December 28, 2012
Negligent Driving - Snow and Ice
New Hampshire State Police would like to remind all Motor Carriers and truck drivers of the hazards of snow and ice accumulation on their vehicles during the winter season. Snow and ice falling from a moving truck can create hazardous driving conditions for vehicles travelling around them and possibly result in fines and/or civil liability for failing to take reasonable steps to remove the snow or ice accumulations.
Under New Hampshire State law, a driver can be cited for driving a vehicle in a manner that “endangers” or “is likely to endanger any person or property.” Large amounts of snow accumulating on a vehicle or trailer often melts and refreezes over time causing build-up of ice that can often damage vehicles when falling from a vehicle. Early removal of the snow after a snowstorm is the best way to prevent such ice from accumulating.
It is also very important for drivers of all vehicles to leave sufficient space when following large trucks to give themselves enough time to react and be able to avoid any snow/ice in the event that it does fall from a large truck or trailer.
265:79-b Negligent Driving. – Whoever upon any way drives a vehicle negligently or causes a vehicle to be driven negligently, as defined in RSA 626:2, I(d), or in a manner that endangers or is likely to endanger any person or property shall be guilty of a violation and shall be fined not less than $250 nor more than $500 for a first offense and not less than $500 nor more than $1,000 for a second or subsequent offense.
Source. 2001, 254:2, eff. Jan. 1, 2002. 2005, 267:1, eff. Jan. 1, 2006.