STATE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES
OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL LICENSING
BOARD OF ACUPUNCTURE LICENSING
121 SOUTH FRUIT STREET,
CONCORD, NH 03301
603-271-9254 FAX: 603-271-6702 TDD Access: 1-800-735-2964

Nicholas A. Toumpas
Commissioner

Stephen J. Mosher
Chief Financial Officer

Dear Applicant:

Thank you for your interest in practicing acupuncture in New Hampshire. This packet contains
all of the materials you need to complete your application for licensure.

Acupuncture Laws and Requlations

RSA328-G and Acp 100-600, the legal statute and administrative rules which govern the
licensing and practice of acupuncture in New Hampshire, can be found on our website:
www.nh.gov/acupuncture/lawsandrules.htm
You may also contact our office at the above address and telephone to purchase a paper copy.

Requirements for Licensure

Before applying for an acupuncture license, you should determine that you meet the
gualifications. Section RSA 328-G: 9, Il spells out the requirements for licensure. The requirements
are as follows:

The applicant must:

e be at least 21 years old;

e have current, active NCCAOM Certification in Acupuncture or Oriental Medicine through
examination or Credentials Documentation Review;

e prove completion of a NCCAOM approved Clean Needle Technique course;

e be of good moral character;

e hold a baccalaureate or higher degree, RN degree or PA degree from an accredited institution or
meet the waiver requirements spelled out in the “Request for Waiver of Undergraduate Degree
Requirement” form (enclosed);

e have completed one of the following: a post-secondary US acupuncture college program which
was ACAOM approved or in candidacy on the date the applicant graduated; or have completed
acupuncture education that was approved by the NCCAOM in earning the applicant’s
Certification in Acupuncture or Oriental Medicine; or meet the waiver requirements (download or
request a separate Waiver of Standard Acupuncture Education form if needed); and

e pay the required fees and file the official application for licensure with the Board.

General Guidelines for License Application

Read through the application carefully. Please note that since there are different paths leading to
licensure some sections of the application will apply to you and some won’t. Be sure to mark the
sections that do not apply to you with “N/A” (not applicable) since applications that are
incomplete will be returned to the applicant. Also, be sure to send back all additional forms which
apply, including the completed check-off list. Lastly, enclose your check or money order for the
application/license fee.


http://www.nh.gov/acupuncture/lawsandrules.htm

Timetable for Action on Applications

Your application for licensure will be considered on file with the Board on the date when the
Board has received a fully completed application form including all supporting documentation, and
the check sent with the application has been deposited and cleared.

From the file date (described above), the Board must act on your application within 120 days. If
the Board should require additional information or documentation to clarify your application or
materials related to your application, the Board will request it within 60 days of the file date. When
additional information is received, the Board will again have up to 120 days to act on your
application.

Approval or Denial of Licensure

If your application is approved, you will be issued a license, which will expire two years from the
date of issue.

If your application is denied, you will have an opportunity to request a hearing for
reconsideration on the deficiency issues identified by the Board. You must file such a request within
30 days of the Board’s notification of denial. In the case of a denial, your application/licensure fee,
minus the $75 nonrefundable portion, will be refunded.

If you have any questions regarding these instructions, please call (603) 271-9254 or write to the
address above.

Although this letter outlines the statutory timetable limitations by which the board must operate,
the board generally meets quarterly, and applications will be reviewed at each meeting. The Board
will review your application at the first meeting that occurs after your application is completed and on
file. It is your responsibility to make sure that all supporting materials are on file. Please feel free to
call our office to ask if materials have arrived, although it is up to you to follow up with schools,
agencies etc. to have these materials mailed on time.

