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PREAMBLE 

 

The UNITED ELECTRICAL, RADIO AND MACHINE WORKERS OF AMERICA (UE) 
LOCAL 278, hereafter referred to as the “Union” and the COUNTY OF GRAFTON, 
hereinafter referred to as the “County” and collectively referred to as the “Parties” 
hereby agree as follows: 
 

ARTICLE 1 

RECOGNITION 

 

1. The County hereby recognizes the Union as the sole and exclusive bargaining 
agent pursuant to the provisions of New Hampshire RSA 273-A per the Certification 
Case No. M-769 dated November 29, 1999 for the purpose of establishing the terms 
and conditions of employment for all bargaining unit employees. 
 

2. The Bargaining Unit shall consist of all regular full-time and regular part-time and 
Per Diem employees of the Grafton County Nursing Home in the positions of: Licensed 
Nursing Assistant, Social Services Assistant, Certified Activities Aide, Nursing Home 
Unit Secretary, Paid Feeding Assistant (PFA), Unit Aide, Medical Transcriptionist, Cook, 
Nutrition/Dietary Aide, Dietary Aide, Restorative Aide, Seamstress, Laundry Aide, 
Laundry Machine Operator, Senior Housekeeping Aide, Staffing Coordinator, 
Housekeeping Aide, and MNA. Additionally, it is agreed that the following positions and 
employees are excluded from recognition or coverage under this Agreement: 
Administrator, MDS Coordinator, Director of Nursing Services, Assistant Director of 
Nursing, Activities Assistant Director, Health Information Manager, Social Services 
Director, Staff Development Director, Volunteer Coordinator, Activities Director, Dietary 
Manager, RN’s, Pharmacy Review Nurse, Office/Finance Manager, Bookkeeper, 
Secretary, Driver, Purchasing Agent, Dietary Supervisor, Licensed Practical Nurse, Bed 
maker, Restorative Program Coordinator, Environmental Services Director and 
Maintenance Workers, all other Department Heads, all other supervisors, professional 
and confidential employees, persons in a probationary or temporary status and all other 
employees of the County. 
 

3. It is specifically agreed by the parties hereto that any rights, duties or authority 
existing by virtue of the New Hampshire Revised Statutes Annotated or other law shall 
in no way be abridged or limited by any of the provisions of this Agreement, and to the 
extent that any provision of this Agreement contradicts any such law the provision(s) of 
law shall prevail. 
 

4. Effective September 01, 2008 Student Dietary Aides shall have a starting rate of 
$7.25 per hour. At such time as they graduate from high school or turn age 18, 
whichever occurs later, they shall move to Step 1 of the pay scale. This $7.25 per hour 
shall also be subject to the annual re-opener on wages. Any students currently working 
in the Dietary Department shall be grandfathered to remain in the pay scale and 
progress as any other employee. 
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ARTICLE 2 

MANAGEMENT RIGHTS 

 

1. Except as specifically limited or abridged by the terms of this Agreement, the 
management of the Grafton County Nursing Home in all its phases and details shall 
remain vested exclusively in the County and its designated agents. The County and its 
agents shall have jurisdiction over all matters concerning the management of the 
Grafton County Nursing Home including, but not limited to: the exercise of all of the 
rights, responsibilities and prerogatives that are inherent in the Employer or its agents 
by virtue of any statues and/or ordinances, as well as all rights, responsibilities and 
prerogatives relating to, including, but not limited to, the direction of the work force, the 
establishment of rules and regulations, the right to hire, supervise, discipline or 
discharge, relieving employees from duty for lack of work or funds, the right to decide 
classifications, the right to abolish positions, the right to determine schedules of work, 
the right to determine the methods, processes and manner of performing work and the 
general control of all of the operations of the Grafton County Nursing Home in all its 
phases and details as well as all rights retained by virtue of, including, but not limited to, 
New Hampshire RSA Chapter 273-A, and any other provision(s) of the Revised Statutes 
Annotated or other laws. 
 

2. It is agreed that these enumerations of management rights shall not be deemed 
to exclude other management rights not specifically herein enumerated. It is further 
specifically agreed that this Article and the exercise of any management rights shall not 
be subject to any grievance proceeding as hereinafter set forth. 
 

Article 3 

UNION RIGHTS 

 

1. Access to the Facility: Upon prior notice and the approval of the Nursing 
Home Administrator or Administrator’s designee which approval will not be 
unreasonably denied, UE representatives shall be allowed to visit the non-restricted 
work areas of employees during working hours and confer on conditions of employment 
and for the purpose of assisting with the resolution of grievances, to the extent that such 
visitations occur during break periods and other times as approved by the Nursing 
Home Administrator or the Administrator’s designee and do not disrupt any work 
activity. 
 

2. Use of the Facilities: Upon the approval of the Nursing Home Administrator 
or the Administrator’s designee, members of the bargaining unit may be afforded the 
use of meeting rooms at the Nursing Home facility, so long as such use is not in conflict 
with County business. 
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3. Union Officials: The County agrees to recognize the following Union officials 
duly authorized by the Union for purposes of handling Union business: President, Vice 
President/Chief Steward, and Stewards, or designees. 
 

 There may be one Steward/designee on the day shift for each of the following 
locations: Maple, Profile, Granite, and Meadow, Kitchen, Housekeeping, Laundry and 
one to cover all others. Each location may have one (1) alternate steward/designee 
from each area to be recognized by the County to process initial grievances. The other 
shifts may have a steward/designee covering several areas of the facility. 
 

 The Union shall furnish the names of the Union officials, Stewards and/or 
designees and will keep the list current. 
 

 The Administrator may authorize a reasonable amount of time, during work hours 
without loss of pay to permit the Union Officials/Stewards to carry out responsibilities to 
the employees in the unit insofar as this activity does not interfere with the performance 
of duties. However, it is understood that no more than one (1) steward per area shall be 
allowed work time to investigate grievances at any given time. It is further agreed that 
union employees shall be permitted access to designated union officials to discuss 
union issues during work hours. The Union agrees that it shall guard against the use of 
excessive time. 
 

 Representatives of the Union and the Chief Steward shall have access to the 
facility, during their non-scheduled work time, for the purpose of adjusting grievances, 
negotiating the settlement of disputes and for carrying out the responsibilities of 
representation as required by the Union and this Agreement.  
 

4. Union Leave: Union members shall be allowed an aggregate of twenty (20) days 
off each contract year without pay to attend the annual National Convention of the UE 
and Northeast Regional meetings. The Union shall provide the County with no less than 
four (4) weeks notice of use of Union leave. 
 

ARTICLE 4 

NON-DISCRIMINATION/EMPLOYEE RIGHTS 

 

1. The County and the Union reaffirm and will maintain the policy not to discriminate 
against any person because on the basis of race, color, national origin, age, gender, 
sexual orientation, marital status, veteran or military status, genetics, physical or mental 
or disability or religion.  All such claims under this Section shall be initiated through the 
grievance procedure herein before taking action with state or federal agencies. This 
requirement shall not, however, restrict the filing of claims or complaints so as to 
prevent the expiration of time limits or appeal rights set forth by statute or regulation. 
 

 

2. No employee shall, as a condition of employment, be required to become a 
member of the Union. The County and the Union agrees that no employee shall, in any 
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manner, be discriminated against, coerced or restrained on account of membership in, 
or lack of membership in, the Union or by reason of any lawful Union activity. 
3. All references to employees in this Agreement designate both sexes and 
whenever one gender is used, it shall be construed to mean male and female 
employees equally. 
 

ARTICLE 5 

DUES CHECK-OFF AND FAIR SHARE 

 

1. Subject to the provisions of this article and applicable laws, the County agrees to 
deduct equal amounts of regular union dues or collective bargaining fees from the 
wages of each employee who authorizes such deduction in writing in accordance with 
the check off authorization forms provided by the Union and approved by the County.  
Such deductions shall begin with the first payroll period after receipt of the check off 
authorization form and said sum shall be transmitted on a monthly basis by mail to the 
designated Union Financial Secretary or designee. The check shall be accompanied by 
a list of all Union dues paying members, Collective Bargaining Service fees employees 
and the amount deducted from each employee’s paycheck. 
 

2. All bargaining unit members who belong to the Union or who join the Union at 
any time during the term of the contract shall have their dues deducted by the County in 
accordance with this Article, and must maintain their membership, as a condition of 
employment, throughout the term of this Agreement. For purposes of this Article, a 
member in good standing means only the obligation of payment of periodic dues as 
uniformly required. 
 

3. The Union agrees to notify the County in writing of the amount of the Union dues 
and Collective Bargaining Service Fees, to be deducted from each employee, and notify 
the County in advance of any change in the amount to be deducted. 
 

4. In the event that an employee’s check is insufficient to deduct Union dues or 
Collective Bargaining Service Fees, after all required deductions have been made, then 
no Union dues or Collective Bargaining Service Fees, will be deducted or paid to the 
Union for that pay period. 
 

5.  The Union agrees to hold the County harmless from any claim or liability arising 
out of the deduction of Union Dues or Collective Bargaining Service Fees and payment 
to the Union under this Article. 
 

6. Orientation: The County agrees to allow the Union to make a presentation to all 
newly hired employees in bargaining unit positions during orientation or within thirty (30) 
days of hire, whichever comes last. The Union shall be given up to one half (1/2) hour 
with each new employee at the time of orientation sessions or within thirty (30) days of 
hire. 
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 It shall be the responsibility of the Union to distribute the Collective Bargaining 
Agreement to members of the bargaining unit. 
 

7. Fair Share: An employee who is not a member of the Union who requests the 
services of the Union shall be charged the full fair share cost to the Union of such 
representation. 
 

8. Grandfather Clause: Current Bargaining Unit employees hired prior to 
October 5, 2010, who do not belong to the Union shall be grandfathered and shall not 
be obligated to join the Union, or to pay the Collective Bargaining Service Fees, unless 
they choose to do so. 
 

9. Collective Bargaining Service Fee: New Bargaining Unit employees hired after 
October 5, 2010, may join the Union or may choose to pay a Collective Bargaining 
Service Fee. Such Collective Bargaining Service Fees shall be in the amount of fifty 
(50) percent of the union dues. Union dues may change periodically to stay in 
compliance with the National Union. Employees shall have their fees deducted by the 
County in accordance with this Article, and must maintain such fees, as a condition of 
employment, throughout the term of this Agreement. 
 

10. Subject to applicable law, all employees as of October 5, 2010 who are covered 
by this Agreement and who are not members of the Union in good standing on the 
effective date of this Agreement, shall be given an option to either: 
 

a. Become a member of the Union and pay full dues and initiation fees in 
accordance with the UE Local 278 Constitution & By-Laws; or: 

 

b. Voluntarily pay a monthly collective bargaining service fee not to exceed 
50% of the amount payable as dues as calculated by the Union, in full 
accordance with applicable laws. 

 

The Collective Bargaining Service Fee will be used for the cost of 
representation, administration, and negotiations on behalf of bargaining 
unit members and shall be deducted in the same manner as regular UE 
dues. 
 

11. Subject to applicable law, all employees as who are members of the Union on 
October 5, 2010 shall be given an option to either: 
 

a. Remain members of the Union and pay full dues in accordance with the 
UE Local 278 Constitution & By-Laws; or 

 

b. Voluntarily pay a monthly collective bargaining service fee not to exceed 
50% of the amount payable as dues as calculated by the Union, in full 
accordance with applicable laws. 

 



8 

 

The Collective Bargaining Service Fee will be used for the cost of 
representation, Administration, and negotiations on behalf of bargaining 
unit members and shall be deducted in the same manner as regular UE 
dues. 
 

 

ARTICLE 6 

HARASSMENT 

 

Harassment is verbal and physical conduct that is intended to annoy, intimidate, 
degrade or abuse toward an individual because of his or her race, color, national origin, 
age, gender, sexual orientation, marital status, veteran or military status, genetics, 
physical or mental disability, or religion, and that: has the purpose of creating 
intimidating, hostile, or offensive work environment. 
 

Sexual Harassment: Sexual harassment is a form of sex discrimination and means 
unwelcome sexual advancements, requests for sexual favors, and other verbal and/or 
physical conduct of a sexual nature when: 

● Submission to such conduct is made explicitly or implicitly a term or 
condition of employment; 

● Submission to or rejection of such conduct by an individual is used as the 
basis for employment decision; 

● Conduct has the purpose or effect of unreasonably interfering with an 
individual’s work performance or creating an intimidating or hostile or 
offensive work environment. 

 

See current Employee Handbook for the complete harassment policy. 
 

All complaints of sexual harassment should be referred immediately to the Department 
Head, Human Resources Department or the Executive Director and the matter will be 
promptly investigated. Confidentiality will be maintained to the extent possible 
consistent with the need to conduct a prompt and thorough investigation of a complaint. 
Retaliating or discriminating against an employee for complaining about harassment is 
prohibited.  

 

Any instance of harassment as discussed above, or any act of retaliation, will be subject 
to disciplinary action up to and including termination of employment. 

 

ARTICLE 7 

PROBATIONARY EMPLOYEES 

 

1. All newly hired employees must serve a probationary period of six (6) continuous 
months from the date of hire and during this period shall be classified as probationary 
employees. Probationary employees shall not be entitled to representation by the Union 
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or covered by any of the terms of this Agreement, including, but not limited to, that 
which is set forth in Section 2 of this Article. 
 

2. Probationary employees may be disciplined, including but not limited to, 
suspension or termination for any reason and at any time by the County in its sole 
discretion, and neither the employee so disciplined, suspended or terminated, nor the 
Union shall have recourse to the grievance procedure concerning any such discipline, 
suspension or termination. 
 

ARTICLE 8 

LABOR-MANAGEMENT COMMITTEES 

 

JOINT LOSS MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE 
 
1. The Parties agree that a Joint Loss Management Committee (Safety Committee) 
will be established in the Nursing Home comprised of not more than two (2) employees 
appointed by the Union and two (2) representatives from the County. Said committee 
members shall also be members of the County-wide Joint Loss Management 
Committee. 
 

2. The committee shall meet as needed, but no less than once each calendar 
quarter during regular working hours. Minutes shall be kept and made available for 
review by employees. 
 

3. The purpose of this committee is to discuss areas of concern and to bring to the 
attention of the Administrator conditions regarding health and safety. The committee 
shall also make recommendations for the resolution of same. This Committee shall also 
serve for the purpose of complying with Section (281-A:64-A) the New Hampshire’s 
Worker’s Compensation Law. 
 
LABOR-MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE 
 
1. The Parties shall establish a Labor-Management Committee comprised of not 
more than four (4) employees appointed by the Union and four (4) representatives of 
the County. The Union’s National Representative may be one of the four Union 
representatives.  
 
