NH Division of Motor Vehicles
NH Division of Motor Vehicles - an official New Hampshire Government Website
Smaller text size Reset text size Larger text size
skip navigation

Financial Responsibility > Accidents and Crashes

In the State of New Hampshire, any motor vehicle accident causing death, personal injury, or combined vehicle/property damage in excess of $1,000.00 must be reported in writing to the NH DMV within 15 days.

If police respond to/investigate an accident, the officer will submit a written report to the NH DMV on form DSMV 159, State of New Hampshire Uniform Police Traffic Accident Report.

If the police did not investigate, the individual operator(s) would be responsible for filing an Operator's Report Adobe Acrobat Reader Symbol (DSMV 400). This report must be presented to or mailed to:

NH Dept. of Safety
DMV - FR / Accidents
23 Hazen Drive
Concord NH 03305

Please note: Because it may take several weeks for a law enforcement agency to submit a Police Accident Report to the DMV, an operator may submit an Operator's Report Adobe Acrobat Reader Symbol to assist in an insurance claim. Once the police report is received it will be made part of the operator(s) file.

Although accidents are reported on the driving record report of each operator involved in an accident, fault is not indicated. Accident involvement will be listed on the driver record report for a period of 5 years from the date of the accident.

Insurance Verification Form DSMV 385 (Blue Card)

If police respond to/investigate an accident, and insurance information is unavailable, this form may be issued to the operator(s) involved in a crash. The operator and/or the owner of the vehicle would be responsible for completing the form. The completed form must be presented to or mailed to:

NH Dept. of Safety
DMV - FR / Accidents
23 Hazen Drive
Concord NH 03305

How to Obtain a Copy of a Crash Report

To request a copy of a crash report, a completed Request for Motor Vehicle Records Adobe Acrobat Reader Symbol (DSMV 505) (see instructions below) may be mailed to or presented in person to:

NH Dept. of Safety
DMV - FR / Accidents
23 Hazen Drive
Concord NH 03305

The fee for a crash report is $1.00 per page, with a $5.00 minimum. If you will be mailing in your request, you may include a check in the amount of $5.00 and we will contact you if the cost is more (include telephone number and/or e-mail address); or to predetermine the cost, you may e-mail us at NH.DMVHelp@dos.nh.gov, or you may call (603) 227-4040.

If you are seeking to release a copy of an accident report you and/or your vehicle were involved in to a another party or if you are seeking to obtain another individual's accident report please e-mail us at NH.DMVHelp@dos.nh.gov, or you may call (603) 227-4040.

Instructions on filling out the Request for Motor Vehicle Records (DSMV 505) form to request an accident report:

  • Box I - Select "Your Motor Vehicle Record"
  • Box II - List your full name, the mailing address to which the record is to be sent and a telephone number at which you can be reached.
  • Box III - Accident Report
  • Box V - Minimum information required to complete your request includes:
    • Name (full)
    • Date of Birth
    • Driver License/Non-Driver Identification Number
    • Date of Accident:
    • Location of Accident: City/Town
    • Registration/Plate Number
  • Box VI - Read and complete the Certification box - sign your full name and date the form.

Adobe Acrobat Reader Symbol Adobe Acrobat Reader format. You can download a free reader from Adobe.


New Hampshire Division of Motor Vehicles | 23 Hazen Drive | Concord, NH 03305
TDD Access: Relay NH (800) 735-2964