Motorcyclists have the same rights and responsibilities on public roads as other highway users. Anyone who operates a motorcycle in New Hampshire must have a current, valid motorcycle license or a New Hampshire motorcycle permit. Motorcycle permits from other states are not recognized in New Hampshire.
Motorcycle License Requirements
Applicants for a motorcycle license must pass a vision test and provide proof of their fitness to drive a motorcycle. Applicants can prove fitness to operate a motorcycle by either passing a motorcycle Basic Rider Class or by taking a DMV motorcycle skills test.
Applicants for a motorcycle license must be at least 16 years old. Any applicant under 18 years old must successfully complete a motorcycle Basic Rider Class and provide a parental permission form in order to apply for a motorcycle license or permit.
Drivers who have either passed a motorcycle rider training program or taken and passed the motorcycle skills test at the DMV can apply for a motorcycle endorsement by providing the following:
Any applicant, who pays for a motorcycle learner permit within a year of applying for a motorcycle license, will not be charged the $30.00 motorcycle license fee.
Upon application, the DMV shall issue a motorcycle learner's permit to a New Hampshire resident 18 years of age or older or 16 years of age or older and under 18 years of age who has successfully completed an approved driver education course and has a valid New Hampshire driver's license. A motorcycle learner's permit shall permit the holder to drive a motorcycle on any New Hampshire road after sunrise and before sunset. The holder of a motorcycle learner's permit shall not carry any passengers. The permit shall be valid for 45 days from the date of issuance or until the permit holder obtains a motorcycle license, at which time the permit will no longer be valid. The permit is non-renewable and is only issued once per applicant.
Apply for a Motorcycle Learner's Permit
Applicants for a motorcycle permit must pass a vision test and the motorcycle knowledge test. Applicants can go to any DMV office between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 3:30 p.m. with:
Before applying, applicants should study the Motorcycle Handbook to prepare for the motorcycle knowledge test. Applicants who pass the knowledge test will be issued a 45-day learner's permit and will be scheduled for a motorcycle riding skills test.
Motorcycle skills tests are given on a seasonal basis, only when conditions are safe for testing. Once a test is scheduled, it will be held rain or shine. Applicants must schedule an appointment in advance for a motorcycle skills test by calling (603) 227-4020. Any applicant who wishes to cancel or reschedule a test must give at least 24 hours advance notice.
Applicants are responsible for providing their own motorcycle for the skills test. If the applicant wishes to ride the motorcycle to the test location, he or she must have a valid motorcycle learner's permit. If the applicant does not hold a valid learner's permit, he or she must arrange for an alternate way to legally transport the motorcycle to the test location.
Motorcycles used in skills tests must comply with all New Hampshire inspection laws and rules and must be currently registered and inspected. The motorcycle's size, weight, character and equipment shall conform to the class of license requested.
Any applicant who fails the skills test twice is required to take a motorcycle rider training class in order to obtain a motorcycle license.
Three-wheeled motorcycle applicants will be required to take the same vision and knowledge exam as applicants for a 2-wheeled motorcycle license. The three-wheeled motorcycle skills exam will be given on a similar course as the two-wheeled motorcycle exam.
A person who holds a three-wheeled motorcycle endorsement may drive any registered three-wheeled motorcycle without holding any other class of driver license, but shall not drive any two-wheeled motorcycle.
Motorcycle Training Program
Knowing how to operate a motorcycle safely takes experience and skill. The New Hampshire DMV offers a statewide Motorcycle Rider Training Program for residents of New Hampshire. The program is designed to increase motorcycle safety on New Hampshire streets and highways by providing motorcycle training courses for both novice and experienced riders, as well as increasing the public's awareness of motorcyclists on the road.
Adobe Acrobat Reader format. You can download a free reader from Adobe.
New Hampshire Division of Motor Vehicles | 23 Hazen Drive | Concord, NH 03305
TDD Access: Relay NH (800) 735-2964