Smaller text size Reset text size Larger text size
skip navigation
Pharmacists Pharmacy Technicians Consumers

About Us

Board Members

Per RSA 318, the Board of Pharmacy consists of seven members appointed by the governor, with the approval of the council. Six of the members shall be practicing pharmacists who shall have been licensed pharmacists for at least 10 years, and at the time of their appointment shall have practiced pharmacy in New Hampshire for at least 5 years. One public member, who is not, and never was, a member of the pharmaceutical profession or the spouse of any such person, and who does not and never has had, a material financial interest in either the provision of pharmaceutical services or an activity directly related to pharmacy, including the representation of the board or profession for a fee at any time during the 5 years preceding appointment. The term shall be five years in duration. No member shall be appointed to more than 2 consecutive terms.

Robert J. Stout, R.Ph.
Appointed: Sept. 2012   Term Expires: Sept. 2017

A 1975 graduate of the Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences, Bob has been a community pharmacist for 37 years. He has worked for Independents, chain stores and is currently a pharmacist at an independent pharmacy servicing long-term care facilities. He has served a 5-year term on the Joint Formulary Committee for Optometry and is currently the pharmacy representative on the Board of Directors for the NHHIO.

Michael D. Bullek, R.Ph.
Appointed: Sept. 2011   Term Expires: Sept. 2021

A 1979 graduate of the Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences, Mike is employed as a retail community pharmacist in Plymouth. He is also Adjunct Professor of Health and Human Performance/Pharmacology for both undergraduate and graduate students at Plymouth State University. A recipient of the Bowl of Hygeia for community service, Mike is also a 5 term member of the Plymouth School Board, currently serving as chairman.

John R. Genovese, R.Ph.
Appointed: Sept. 2013   Term Expires: Sept. 2018

Appointed to the Board by Governor Hassan on October 2, 2013, John is a 1978 graduate of the Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Allied Health Sciences. John is a member of NHSHP and ASHP and is employed by Cheshire Medical Center in Keene as a staff pharmacist with over 34 years with experience in Clinical Pharmacy, Oncology Pharmacy and a recent position change to Informatics Pharmacist. He has been involved in the successful build and implementation of bedside bar coding (2005), Intellidose computerized order entry for the Oncology Department (2010), Computerized Physician Order Entry (CPOE)(2012) and Electronic Medication Reconciliation (2013) at his organization which resulted in two team Chairman’s Awards. John has served on various hospital committees through the years including the Hospital Credit Union Board of Directors.

Helen C. Pervanas, PharmD, R.Ph.
Appointed: Sept. 2011   Term Expires: Sept. 2021

A 1986 graduate of the Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences (MCPHS), Helen is an Assistant Professor of Pharmacy Practice at MCPHS, Manchester, NH. Areas of interest include patient safety, medication disposal and health screenings in the community. Over the years Helen has worked in various areas of pharmacy to include retail, hospital, consulting and managed care. Helen is a member of NHPA, APhA, AACP and serves as the chairperson of the NH Continuing Education Advisory Council.

Candace C. W. Bouchard
Public Member
Appointed: July 2015   Term Expires: Oct. 2021

Appointed to the Board by Governor Hassan on July 22, 2015, Candace is a former state representative and lives in Concord, NH.

Charles J. Fanaras, R.Ph.
Appointed: Sept. 2008   Term Expires: Sept. 2018 (Second Term)

A 1983 graduate of the Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences, Charlie owns and operates The Prescription Center pharmacies in Concord, NH. He is also the President/CEO of Fanarian Enterprises, LLC (Hospital Outpatient Pharmacy), Northeast Pharmacy Services, LLC (Institutional Pharmacy), and Mytillini Enterprises, LLC (Medical Office Retail Pharmacy), all in Concord, NH. Among the various professional and civic organizations Charlie holds membership, is with the New Hampshire Independent Pharmacy Association as Treasurer, and as a Member of the Board of Directors of Concord Regional VNA.

Gary J. Merchant, R.Ph.
Appointed: Sept. 2009   Term Expires: Oct. 2019 (Second Term)

A graduate of Northeastern University, College of Pharmacy, Gary was appointed by Governor Lynch in October of 2009. Gary is employed by Mary Hitchcock Memorial Hospital.

State of New Hampshire Board of Pharmacy
121 South Fruit Street | Concord, NH 03301-2412
(603) 271-2350 | Fax: (603) 271-2856

copyright 2013. State of New Hampshire