2. The committee shall meet as needed, but no less than once each calendar 
quarter during regular working hours. 
 
3. The purpose of this committee is to discuss matters of concern, including 
staffing, work load and working conditions. The committee shall also make 
recommendations for resolution of same. Such meetings shall not be used for 
renegotiation of contract articles or for the discussion or processing of grievances. The 
agenda shall be agreed to by the parties at least one week in advance. 
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ARTICLE 9 

HEALTH AND SAFETY 

 

1. The County shall endeavor to provide and maintain safe and healthy working 
conditions,  
 

to the extent required by law, and the employees agree to follow all safety and health 
rules and regulations. The Union will cooperate to that end and encourage the 
employees, at all times, to perform their assigned tasks in a safe and healthy manner. It 
is understood that employees will immediately report any unsafe or unhealthy condition 
to the employee’s supervisor as soon as it becomes known. 
 

2. Safety rules and fire regulations shall be posted on bulletin boards. 
 

3. Information and training regarding safety rules and fire regulations shall be made 
available to employees. 
 

4. All employees are required to report in writing to the employee’s supervisor and 
to the Joint Loss Management Committee any conditions that they feel are fire hazards 
or likely to cause accidents. 
 

ARTICLE 10 

EMPLOYEES’ HEALTH & RECORDS 

 

1. The County shall provide and maintain a program aimed at reducing 
occupational exposure to Hepatitis B Virus (HBV), Human Immunodeficiency Virus 
(HIV) and other illnesses which employees may encounter during their work activities. 
 

2. The County will provide, without cost to the employee, tuberculosis screenings, 
HIV screenings (upon occupational exposure only), and hepatitis B vaccinations. Such 
screening and vaccinations shall be made available to individual employees upon 
request. 
 

3. Employees who test positive for tuberculosis (Mantoux Test) shall be responsible 
for pursuing further medical advice. Verification of physician follow-up must be 
submitted to the Administrator within thirty (30) days. 
 

4. The County will provide, without cost to the employee, influenza shots based on 
availability. 
 

5. The County shall maintain in every unit adequate first-aid kits and safety 
precaution equipment to be located in secure but readily accessible areas. On-the-job 
injuries, regardless of seriousness, shall be reported to the employee’s supervisor within 
twenty four (24) hours. 
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6. Health records for employees shall be maintained separately from personnel 
files. 
 

ARTICLE 11 

BULLETIN BOARDS 

 

 The County agrees to provide space for a bulletin board or space on its bulletin 
board(s) in designated areas, such as Staff Offices, Smoke Shack, Employee Locker 
Room and at the Time Clock for important notices, at the Nursing Home for the posting 
of proper Union announcements, notices, social events and other non-controversial 
matters addressed to its members. Neither the Union nor employees shall post notices 
or other material of a derogatory, libelous, or profane nature and said notices and 
material shall be limited to actual Union business. Neither the Union nor employees 
shall post notices or other material at any other locations other than the approved Union 
bulletin board(s). 
 

 

ARTICLE 12 

EMPLOYMENT 

 

1.  EMPLOYMENT STATUS 
 

Per Diem:  Nursing personnel working by the day, as needed, with no guaranteed 
hours.  Per Diem employees receive a stipend in lieu of any and all benefits (e.g. 
insurances, retirement, earned time, holidays, extended sick leave and longevity).  Per 
diem employees are expected to be available to work at least three (3) times per month, 
with one (1) of those times being on a weekend, and must also work one (1) of the 
major holidays, i.e., July 4th, Labor Day, Thanksgiving, Christmas Day, Christmas Eve, 
New Year’s Eve or New Year’s Day.  The manager has sole discretion whether or not to 
schedule a per diem employee for any shifts he/she is available.  If/when any needs 
“bonuses” are in effect, per diem staff must work with expected three (3) times per 
month before being eligible for a needs bonus payment.  When an employee goes from 
a benefited position to a per diem position, all accrued benefits, including longevity 
bonus, will be paid off and benefits will no long accrue from that point on.  The 
employee will retain his/her anniversary date. 
 

Unbenefited Part-Time Employee:  Refers to an employee that receives no benefits and 
whose hours are not guaranteed and fluctuate according to scheduling needs.  
Unbenefited part-time employee would typically work at least one shift per week, but 
often less than twenty four (24) hours per week.   
 

3/5 or 4/5 Status:  Employees consistently (every payroll) working a minimum of twenty 
four (24) hours per week are eligible for benefits on a pro-rated basis.  Employees 
working 4/5 status consistently work a minimum of thirty two (32) hours. 
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Full-time Status:  Thirty five (35) hours per week constitutes full-time employment as it 
relates to eligibility for the pension plan and county participation in the health insurance 
plan.  Employees working thirty five (35) hours (seven (7) hours a day, five (5) days a 
week) or thirty six (36) hours (twelve (12) hours a day, three (3) days a week) accrue 
annual leave and sick leave at the same rate as employees who work forty (40) hours 
(eight (8) hours a day, five (5) days a week).  Holidays are paid at seven (7) hours and 
eight (8) hours respectively, unless the employee works the holiday, in which case 
he/she is paid for the actual hours worked.  Holidays are paid at eight (8) hours for 
employees working twelve (12) hour shifts. 
 

Temporary staffing adjustments may be applied to meet the needs of the residents and 
needs of Grafton County.  However, if an employee consistently works a regular 
schedule (outside of their current employment status) for at least six (6) months, he/she 
would be eligible to move into new personnel status (e.g. 3/5 status employee who 
works thirty five (35) or more hours per week). 
 

2. Personnel Files: Employees shall have an opportunity to inspect their personnel 
files during normal administrative working hours and, upon at least twenty four (24) 
hours notice to the Human Resources office. Employees may obtain a copy of all or any 
part of the file. A fee may be imposed for said copies. 

 

3. Performance Evaluations: Regular employee evaluations shall be prepared by the 
employee’s supervisor no less than once per year. It is expected that the evaluation will be 
completed during the employee’s anniversary month. The purpose of such evaluation shall 
be to evaluate and constructively assess the employee’s strengths and weaknesses. To  
this end, it is understood that supervisors shall not withhold critical assessments during 
periods between evaluations and shall provide employees with opportunities to specifically 
address and/or correct problem areas identified before formal evaluations are completed. 
 

 The employee’s supervisor shall meet with the employee to discuss the 
evaluation. Employees shall be allowed to review the evaluation for no less than three 
(3) work days prior to the meeting; said waiting period may be waived by signing a form 
agreed to by the County and the Union. Once the evaluation has been presented to the 
employee, it must be completed by all parties and no changes made thereafter. 
 

 If an employee’s evaluation results in loss of a step increase, the employee may 
appeal the evaluation to an Evaluation Review Panel consisting of the Administrator, the 
Human Resources Director, and the employee’s Supervisor. The employee and a Union 
Steward, if requested by the employee, shall present to the Panel the reasons for the 
appeal. A written decision will be furnished to the employee by the review panel within 
fifteen (15) work days of the appeal meeting. 
 

 Employees shall be allowed to respond in writing to the evaluation and to have 
such response appended to the evaluation for inclusion in the employee’s personnel 
file. 
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 An employee’s signature on the evaluation shall signify receipt only and not 
necessarily agreement on the evaluation’s content. 
 

 If the employee does not receive an annual step increase after the appeal 
process, they shall be reviewed in three (3) months and depending upon the evaluation 
shall receive their step increase at that time. The step increase will not be retroactive to 
the employee’s original evaluation date. During this three (3) month period, the 
supervisor shall advise the employee of any reasons that may lead to another denial of 
their step increase. Should an employee receive their step increase after such three (3) 
month evaluation, their next annual step increase will be due upon their anniversary 
date. 
 Evaluations shall not be subject to the grievance procedure. 
 

4. Shift Openings: In the event that an opening occurs on any shift, qualified senior 
employees (as determined by the County) in the job classification shall have the first 
option to move to the open shift before the position is posted and filled. Qualifications 
shall include prior work performance and experience, skills and abilities, prior training 
and educational experience. All employees shall be notified of the results of their job bid 
by one of the following: 
 
  A. In writing – by formal letter 
  B. Sealed note on time badge 
 

5. Date of Hire, Anniversary Dates, Seniority Date: 
 

Date of Hire:  An employee’s date of hire would be the date the employee begins 
employment at Grafton County.  This would be applicable for the initial benefits 
employees may be eligible for becoming a new employee.  If an employee leaves 
Grafton and is rehired, the rehire date would replace the employee’s original date of 
hire. 
 

Anniversary Date: If employment began before the 15th of the month, the anniversary 
date will be established as the beginning of that month.  If an employment began on or 
after the 15th of the month, the anniversary will be established as the beginning of the 
next month.  This will be considered the anniversary date for benefits and wage 
increments.  Example: employee was hired on December 15th:  employee date of hire 
would remain December 15th and anniversary date would be January 1st.  The 
anniversary date would be applicable for the purposes of step increments.   
 

Seniority Date:  Date shall be defined as an employee’s total length of continuous 
service in the Grafton County Nursing Home for a particular position and in a particular 
status.  In some cases, date of hire would be seniority date if employee remains in 
same position and same status throughout their employment.  If employee at anytime 
changes their status or transfers into new position, seniority date would change.  
 

6. Transfer 
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If an employee transfers into a new position (i.e. promotion, demotion, certification, or 
transfers to a different department), he/she shall have the same anniversary date for the 
purposes of step increases and accrued benefits.  This employee who transfers into 
new position or department will not be eligible for a step increase until the trial period is 
completed. 
 

If an employee changes employment status (e.g. per diem to full-time), the anniversary 
date for step increases would remain the same, but the anniversary date for accrued 
benefits would change, in particular accrual rates for annual leave would change and 
the employee would have to wait five (5) years before accrual rate increases. 
 

ARTICLE 13 

NO STRIKE, NO LOCKOUT 

 

1. Under no circumstances will the Union cause, encourage, sponsor or participate 
in any strike, sit down, stay-in, stay-out, sick-in, sick-out, work slowdown, picketing of 
any kind while on duty, withholding of services or curtailment of work or restrictions or 
interference with the operations of the County or departments thereof during the term of 
this Agreement. In the event of any such activity, the County shall not be required to 
negotiate on the merits of the dispute which gave rise to such activity until any and all 
such activity has ceased. The County will not lock out any employees during the term of 
this Agreement. 
 

 

2. Should any employee or group of employees covered by this Agreement engage 
in any activity prohibited by Section 1 of this Article, the Union shall forthwith disavow 
any such activity and shall use all means to induce such employee or group of 
employees to terminate such activity forthwith. It is understood that any employee 
violating this Article shall be subject to disciplinary action up to and including discharge. 
 

ARTICLE 14 

SENIORITY 

 

1. Seniority: Seniority shall be defined as an employee’s total length of continuous 
service in the Grafton County Nursing Home. There shall be a seniority list for all 
Nursing Home employees, according to their total County seniority. Such list shall 
include, name, date of hire, position, and status whether full-time or regular part-time. 
 

2. Classification Seniority:  Upon receiving a promotion, an employee’s name shall 
be entered at the bottom of the seniority list for that job classification, regardless of the 
employee’s total County seniority, and the employee shall be considered to be the junior 
employee in that job classification. 
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3. Seniority Lists: The Nursing Home shall provide to the Union Chief Steward an 
updated copy of the seniority list at the beginning of each month. Seniority lists shall be 
posted in each area of the Nursing Home. 
 

4. Probationary Employees: Probationary employees who have completed their 
probationary period and have become full-time or regular part-time employees shall 
have their seniority date adjusted to reflect the employee’s original date of hire. 
5. Loss of Seniority: An employee’s seniority shall be terminated and the 
employee’s rights under this Agreement forfeited for the following reasons: 
 

 A. Termination of Employment. 
 B. Exceeding an authorized leave of absence unless excused by 
  by management. 
 C. Failure to return to work within seven (7) calendar days after 
  notification of recall from layoff by the County. 
 D. Remaining on layoff status for more than twelve (12) months. 
 

ARTICLE 15 

LAYOFF & RECALL 

 

1. When it is determined by the County that a layoff is necessary, the County shall 
first ask for volunteers within the affected classification(s). In the event there is an 
insufficient number of volunteers, employees shall be laid off in the order of their 
seniority beginning with the least senior in the affected classification(s). It is understood 
that an employee retained must be qualified, as determined by the County, to perform 
the available work, or the least senior employee in the classification(s) shall not be laid 
off. Qualifications shall include prior work performance and experience, skills and 
abilities, prior training and educational experience. Generally, it is understood that 
probationary, temporary and per diem employees shall be laid off before regular full-
time or regular part-time employees are laid off. 
 

2. The County shall give an employee not less than fourteen (14) days written 
notice of layoff and a copy thereof shall be delivered to the Union steward in the 
affected areas. During this fourteen (14) day period the County shall meet with the 
Union so that the Union may present alternative proposals to avoid layoff and/or 
mitigate the impact on the employees. 
 

3. Laid off employees may fill any vacancy for which the employee is qualified, in 
accordance with Article 16, Job Vacancies/Job Postings/Promotions of this Agreement. 
 

4. In all cases, the remaining employees must be able to perform the required job 
duties. 
 

5. RECALL: Employees who are laid off shall be eligible for recall. Recall of 
employees into positions shall be by qualifications in reverse order of layoff. 
Qualifications, as determined solely by the County, shall include prior work performance 
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and experience, skills and abilities, prior training and educational experience. The right 
to recall shall be for twelve (12) months. 
 

6. Any recall notice shall be mailed to the last known address in the County records 
by certified mail. It shall be the employee’s responsibility to update such mailing address 
as necessary. Any employee who fails to return to work within seven (7) calendar days 
of a recall notice, or who fails to make arrangements with the Administrator for the 
employee’s return on some other date, shall lose all recall rights and seniority. Any laid-
off employee who rejects a recall to a bargaining unit position shall lose all recall rights 
and seniority. 

 

ARTICLE 16 

JOB VACANCIES/JOB POSTINGS/PROMOTIONS 

 

1. When a vacancy occurs and no employee has recall rights to such vacancy, the 
County will post the job opening for a period of not less than seven (7) calendar days to 
allow employees the opportunity to apply for available positions. The postings shall 
indicate the job title, pay grade, shift hours, job status (full-time, part-time) and minimum 
qualifications for the position, date of posting, and close of posting. 
 

2. The open position shall be awarded to the most qualified applicant, as 
determined by the County. Qualifications shall include prior work performance and 
experience, skills and abilities, prior training and educational experience. If the County 
determines that two (2) or more applicants are relatively equally qualified, seniority shall 
be the determining factor to award the position. 
 

ARTICLE 17 

TRIAL PERIOD 

 

1. Upon promotion or transfer to a new bargaining unit position (or classification) a 
trial period shall take effect for up to three (3) months during which time the County may 
remove the employee if, in the County’s sole discretion, the standards of the position 
have not been met. The County shall have the ability to extend the trial period up to an 
additional three (3) months. The County shall notify the Union of any such extension. In 
the event that the employee has not met the standards for the position, as determined 
solely by the County, the employee may in lieu of removal, or if the employee elects to 
decline appointment to the new position, return to the employee’s former position, if the 
position is available. Return to the employee’s former position shall be at the 
employee’s previous pay with no loss of seniority. If the employee’s former position is 
not available, the employee may fill a vacant position of the same or lower classification 
if the employee is qualified, as determined solely by the County. If no vacancy exists, 
the employee shall be laid off and shall have recall rights in accordance with Article 15 
of this Agreement. 
 

