NH Division of Motor Vehicles
NH Division of Motor Vehicles - an official New Hampshire Government Website
Smaller text size Reset text size Larger text size
skip navigation

Registration > Motor Vehicle Dealers > Repair Dealer

A Repair Dealer is any person who is principally engaged in the motor vehicle business who repairs vehicles for someone else, is not a dealer and who has an established place of business within this state.

Requirements:

  1. Original - completed Application for Repairer Registration Adobe Acrobat Reader Symbol.
  2. Lease - Copy in the name of the owner.

Location Requirements:

  1. Established place of business - Office with a telephone and a fax.
  2. Regular business hours, 37½ per week between the hours of 6:00 a.m. and 9:00 p.m.
  3. Principally engaged in repairing motor vehicles not owned by the repairer.
  4. Signage must be visible from a public way with 10 inch letters.
  5. Approval from local authorities, State Police, & the Division of Motor Vehicles.

Usage:

  1. To move inventory to dealers or places of repair (plate privileges).
  2. No personal use permitted.
  3. A repair plate may be used on tow trucks or service vehicles, provided the vehicle is clearly marked not for hire.
  4. Only vehicles owned by the dealership and have a valid NH inspection sticker may have the dealer plate attached.
  5. Loaning of plates is prohibited.

Repairman Dealer Supplemental Plate:

Requirements: (Dealer license to sell vehicles)

  1. License fee of $125.00.
  2. Original $25,000 Dealers Surety Bond.
  3. Original service agreement with an approved New Hampshire Inspection Station, if you do not have your own.
  4. Original criminal background check for all owners from New Hampshire and state of residency.
  5. Attendance to title/dealer class review is required upon approval.

Location Requirements:

  1. Same as above.
  2. Permanent physical structure that has at least 750 square feet or is primarily dedicated to the business of selling vehicles (RSA 259:29-a III (b)).

Usage:

  1. Sole purpose for a supplemental plate is for customers to test drive vehicles that are displayed for sale.
  2. No personal use permitted.

New Hampshire Laws pertaining to Repair Dealers

  1. RSA 259:87
  2. RSA 261:136

Adobe Acrobat Reader Symbol Adobe Acrobat Reader format. You can download a free reader from Adobe.


New Hampshire Division of Motor Vehicles | 23 Hazen Drive | Concord, NH 03305
TDD Access: Relay NH (800) 735-2964