Smaller text size Reset text size Larger text size
skip navigation
Pharmacists Pharmacy Technicians Consumers

NH Pharmacy Laws and Rules

Legal Time Limits

Within 3 days The new pharmacist-in-charge (at an in-state pharmacy) must conduct a written inventory of all controlled substances. It is suggested that this be done with the "outgoing"pharmacist-in-charge.
Within 72 hours At an in-state pharmacy, any theft or loss of controlled substances must be reported to the Board of Pharmacy by the pharmacist-in-charge by phone, e-mail, fax or letter to the Board of Pharmacy.
Within 15 days At an in-state pharmacy, any theft or loss of controlled substances must be reported, in writing on DEA Form 106, by the PIC to the Board of Pharmacy.
Within 15 days Pharmacists and pharmacy technicians must notify the Board in writing (by fax, e-mail, or letter) of any changes in name, address or employment.
Within 15 days Prior to closing, in-state pharmacies must notify the Board of Pharmacy and the Boston office of DEA, in writing, of the intended closing of a pharmacy.
30 days After the expiration date stated on the label of a drug stock container, that product becomes an adulterated drug.
72 hours In the ambulatory patient treatment areas of an institution, a medical practitioner may dispense drugs for the immediate needs of the patient but not to exceed a 72-hour supply and only if permitted by the institution.
48 hours In a bona fide emergency - a physician may dispense from his/her inventory, a Schedule II controlled substance to a patient to meet his/her immediate medical needs. Such dispensing shall not, however, exceed a 48-hour supply.
6 months A prescription for a controlled substance shall be valid for up to 6 months from the date of issue.
12 months A prescription for syringes shall be valid for up to 12 months from the date of issue. There is no limit on the number of refills.
1 year All non-controlled substance prescriptions bearing "PRN" or similar refill designations, are valid for one year from the date of issue.
Annually At midnight on December 31st, in-state pharmacy permits expire. In-state pharmacies must renew a pharmacy permit prior to this day or the pharmacy cannot open for business on January 1.
Annually At midnight on December 31st, all pharmacist licenses expire. Pharmacists must submit a renewal for the upcoming year prior to this date or they cannot practice pharmacy in NH beginning January 1.
4 years For in-state pharmacies, the time period for which all controlled and non-controlled substance prescription records of receipt and distribution must be retained.




State of New Hampshire Board of Pharmacy
121 South Fruit Street | Concord, NH 03301-2412
(603) 271-2350 | Fax: (603) 271-2856
pharmacy.board@nh.gov

copyright 2013. State of New Hampshire