Sincerely,

New Hampshire Board of Acupuncture Licensing
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State of New Hampshire
Department of Health and Human Services
Office of Professional Licensing
Board of Acupuncture Licensing
121 South Fruit Street
Concord, NH 03301-3857
(603) 271-9254

Application for Licensure

Instructions: All applicants for licensure are required to fill out this application. Please type or print clearly in black ink and complete
all of the questions. Incomplete and illegible applications will be returned to the applicant. If a question does not apply to you, write
"N/A" in the space. If you are unable to supply any information that is required, state the reason for failing to supply the information.
Attach additional sheets of 8.5" by 11" paper if there is insufficient space to answer a question. Make a copy of your completed
application for your own records. Return the application to the address above along with all other required materials and a check or
money order for $110.00 payable to “Treasurer, State of NH.” This includes a $75.00 nonrefundable application fee.

1. Legal Name:

Last First Middle

2. Name as it is written in Chinese, Korean or other Foreign Language (this is required of applicants who submit documents with their
names written in a foreign language)

Last First Middle

3. Other names you have been known by or are known by (this is required of applicants who submit documents with other than their
legal name). Please state the reason for any name change.

Last First Middle
Reason for change:
4. Date of Birth 5. Social Security Number . 6. Gender: Male Female
Month Day Year
7. Address:
Street, PO Box, Apt # City/Town State Zip Code
Mailing
8. Address:
Street, PO Box, Apt # City/Town State Zip Code
Business
9. Address:
Street, PO Box, Apt # City/Town State Zip Code

(if you do not yet have a business address, you must later inform the board within 30 days after starting at a business address)

Other Bus.
Addresses:
Street, PO Box, Apt # City/Town State Zip Code
10. Telephone Numbers Home: Business(es)
11. Email:

12. In the box to the right please staple one 2” x 2
passport quality photograph taken within 90 days
of the date on the application. Write or type your
name on the back of the photograph.
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13. Undergraduate Education. YOU MUST CHECK ONE OF THE FOLLOWING THREE OPTIONS:

|:| A. | received an undergraduate or higher degree, or a RN, or PA degree from WITHIN the United States.
(Fill in the information requested below the dotted line.)

NOTE: This information must be supported by the following documentation:

o  Official transcripts sent directly from the college or university which granted the undergraduate degree; or
e Your ariginal diploma (which will be photocopied and returned to you after Board review).

|:| B. I received an undergraduate (baccalaureate, bachelor) or higher degree, or a RN or PA degree from OUTSIDE
the United States, from an institution that is approved by the government of that country. (Fill in the information
requested below the dotted line.)

NOTE: This information must be supported by the following documentation:
e Transcripts in English sent directly from the foreign institutions showing courses completed, dates
attended, and type of diploma awarded. You may not send copies of transcripts to us yourself.
|:| C. 1 did not complete an undergraduate degree and | am applying for a waiver of the undergraduate degree
requirement.

NOTE: You are required to submit a completed “Request for Waiver of Undergraduate Degree Requirement” form
(which is included in the application packet) and all required supporting documentation for the waiver.

List below all the colleges or universities you attended, even if you did not graduate. (Attach additional sheets as necessary.)

Name of school

Complete mailing address

Dates attended (from/to) Degree awarded? yes no

If yes, what degree?

Name of school

Complete mailing address

Dates attended (from/to) Degree awarded? yes no

If yes, what degree?

14. Acupuncture Education. The standard education requirement for licensure in NH is successful completion of a post-secondary
US acupuncture college program that was ACAOM accredited or in candidacy status for accreditation on the date you graduated.
However, if your acupuncture education was: received at a US school that was not ACAOM accredited or in candidacy status on
the date you graduated or from any foreign school or if you received your acupuncture education in an apprenticeship, you may
still qualify if your acupuncture education was approved by the NCCAOM in earning your Certification in Acupuncture or
Oriental Medicine. A waiver route exists, but as all applicants are required to have NCCAOM certification by NH law, it should
not be necessary.

YOU MUST CHECK ONE OF THE FOLLOWING FOUR OPTIONS

|:| A. | received my acupuncture education from a post-secondary US acupuncture college program that was ACAOM
accredited or in candidacy status for accreditation on the date | graduated. (If you have any question about the
accreditation status of your school at the time you graduated, call your school or check acaom.org for clarification.)