2. There shall be at least two (2) informal evaluations and/or reviews by 
management during the trial period to afford the employee an opportunity to correct and 
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improve any deficiencies in the employee’s performance. No step increases are given 
during trial periods. If due for an annual evaluation while serving a trial period, the 
annual evaluation will be foregone and two evaluations will be done during the trial 
period, the last of which will determine if the employee has successfully completed the 
trial period and will be used to determine if the employee’s annual step increase is 
warranted. Step increases will be retroactive. 
 

3. Employees selected for a new position with a higher labor grade shall receive a 
rate of pay for the new position which gives the employee an increase in pay. 
Employees selected for an open position which is a lower labor grade than the position 
previously held, shall receive the rate of pay consistent with the step level of the position 
they held prior to receiving the new position. If an employee transfers to a new position 
with the same labor grade, he/she will maintain the same step. The rate of pay in any 
new position cannot exceed the maximum for the labor grade. 
 

If an employee transfers into a new position (i.e. promotion, demotion, certification, or 
transfers to a different department), he/she shall have the same anniversary date for the 
purposes of step increases and accrued benefits. This employee who transfers into new 
position or department will not be eligible for a step increase until the trial period is 
completed. 
 

ARTICLE 18 

DISCIPLINARY PROCEDURE 

 

1. It is the responsibility of each employee to observe work rules, policies, and 
regulations. 
 

2. No employee shall be terminated from employment without just cause. 
 

3. Employees shall have the right to have a Union steward or representative 
present whenever the employee is to be disciplined or interviewed regarding events or 
behavior which may lead to possible future discipline and the County shall notify the 
employee of that right prior to meeting with or interviewing the employee regarding said 
discipline or possible discipline. 
 

 Should employees decline Union representation for such meeting, it shall not 
mean that the employee is waiving any future rights to Union representation regarding 
this incident or any other. 
 

 Employees shall have prior notification of any meeting that may result in 
disciplinary action and will have time to seek Union representation. 
 

4. The County will normally use the procedure of progressive discipline including  
the following actions: 
  Oral reprimand 
  Written reprimand 
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Suspension without pay 
  Termination 
 

 It is understood that more serious offenses may warrant more serious discipline 
and not adhere to the above progressive discipline steps. 
 

 With the exception of compliance issues, in-service training shall be given prior to 
warnings being given.  

  
a. Procedure: 

● The County shall notify the Chief Steward or designee as soon as 
reasonably possible if any employee is to be suspended or 
discharged. 

● Such employee shall have the right to consult with the Chief 
Steward or designee before the employee is suspended or 
discharged. 

● With the consent of the employee, the Chief Steward will be 
promptly given a copy of any recorded discipline within a 
reasonable period of time. 

● Filing of grievances shall be in accordance with Article 19. 
● Reinstatement – Any employee who has been determined through 

agreement, mediation or arbitration to have been unjustly 
suspended or discharged will be reinstated and it shall be recorded 
in their personnel file. 

● Such employee shall be reimbursed for lost time and benefits. 
 

5. All oral reprimands shall become invalid six (6) months after the disciplinary 
action is taken. All written reprimands shall become invalid one (1) year after the written 
reprimand. All suspensions shall become invalid two (2) years after the suspension. 
Disciplinary actions issued prior to the expiration of the 2010 – 2013 CBA shall remain 
in effect for the prescribed time-frames under said agreement. 
 

6. Discipline shall be treated in a confidential manner, and employee shall not be 
reprimanded or otherwise disciplined in the presence of, or within the hearing or sight 
range of residents, other employees, or other persons not involved in the disciplinary 
process. 
 

7. The County may suspend an employee with pay pending an investigation, but a 
suspension with pay for purposes of an investigation shall not be considered disciplinary 
in nature. Such employees shall be advised on the nature of the investigation at the 
time of suspension. 
 

8. The County will act to impose discipline within a reasonable time of the offense. 
Disciplinary actions shall identify the specific alleged action or non-action for which the 
discipline is being given, and shall cite the particular contract provision or published rule 
or regulation which is alleged to have been violated. Disciplinary actions and any appeal 
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of such actions taken pursuant to this Article shall not be subject to the provisions of 
RSA 28:10-a and any appeal thereto shall be subject to the Grievance Procedure 
outlined in Article 19 of this Agreement. 
 

9. Any employee who is terminated will be escorted from the premises by any of the 
following: Human Resources Representative or Department Head or their designee. 
  
10. Employees are required to sign a Criminal Record Attestation at the time of hire 
and at their yearly evaluation stating they have not been convicted of a felony in New 
Hampshire or another state; convicted of sexual assault or other form of violent crime; 
and that they have never had a finding of fraud, abuse, or exploitation of any person. 
Failure to notify the administrator of any conviction will result in immediate disciplinary 
action up to and including termination. 
 

ARTICLE 19 

GRIEVANCE PROCEDURE 

 

1. This Article is to provide a procedure for adjusting grievances. A grievance is 
defined as a dispute, claim or complaint raised by one (1) or more employees covered 
by this Agreement arising from an alleged violation, misinterpretation or misapplication 
of any provision of this Agreement. 
 

2. The grievance procedure is designed, and it is the intention of the parties, to 
attempt to resolve grievances at the lowest possible level that is satisfactory to both 
parties. 
 

3. The parties acknowledge that it is desirable for an employee and the employee’s 
immediate supervisor to resolve problems through free and informal communication. 
Employees are therefore encouraged, though not required, to discuss concerns with 
their supervisor directly and informally prior to initiating formal grievances. 
 

4. Nothing in this Article is intended to limit the rights of an employee to present a 
grievance or having the grievance adjusted without the involvement of the Union 
provided the adjustment is not inconsistent with the terms of this Agreement and the 
Union has been provided with a copy of the formal grievance and the resolution. In 
addition, if requested by the employee, the Union has been given the prior opportunity 
to present at any discussion of the grievance. 
 

Step 1:  Step one (1) grievances are filed verbally with the employee's Supervisor. The 

grievant involved and one (1) Union official shall have a meeting with the employee’s 
supervisor to verbally discuss the problem. This must take place within ten (10) work 
days of the alleged violation or when the employee should have known of the event. 
  

If the grievance is not resolved at this meeting, the supervisor shall have three 
(3) work days to answer the grievance following the Step 1 meeting. If no decision has 
been rendered within said three (3) work days or if the supervisor’s answer is 
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unsatisfactory to the grievant, the grievance may be submitted to Step 2. If the Union 
disagrees with the grievant’s decision to accept the Step 1 answer as satisfactory, the 
Union shall be allowed to have its disagreement attached to and made part of the 
written record. This statement shall be provided to the supervisor within three (3) work 
days of the Step 1 answer. 
 

Step 2:  The grievance shall be reduced to writing and presented to the Administrator 

or the Administrator’s designee, within five (5) work days of the supervisor’s decision, or 
the date upon which such decision should have been rendered. The grievance shall 
specify the employee(s) involved, the date of the alleged offense, the specific contract 
provision(s) violated, and the remedy sought. 
 

 The Administrator or the Administrator’s designee shall meet with the aggrieved 
employee and the Union within five (5) work days of the Administrator’s receipt of the 
grievance. It is understood that there shall be no more than three (3) representatives 
from the Union in addition to the grievant(s) present at this meeting. 
 

If the grievance is not resolved at this meeting, the Administrator or the Administrator’s 
designee shall render a decision within five (5) work days from the date of said 
grievance meeting. If no decision has been rendered within five (5) work days or if the 
Administrator’s decision is unsatisfactory to the grievant and the Union, the grievance 
may be submitted to Step 3. 

Step 3:  The aggrieved employee and/or the Union shall advance the written 

grievance, to the Executive Director, or the Executive Director’s designee, within five (5) 
work days of the Administrator’s decision, or the date upon which such decision should 
have been rendered. Within five (5) work days of the Executive Director’s or the 
Executive Director’s designee receipt of notification that the Union wishes to advance 
the grievance, a meeting between the Executive Director or the Executive Director’s 
designee and the aggrieved employee and/or the Union shall be held. It is understood 
that there shall be no more than three (3) representatives from the Union in addition to 
the grievant(s) present at this meeting. One (1) of the Union’s representatives may 
include a representative of the UE’s National Union. 
 

 If the grievance is not resolved at this meeting then the Executive Director or the 
Executive Director’s designee shall render a decision within five (5) work days from the 
date of said meeting. If no decision has been rendered within five (5) work days or if the 
Executive Director’s decision is unsatisfactory to the grievant and/or the Union, the 
grievance may be submitted to Step 4 within thirty (30) calendar days. 
 

 Nothing shall prevent the Parties from continuing to discuss grievances after 
Step 3 of the procedure in an attempt to resolve the grievance prior to arbitration. 
 

 All time limits may be extended by mutual agreement between the County and 
the Union. Either or both Parties shall be granted one (1) automatic two (2) day 
extension for any step of this grievance procedure. If a grievance is not reported and/or 
processed within the time limits set forth in this Article, the grievance shall be dismissed 



21 

 

and no further action shall be taken with respect to such grievance. If the County fails to 
answer a grievance within the limits set forth in this Article the Union shall be allowed to 
automatically process the grievance to the next step. 
 

Step 4:  In the event that the Union elects to proceed to arbitration, the Parties shall 

select, within five (5) work days of the written notice of appeal, two (2) members of the 
three (3) member Arbitration Panel to be composed as follows: 
 

 (a) One (1) County Commissioner or designee; 
 

 (b) One (1) Union representative; and 
 

 (c) One (1) panel member selected by mutual agreement of the County and 
the Union within fifteen (15) work days of the written notice of appeal. The Arbitration 
Panel shall schedule a hearing within thirty (30) days of the written notice of appeal. A 
hearing before the Arbitration Panel will be held as expeditiously as possible, but no 
later than sixty (60) calendar days from the notice of appeal. 
 

 If the Parties are unable to agree upon the third panel member within said fifteen 
(15) work days or to obtain a commitment to serve, the Union may submit a written 
request to the Public Employee Labor Relations Board (PELRB) to appoint an arbitrator 
in accordance with the rules and regulations of the PELRB. The Union’s request for 
PELRB appointment of an arbitrator must be within five (5) work days after the end of 
said fifteen (15) work day selection period. 
 

 The function of the Arbitration Panel is to determine interpretation of the specific 
provisions of this Agreement. There shall be no right in arbitration to obtain and no 
Arbitration Panel shall have the power or authority, to add to, detract from, ignore, or 
modify any terms of this Agreement. The decision of the majority of the Arbitration Panel 
shall be final and binding upon the Grievant, the Union and the County. 
 

5. The expenses of the arbitrator shall be shared equally by the County and the 
Union. 
 

6. Each grievance shall be separately processed at any arbitration proceeding 
unless the parties otherwise agree. The Arbitration Panel shall furnish a written opinion 
within thirty (30) days of the parties submitting written briefs, specifying the reasons for 
the decision. 
 

7. For the purpose of this grievance procedure, the “work day” means normal 
administrative work days Monday through Friday, excluding holidays and weekends. 
 

8. Grievances may be submitted to the grievance step involving the management 
personnel with the authority to resolve the grievance. 
 



22 

 

9. This procedure shall be followed for all grievances except that in the case of a 
grievance involving a termination or suspension, the grievance procedure shall 
commence with Step 3 with filing no later than five (5) days following the termination or 
suspension date. 
 

10. It is understood that whenever possible all meetings referenced above (except 
Step 1) and incorporated herein as part of the grievance procedure shall take place 
during normal administrative work hours without loss of pay to participants so long as 
participants at grievance meetings were scheduled to work during the same time as the 
meeting has been scheduled. 
 

11. Excluded from this grievance procedure are grievances which question the 
exercise of rights set forth in Article 2 of this Agreement, entitled Management Rights. 

 

ARTICLE 20 

HOURS OF WORK/OVERTIME 

 

1. The hours of work for bargaining unit personnel shall be governed by Nursing 
Home policy pertaining to shifts, shift coverage, and assignments, as well as status, 
whether the employee is fulltime, 4/5’s, 3/5’s or per diem. (See Article 12 Employment 
for details.) 
 

2. There are a variety of workdays; however, for many employees the normal 
workday is eight (8) hours. 
 

3. Should the County wish to create new shifts, the Administrator shall post any 
newly created shifts and said shifts shall be filled in accordance with Article 16 (Job 
Vacancies) contained herein. 
 

4. Employees are required to be on their unit at the scheduled start time of their 
shift. Tardiness is subject to Article 18 Disciplinary Procedure of this Agreement. 
 

5. Should the County wish to permanently modify the starting and quitting times for 
existing shifts, the Administrator shall notify the Union at least thirty (30) days in 
advance of any permanent changes in said starting and quitting times. At the Union’s 
request the Administrator shall meet with the Union during the course of the thirty (30) 
days to discuss the proposed changes in starting and quitting times. The County agrees 
to consider alternative proposals made by the Union. If, during these discussions, the 
Union has made an alternative proposal which has been rejected by the Administrator 
or if the Union has made no proposal, the County may change the starting and quitting 
times of existing shifts. 
 

6. It is understood that an employee may submit a written request for an alternative 
start and/or end time for a given shift. It is understood that such requests shall be 
granted at the discretion of the Administrator. 
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7. Members of the bargaining unit will be allowed to swap shifts. Prior approval of 
the Department Head/Supervisor is required. Requests must be submitted in writing to 
the Department Head/Supervisor. Each request must include: both signatures of the 
participants, date of swap requested, shift requested, and reason for the request. It is 
the bargaining unit employee(s) responsibility to assure that the reassigned shifts are 
covered. Failure to follow through as requested may lead to disciplinary actions. 
 

8. Time and one-half (1.5) shall be paid for pre-authorized hours worked in excess 
of the normal forty (40) hour work week. If an employee works beyond the designated 
end of his/her shift, the applicable shift differential will continue until the employee 
punches out, unless the employee is working a double shift, in which case the shift 
differential that applies to each shift worked will be paid. Unauthorized overtime is not 
permitted. Employees working beyond their normally scheduled hours are required to 
complete a Notification of Payroll Change form located in their respective department 
and give the form to their Department Head for their notification and signature. Any 
unauthorized overtime will be subject to Article 18 Disciplinary Procedure of this 
Agreement. 
 

9. Employees who work a double shift (two (2) consecutive eight (8) hour shifts) 
shall receive time and one-half (1.5) for the second (8) hour shift, even if the employee 
has not worked forty (40) hours.  Employees working twelve (12) hour shifts are exempt 
from this provision. 
 

