Under the provisions of New Hampshire RSA 270 D:13 I (b), a "testing out" option will be made available whereby a boater who takes the test and passes it will be issued a boating safety certificate valid only in the State of New Hampshire. In addition to the testing out process, there are other options available that are NASBLA (National Association of State Boating Law Administrators) approved and recognized all over the country.
In order to participate in the testing out option, you must be a minimum of 15 years of age and upon passing the test you will receive your certificate when you turn 16 years of age. If you are 16 years of age or older and pass the test you will receive your temporary certificate immediately after passing the test.
If you are interested in the testing out option, please contact the New Hampshire Department of Safety's boating education program to pre-register for the test. Pre-registration is required. There will be a non-refundable fee of $10.00 for the exam and a $10.00 fee for the permanent card. To register or for more information, call 1-888-254-2125 or 603-267-7256. At the time of registration, you will be asked if you, or anyone in your group, will require special assistance and you must inform us at that time. This would include the deaf or hard of hearing and anyone needing the test to be read to them. Individuals must provide photo identification at the time of the test.
Individuals must get at least 80% to pass the test. If the individual fails, he or she will have the option to take another test at another date or elect to pursue one of the other options for certification.