Fill in the information below on all acupuncture schools attended. NOTE: You must arrange to have original transcripts
from each acupuncture school attended sent directly to the Board.

|:| B. I received my acupuncture education from
|:| 1. a US school that was not ACAOM accredited or

|:| 2. from a foreign school outside the US.

My education has been evaluated and approved by NCCAOM in earning my Certification in Acupuncture or
Oriental Medicine.
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Fill in the information below on all acupuncture schools attended. NOTE: You must arrange to have original transcripts
from each acupuncture school attended sent directly to the Board.

|:| C. I received my acupuncture education in an apprenticeship. My education has been evaluated and approved by
NCCAOM in earning my Certification in Acupuncture or Oriental Medicine.

You must complete Apprenticeship section below and send all documentation required below. The board still needs to see
your apprenticeship details, although you may simply ask NCCAOM to send us the documentation of your apprenticeship

|:| D. I am applying for a waiver of the Acupuncture education requirement, as | do not fall into the above categories. |
understand that | cannot become licensed in NH if I am not certified in at least Acupuncture by NCCAOM.

NOTE: You are required to submit a completed “Request for Waiver of the Standard Acupuncture Education
Requirement” form (which you may download from our website or request mailed to you).

EDUCATION 14.A,B,D
For all types of education you must list below the acupuncture school(s) you attended. (Attach extra sheets as necessary).

Name of school

Complete mailing address

Dates attended (from/to) Date of graduation

Degree, certificate, diploma, etc. awarded:

Name of school

Complete mailing address

Dates attended (from/to) Date of graduation

Degree, certificate, diploma, etc. awarded:

APPRENTICESHIP 14.C
In order for education to qualify based on apprenticeship, the following conditions, as stated in the Administrative Rules of the New
Hampshire Board of Acupuncture Licensing, Acp 302.05 (b) (1), must be met.

If the applicant has received his or her training through an apprenticeship program, that program, as verified by appropriate
documentation, shall:

a. Conform to all NCCAOM apprenticeship program standards, pursuant to RSA 328-G:9,11 (g); and
b. Provide a balance of clinical training and didactic instruction that parallels the ACAOM core curriculum, including:

A basic history of acupuncture;

Basic oriental medical theory;

Point location;

Diagnostic skills;

Treatment planning;

Treatment technique;

Specialized treatment patterns and point combinations;
Emergency first aid treatment;

Equipment and safety in practice techniques; and
Ethics and human service skills.

CLoOoN>AR~WDNE

[y

If you feel that the apprenticeship program under which you studied meets these criteria, please, describe it on a separate
sheet of paper attached marked “14.D Apprenticeship.” You will need supporting documentation for this claim. The simplest
form of documentation would be a copy, sent directly from the NCCAOM, of all materials that you filed with the NCCAOM in order
to sit for the certification examination. It is your further responsibility to make sure that material meets all of the above criteria. If it
does not specify the content of what you studied as spelled out in b. above, you will need to provide further documentation such as a
sworn statement from your preceptor as to the content of your acupuncture curriculum.
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15.

16.

17.

18.

(A) List other states and countries in which you are currently licensed, or otherwise allowed to practice acupuncture. NOTE:
You must send an “Out of State Verification of Acupuncture Licensure” form (enclosed) to each state in which you are
currently licensed. Each state must return the form directly to the NH Board of Acupuncture Licensing.

State or Country License No. Issue Date Expiration Date

(B) List all states in which you have been licensed to practice acupuncture in the past.

State or Country License No. Issue Date Expiration Date

(C) List other states and countries in which you are or were licensed, registered or otherwise allowed to practice a healing art
other than acupuncture, such as nursing, medicine, chiropractic, dentistry, etc.

Type of Profession State or Country License No. Issue Date Expiration Date

NCCAOM Certification:

Date of initial certification:

Date current certification expires:

Current certification is for: Acupuncture only Acupuncture & Herbal Medicine Oriental Medicine

NOTE: NCCAOM certification in at least Acupuncture is a requirement for licensure. Verification of certification must be sent
directly from the NCCAOM. Use the “NCCAOM Certification Verification” form (enclosed).