10. An employee who has a call-out during a week in which the employee has 
worked an overtime shift will not receive overtime for that shift; the employee will be 
compensated at straight time. An employee working an overtime shift during a week 
with a pre-scheduled holiday or annual leave will be compensated at time and one-half 
(1.5). 
 

11. Holiday and Annual Leave shall be considered hours worked for the computation 
of overtime. All other leaves shall not be considered hours worked for the computation 
of overtime. 
 

12. Mandatory Overtime: Those wishing to volunteer up front to fill unmet needs will 
be given preference for the date(s) and time(s) they wish to work. All other will be 
assigned according to least seniority. The LNA roster will begin with the least seniority 
to those with the most seniority. Once the LNA roster has cycled through, the process 
will begin again if there continues to be unmet needs on a schedule. 
 

ARTICLE 21 

ATTENDANCE GUIDELINES  

 

1. Members of the bargaining unit will be allowed to swap shifts. Prior approval of 
the Department Head/Supervisor is required. Requests must be submitted in 
writing to the Department Head/Supervisor. Each request must include: both 
signatures of the participants, date of swap requested, shift requested, and 
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reason for request. It is the bargaining unit employee(s) responsibility to assure 
that the reassigned shifts are covered. Failure to follow through as requested 
may lead to disciplinary action. 

 

2. If an employee calls out on his/her weekend to work, he/she must make up the 
time (a day for a day) on a weekend within eight (8) weeks, at the discretion of 
management. For employees who work every weekend, each call-out-situation 
will be reviewed on a case by case basis, and if warranted, time will be made up 
at the discretion of management. 
 

3. Except in emergency situations, time off must be pre-approved 
 

4. Pre-approved time is not counted against an employee on his/her evaluation. 
 

5. If an employee who is a volunteer firefighter is unable to report to work on time 
due to being actively engaged in fighting a fire, he/she will not be considered a 
call out and will not receive a disciplinary penalty of any kind. He/she will be paid 
‘other non-productive’ time. If able to work at the conclusion of the fire, he/she is 
expected to report for duty. If already at work when toned out, he/she may not 
leave his/her position without prior supervisory approval. 
 

6. If an employee calls out due to inclement weather, they will be required to use 
annual leave if available. If non-essential employees are sent home due to 
inclement weather, they may use annual time, if available. 
 

 

ARTICLE 22 

REST BREAKS 

 

1. Employees will be allowed sixty (60) minutes of paid, non-productive time per 
eight (8) hour shift. If possible this time will consist of one (1) thirty (30) minute break 
and two (2) fifteen (15) minute breaks. 
 

2. Employees working a five (5), six (6) or seven (7) hour shift will be allowed forty 
five (45) minutes of paid, non-productive time. If possible, this shall consist of one (1) 
thirty (30) minute break and one (1) fifteen (15) minute break. 
 

3. Any employee working at least a four (4) hour shift shall be allowed one (1) 
fifteen (15) minute break. Employees scheduled for less than a four (4) hour shift shall 
not receive a break. 
 

4. Employees working a regular shift of twelve (12) to fifteen and one-half (15.5) 
hours shall receive one (1) hour and thirty (30) minutes of paid, non-productive time per 
shift. If possible this time will consist of two (2) thirty (30) minute breaks and two (2) 
fifteen (15) minute breaks. 
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5. Meal and break time is paid. Employees may not leave the premises during 
these breaks. 
 

ARTICLE 23 

SCHEDULE CHANGE/REPORT IN PAY 

 

Any employee reporting to work on their scheduled hours who is prevented from 
working their scheduled hours due to change of the employee’s schedule without prior 
notification, will be paid mileage to and from the County Complex and will receive two 
(2) hours at time and one-half (1.5) the employee’s base rate of pay. 
 

When the schedule has been changed after it has been posted employees will be 
notified, by the Staffing Coordinator, the manager, or their designee, using one of the 
following methods; talking directly to the employee at the Nursing Home, speaking with 
the employee on the phone or leaving a voice message at the employee’s last contact 
number given to the County or placing a notice on their timecard. 
 

 If an employee is scheduled off for a holiday or annual leave and is called in to 
work, he/she will be compensated for actual hours worked., the holiday/annual leave will 
remain on the books to be taken at a later time. Employee will not be compensated for 
actual hours worked plus the non-productive time. 
 

 A premium of seventy-five cents ($.75) per hour shall be paid if an employee is 
called in to work on his/her day off or a day when he/she was not scheduled to work. 
This applies only when an employee is called in on the same day without prior notice. 
 

ARTICLE 24 

CALL BACK POLICY 

 

Full-time employees called back to work after leaving the work premises or before the 
next scheduled starting time shall be paid for all hours worked with a minimum of two 
(2) hours, except when the employee is coming in to perform authorized scheduled 
work or mandatory in-service training. 
 

ARTICLE 25 

WAGES 

 

Term of Agreement to be three (3) years, with the exception of Article 25, Article 
28 and Article 37.5, which will be negotiated annually. 
 

1. Effective July 1, 2013, all employees shall receive a one and one half (1.5%) 
percent wage increase on their current base rate of pay.  
 

2. Wage Increments for Part Time Employees 
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 Wage increments for current part-time employees as of 01/01/2001 may be 
authorized after working one calendar year. Any wage increase will be given at the 
employee’s next evaluation. This evaluation date will become the date for his/her annual 
evaluation and merit increase if authorized. Evaluation dates for new employees hired 
after 01/01/2001 will be measured annually from their date of hire.  
 

3. Annually in accordance with the County’s step plan, eligible bargaining unit 
employees may receive a step increase in pay in conjunction with their Anniversary 
Date. Step increases for employees, if approved, will be effective in the first full pay 
period of the month.  
 

4. Per Diem stipend for LNA’s shall be $1.00 per hour. 
 

5. Dietary Aides who cover for cooks will be compensated an additional $2.00/hour 
while they are performing those duties. 
 

6. Employees who fill in for Staffing Coordinator which results in higher pay grade, 
shall receive pay within the higher pay grade. 
 

7. For payroll purposes, the work week begins at 11:00:00pm (2300) P.M. Saturday 
and ends at 10:59:59 (2259) Saturday. Employees are paid on a bi-weekly basis and 
payday is the Friday following the end of the pay period. 

 

ARTICLE 26 

SHIFT & WEEKEND DIFFERENTIALS 

 

1. Differential and special increments are paid to eligible employees in accordance 
with the wage schedule in Appendix A attached and incorporated herein. 
 

2. Wage differentials are added to the employee’s base rate. Wage differentials 
shall be paid to an employee who works a minimum of four (4) hours during the 
evening, night or weekend shift as defined below. Differential payments are as follows: 
 

Evening Shift  3:00PM-11:00PM      $1.00 per hour 
Night Shift 11:00PM-7:00AM      $2.00 per hour 
Weekend Shift        $1.00 per hour 
Weekend Shift is considered to be from 11:00PM Friday through 11:00PM Sunday. 
 

3. Shift differential shall be included in payment of annual leave, holiday pay and 
sick leave, if the employee normally receives such differential. 
 

4. Shift differentials shall not be paid on any pay-offs of accumulated Sick Leave or 
Annual Leave at termination/retirement. 
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ARTICLE 27 

BENEFIT WAITING PERIOD FOR STATUS CHANGES 

 

In the event that a per diem or unbenefited part-time employee has their 
employment status changed to a benefit eligible status (e.g. 3/5, 4/5, Full-time) and has 
successfully completed their introductory probation period, the employee will be able to 
enroll in applicable benefits (e.g. health, dental, life) the 1st of the month following their 
effective date of their status change or on the same day if the effective date of their 
status change occurred on the 1st of the month.  Two examples, 1) employee on August 
17th changes their status to benefit eligible status, On September 1st is when they can 
enroll in applicable benefits and 2) employee on October 1st changes their status to a 
benefit eligible status, October 1st is when they can enroll in applicable benefits. 
 

ARTICLE 28 

HEALTH INSURANCE 

 

Term of Agreement to be three (3) years, with the exception of Article 25, Article 
28 and Article 37.5, which will be negotiated annually. 
 

1. The County shall make health insurance available through Anthem or a 
comparable plan to eligible employees consistently working at least twenty four (24) or 
more hours per week in accordance with the coverage provisions of the health 
insurance carrier.  
 

2. Application must be made upon employment or eligibility for benefits for 
membership to be effective the first of the month following the three (3) full months of 
employment. Eligibility must occur before the 15th day of the month to receive credit for 
that month. If application is not made as stated above, membership can only be 
accepted on the County’s group anniversary date of July 1 by making application before 
June 1. 
 

3. Once membership is effective for employees regularly working thirty five (35) or 
more hours each week, the County and employees shall pay as follows: 
 

 Effective June 16, 2013 current employees hired before September 7, 2003 shall 
contribute fourteen (14%) per cent of the current (Fiscal Year 2014) premium as follows: 

 

Single  $36.98 
     2-person $73.95 
     Family  $99.83 

 Employee share shall be paid each pay period by payroll deduction. 
 

 Effective June 16, 2013 new employees hired on or after September 7, 2003 
shall contribute twenty (20%) per cent of the current (Fiscal Year 2011) premium as 
follows: 
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Single  $52.82 
     2-person $105.64 
     Family  $142.61 

 Employee share shall be paid each pay period by payroll deduction. 
  

Employees regularly working twenty four (24) up to thirty five (35) hours per week 
may receive coverage at their own expense through payroll deduction. 
 

4. Any and all changes in marital/dependent status must be immediately reported to 
the Human Resources Department, in writing, so that the County will be in compliance 
with federal regulations relative to coverage continuation. The County reserves the right 
to recapture, from the employee, the cost of providing erroneous health insurance 
premiums, due to employee failure to notify Human Resources of such changes. 
 

5. Double Coverage: Married couples both working for the County and eligible for 
County-paid coverage cannot carry double coverage. They may individually carry single 
memberships or one spouse may carry the two-person or family membership covering 
both employees. For those spousal employees who are each, individually, eligible for 
County-paid coverage and have one joint policy,  the County will pay $900 per year on a 
pro-rated monthly basis. 
 

6. In lieu of carrying the County health insurance, the County will pay $1800 per 
year on a pro-rated monthly basis to any full-time employee who documents active 
health insurance coverage through a spouse’s or other outside health insurance, 
excluding public assistance. 
 

7. Payment is made on or around the 10th of each month for the previous month. 
The employee must work through the 15th of the month for credit for the month (i.e., 
termination, resignation, or retirement before the 15th will void eligibility for that month). 
 

8. Termination: Employee terminates employment after the first of the month, 
Grafton County will pay your premium through the end of the month. After that, if you or 
your spouse/civil union partner, children, elect to continue coverage, employee will have 
to pay monthly premiums through COBRA.  
 

9. COBRA Extension: Under Federal and State Law, the employee and the 
employee’s spouse/children are entitled to continue group health insurance coverage at 
the employee’s or the employee’s spouse/children’s own cost at group rates under 
certain circumstances. Extension is not automatic. HealthTrust will make every effort to 
contact the employee, as soon as practical after notification of qualifying event, advising 
the employee of the right to extension, at the current group rate as active employees 
plus a two (2%) percent administration fee as COBRA regulations allow. 
 

10. Retirement: At age 65, active employees (and spouses/civil union partners as 
applicable) must apply for Medicare coverage (only Part A is required until you retire) to 
supplement County coverage. As long as you remain an active employee, you are 
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entitled to the regular group coverage. Once you retire and are at least 65 years of age, 
you must convert to the supplemental Medicare plan offered by the County. The County 
advises that you contact your local Social Security Administration office prior to 
retirement to make arrangements to obtain Part B of Medicare. Part B is required to 
obtain supplemental coverage.   
 

Grafton County will help contribute for retiree’s health insurance coverage under the 
following conditions: 
 

 a. All employees hired on or before June 30, 2007, any employee who has 
completed 10 years of continuous full-time paid employment during which the employee 
was eligible (*) for county-paid medical benefits may receive county-paid medical 
benefits upon retirement at age 62 or thereafter. 
 

 For employees after June 30, 2007, any employee who has completed 20 or 
more years of continuous full time paid employment during which he/she was eligible (*) 
for county-paid medical benefits, may receive county-paid medical benefits upon 
retirement at age 62 or thereafter. 
  

Any employee who has completed thirty (30) or more years continuous full time 
paid employment during which the employee was eligible (*) for county-paid medical 
benefits may receive county-paid medical benefits upon retirement at age 60 or 
thereafter. 
 

b. Upon reaching the age of 65, it will be mandatory for the retiree 
(spouse/civil union partner as applicable) to sign up for Medicare. The County will pay 
for the retiree only (one person), at the single rate for age 62-65 or age 60-65, 
whichever applies as in paragraph a) above, and for the Supplemental Medicare plan 
offered by the County at age 65 and over.  

 
(*) An employee will not be ineligible, if otherwise eligible, but not covered by a 
spouse’s/civil union partner’s health insurance plan or due to a break in  continuous 
service because of FMLA or Worker’s Compensation, provided the employee continues 
coverage at his/her own expense. 
An employee officially retiring under NH Retirement System guidelines under age 62 or 
60, whichever applies in accordance with paragraph (a) above, may continue health 
insurance coverage at his/her own expense indefinitely. 
 

In the event of employee retirement, the spouse/civil union partner of said employee 
may elect, at the time of the employee’s retirement, to continue health insurance 
coverage by paying the cost of a one-person membership. 
 

In the event of divorce or legal separation/dissolution of civil union from a retired 
employee, the spouse/civil union partner of said employee may continue health 
insurance coverage, at the spouse’s expense, under COBRA extension guidelines. 
Spouses/civil union partners of deceased retirees may indefinitely remain on the 
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County’s health insurance at their own expense, provided the retiree/civil union partner 
were covered by the County’s health plan at the time of the retiree’s death. 
 

11. Dependent Coverage: Employees may extend medical coverage for a dependent 
child up to age 26. The qualified dependent may or may not be considered a qualified 
tax dependent. 
  
12. Worker’s Compensation: While on Worker’s Compensation, County payment for 
health insurance shall cease after three (3) months. At the end of three (3) months 
payment after a catastrophic injury, as determined by the County, health insurance may 
be taken from the sick pay accruals or donations from other employees if the employee 
has exhausted their sick pay. This shall be on a case by case basis, at the discretion of 
the County. 
 

13. Surviving Dependent Benefit: If a covered employee dies, HealthTrust may 
continue health coverage without cost to a surviving spouse and/or dependents for a 
maximum of twelve (12) months under COBRA. In order to be eligible for this benefit: 

* The employee’s dependents must have been enrolled in the plan prior to   
   the employee’s death. 
* The employee’s death cannot be the result of an act of war or terrorism. 
* At the time of death, the subscriber must be an active employee with  
  Grafton County.  Retirees or COBRA beneficiaries are not eligible for this    
  benefit. 
* All other dependent eligibility requirements must be met. 
 

