The New Hampshire New Motor Vehicle Arbitration program (RSA 357-D) is commonly referred to as the New Hampshire "Lemon Law." The purpose of the law is to provide a consumer with an efficient and informal process with which to resolve new motor vehicle warranty problems. The New Motor Vehicle Arbitration Board (MVAB) is administratively attached to the DMV and consists of consumer representatives, a new car dealer, and an automotive expert. The jurisdiction of the MVAB is to determine whether a new motor vehicle or off-highway recreational vehicle (OHRV), motorcycle or snowmobile has a defect that substantially impairs its use, market value, or safety.
Passenger vehicles, motorcycles, off-highway recreational vehicles or light trucks with a gross vehicle weight (GVW) of 11,000 pounds or less which are purchased or leased (at least two years) in New Hampshire are eligible. Mopeds, tractors, government vehicles and vehicles with a GVW in excess of 11,000 pounds are not eligible.
You can qualify if the three (3) repair attempts and/or thirty (30) business days out of service occurred prior to the expiration of the manufacturer's express warranty period, and you file within a year of the expiration. (RSA 357-D:11)
Yes, if the defect and the three (3) repair attempts and/or thirty (30) business days out of service occurred within the manufacturer's express warranty period.
"Out-of-service" means the vehicle is at the dealership for repair and unavailable for your use for a major part of the business day. "Business day" means any day that the Service Department of the dealership is open for business.
Each defect that has been subject to three (3) repair attempts and which still exists, may be filed on the same Demand for Arbitration Form (CPMVA-2).
Yes. You are entitled to receive a written repair order each time you bring your vehicle in for examination or repair. (RSA 357-D:3,IV) It should contain a written summary of the complaint and a fully itemized statement indicating all work performed on the vehicle including, but not limited to, examination of the vehicle, parts, and labor. Repair orders should be kept together in a safe place.
The manufacturer; the dealer is not a party to the action.
No. However, once you file the Demand for Arbitration and supporting documentation, an exact duplicate must be sent to the manufacturer.
Yes, a $50.00 non-refundable filing fee.
You are entitled to a hearing within 40 days of acceptance of the completed Demand for Arbitration. The MVAB has 30 days from the date of the hearing to render a written decision. If you win, the manufacturer has 30 days from the date of the written decision to comply with or appeal the MVAB's order.
A replacement vehicle or a refund, which you select on Section 3 of the Demand for Arbitration (CPMVA-2).
No. However, you may, at your own cost, be represented by an attorney or by any citizen of good character.
Yes; however, the repair must be performed prior to the hearing.
Complete the Demand for Arbitration (CPMVA-2) the Summary of Repair History . You will also need to reference the Manufacturer Zone List in the demand, as well as send an exact duplicate copy of the demand to the Manufacturer zone office. The forms may also be obtained from the MVAB Office.
NH Dept. of Safety
DMV - New MV Arbitration Board
23 Hazen Drive
Concord, NH 03305
e-mail: [email protected]
Adobe Acrobat Reader format. You can download a free reader from Adobe.
New Hampshire Division of Motor Vehicles | 23 Hazen Drive | Concord, NH 03305
TDD Access: Relay NH (800) 735-2964