Smaller text size Reset text size Larger text size
skip navigation
Pharmacists Pharmacy Technicians Consumers

Frequently Asked Questions

For questions on the Board's new pharmacy technician rules which went into effect in November 2014, please see our separate FAQ document on that here. Adobe Acrobat symbol

How do I file a complaint against a NH pharmacy, pharmacist, pharmacy technician or other Board licensee/registrant?

Please see our Consumer Complaint Process.

Why doesn't my NH pharmacist license show the "PharmD" designation after my name, only R.Ph"?

As the NH Board of Pharmacy allows the licensure of pharmacists who have earned a Bachelor's Degree in Pharmacy (license transfer applicants / pharmacists who earned their degree at a ACPE accredited college of pharmacy prior to when the PharmD program became the standard in the U.S. in the early 2000's); as well as those who have earned the new ACPE standard - Doctor of Pharmacy degree (Pharm.D.), the Board does not list this educational designation on its licenses. The "R.Ph." designation simply means the pharmacist is a Registered Pharmacist with the State Board of Pharmacy.

When are renewals mailed out to current licensees/registrants of the NH Board of Pharmacy?

The Board mails out renewal forms at least 6 weeks prior to the expiration date of your current license/registration, to the address you have on file with the Board of Pharmacy. Licensees/registrants are required by law to report changes of address in writing (by email, fax or postal mail) no later than 15 days after the change occurs. Board licenses/registrations expire annually. Below are the expiration dates (month/day) for each of the Board's license/registration types:

License/Registration Type Expires Annually On (Month/Day)
Pharmacy Technician Registrations March 31
Prescription Drug Manufacturer / Wholesaler / Distributor / Broker Licenses June 30
Limited Retail Drug Distributor Licenses(Medical Gas/Device Distributers, NH In-State Public Health Clinics and Methadone Clinics) June 30
Pharmacy Intern Registrations September 30
Pharmacy (NH In-State) Licenses December 31
Non-Resident / Mail Order Pharmacy Registrations December 31
Pharmacist Licenses December 31

State of New Hampshire Board of Pharmacy
121 South Fruit Street | Concord, NH 03301-2412
(603) 271-2350 | Fax: (603) 271-2856

copyright 2013. State of New Hampshire