If a covered employee dies while performing the duties of their job, HealthTrust will 
provide health insurance coverage without cost to the employee’s covered dependents. 
These benefits are provided only if the employee was actively at work at the time of 
death, the event is eligible for Worker’s Compensation death benefits and the 
employee’s dependents were covered under the Plan prior to the employee’s death. 
 

Coverage continues until the earliest of the following occur: 
       * A dependent becomes eligible for another health plan; 
       * A dependent no longer meets the eligibility requirements; 
       * A surviving spouse remarries or becomes eligible for Medicare coverage; or 
       * The County no longer participates in the HealthTrust Health Program. 
 

14. 14. Employee Assistance Program: Through HealthTrust’s partnership with 
Life Resources (EAP Provider), there is a free information and referral service 
for all Grafton County employees (including per diems and unbenefited part-
time employees). 

 

 

Employee Assistance Program provides confidential, professional counseling, 
assessment, and referral services to employees and family members dealing with and 
needing help with personal issues such as marital problems, domestic violence, 
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substance abuse, elder care, emotional illness, and financial problems, etc. The 
Employee Assistance Program is staffed by professionally qualified clinicians twenty 
four (24) hours a day. Callers may contact the Helpline at any time  for help with urgent 
issues. You can access the Employee Assistance Program toll free by calling 1-800-
759-8122. To access online resources, visit www.allonehealtheap.com and type in the 
username: healthtrust, and the password: member. 
 
15. HEALTH REIMBURSEMENT ACCOUNT (HRA): 
 
An HRA is an account that Grafton County uses to reimburse employees for deductible 
expenses that they may incur through their health insurance. Once an employee enrolls 
into health insurance, they will automatically be enrolled into the County’s HRA. Only 
active employees with their dependents are eligible for this benefit. 
The deductible for the Health insurance plan is $500 for an individual, $1,000 for a 2 
person plan and $1,500 for a family plan.  For FY 14, employees can be reimbursed up 
to 75% ($375,$750 and $1125) through the HRA for deductible expenses. The County 
would be responsible for the first 75% of the deductible and the employee would be 
responsible for the last 25% of the deductible. The HRA is based on Grafton County’s 
fiscal year (July 1, 2013 to June 30, 2014), where Anthem’s deductible is based on a 
calendar year. 
 
Employees can obtain a claim form from the Human Resources Department for 
reimbursement of 75% of deductible expenses.  
 
 

 

ARTICLE 29 

DENTAL INSURANCE 

 

Dental insurance is available for eligible employees consistently working at least twenty-
four (24) hours per week.  All employees working twenty-four (24) or more hours per 
week must file a signed dental insurance application requesting or refusing coverage.  
Coverage is effective the first of the month following three (3) full months of 
employment/eligibility. Those eligible for coverage are the employee, spouse/civil union 
partner and all unmarried children up to the age of twenty-six (26). Eligible children 
include stepchildren and legally adopted children.  Once membership is effective, bi-
weekly payroll deductions will be established for coverage for that month.  The 
employee is responsible for the entire premium; the County does not contribute 
anything towards the premium. Any changes in family status (birth, adoption, marriage, 
divorce, death, etc.) should be reported to Human Resources to adjust the employee’s 
premiums, if necessary. In accordance with Grafton County’s contract with the County’s 
insurance provider, dental insurance premiums are paid with pre-tax dollars.  See 
Appendix B for current dental insurance payroll deductions.   

 
Termination of dental insurance coverage is effective on the last day of the month 
during which the earliest of the following occurs: 

http://www.allonehealtheap.com/
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*You terminate employment  
*On the 16th consecutive date of service in any armed forces 

 
*Drop below twenty-four (24) hours weekly  
*Grafton County ceases the policy 
*Premiums are not paid    
*Voluntary cancellation of your policy (at end of plan year) 
 
Premiums for FY 14 are as follows: 
Employee Only: $15.73 biweekly 
Employee and Spouse: $31.25 biweekly 
Employee and Child/ren: $36.51 biweekly 
Family: $51.86 biweekly 
 
 

VISION INSURANCE 

 

Vision insurance is available for eligible employees consistently working at least twenty-
four (24) hours per week.  All employees working twenty-four (24) or more hours per 
week must file a signed dental insurance application requesting or refusing coverage.  
Coverage is effective the first of the month following three (3) full months of 
employment/eligibility. Those eligible for coverage are the employee, spouse/civil union 
partner and all unmarried children up to the age of twenty-six (26). Eligible children 
include stepchildren and legally adopted children.  Once membership is effective, bi-
weekly payroll deductions will be established for coverage for that month.  The 
employee is responsible for the entire premium; the County does not contribute 
anything towards the premium. Any changes in family status (birth, adoption, marriage, 
divorce, death, etc.) should be reported to Human Resources to adjust the employee’s 
premiums, if necessary. In accordance with Grafton County’s contract with the County’s 
insurance provider, vision insurance premiums are paid with pre-tax dollars.  See 
Appendix B for current vision insurance payroll deductions.   

 
Termination of vision insurance coverage is effective on the last day of the month during 
which the earliest of the following occurs: 
*You terminate employment 
*On the 16th consecutive date of service in any armed forces 
*Drop below twenty-four (24) hours weekly  
*Grafton County ceases the policy 
*Premiums are not paid    
*Voluntary cancellation of your policy (at end of plan year) 
 
Premiums for FY 2014 are as follows: 
Employee Only: $3.03 biweekly 
Employee + One: $5.91  biweekly 
Employee + Child (ren): $5.73 biweekly 
Family: $8.96 biweekly 
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ARTICLE 30 

LIFE INSURANCE AND OTHER BENEFITS 

 

1. The County shall make available a life insurance program through Anthem Life or 
a similar program through another carrier.  The life insurance program shall be 
governed by the terms of the policy and the insurance carrier’s requirements.  
 

Anthem Life: Insurance is available to all employees working at least twenty four (24)  
hours per week, effective the first of the month following three (3) full months of 
employment or eligibility. For employees consistently working at least twenty four (24)  
hours per week but less than thirty five (35) hours per week, the employees pay 100% 
of the premium. For employees consistently working thirty five (35) or more hours per 
week, the County pays $.60 per week for the Basic Plan I ($10,000 term life insurance), 
and the employee pays the balance for Basic Plan 1 and for any additional costs for 
added coverage. 
 

Enrollments are done quarterly by a representative of the agency. Premiums are paid 
via payroll deductions and the premium cost varies depending on the plan(s) selected. 
This life insurance can be converted to private pay upon an employee’s retirement, 
provided this option is available through the vendor. 
 

Additional amounts of insurance, including extra term life, accidental death and 
dismemberment, whole life and disability insurance, may be purchased by the employee 
at his/her own expense. Premiums are paid via payroll deduction and the costs vary 
depending on the amount of insurance purchased. Coverage is guaranteed, regardless 
of health status, within the employee’s first ninety (90) days of eligibility. After ninety 
(90) days, coverage is subject to underwriting. Upon termination of employment, the 
covered employee may opt to convert to a non-group policy and continue premium 
payments by being directly billed by the insurance agency. 
 

* Any employee who currently has Transamerica Life Insurance, which is no longer 
offered to new employees, will be able to continue purchasing this insurance at their 
own expense. 
 

2. The County shall make available a deferred compensation program through 
Nationwide or Great West or a similar program through another carrier. The deferred 
compensation program shall be governed by the program requirements of the provider 
and applicable law. Deferred compensation shall be solely by employee contribution. 
 

3. TransAmerica – This is an optional plan available to all employees working at 
least twenty-four (24) hours per week.  Offerings include accident, cancer, and disability 
insurance are available at the employee’s expense. Employees are eligible to apply 
after completing three (3) full months of employment or at the group re-enrollment in 
June of each year. Premiums are paid via payroll deductions and the premium cost 
varies depending on the plan(s) selected. 
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* Any employee who currently has AFLAC Insurance or Colonial Life Insurance, which 
is no longer offered to new employees, will be able to continue purchasing this 
insurance at their own expense. 
 

4. If the County or carrier/provider cancels or modifies the current life insurance, 
optional accident/cancer/hospitalization, or deferred compensation benefits, the County 
shall provide the Union with immediate notice and shall meet to discuss the impact of 
such change or modification. 
 

5. Credit union services are offered to all employees through the NH Federal Credit 
Union in Concord, NH. NHFCU is a full service credit union offering a wide range of 
banking services.. 
 

You can become a member by completing a membership application and opening a 
share (savings) account with a minimum balance. There is also a one-time application 
fee to cover the cost of processing your application. Deposits are made via payroll 
deductions, and NHFCU also offers free telephone transaction services. 
  
In addition, members receive $1,000.00 free accidental death and dismemberment 
insurance, with additional coverage available at the employee’s expense. Once you join 
the NHFCU, you can retain your membership for life. You may also join the credit union 
any time by contacting the Human Resources Department. 
 

The County will continue to provide this benefit so long as the benefit is available to the 
County through the NH Federal Credit Union. 
 

Service Credit Union: SCU offers a wide range of banking and financial services, 
including free checking accounts. Their local office is at Dartmouth Hitchcock Medical 
Center, 1 Medical Center Drive, Lebanon, NH 03756. To join SCU, employees must 
complete a membership application form and open a savings account with an initial 
deposit of $50.00. Deposits are federally insured. SCU membership includes $1,000 of 
free accidental death and dismemberment insurance. To open an account with SCU, 
contact Human Resources for an information packet. 
 

ARTICLE 31 

FLEXIBLE BENEFIT PLAN 

 

1. The Flexible Benefit Plan is a Cafeteria Plan under Section 125 of the Internal 
Revenue Code. 
 

2. Flexible Benefit Plan employees may use before-tax dollars deducted from the 
employee’s salary to pay the following: 
 

a. The Premium Offset Plan for payment of the employee’s share of the 
medical and dental insurance premium, if applicable. 
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b. The Dependent Care Reimbursement Plan which provides an account for 
reimbursement of dependent day daycare expenses, and 

 

c. The Health Care Reimbursement Plan which reimburses employees for 
health care expenses that are not reimbursed from any other source, such as 
insurance. 

 

3. The amounts contributed to reimbursement accounts or applied to the payment 
of insurance premiums are not subject to Federal Income or Social Security Taxes. 
 

4. Pay reduction adjustments for insurance premiums (if applicable), Dependent 
Care, and Health Care Reimbursement will be taken from an employee’s gross wages 
before tax. If an employee elects to participate in the Dependent Care Reimbursement 
Plan, and/or Health Care Reimbursement, the pay reductions will be taken in equal 
deductions from each paycheck throughout the year and/or until the Plan maximum, or 
the maximum designated has been reached. Each time an employee receives a payroll 
check, an amount equal to the pay reduction will be added to the employee’s 
Dependent Care and/or Health Care reimbursement account. 
 

5. Properly submitted claims are paid on a bi-weekly basis. Dependent Care claims 
will not be reimbursed, if the claim exceeds the actual funds paid into the employee’s 
account. Forms obtained from the Commissioner’s Office must be completed, signed, 
and returned to the company administering the flexible benefits program on behalf of 
the County, along with required supporting documentation. Dependent Care and Health 
Care Reimbursement accounts may be used only for reimbursement of eligible 
expenses incurred during the Plan Year (July 1 through June 30). Any balance 
remaining in the account as of ninety (90) days following the end of the Plan year is 
forfeited. 
 

 

 

6. Plan annual maximums are as follows: 
 

 a. Premium Offset Plan – Actual Premium Cost 
 b. Dependent Care Reimbursement - $5,000 
 c. Health Care Reimbursement Plan - $2500 
 

7. Each year employees will have the opportunity to enroll in the Plan. Enrollment in 
the Dependent Care and/or Health Care Reimbursement Plans do not carry forward 
from one year to the next. Enrollment must be in writing on the form provided and 
received prior to the first day of the period of coverage (July 1st). If an employee fails to 
return the required enrollment form by July 1st, the employee will not be permitted to 
participate for that plan year. 
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8. Once an enrollment becomes effective, employees may not change their 
selection during the Plan Year, except under the following circumstances: 
 

a. If the premium amount for a health/dental plan significantly increases, an 
employee may make a corresponding change in salary reduction election, or 
revoke the election and receive coverage under another health/dental plan with 
similar coverage (if available). 

 

b. If the coverage under a health/dental plan is significantly curtailed or ceases, 
an employee may revoke an election and receive coverage under another 
health/dental plan with similar coverage (if available). 

 

c. If an employee has a “Life Event” change in family status, as defined by the 
Flexible Benefits Plan Provisions and the insurance carriers, the employee may 
be allowed to revoke their selection and make a new selection for the remainder 
of the Plan Year. Current provisions are: a change in family status includes 
marriage or divorce, death of a child, spouse, birth or adoption, termination or 
commencement of spouse’s employment, change from full-time to part-time (or 
vice versa) of you or your spouse, a significant change in health/dental coverage 
of the employee’s or the employee’s spouse attributable to the spouse’s 
employment. An employee make revoke an election for the balance of the Plan 
Year and file a new election only if both the revocation and the new election are 
due to and consistent with the reason that such change was permitted. The 
employee must make the new selection within thirty (30) days after the date the 
event occurred which caused the “Life Event” family status change. 
 

9. An employee’s participation in the Plan will cease upon termination of 
employment or if the employee no longer meets the eligibility requirements. 
 

 

 

 

 

ARTICLE 32 

PENSION PLAN 

 

1. Employees are covered by the State Employer’s Retirement System under New 
Hampshire State Law RSA 100:1-51, and as such, participation is mandatory for all 
eligible personnel. Employees must work a minimum of thirty-five (35) hours per week 
to be considered “full-time” and eligible. 
 

2. Eligible employees must apply for membership immediately upon employment, 
with membership to be effective as of the 1st day of employment. In the case of current 
part-time employees who become eligible, application must be made as soon as full-
time status is approved, with membership to be effective the first day of eligibility. 
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Retirement application must be submitted to Human Resources before the payroll can 
be processed. 
 

3. Any member whose hourly work status is reduced to a level below the thirty-five 
(35) hours minimum standard shall be ineligible for continued membership. 
 

4. Retirement category: Group I – Employee: All full-time employees 
 

5. A summary of the retirement plan will be provided to each employee as they 
reach full-time status. 
 

6. Employees should contact the New Hampshire Retirement System for all 
available options when nearing retirement age. 
 

7. After ten (10) years, the employee has vested interest in the Retirement Plan. 
 

ARTICLE 33 

WORKER’S COMPENSATION 

 

1. For the same day injuries or illness occur and the manager sends the employee 
home and/or to seek medical attention, the employee will be paid in full for their 
scheduled shift and will not have to use any sick leave. If absent for three (3) full days or 
less, employees may use Sick Leave for those days. Worker’s Compensation pays 60% 
of the employee’s average gross wage and the County will pay 20% - from the 
employee’s annual or sick time with the choice being the employee’s. This would not 
take effect unless the employee is out over fourteen (14) days, in which case it would be 
retroactive to when Worker’s Compensation began. 
 

