New Hampshire Banking Department
New Hampshire Banking Department banner
New Hampshire Banking Department - an official New Hampshire Government website
Smaller text size Reset text size Larger text size

News and Events
Request for Proposals
January 21, 2020


State Banking Commissioner Gerald H. Little and the PDIP Advisory Committee, on behalf of the Pool, are seeking competitive proposals from qualified providers to provide investment advisory and investment management services to the Pool. Deadline for final submission of proposals is Friday, February 21, 2020 at 3:00 p.m. EST. Late submissions will not be accepted. The Commissioner and the Committee anticipate the contract will be awarded in April. The contract would commence on June 22, 2020, for a period of up to five years.

The RFP may be found at:

Examination Per Diem Fee Change
October 1, 2019

Pursuant to state law and the Department's policy and procedure, the per diem fee for all state-chartered banks, credit unions, trust companies, and family trust companies has been calculated to be $1,102. Similarly, the per diem fee for all entities licensed under consumer credit laws has been calculated to be $939. This new per diem fee will be charged for all examinations commencing after today's date.


View Chartered Entity Memorandum and Licensed Entity Memorandum.

Interest Payable on Escrow Accounts Announced
August 1, 2019

The escrow rate for the period August 1, 2019 through January 31, 2020 is 0.00%.


Pursuant to NH RSA 383-B:3-303(a)(7)(E), Gerald H. Little,

Bank Commissioner, announced the minimum interest rate payable on moneys on deposit in escrow accounts maintained for the payment of taxes or insurance premiums related to loans on property secured by real estate mortgages.


Said rate shall be 0.00% and shall be effective commencing August 1, 2019 and shall remain in effect until the next rate announcement on February 1, 2020.

Consumer Credit Division Accreditation
July 29, 2019

The New Hampshire Banking Department’s Consumer Credit Division (CCD) has received reaccreditation by the Conference of State Bank Supervisors (CSBS) and the American Association of Residential Mortgage Regulators (AARMR). The CSBS/AAMR Mortgage Accreditation Program identifies agencies that serve the citizens of their State by demonstrating the adoption and use of professionally implemented best practices to protect consumers while maintaining a fair and competitive mortgage services market.

“CCD director Raeleen Schutte and her staff went through a rigorous survey and examination process that tested not just historical performance but proper planning for guiding this ever-changing industry. This accreditation was hard-earned,”, said Bank Commissioner Jerry Little. “Director Schutte has built the Consumer Credit Division into a strong and effective as well as compassionate team and we are all very proud to see their hard work recognized by this highly-regarding national accreditation program.”

Changes to Trust Company Annual Report Requirements
July 26, 2019
On July 10, 2019, Governor Sununu signed NH House Bill 474 and House Bill 450. These bills included important elements affecting trust companies and family trust companies. All New Hampshire chartered trust companies and family trust companies are encouraged to review the bills as many sections have already taken effect. View Department Notice.
Settlement with CashCall, Inc., et al.
July 22, 2019
Bank Commissioner Gerald Little announces that the Banking Department has entered into a consent order with Respondents CashCall, Inc., WS Funding, LLC and the President and CEO of CashCall, Inc. and WS Funding, LLC, John Paul Reddam. View Press Release and Consent Order.

For additional information please visit
Examination Per Diem Rate Increase - Effective Immediately
March 15, 2019

Pursuant to state law and the Department's Per Diem Calculation Policy and Procedure, the per diem rate for all state-chartered banks, credit unions, trust companies, and family trust companies has been calculated to be $1,098. Similarly, the per diem rate for all entities licensed under consumer credit laws has been calculated to be $925. This new per diem rate will be charged for all examinations commencing after today's date.


View Chartered Entity Memorandum and Licensed Entity Memorandum.

Responding to Impacts of the Partial Shutdown of Federal Government
January 10, 2019

The New Hampshire Banking Department encourages banks, credit unions, and licensed mortgage lenders to work constructively and prudently with federal employees and other consumers experiencing financial difficulties beyond their control because of the partial shutdown of the federal government. View Banking's Press Release


Federal regulators respond to the partial government shutdown. View the Federal Press Release

Guidance on Senate Bill 91

August 6, 2018
The Department issued Bulletin NHBD 2018-01 to provide guidance on Senate Bill 91, which amends RSA 399-A:19, II-III, effective August 7, 2018. Senate Bill 91 addresses title loan renewals. View Bulletin NHBD 2018-01 Adobe Acrobat Reader symbol
Consumer Complaint/Inquiry Process Update
August 2, 2018

Senate Bill 92, a bill relative to the processing of consumer complaints or inquiries regarding New Hampshire chartered and licensed entities, was signed by Governor Sununu on June 8, 2018, and takes effect on August 7, 2018. View the Commissioner's letter regarding SB 92 Adobe Acrobat Reader symbol

View the text of SB 92

Department Joins Multi-State Settlement with PHH Mortgage Corporation
January 3, 2018

The New Hampshire Banking Department joined financial regulators from 46 other states today to announce a legal settlement with PHH Mortgage Corporation (NMLS #2726). The settlement will assist borrowers harmed by substandard mortgage servicing practices conducted by PHH Mortgage between 2009 and 2012. These deficiencies were identified during a multi-state examination of the company. View the Department's press release Adobe Acrobat Reader symbol 

"Cryptocurrency” Transmitters No Longer Supervised
August 1, 2017

Starting August 1, 2017, money transmitters dealing solely in cryptocurrencies like Bitcoin are not required to be licensed by the Banking Department.

More information on Cryptocurrency Transmitters.Adobe Acrobat Reader symbol

Certified Public Manager Graduates
July 5, 2017

Congratulations to NHBD's Director of Operations, Dawn Allen and Licensing Supervisor, Nancy Burke, both recent graduates of the Certified Public Manager Program, a nationally accredited program designed to improve the performance of public sector managers and the organizational performance of the state.

Deputy Commissioner announced at Banking Department
April 24, 2017
April 20, 2017
The U.S. Consumer Financial Protection Bureau has announced legal action against Ocwen Financial Corporation and its subsidiaries alleging gross misconduct in the servicing of millions of home mortgages nationwide. Ocwen services many thousands of home loans for New Hampshire consumers. For more information about this action and how it might affect you or your Ocwen-serviced loan, visit the CFPB website or call the New Hampshire Banking Department at 1-800-437-5991. For general information on mortgage servicers visit the Federal Trade Commission.

Adobe Acrobat Reader Symbol Adobe Acrobat Reader format. You can download a free reader from Adobe.

Banking Department
53 Regional Drive  |  Suite 200  |  Concord, NH 03301
(603) 271-3561  |  fax: (603) 271-1090 or (603) 271-0750