Clean Needle Technique Practical Course:
Have you taken and passed the CNT practical exam? __ (YES) __ (NO)

NOTE: Successful completion of the CNT practical course is a requirement for NH licensure and must be verified directly from the
NCCAOM or the CCAOM. The NCCAOM can verify completion of the CNT for its diplomates since it is a requirement of
certification. For most applicants the NCCAOM Certification Verification form (enclosed) will be sufficient, however if you were
certified through Credentials Documentation Review (CDR), you may not have taken the CNT practical course. In such a case, you
must contact the council of Colleges of Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine at (301) 608-9175 to arrange to take the CNT course and
exam. After completion of the CNT, request the CCAOM to send verification of completion directly to the NH Board of Acupuncture
Licensing.

Moral Character Statement:

List below the names, addresses, and telephone numbers of three people, not related to you, who have known you for at least three
years and who will attest to your moral character. One of the three must be an actively licensed acupuncturist.

Name Phone Number
Address
Name Phone Number
Address
Name Phone Number
Address

NOTE: Send a “Moral Character Statement” form (enclosed) to each person listed above and have him/her return it directly

to the Board.
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19. Check “yes” or “no” to questions A through H below. Any “yes” response must be fully explained by written statement on

separate sheets of paper as needed, signed, and dated, and enclosed with your application. Make sure that you describe the

circumstances and your role completely, and include place, dates involved, a detailed description of the issue, and how it was or is

being resolved. Attach additional 8.5" by 11" sheets as necessary to describe other incidents or to provide further information.
NOTE: A “yes” answer does not automatically constitute grounds for denying a license, but it is essential that the circumstances
be explained truthfully and in detail.

A. Has any malpractice claim ever been made against you, regardless of whether a lawsuit was filed in relation to the claim?
__Yes ___No

B. Have you ever been denied an acupuncture license/certificate/registration anywhere for any reason? __Yes __ No
C. Have you had employment or appointment in a hospital, clinic or other health care facility suspended, or resigned from a health
care facility in lieu of being subject to a disciplinary action? ___Yes __ No

D. Are any formal disciplinary charges pending or has any disciplinary action been taken against you by any acupuncture or
medical board, any health care facility, or any professional acupuncture association, whether international, national, state or local?
__Yes ___No

E. Have you ever voluntarily surrendered a license to practice acupuncture or other healing art in lieu of facing disciplinary action?
___Yes ___No

F. Have you, at any time, been convicted of a crime involving violence, abuse, fraud, dishonesty, or drugs? __Yes ___No
G. Have you had a professional license in a field other than acupuncture that has been revoked, suspended or otherwise
terminated on disciplinary grounds, or are there any disciplinary actions currently pending against you in relation to any
professional license you hold or have held? __Yes ___No

H. Have you had an emotional disturbance or mental illness, an organic illness, or an addictive disorder that impaired your
ability to practice acupuncture or to function as an acupuncture student? (If so, describe treatment and outcome of treatment.)
__Yes ___No

20. Statement of applicant

I hereby certify that all statements made in this application and all information and documentation submitted in connection
with this application are, to the best of my knowledge, true, accurate, complete, and unaltered. | understand that misstatements
and omissions of material facts may be cause for denial of this application, or for suspension or revocation of a license, or other
appropriate disciplinary action.

In the case that my application is approved and an acupuncture license is issued to me, | hereby agree to comply with all
statutes, rules, and regulations pertaining to the practice of acupuncture in New Hampshire. | understand that this includes the
requirement to use only sterile disposable one-use needles, and to use Clean Needle Technique. | understand that I must follow the
NH code of ethics for acupuncturists and the NCCAOM code of ethics for acupuncturists.

Signature Date
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NCCAOM CERTIFICATION VERIFICATION

ATTENTION APPLICANT: Complete the top portion of this form and send it, along with a check or money order
(payable to NCCAOM) for their current fee to:

National Certification Commission for Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine
76 South Laura Street, Suite 1290

Jacksonville, FL 32202

P: (904) 598-1005 F: (904) 598-5001 www.nccaom.org

NCCAOM also has its own online form you may print and either mail or fax with credit card for Certification Verification.
Be sure to use the correct NH Board of Acupuncture Licensing address below, and request a verification report be sent
only after final Certification is complete, not merely after examination is passed.