2. While absent from work while on Worker’s Compensation, every employee must 
report to the employee’s Supervisor every two (2) weeks. It is the employee’s 
responsibility to seek further medical attention, if required. Subsequent to each doctor’s 
appointment, a written note and report of outcome must be presented to the Supervisor 
within five (5) calendar days. 
 

3. Prior to return to work, every employee must present a written doctor’s release to 
employee’s Supervisor. 
 

4. County liability for health insurance ceases after three (3) months on Worker’s 
Compensation. All other benefits are suspended as of the effective date of Worker’s 
Compensation. At the end of three (3) months payment after a catastrophic injury, as 
determined by the County, full health insurance premiums may be taken from any 
accrued time or donations from other employees if the employee has exhausted their 
accrued time. This shall be on a case by case basis, at the discretion of the County. 
 

5. Time that an employee is off work for a work-related injury or illness will be 
counted as Family Medical Leave of Absence (FMLA) time. 
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6. Worker’s compensation time runs concurrently with FMLA and PERSONAL 
MEDICAL LEAVE. 
 

ARTICLE 34 

ALTERNATIVE WORK DUTY 

 

1. Alternate duty is defined as transitional work responsibilities of a limited nature 
designed to bring an employee injured on the job or with a work related illness back to 
work while accommodating the temporary limitations imposed by the employee’s 
treating physician. Examples include shortened hours or responsibilities with limited 
walking, bending, standing, or reaching. The specific elements of the work 
responsibilities are variable as the employee’s work capacity increases. 
 

2. Alternative duty assignments are transitional and temporary in nature, normally 
not to exceed twelve (12) weeks. Any extensions in alternative assignments must be 
certified as necessary by the attending physician and approved by the Executive 
Director. 
 

3. Alternate duty will be offered only when the employee’s attending physician: (a) 
certifies that an injury or illness was sustained by the employee at work, (b) describes in 
detail the limitations imposed on the employee’s return to work. The County shall 
provide the physician with the employee’s job description to assist the physician in 
defining the work limitations. 
 

4. No alternate duty assignment shall be offered to an injured employee unless: (a) 
a written job description stating the job duties and limitations is signed by the employee 
and the Supervisor; and at the employee’s request may have a Union steward present; 
and (b) the work performed is deemed by the Supervisor and the Administrator in 
charge to be necessary to the fulfillment of the County’s legal responsibilities. 
 

5. Hours worked in an alternate duty assignment cannot exceed the average 
number of hours worked prior to the injury. 
 

6. Compensation for alternative duty positions will be paid by the County at 66.67% 
of the regular position’s wage (differential included). Additional compensation of sixty 
percent (60%) of the difference between the employee’s workers’ compensation 
average weekly wage and said County payment shall be paid by the workers’ 
compensation carrier. This is subject to change by the compensation carrier. 
 

7. If returning to work for less than a full eight (8) hour day, the employee may 
request to be paid from the employee’s Sick Leave to equal eight (8) hours and then the 
entire day’s pay shall be paid at 66.67% of the regular position wage (differentials 
included). 
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ARTICLE 35 

LONGEVITY 

 

1. For employees hired prior to October 5, 2010, longevity shall be payable on or 
before December 31st, for any employee who is on the payroll November 30 and has 
completed over six (6) full years of continuous full-time service prior to midnight 
November 30 shall be paid annually the sum of $100.00 in addition to the employee’s 
normal salary, and an additional $100.00 for each additional year of continuous full-time 
service. Employees hired after October 5, 2010 will not be eligible for longevity. 
 

2. Part-time employees hired prior to October 5, 2010, will be authorized longevity 
after working the aggregate total equivalent to a full six (6) years of employment plus an 
additional year for each additional aggregate full year of service thereafter. 
 

3. Employees leaving in good standing, i.e. not as a result of disciplinary action or 
without two (2) weeks notice, will be paid longevity on a pro-rated basis at termination of 
employment. “Pro-rated” means to pro-rate on a monthly basis the amount of longevity 
an employee has earned’ as of the previous November 30, plus pro-rating an additional 
$100.00 accumulating in the current longevity year. 
 

4. An employee hired prior to October 5, 2010 and is on an authorized medical 
leave of Absence on November 30 will be eligible for longevity earned as of the 
previous November 30, and will be eligible for the additional $100.00 pro-rated on the 
actual hours worked for the current longevity year. Longevity is based on the 
employee’s date of employment, not job anniversary date. 
 

5. In the event of rehire of a retired County employee, previous tenure for longevity 
does not apply. 
 

ARTICLE 36 

LEAVES OF ABSENCE 

FMLA, PERSONAL MEDICAL LEAVE, AND MATERNITY LEAVE 

 

INTRODUCTION 
 

The County recognizes that employees occasionally need to take time away from work 
to care for important family and medical needs. This FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE 
policy (FMLA) is designed to meet those needs in a manner that is beneficial to 
employees, their families and the County. 
 

 

EMPLOYEE ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS 
 

1. have been employed for at least twelve (12) months; and 
 



40 

 

2. have worked at least twelve hundred fifty (1,250) hours during the twelve (12) 
months preceding the commencement of the leave; and 
 

3. work at a work site where fifty (50) or more employees are employed within 
seventy-five (75) miles of the work site. 
 

REASONS FOR LEAVE 
 

Eligible employees may be entitled to take a leave of absence for the following reasons: 
 

1. The birth of a child or the placement in your home of a child for adoption or for 
foster care (NEW CHILD LEAVE); 
 

2. The need to care for your spouse, son, daughter or parent who has a serious 
health condition (FAMILY LEAVE); 
 

3. A serious health condition that prohibits you from performing essential functions 
of your job (EMPLOYEE LEAVE). 
 

4. Any qualifying exigency arising out of the fact that the spouse, son, daughter, or 
parent of the employee is on active duty, or has been notified of an impending call to 
active duty status, in support of contingency operation. 
 

5. To care for your spouse, son, daughter, parent, or next of kin who is a covered 
service member and is recovering from a serious illness or injury sustained in the line of 
duty while on active duty. 
 

 

 

 

DEFINITION OF SERIOUS HEALTH CONDITION 
 

A serious health condition is an illness, injury, impairment or physical or mental 
condition which involves the following: 
1. inpatient care; or 
 

2. period of incapacity of more than three (3) consecutive calendar days (including 
any subsequent treatment or period of incapacity relating to the same condition) that 
involves treatment two (2) or more times by health care provider, by a nurse or 
physician’s assistant under direct supervision of a health care provider or by a health 
care service under orders of or on referral by a health care provider; or 
 

3. a period of incapacity of more than three (3) consecutive calendar days 
(including any subsequent treatment or period of incapacity relating to the same 
condition) that involves treatment by a health care provider on at least one occasion 
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which results in a regimen of continuing treatment under the supervision of the health 
care provider; or 
 

4. a chronic condition which requires periodic visits for treatment by a health care 
provider or by a nurse or physician’s assistant under direct supervision of a health care 
provider and continues over an extended period of time (including recurring episodes of 
a single underlying condition) and may cause episodic absence rather than a continuing 
period of incapacity (e.g., diabetes, epilepsy); or 
 

5. a period of incapacity which is permanent or long-term due to a condition for 
which treatment may not be effective. The employee or family member must be under 
continuing supervision of, but need not be receiving active treatment by a health care 
provider (e.g., Alzheimer’s, a severe stroke); or 
 

6. a period of absence to receive multiple treatments (including any period of 
recovery there from) by a health care provider or by a provider of health care services 
under orders of or on referral by a health care provider, either for restorative surgery 
after an accident or other injury or for a condition which would likely result in a period of 
incapacity of more than three (3) consecutive calendar days in the absence of medical 
intervention or treatment (e.g., chemotherapy, radiation, dialysis); or 
 

7. any period of incapacity due to pregnancy or for prenatal care. 
 

DEFINITIONS OF SERVICEMEMBER: 
 

The servicemember is a member of the Armed Forces, including a member of the 
National Guard or Reserves, who is undergoing medical treatment, recuperation or 
therapy , in outpatient status or is otherwise on the temporary disability retired list for a 
serious injury or illness. Outpatient status means the assignment of the servicemember 
to a military medical treatment facility as an outpatient or to a unit established for the 
purpose of providing command and control of members of the Armed Forces receiving 
medical care as outpatients. 
 

A qualifying exigency arises out of the employee’s spouse, son, daughter or parent is 
being posted on active duty or being notified of an impending call or order to active duty 
in the Armed Forces in support of a contingency operation. A qualifying exigency 
includes short-notice development; military events and related activities; childcare and 
school activities, financial and legal arrangements; counseling; rest and recuperation; 
and post-deployment activities. 
 

Next of kin is the nearest blood relative to the servicemember. 
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AMOUNT OF LEAVE AVAILABLE 
 

Under “Reasons for Leave” on Page 39, examples 1 thru 4, an eligible employee may 
take up to twelve (12) weeks of leave in a twelve (12) month period.  The amount of 
leave available is determined by looking at the amount used during the twelve (12) 
months preceding the date leave would begin; the total amount of leave available in this 
twelve (12) month period may not exceed twelve (12) weeks.  Different rules may apply 
when both spouses work for the County. 
 

In case of birth of a child or placement of child by foster care or adoption, leave must be 
taken in consecutive weeks after the child’s birth or placement.   
 

Under “Reasons for Leave” on Page 39, example 5, an eligible employee may take one 
twenty-six (26) week leave period in a single twelve (12) month period.  The right to take 
this leave does not renew once a new twelve (12) month period begins and all this leave 
must be taken in a single twelve (12) month period, although it may be taken 
intermittently or on a reduced schedule.  
 

The County has the right to designate as FMLA for all time missed by an employee 
which would qualify under this policy. 
 

NOTIFICATION BY EMPLOYEE 
 

1. Foreseeable Events. The employee must meet with their Department Head prior 
to submitting their application for FMLA. Once that meeting is completed an application 
should be submitted to Human Resources at least thirty (30) days in advance of 
foreseeable leaves, such as leaves for planned medical treatment, son/daughter being 
called to active duty, or for the employee’s child’s birth. 
 

2. Unforeseeable Events. For unforeseen events, such as accidental injury causing 
a serious health condition, premature birth or a sudden change in the employee’s 
health, he/she must notify their Department Head and Human Resources of his/her 
need for leave as soon as it is possible and practical to do so. In most cases, the 
employee should notify their Department Head and Human Resources of an unforeseen 
leave and request an application within one (1) day of when he/she finds out when 
leave is needed. 
 

3. Failure to Give Notice. Failure to give notice as required may result in delay or 
denial of FMLA. In the case of foreseeable leaves, the County may delay the leave for 
up to thirty (30) days from the date the employee notified it of the need to take the 
FMLA. 
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NOTIFICATION BY THE COUNTY 
 

The County will notify an employee when it designates absences as FMLA. In 
appropriate cases, the County will designate leave as FMLA even if not requested by 
the employee. 
 

MEDICAL CERTIFICATION 
 

The employee must submit a Certification of Health Care Provider no later than fifteen 
(15) days following his/her request for EMPLOYEE LEAVE or FAMILY LEAVE. The 
Certification of Health Care Provider must be completed by a qualified health care 
provider. 
 

The County retains the right to have the employee examined by another health care 
provider (and possibly a third one, if the first two (2) medical opinions are inconsistent) 
at its expense. The County reserves the right to request periodic additional medical 
certification during the term of a leave of absence. 
 

INTERMITTENT OR REDUCED SCHEDULE 
 

If and only if it is medically necessary, FAMILY LEAVE or EMPLOYEE LEAVE may be 
taken on an intermittent or reduced schedule basis. Intermittent or reduced schedule 
leave will be counted on a quarter-hour basis to apply toward the twelve (12) week 
maximum per twelve (12) months. 
 

The employee must submit a Certification of Health Care Provider to support his/her 
need for an intermittent or reduced schedule leave. Furthermore, the employee must 
inform the County of the anticipated treatment schedule and the reasons for the 
proposed schedule. 
 

The County may require the employee to work in a different position or on a different 
schedule during the period on an intermittent or reduced schedule leave that will better 
accommodate the necessities of his/her schedule. The alternative position will have the 
same pay and benefits as the position held prior to commencement of the leave. 
 

For all leaves involving planned medical treatments, including intermittent and reduced 
schedule leaves, the employee is obligated to plan for treatments so that they will cause 
the least disruption to the County. 
 

The County retains the right to deny an intermittent or reduced schedule leave for NEW 
CHILD LEAVE. 
 

PAY AND BENEFITS 
 

The FMLA LEAVE is unpaid. However, the employee must use sick leave and annual 
leave, if any, during this leave, unless the leave is running concurrently with Worker’s 
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Compensation leave. Sick leave is utilized beginning with the first day of leave. 
Employees are required to use annual leave when their sick leave is exhausted. 
Employees must exhaust their own sick leave and annual leave before receiving 
donated time. Regardless of whether the employee receives pay during the leave, the 
full amount of leave will be counted toward the twelve (12) week maximum leave 
available in a twelve (12) month period. 

The employee will not accrue any annual leave, sick time, or holidays during the FMLA. 
While on leave, the employee may not receive government compensation 
(unemployment, etc.) or perform work for another employer. 

The employee will continue to be covered by the County’s group health insurance plan 
during the FMLA, if he/she pays his/her portion of the premium or makes prepayment 
arrangements. Insurance may stop if the County learns the employee does not intend to 
return to employment or does not return to employment or does not pay his/her portion 
of the premium. In some cases, the County may request the employee to reimburse it 
for any premiums it has paid on his/her behalf during the leave, unless the reason 
he/she did not return was because of a continued serious health condition or for other 
reasons beyond his/her control. 

RETURN TO WORK 

An employee returning from FMLA LEAVE must provide written medical certification 
that he/she is able to resume working. Prior to returning to work, the employee must 
contact the Human Resources office to submit the written medical clearance to return to 
work and to determine when to report for duty. Failure to follow these procedures may 
result in delay when he/she is ready to come back to work. The County may require the 
employee to submit to a fitness-for-duty exam at its own cost. 

The employee will be returned to the same or an equivalent employment position unless 
he/she has been notified that he/she is a “key employee”. The employee will not lose 
any seniority or benefits because of the leave. 

Failure to return to work at the end of the FMLA may be considered a resignation. The 
County will try to contact the employee and determine why the employee has not 
returned to work. 

FAILURE TO COMPLY WITH THIS POLICY 

If an employee fails to follow the guidelines in the policy or falsifies any information 
related to the medical certification, his/her leave may be delayed or denied and 
discipline, up to and including discharge, may result. 
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PERSONAL MEDICAL LEAVE 

INTRODUCTION 

If an employee meets the eligibility requirements under FMLA (refer to page 39), he/she 
would fall under FMLA. If the employee does not meet the requirements under FMLA or 
has used all the allotted time allowable under FMLA, the employee may be eligible for a 
Personal Medical Leave. 
 

