New Hampshire offers a non-driver photo identification card to residents who do not qualify for a driver license. An applicant must be a New Hampshire resident who is at least 12 years of age and who does not currently have a valid driver license.
To qualify for a non-driver identification, an applicant must provide the same identification and residency documents as would be required to obtain a driver license. Visa holders and their dependants, such as H-1, F-1, or J-1, temporarily residing in New Hampshire do not qualify for a non-driver photo identification card. Please use your passport or other international document as a form of identification when needed. However, K-1, I-551, EAD, permanent residents, refugees and asylee holders do qualify for a New Hampshire non-driver identification card. Please see the requirements for Non-US Citizens outlining the correct documentation you will need to provide in order to obtain your non-driver identification card.
A US citizen may apply for a non-driver identification card at any DMV office with the following:
The fee for a non-driver identification card is $10.00. You will be issued a 60-day, temporary paper identification card and the permanent card will be mailed to you. The permanent non-driver identification card will be valid for 5 years.
A non-driver identification card is valid for 5 years; it expires on the 5th birthday after it was issued at which point it can be renewed. To renew a non-driver identification card, come to any DMV office with the following:
At the DMV, you will pay a $10 renewal fee and have a new photo taken. You will be issued a 60-day, temporary paper identification card; the permanent card will be mailed to you. If your identification card has expired for more than one year, you will need to bring additional identification and proof of residency in order to renew.
Applicants must be at least 12 years old to qualify for a non-driver identification card. New Hampshire residents over 65 years old are allowed to have a driver license and a non-driver identification card. Residents under 65 can only get a non-driver identification card if they do not currently have a valid driver license.
Information about the Voter Identification Law of 2012 along with an Explanatory Document on how the Voter Identification law will be implemented can be found at the New Hampshire Secretary of State's web site or by contacting the Secretary of State Elections Division.
Adobe Acrobat Reader format. You can download a free reader from Adobe.
New Hampshire Division of Motor Vehicles | 23 Hazen Drive | Concord, NH 03305
TDD Access: Relay NH (800) 735-2964