TYPE OR PRINT CLEARLY:

Name Telephone number

Address

| authorize the NCCAOM to release to the New Hampshire Board of Acupuncture Licensing all information requested
below.

Applicant’s Signature Date

(do not detach)

ATTENTION NCCAOM: Please complete this form or attach your own form containing the information below,
and mail it directly to:
State of New Hampshire
Department of Health & Human Services
Office of Professional Licensing
Board of Acupuncture Licensing
121 South Fruil Street
Concord, NH 03301

(Name) (Title)
of the NCCAOM, attest to the following information regarding the above named acupuncturist:

Date of Initial Certification: Date current certification expires:

Acupuncture certification by:  [_] Exam [ ]CDR
Certification is for: [ ] Acupuncture only [] Acupuncture & Chinese Herbology [_] Oriental Medicine

CNT Practical Course completed? D Yes D No Date of completion:

(Affix Seal)

Signature Date
rev 3/27/14
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OUT OF STATE VERIFICATION OF ACUPUNCTURE LICENSURE

TO APPLICANT: You are required to send this form to each state in which you are currently licensed or registered to
practice acupuncture. We suggest that you contact the state to find out the fee you will be charged for this service before
you send the form. Make copies of this form if you are licensed in more than one state. Complete the portion of this
form above the dotted line. Leave the rest of the form blank. Do not detach.

| authorize the release of any information in your files, favorable or otherwise, directly to the New Hampshire Board of
Acupuncture Licensing.

Signature: License Number

Name:

Address:

(Do not detach)

TO STATE ACUPUNCTURE OR MEDICAL LICENSING BOARD: Please provide the information requested
below and return this form directly to address below. If you print your own report form, be sure it contains all
information requested below, or application will be considered incomplete.

New Hampshire Board of Acupuncture Licensing
Department of Health & Human Services

Office of Professional Licensing

121 South Fruit Street

Concord, NH 03301

State of:

Full name of licensee:

Type of license: License Number:

Issue date: / / Expiration date: / / Is license currently active? __ Yes__ No
(1) Has license been suspended or revoked? ~ If “yes”, why?

(2) Has licensee ever been on probation?  If “yes”, why?

(3) Is the license currently in good standing?  If “no”, please explain.

(4) Any additional comments or information?

Signed:

(Affix Seal) Title:

Date:
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REQUEST FOR WAIVER OF UNDERGRADUATE DEGREE REQUIREMENT

Please sign the following statement:

requirements of NH RSA 328-G.

Signed:

, have a current, valid acupuncture license from the state of

whose requirements for licensure are substantively equal to or exceed the

Date:

NOTE: The above information must be verified directly from the state involved on an “Out of State Verification of

Acupuncture Licensure” form.

An applicant applying for a waiver of the degree requirement must prove an accumulation of at least 40 points in

one or more of the following categories:

e Two points for each 3 credit hours at an accredited post-secondary institution, verified by original transcripts from all

colleges attended,;

o Five points for each year the applicant has held a valid acupuncture license in another state, verified directly from the

state or states involved;

o Five points for each semester of teaching acupuncture or acting as a clinical supervisor in an acupuncture school
which is ACAOM accredited or in candidacy, verified by documentation directly from those schools.

Fill in the appropriate information. (Attach additional sheets as necessary.)

[] College Credits: List colleges attended below:

Name:

Address:

Dates attended: Number of credit hours:

# credit hours divided by 3= X 2= Total points accumulated
[] Acupuncture Licensure:

Name of State: Dates of licensure:

# of years licensed X 5= Total points accumulated

[] Teaching or Supervising:

Name of school:

Position held:

Dates:

Number of semesters:

# of semesters teaching or supervising

X b= Total points accumulated

GRAND TOTAL from college credits

+ licensure + teaching =

NOTE: The applicant is required to arrange for all supporting documentation to be sent directly to the New Hampshire

Board of Acupuncture Licensing.
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Moral Character Statement

ATTENTION APPLICANT: A copy of this form should be given to three persons other than a relative who have known
you for a minimum of three years (at least one of whom must be an actively licensed acupuncturist).