ELIGIBILITY 

New employees must have completed a six (6) month probationary period and have a 
personal medical condition which keep him/her from working. 

There are no requirements for total hours worked (e.g. per diems and unbenefited part-
time employees would be eligible for Personal Medical Leave if they completed their six 
(6) month probationary period). 

AMOUNT OF LEAVE AVAILABLE 

An employee may be absent from work for up to four (4) weeks in a twelve (12) month 
period and a position will be held for him/her. 

The amount of PERSONAL MEDICAL LEAVE available is determined by looking at the 
amount of PERSONAL MEDICAL LEAVE used during the twelve (12) months preceding 
the date leave would begin. Additionally, employees who have exhausted their twelve 
(12) week entitlement under FMLA may be eligible to take up to four (4) weeks of 
additional PERSONAL MEDICAL LEAVE for the same spell of illness of the employee 
or qualifying family member upon receipt of a specific written statement of need from 
the patient’s treating physician. Applications for this extension will be considered on a 
case by case basis when extreme and extenuating circumstances exist. The decision 
will be at the sole discretion of the Grafton County Executive Director or designee. If a 
husband and wife are both eligible County employees, they are each entitled to four (4) 
weeks. PERSONAL MEDICAL LEAVE runs concurrent with MATERNITY LEAVE. 

The County has the right to designate as PERSONAL MEDICAL LEAVE all time missed 
by an employee which would qualify under this policy. 

NOTIFICATION BY EMPLOYEE 

1. Foreseeable Events: The employee must notify their Department Head prior to 
submitting their application for Personal Medical Leave. Once that meeting is completed 
an application should be submitted to Human Resources at least thirty (30) days in 
advance of foreseeable Personal Medical Leave. 

2. Unforeseeable Events: For events such as accidental injury or a sudden change 
in the employee’s health, the employee must notify their Department Head and Human 
Resources of his/her need for leave and request an application as soon as it is possible 
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and practical to do so. In most cases, the employee should notify their Department 
Head and Human Resources of an unforeseen leave within one day of when he/she 
finds out leave is needed. 

3. Failure to Give Notice: Failure to give notice as required here may result in delay 
or denial of PERSONAL MEDICAL LEAVE. In the case of foreseeable leaves, the 
County may delay the leave for up to thirty (30) days from the date the employee 
notified it of the need to take PERSONAL MEDICAL LEAVE. 

NOTIFICATION BY THE COUNTY 

The County will notify an employee when it designates absences as PERSONAL 
MEDICAL LEAVE. 

In appropriate cases, the County will designate leave as PERSONAL MEDICAL LEAVE 
even if not requested by the employee. 

MEDICAL CERTIFICATION 

Within seven (7) days of the first day absent for PERSONAL MEDICAL LEAVE, the 
employee must provide a doctor’s statement that the employee cannot work due to a 
medical condition and the date the employee is expected to be able to return to work. If 
the employee cannot return on the expected date, he/she must provide another doctor’s 
statement that he/she cannot work and the new date of expected return. 

The County retains the right to have the employee examined by another health care 
provider (and possibly a third one if the first two (2) medical opinions are inconsistent) at 
its expense. The County reserves the right to request periodic additional doctor’s 
statements during the term of the leave of absence. 

INTERMITTENT OR REDUCED SCHEDULE 

If and only if it is medically necessary, PERSONAL MEDICAL LEAVE may be taken on 
an intermittent or reduced schedule basis. Intermittent or reduced schedule leave will be 
counted on a quarter-hour basis to apply toward the four (4) week maximum per twelve 
(12) months. 

The employee must submit a doctor’s statement to support his/her need for an 
intermittent or reduced schedule. Furthermore, the employee must inform the County of 
the anticipated treatment schedule and the reasons for the proposed schedule. 

The County may require the employee to work in a different position or on a different 
schedule during the period on an intermittent or reduced schedule. The alternative 
position will have the same base pay and benefits as the position held prior to 
commencement of the leave. 
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For all leaves involving planned medical treatments, including intermittent or reduced 
schedule leaves, the employee is obligated to plan for treatments so that they will cause 
the least disruption to the County. 

 

PAY AND BENEFITS 

The employee must use accrued sick leave and annual leave, if any, during 
PERSONAL MEDICAL LEAVE. Sick leave is utilized beginning with the first day of 
PERSONAL MEDICAL LEAVE. Employees must exhaust their own sick leave and 
annual leave before receiving donated time. Regardless of whether the employee 
receives pay during PERSONAL MEDICAL LEAVE, the full amount of leave will be 
counted toward the four (4) week maximum leave available. 

The employee will not accrue any holidays, sick leave, or annual leave during 
PERSONAL MEDICAL LEAVE. While on PERSONAL MEDICAL LEAVE, the employee 
may not receive government compensation (unemployment, etc.) or perform work for 
another employer. 

If the employee is covered by the County’s group health insurance plan, he/she will 
continue to be covered during PERSONAL MEDICAL LEAVE if he/she pays his/her 
portion of the premium. Insurance may stop if the County learns the employee does not 
intend to return to employment or does not return, or does not pay his/her portion of the 
premium. In some cases, the County may request the employee to reimburse it for any 
premiums it has paid on his/her behalf during the leave, unless the reason he/she did 
not return was because of a continued medical condition or for other reasons beyond 
his/her control. 

RETURN TO WORK 

An employee returning from PERSONAL MEDICAL LEAVE from his/her own illness 
must provide written medical certification that he/she is able to resume working. Prior to 
returning from PERSONAL MEDICAL LEAVE the employee must contact Human 
Resources to submit written medical clearance to return to work if required, and to 
determine when to report for duty. If circumstances change and the employee can 
return to work sooner than anticipated, the employee must immediately notify Human 
Resources. Failure to follow these procedures may result in delay when he/she is ready 
to return to work. The County may require the employee to submit to a fitness-for-duty 
exam at its expense. 

The County will make every effort to return the employee to the same or equivalent 
position; however, due to business necessity, this cannot be guaranteed. The employee 
will not lose any seniority or benefits because of the PERSONAL MEDICAL LEAVE. 

Failure to return to work at the end of the PERSONAL MEDICAL LEAVE may be 
considered a resignation. The County will try to contact the employee and determine 
why the employee has not returned to work. 
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FAILURE TO COMPLY WITH THIS POLICY 

If an employee fails to follow the guidelines in the policy or falsifies any information 
related to the medical certification, his/her leave may be delayed or denied and 
discipline, up to and including discharge, may result. 

MATERNITY LEAVE 

A pregnant employee should let her supervisor know her due date and whether she 
expects to return to work after the birth. She must provide a specific written doctor’s 
statement setting out any work limitations her condition may require, if any, as well as a 
written doctor’s statement indicating when she should cease work prior to the birth. 

AMOUNT OF LEAVE AVAILABLE 

The employee will receive six (6) weeks leave during her time off for MATERNITY 
LEAVE. If she needs more time off, she must provide a specific, written statement from 
her doctor stating that she cannot work due to her medical condition. 

If the employee is eligible for FMLA, then she may take time off consistent with that 
policy. 

The County has the right to designate as MATERNITY LEAVE all time missed by an 
employee which would qualify under this policy. 

PAY AND BENEFITS 

The employee must use annual leave and sick leave, if any, during MATERNITY 
LEAVE. Sick leave is utilized beginning with the first day of MATERNITY LEAVE. 
Employees must exhaust their own sick leave and annual leave before receiving 
donated time. Regardless of whether the employee receives pay during MATERNITY 
LEAVE, the full amount of leave will be counted toward the six (6) week maximum leave 
available. 

The employee will not accrue any benefits during MATERNITY LEAVE. While on 
MATERNITY LEAVE, the employee may not receive government compensation 
(unemployment, etc.) or perform work for another employer. 

If the employee is covered by the County’s group health insurance plan, she will 
continue to be covered during MATERNITY LEAVE if she pays her portion of the 
premium. Insurance may stop if the County learns the employee does not intend to 
return to employment or does not return to employment or does not pay her portion of 
the premium. In some cases, the County may request the employee to reimburse it for 
any premiums it has paid on her behalf during the leave, unless the reason she did not 
return to work was because of her continued medical condition or for other reasons 
beyond her control. 
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RETURN TO WORK 

The employee is expected to return when she is physically able to work. She must 
provide written medical certification that she is able to resume working. Prior to 
returning to work, she must contact the Human Resources office to submit the written 
medical clearance to return to work and determine when to report for duty. Failure to 
follow these procedures may result in a delay when she is ready to return to work. The 
County may require the employee to submit to a fitness-for-duty exam at its expense. 

The employee will be returned to the same or a comparable position, unless business 
requirements make it impossible, impractical or unreasonable. The employee will not 
lose any seniority or benefits because of MATERNITY LEAVE. 

Failure to return to work at the end of MATERNITY LEAVE may be considered a 
resignation. The County will try to contact the employee and determine why the 
employee has not returned to work. 

If the employee is eligible for FMLA, then she may take time off consistent with that 
policy. 

FAILURE TO COMPLY WITH THIS POLICY 

If an employee fails to follow guidelines in the policy or falsifies any information related 
to the medical certification, her leave may be delayed or denied and discipline, up to 
and including discharge, may result. 
 

ARTICLE 37 

SICK TIME 

 

Term of Agreement to be three (3) years, with the exception of Article 25, Article 
28 and Article 37.5, which will be negotiated annually. 

 

1. Full time employees shall be entitled to sick leave with pay on the basis of the 
formula given below and computed at the end of each completed month of service: 

Accrued Per Month  Accrued Per Year  Maximum Accumulation 

1.25 day   15 days   80 days 

Employees working a minimum of 3/5 status shall earn sick leave on a prorated basis. 

Any employee who currently has a sick time bank of over 80 days, will be able to keep 
that balance until they are able to reduce their balance. 

2. Sick leave shall be at the employee’s regular base rate of pay (including 
differentials). 
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3. Sick leave may be utilized for absences due to illness, injury, exposure to 
contagious disease, or quarantine. Up to three (3) days of sick leave per calendar year 
may be used to attend to the sickness or injury of the employee’s spouse, child or 
parent. Sick leave may be used for pre-scheduled and emergency doctor’s 
appointments for the employee, his/her spouse, child or parent only, or dependent as 
defined by the IRS regulations. It is understood that paid sick leave may also be used 
during leaves covered by the Family Medical Leave Act in accordance with Article 34 of 
this Agreement. An employee who is unable to report to work is required to call in each 
day no less than two (2) hours before the beginning of the shift. 

4. Sick leave is earned from the first day of employment and may be used as 
earned (excluding probationary employees). 

5. Sick Day Allowance: For the purposes of this section, each shift the employee 
calls out, regardless if single or consecutive days, shall be counted towards the allotted 
number of days based on the employee’s weekly hours of work as listed below: 

 
 Employees working thirty-two (32) hours or more shall be entitled to five (5) days 

per year 
 Employees working twenty four (24) hours or more shall be entitled to three (3) 

days per year 

The first sick day taken beyond the allowance shall result in a verbal warning; a second 
sick day taken shall result in a written warning; a third sick day taken shall result in a 
suspension; a fourth sick day taken will result in termination. Employees receiving 
progressive discipline due to sick days taken in excess of the above allowance will have 
that process reset after one (1) year from the most recent discipline given for exceeding 
the sick day allowance. 

If an employee comes to work and asks to be released or is sent home sick by their 
supervisor prior to completing one half of their normally scheduled shift, it shall be 
counted towards the above allowance. If the employee completes one half of their 
normally scheduled shift, it shall not be counted towards the above allowance.  

Doctor’s certificates will be required when sick leave is taken adjacent to a holiday or 
vacation. The employee will not be paid for this time off if they fail to comply with this 
requirement. 

The County may require an employee who takes three (3) or more consecutive days of 
sick leave to provide the County with a doctor’s certificate certifying said illness or injury, 
and certifying that said employee is well enough to return to work. 

The sick leave allowance shall be subject to annual review. The County and the Union 
agree to continue working together in good faith to create an equitable system for both 
parties. 



51 

 

6. Employees are encouraged to schedule medical or dental appointments on their 
regularly scheduled day(s) off. If an employee schedules a medical or dental 
appointment during their shift, they will be required to present their supervisor with 
documentation of their appointment, either prior to the appointment, upon their return to 
work to resume their shift, or upon arrival for the start of their next scheduled shift. 
Failure to do so will result in the employee using Annual Leave for the period of time 
missed from work. 

7. Employees who retire pursuant to the provisions of RSA 100-A shall be paid at 
their regular base rate of pay for thirty three percent (33%) of their accumulated sick 
leave to a maximum of twenty (20) days. 

Effective 7-01-2007: Maximum days allowed as follows: 

Years of Service   Maximum Days Allowed 

0-14     Twenty (20) days 
15-29     Twenty-five (25) days 
30-35     Thirty (30) days 
Over 35    Thirty-five (35) days 

8. Sick leave shall not accrue during unpaid leaves of absence and worker’s 
compensation leave. 

9. If an employee has given an oral or written resignation, and then call out, he/she 
will not be paid without a doctor’s note. Anyone who has resigned may not donate time. 

ARTICLE 38 

ANNUAL LEAVE 

1. Department employees regularly employed on a full-time basis shall be entitled 
to annual leave with full pay on the basis of the following schedule: 

Years of Service Accrued Per Month Days Per Year  Maximum Accumulation 

0-4   .84   10   30 
5-9   1.25   15   30 
10-14   1.67   20   40 
15-19   1.75   21   40 
20-24   1.83   22   40 
25-29   1.92   23   40 
30-35   2.00   24   40 

 

2. Department employees regularly employed on a 4/5’s basis, shall be entitled to 
annual leave with full pay on the basis of the following schedule: 
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Years of Service Accrued Per Month Days Per Year  Maximum Accumulation 
 0-4   .67   8   24 
 5-9   1.00   12   24 
 10-14   1.33   16   32 
 15-19   1.42   17   32 
 20-24   1.50   18   32 
 25-29   1.58   19   32 
 30-35   1.67   20   32 
 

3. Department employees regularly employed on a 3/5’s basis shall be entitled to 
annual leave with full pay on the basis of the following schedule: 
 
Years of Service Accrued Per Month Days Per Year  Maximum Accumulation 
 0-4   .50   6   18 
 5-9   .75   9   18 
 10-14   1.00   12   24 
 15-19   1.08   13   24 
 20-24   1.17   14   24 
 25-29   1.25   15   24 
 30+   1.33   16   24 
 

4. Every full time employee shall be afforded the opportunity to receive two (2) 
consecutive weeks of annual leave. Upon approval from the supervisor annual leave 
may be taken in lesser increments then their full shift. 
5. Annual leave of up to two (2) weeks shall be scheduled on the basis of 
department seniority. To avail oneself the rights of seniority the employee must notify 
the supervisor in writing prior to April 1st of employee’s choice of time for annual leave. 
Employees shall be notified regarding the disposition of their vacation request by April 
15. After April 1st, leave shall be assigned on a first come basis subject to the needs of 
the department as determined solely by the County. The employee shall be notified 
regarding the disposition of their vacation request within fourteen (14) days after the 
request. Vacation requests whether approved or denied will be passed directly to the 
employees or sealed in an envelope. Should the time be denied the reason for denial 
shall be written on the request when it is returned. There will be direct contact providing 
the employee arranges to pick up the notice from the supervisor while the supervisor is 
on duty. 
 

