qualification describes an informal process where a loan officer
determines the maximum amount an individual is eligible to
borrow. Required information, such as income and debt are taken
verbally and are not independently verified. “Pre-qualification”
letters are issued solely for information purposes for the borrower
and they are not binding.

When a lender offers a “pre-approval” they are offering a more
formal process in which the lender verifies some of the information
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the borrower provides. Often the borrower will be asked to
provide documentation to substantiate their verbal statements
(such as pay stubs, W-2s, etc). Pre-approvals usually allow the
borrower to convert the pre-approval to an application with less
additional work. In some cases, it may be converted to an
application by simply identifying the subject property.

B. Who can issue ‘“pre-qualification” and “pre-
approval” letters?

Common sense dictates that a broker may be able to help a
borrower determine the maximum amount that they could
borrow and issue a “pre-qualification” letter. The broker has a
general knowledge on what types of programs the lender he or
she works with offers, and what the qualifications are. Further,
prequalification letters are non-binding and do not carry as
much weight in the industry as “pre-approval” letters. Because
“pre-approval” is a more formal process it would be necessary
to have the lender issue the “pre-approval” letter.

Privacy Laws — Is your business
in compliance?
By: Andrea J. Boudreau, Staff Attorney

The Federal Trade Commission (FTC) promulgated
“Standards for Safeguarding Customer Information” (16 CFR 314).

These rules implement sections 501 and 505(b)(2) of the
Gramm-Leach Bliley Act. These rules apply to all financial
institutions over which the FTC has jurisdiction. For the NHBD
Consumer Credit Division that is all of our licensees.

In general, each company must have a written information
security program that is readily accessible and contains
administrative, technical and physical safeguards that are
appropriate to the size and complexity of your business. Please
review the rules for specifics.

The rules became effective May 23, 2003. At this point all
companies should be in compliance with these regulations. If
you are not familiar with these regulations they are available on
the web. Type “16 CFR 314” into www.google.com and you
should find multiple copies of the regulation. Lastly, if you can
not locate the regulations you may contact NHBD for assistance.
Other helpful resources: National Automobile Dealers
Associations publication “A Dealer Guide to Safeguarding
Customer Information”. NADA sends a free copy of their
publications to every member and additional copies are
available at a reasonable cost by contacting them at 1-800-252
NADA ext. 2 or www.nada.org/mecatelog. For mortgage
bankers and brokers a good source is the Mortgage Banking
Magazine’s article “The FTC’s Information Safeguard Rule”
(February 2003).
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