R o R R R R R R R R R R S R R S R R S R R R S R R S R e

Please type or print clearly:

I, , have

known for

a period of years and know him or her to be of good moral character. |am not an

actively licensed acupuncturist. My license is held in the state of

Additional Remarks (optional):

Signature Date

Address

ATTENTION APPLICANT’S CHARACTER REFERENCE: Please return this completed statement directly to:

State of New Hampshire
Department of Health & Human Services
Office of Professional Licening
Board of Acupuncture Licensing
121 South Fruit Street
Concord, NH 03301
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CHECK OFF LIST

ATTENTION APPLICANT: Fill out both sides of this form and return it with your application.
Make a copy of the check off list for your own records in case you need to re-contact any parties regarding your
application documentation.

| have enclosed the following:

Completed Check Off List
Completed application with photo attached at Question 10.

Check or money order for $110.00 made payable to: “Treasurer, State of New Hampshire” $75.00 of which is a
nonrefundable application fee.

A stamped, self-addressed business envelope.

_____Original college diploma _____Not Applicable (N/A)
Note: You may send an original diploma or request original transcripts sent directly from the degree granting
undergraduate institution. If you choose to send an original diploma, please include a self-addressed envelope
of the proper large size for return of the document OR indicate that you would prefer to arrange to pick up this
document and it will be held in your file until you make such an arrangement.

Waiver forms if necessary:
Request for Waiver of Undergraduate Degree Requirement N/A
Request for Waiver of the Standard Acupuncture Education Requirement N/A

I HAVE REQUESTED THAT THE FOLLOWING DOCUMENTATION BE SENT DIRECTLY TO THE NH BOARD OF
ACUPUNCTURE LICENSING:

We cannot accept transcripts issued to student, do not include these with your application.

The following items are required of all applicants and must be sent directly from that institution or person:

Original transcripts from all acupuncture schools attended:

Names of schools contacted: Date request made:

Three (3) Moral Character Statement forms from;

Names of references: Date request made:
NCCAOM Certification Verification form Date request made:
Verification of Clean Needle Technique course completion from CCAOM N/A

Date request made:
NOTE: This documentation is required only if your NCCAOM certification verification does not verify CNT
completion.
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Undergraduate Degree Options, you must provide one of these:

Original transcripts from US undergraduate degree granting schools N/A

NOTE: Needed to prove college graduation unless the original diploma is submitted above.
Names of schools contacted: Date request made:
Transcripts (in English) from foreign undergraduate schools N/A

NOTE: This documentation is necessary for applicants whose undergraduate degree is from a college
outside the US.
Names of schools contacted: Date request made:

If applying for a Waiver of Undergraduate Degree Requirement: N/A

Original transcripts from US undergraduate institutions to verify credit hours
NOTE: This is required for a waiver of the undergraduate degree requirement.
Names of schools contacted: Date request made:

Verification of semesters spent teaching or clinically supervising acupuncture N/A
NOTE: This is an option for applicants asking for a waiver of the undergraduate degree requirement.
Names of schools contacted: Date request made:

If applying for a Waiver of Standard Acupuncture Education: N/A

____ Original transcript from accredited college or university to prove completion of the Anatomy & Physiology
requirement.
Names of schools contacted: Date request made:

Proper supporting documentation as required on the Apprenticeship Route form; or
Proper supporting documentation as required on the Formal Education and Professional Experience Route
form

Required of ALL currently or previously licensed acupuncturists: N/A
(This is also a requirement for a Waiver of Standard Acupuncture Education, and an option for Waiver of Undergraduate
Degree Requirement):

Out of State Verification of Acupuncture Licensure Form
Names of states contacted: Date request made:
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