NH Division of Motor Vehicles
NH Division of Motor Vehicles - an official New Hampshire Government Website
Smaller text size Reset text size Larger text size
skip navigation

Financial Responsibility > Frequently Asked Questions > Plea-By-Mail

What type of plea can I enter on my ticket?

How long do I have to pay a fine?

What types of payment are accepted for a fine?

Can my fine be processed through the mail?

Are payment plans available to pay a fine?

I have lost or misplaced my ticket. What can I do?

I have entered a plea of not guilty and have had no response. What can I do?

I sent in my payment before the suspension date. Can I still be suspended?

If the suspension date falls on a holiday or weekend, when is my payment due?

back to topWhat type of plea can I enter on my ticket?

  • Guilty. Enclose the fine payment.
  • No lo contendere. Enclose the fine payment.
  • Not guilty. Do not send the fine payment. Sign ticket, and submit to:

    NH Dept. of Safety
    DMV - FR PBM
    23 Hazen Drive
    Concord NH 03305

Once your not guilty plea has been received, it will be sent to the court. You should receive notice from the court in 6 to 8 weeks.

back to topHow long do I have to pay a fine?

Thirty (30) days from the date of issuance shown on the ticket.

  • If the fine is not paid in the first 30 days, an additional $50.00 late fee will be due along with the original fine.
  • If the original fine and late fee are not paid within 60 days from the date the ticket was issued, your license/registration privileges will be suspended and restoration fees will be imposed.

back to topWhat types of payment are accepted for a fine?

  • Cash (in person only)
  • Check
  • MasterCard/Visa

back to topCan my fine be processed through the mail?

Yes, follow the instructions on the back of the ticket. Submit payment and ticket to:

NH Dept. of Safety
DMV - FR PBM
23 Hazen Drive
Concord NH 03305

Do not send cash

back to topAre payment plans available to pay a fine?

No.

back to topI have lost or misplaced my ticket. What can I do?

Submit a written statement which includes the following:

  • Your name.
  • Your date of birth.
  • Where the ticket was received/issued.
  • The name of the police department that issued the ticket.
  • The offense/violation that was indicated on the ticket (e.g. speeding).
  • Any other information regarding the ticket.
  • Payment or plea of not guilty.
  • Your signature.

To:

NH Dept. of Safety
DMV - FR PBM
23 Hazen Drive
Concord NH 03305

back to topI have entered a plea of not guilty and have had no response. What can I do?

Contact DMV, Bureau of Financial Responsibility at (603) 227-4010 to verify your plea was received and processed.

back to topI sent in my payment before the suspension date. Can I still be suspended?

Yes, DMV does not go by the postmark date.

back to topIf the suspension date falls on a holiday or weekend, when is my payment due?

Your payment must be received no later than 4:15 p.m. on the last working day before the effective date of suspension.


New Hampshire Division of Motor Vehicles | 23 Hazen Drive | Concord, NH 03305
TDD Access: Relay NH (800) 735-2964