NH Division of Motor Vehicles
NH Division of Motor Vehicles - an official New Hampshire Government Website
Smaller text size Reset text size Larger text size
skip navigation

Title > Frequently Asked Questions

What is a title?

What vehicles are not required to be titled?

What is the process for obtaining a title in New Hampshire?

I have moved to New Hampshire, and my title is held by a lien holder, how can I obtain a New Hampshire title?

I have moved to New Hampshire, and my title is held by an out-of-state lien holder, my plates have expired or are about to expire. What can I do?.

How can I transfer ownership if I sell or trade my vehicle?

Sell a vehicle that is older than 15 years old that does not require a title?

I have lost or misplaced my title. How can I obtain a duplicate?

How long does it take to issue a title?

What is the difference between a registration permit and title?

Does New Hampshire have a salvage title law?

Where can I go to get my salvage vehicle inspected?

Does New Hampshire have a "Joint Tenancy with Rights of Survivorship" provision?

Who can I contact if I have questions regarding a title?

back to topWhat is a title?

A title is a secure document issued by the DMV which represents ownership of a motor vehicle.

back to topWhat vehicles are not required to be titled?

New Hampshire does not title motor vehicles with a model year older than 15 years old. Certain vehicles are considered "exempt."

back to topWhat is the process for obtaining a title in New Hampshire?

Title applications are prepared by a New Hampshire Town/City Clerk, a New Hampshire licensed dealer or a lending institution.

back to topI have moved to New Hampshire, and my title is held by a lien holder. How can I obtain a New Hampshire title?

Contact the city or town clerk where you reside.

back to topI have moved to New Hampshire, and my title is held by an out-of-state lien holder. My plates have expired or are about to expire. What can I do?

Contact the city or town clerk where you reside. A 60-day temporary plate can be issued to you.

back to topHow can I transfer ownership if I sell or trade my vehicle?

  • Transfer ownership to the buyer on the reverse side of the title by filling in buyer's name, buyer's address, and current odometer reading.
  • Obtain signatures of seller and buyer.
  • Give the title to the buyer.

back to topHow can I sell a vehicle that does not require a title (exempt)?

back to topI have lost or misplaced my title. How can I obtain a duplicate?

back to topHow long does it take to issue a title?

Approximately 30 calendar days once the title application is received.

back to topWhat is the difference between a registration permit and title?

A registration permit allows you to operate a vehicle in New Hampshire, and a title is proof of ownership.

back to topDoes New Hampshire have a salvage title law?

Yes, every salvage vehicle must have a salvage inspection before it can be registered. Once the vehicle is inspected, a (DSMV 547) will be issued.

Where can I go to get my salvage vehicle inspected?

Please go to one of our Salvage Vehicle Inspection Locations Adobe Acrobat Reader Symbol.

back to topDoes New Hampshire have a "Joint Tenancy with Rights of Survivorship" (JTWROS) provision?

  • Yes, you may designate JTWROS on your title application.
  • Joint tenancy with rights of survivorship can be used for non-married owners.
  • The conjunction "or" on a New Hampshire Title is considered to be JTWROS.
  • A married couple or partners in a civil union have automatic joint tenancy with rights of survivorship if the vehicle is used for family purposes.

back to topWho may I contact if I have questions regarding a title?

NH Dept. of Safety
DMV - Title Bureau
23 Hazen Drive
Concord, NH 03305
(603) 227-4150

Adobe Acrobat Reader Symbol Adobe Acrobat Reader format. You can download a free reader from Adobe.


New Hampshire Division of Motor Vehicles | 23 Hazen Drive | Concord, NH 03305
TDD Access: Relay NH (800) 735-2964