6. Employees who have been employed continuously for a period of six (6) months 
or longer shall be paid at their base rate of pay for any unused accumulated annual 
leave upon resignation of employment or decrease to per diem status, provided they 
actually work out a two (2) week written notice. Employees involuntarily terminated by 
the County or employees who resign or decrease to per diem status without giving and 
working out at least two (2) weeks written notice shall not be paid for any unused 
accumulated annual leave upon termination of employment or reduction to per diem 
status. In the event of a death of an employee said annual leave shall be paid to 
employee’s estate. If an employee is on pre-scheduled vacation and gets sick or needs 
an emergency or funeral day, the pre-scheduled vacation time is utilized first. Special 
situations may be reviewed on a case by case basis and determined solely the County. 
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7. Annual leave is earned from the first day of employment but may only be used as 
it is accrued and may not be used until the employee has been employed continuously 
for a period of six (6) months (excluding probationary employees). 
 

8. For licensed nursing assistants, activities aides and dietary, no annual leave shall 
be granted during the week inclusive of Christmas Day and New Years Day. Employees 
shall not be granted annual leave for holidays for which the employee is scheduled to 
work. The Administrator reserves the right to deny or modify any annual leave request 
in the case of emergency. 
 

9. Only annual leave that has been earned may be used. No employee shall use 
leave time that has not been earned. 
 

10. Annual Leave shall not accrue during unpaid leaves or absence and workers’ 
compensation. 
 

11. If an employee exceeds the maximum annual leave accrual and would lose 
annual leave time due to the County not allowing the employee to take their annual 
leave, such amounts will be allowed to accrue over the maximum and will not be lost. 
 

12. Employees may voluntarily donate up to forty (40) hours total of annual leave 
only to any employee who exhausts all of the employee’s sick leave and annual leave. 
Documentation will be provided to each employee as to the amount of time donated and 
used. Also a list is provided to the employee receiving the time so they can 
acknowledge who donated time. Both lists will be provided upon return to work of the 
employee receiving time.  
 

13. Annual leave hours cannot be donated to probationary employees. An employee 
who is not eligible for FMLA OR PERSONAL MEDICAL LEAVE may only receive a 
donation of up to five (5) days of family illness (i.e. the employee, his/her spouse, child 
or parent only). Employees on approved FMLA OR PERSONAL MEDICAL LEAVE and 
have exhausted their accumulated leave time may receive donated time up to the 
maximum allowed for their FMLA twelve (12) weeks or PERSONAL MEDICAL LEAVE 
four (4) weeks. 
 

14. If an employee has given an oral or written resignation, they may not donate time 
of their annual or sick leave hours. 
 
15. Employees will be required to complete the Grafton County Application for Leave for 
any form of leave which the employee wishes, or is required to take. This application 
must be given to the employee’s Department Head and approved before being granted. 
All requests for leave are subject to the approval of the Department Head and subject to 
the leave guidelines outlined in this agreement and scheduling guidelines of the 
Department. A copy will be given to the employee for their records and retained by the 
Department Head for department records. 
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ARTICLE 39 

HOLIDAYS 

 

1. Employees working a minimum of 3/5 status must be employed for three (3) 
months before receiving paid holidays.  Any holidays that occur between three (3) to six 
(6) months of initial employment, if holiday is not taken on actual/legal holiday, the 
holiday will be paid out automatically in the next pay check. After six (6) months of initial 
employment, all other holidays are automatically rolled into annual leave if they are not 
bought back or taken on the actual/legal holiday.  
 

Per-holiday accrual is based upon the following schedule: 
   

Status     Accrual 
 Full Time – 40 hours/week  8.00 hours/holiday 
 4/5 status – 32 hours/week  6.40 hours/holiday 
 3/5 status – 24 hours/week  4.80 hours/holiday 
 Full-time 36 hours (12x3)  8.00 hours/holiday 
 Full-time 35 hours (7x5)  7.00 hours/holiday 
 

If an employee who normally works a twelve (12) hour shift takes the holiday off, 
he/she will be paid eight (8) hours of holiday pay including shift differentials, if the 
employee normally receives such differentials and may use four (4) hours of annual 
leave to make up the difference, the choice being the employee’s. If an employee who 
normally works 3/5 or 4/5 takes a holiday off, he/she will be paid 4.80 hours if 3/5 and 
6.40 if 4/5 including shift differentials, if the employee normally receives such 
differentials and may use annual leave to make up the difference with the choice being 
the employee’s. It is the responsibility of the employee to request the annual leave in 
writing in the same pay period. If the election is not made within the time frame 
specified, the annual leave hours will not be paid. 
2. To be eligible for holiday pay, an employee must have worked the last full 
scheduled day before, and the first full scheduled day after, the legal holiday unless on 
pre-approved, pre-scheduled paid annual leave.  
 

3. Call outs shall void holiday pay and the holiday shall not be rescheduled. 
An employee may be excused for a call-out and not lose their holiday due to extreme 
circumstances that were beyond the employee’s control. This approval shall be based 
on a case by case basis at the sole discretion of the Grafton County Nursing Home 
Administrator/designee. This shall apply to the day before the holiday, the actual 
holiday, and/or the day after the holiday. 
 

4. Recognized holidays are as follows: 
 

 New Year’s Day     Labor Day 
 Civil Right Day (floating holiday)   Columbus Day 
 Election Day (alternate years only)  Veteran’s Day 
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 Presidents’ Day     Thanksgiving Day 
 Memorial Day     Friday After Thanksgiving 
 Independence Day     Christmas 
 

5. Employees shall work every other holiday and receive an alternate day off to be 
scheduled by approval of the head of the department. Approval shall not be 
unreasonably denied. Election Day and the Friday after Thanksgiving are not 
considered in the alternative holiday schedule. Employees working three (3) twelve (12) 
hour shifts would receive the same benefits as other full-time employees. These 
benefits including receiving all designated County holidays. These holidays are paid at 
eight (8) hours including shift differentials, if the employee normally receives such 
differentials. Employees who work their twelve (12) hours on a holiday will be paid for 
the actual hours worked. If these same employees take the holiday off or wish to buy 
back the holiday they will do so at eight (8) hours straight time. Employees working a 
twelve (12) hour rotating shift receive every other holiday off. Employees who work set 
days do not work every other holiday. 
 

 If Christmas was your normal holiday off and you are now mandated to work that 
day, you will be allowed to swap with a coworker, who is willing to work for you, for all or 
part of that day. You and your coworker must receive prior approval from the  
Department Head and sign off on an agreement sheet. All other guidelines for 
mandatory overtime remain the same. 
 

6. Holidays are automatically rolled into annual leave if they are not bought back 
within the same pay period or taken on the actual holiday. The buy back does not apply 
to retroactive holidays, which will automatically roll into annual leave after six (6) 
months. 
 

7. Employees are eligible to buy back holidays for actual holiday worked. If an 
employee chooses to receive such payment, the employee shall not be given days off. 
Holiday buy backs must be pre-approved by the department head and none will be paid 
in advance. Pay will be calculated at the employee’s straight time base rate of pay 
including any applicable differentials. 
 

8. Time and one half will be paid to employees for all hours worked on the actual 
Thanksgiving and Christmas holidays. Any employee working eight (8) hours or more 
on Thanksgiving or Christmas shall be entitled to schedule another day off. Any 
employee called in on the actual Thanksgiving or Christmas holiday will be 
compensated at double time with no alternate day off. 
 

9. If an employee is scheduled to work a holiday and calls out on the holiday, 
he/she may not substitute any other kind of pay, except funeral or approved emergency 
leave, for the holiday. The day is without pay and the holiday is lost (not rescheduled). 
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ARTICLE 40 

FUNERAL AND/OR EMERGENCY LEAVE 

 

An employee shall be entitled to up to three (3) days (not to exceed 24 hours) paid 
leave if a serious emergency or death occurs in the immediate family and the employee 
is scheduled to work. Such leave must be approved by the Administrator, such approval 
shall not be unreasonably denied. Immediate family is defined as parents or step-
parents, children or step-children, sister, step-sister, brother, step-brother, spouse/live-
in partner, son-in-law, daughter-in-law, legal guardian, grandparents, grandchildren, 
sister-in-law, brother-in-law, and spouse’s or live-in partner’s parents and grandparents. 
 

ARTICLE 41 

JURY DUTY & CRIME VICTIM EMPLOYMENT LEAVE 

 

1. Jury Duty: An employee called to serve on county, municipal or federal jury must 
give advance notice of the need for time off for jury duty. A copy of the summons should 
accompany the request. Employees must request from the court a certificate of juror’s 
attendance stating the dates the employee served as juror and amounts that will be paid 
to the employee. Absences for jury duty are not counted as hours worked and therefore 
do not count toward overtime. The employee shall be reimbursed at the employee’s rate 
of pay, minus any per diem juror’s fee for any day employee is scheduled to work. The 
employee retains any mileage fee from the court. Employees are expected to report to 
work when not needed for jury duty. 
 

2. Crime Victim Employment Leave (RSA:62):  Any employee who has been the 
victim of a crime, felony or misdemeanor, shall be permitted to leave work in order to 
attend court or legal investigative proceedings associated with the prosecution of the 
crime.  This applies to crimes in which the employee was a victim or is part of the 
immediate family of a homicide victim or is part of the immediate family of a child under 
the age of 18 who was a victim or is part of the immediate family of an incompetent 
adult who was a victim. 
 

A “victim” is any person who suffers direct or threatened physical, emotional, 
psychological or financial harm as a result of the commission or attempted commission 
of a crime.  “Immediate family” is defined as the father, mother, stepparent, child, 
stepchild, sibling, spouse, grandparent or legal guardian of the victim, or any person 
involved in an intimate relationship and residing in the same household as the victim. 
 

To qualify for leave, the employee must provide the employer with copies of written 
notices of hearings, conferences and meetings the employee must attend as part of the 
criminal proceedings.  The employer is not required to pay employees for this time off; 
however, the employee may elect to use accrued annual leave, if available, with the 
decision being the employee’s.  If the employee is suffering from injuries resulting from 
the crime that prevent him or her from working, then he or she may elect to use sick 
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leave.  It is the employee’s responsibility to notify the staffing coordinator or department 
head within the same pay period if he/she elects to use annual leave.  In cases where 
an employee became a crime victim in the course of his/her employment, he/she may 
not use annual leave if he/she is receiving his/her regular pay or being paid under 
worker’s compensation while participating in related legal proceedings.     
 

While away from work under the provisions of the Crime Victim Employment Leave Act, 
employees will not lose any seniority.  Benefits are handled in the same way that 
benefits are handled for employees on other types of leave of absence.  The employer 
may limit leave if the employee’s absence will create an “undue hardship” to the 
employer’s business.  The employer will not discharge, threaten or otherwise 
discriminate against any employee regarding compensation, terms, condition, location 
or privileges of employment because the employee has exercised his/her right to leave 
work as provided.   
 

Only the Executive Director, Human Resources Director or Nursing Home Administrator 
have the authority to limit an employee's leave. It is the County's intention that leave 
would ordinarily not be limited, except in the cases of unusually long, continuing 
proceedings. In such cases, the employer's need for the employee to return to work 
would be reviewed with the affected employee on a case by case basis. 
 

ARTICLE 42 

MILITARY DUTY 

 

1. Any regular full-time employee who is a member of any reserve component of 
the armed forces of the United States, or of the State of New Hampshire, shall, upon 
request, be entitled to no more than fifteen (15) working days leave of absence in any 
one (1) calendar year for the purpose of engaging in military drills, training, or other 
temporary duty under military or naval authority. 
 

2. An employee called to serve on temporary military duty will be reimbursed the 
difference, if any, of regular pay over military pay. The employee will be returned to the 
employee’s position and rate of pay upon completion of the duty. Employees make take 
accrued vacation time in conjunction with military duty. 
 

3. The provisions of this section shall not apply to any such employee who has 
been inducted or has enlisted in active service in the armed forces of the United States, 
or for extended period of service. 
 

4. UNIFORMED SERVICES EMPLOYMENT & RE-EMPLOYMENT RIGHTS ACT 
An employee who is absent from work due to being engaged in voluntary or 

involuntary duty in a uniformed service (Army, Navy, Air Force, Marines, Coast Guard, 
Army National Guard or Air National Guard) has certain job and benefit protection 
rights. These rights vary depending on the length of the military service. Employees 
becoming voluntarily and involuntarily engaged in duty in a uniformed service must 
provide the employer written notice as soon as it is received by the employee. This 
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notice must be in the form of official military orders, training notices or induction papers. 
After the employee’s military service is completed, the employee must notify the 
employer that he/she is ready to return to work. The time frame for this return to work 
notification varies depending on the length of the employee’s military service. Because 
rights and notification requirements vary depending on each individual’s circumstances, 
employees should contact the Human Resources Department for information specific to 
his/her own situation. The employee will not accrue any annual leave time, holidays, or 
sick leave benefits during the Military Leave. 
 

ARTICLE 43 

TRAINING 

 

1. In-service training programs are available, and attendance will be mandated as 
appropriate. Employees must participate in programs offered in their area of duty; 
mandatory training sessions are a job requirement. It is understood that in service 
training programs will be at least thirty (30) consecutive minutes in duration. For any job 
area that requires certification, failure to maintain certification shall result in termination. 
 

2. The County will pay up to a regular work days wages and expenses for approved 
job-related, off-premises training and education. Overtime will not be paid on travel time 
or on hours in excess of the regular workday. 
 

3. If the outside training is mandatory, clocking in and out is required, and the 
employee will be paid travel time. Overtime will not occur unless forty (40) hours has 
been worked for the week. Travel time will not be paid for voluntary training sessions. 
 

4. Employees authorized to take extended training to enhance their position or to 
gain certification for a specific job position will be expected to sign off training costs. 
 

5. LNA’s must achieve twelve (12) credits per year prior to the actual date of hire as 
a LNA. Failure to acquire twelve (12) credits a year, will result in immediate termination. 
 

ARTICLE 44 

EDUCATIONAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM 

 

1. County employees who have worked full-time for not less than (1) year are 
eligible to apply for tuition assistance. 
 

2. Assistance may be granted to permanent part-time employees working at least 
twenty four (24) hours per week, after completing an aggregate total of 2080 hours (one 
year) and pro-rated on their 3/5 or 4/5 workweek. 
 

3. Courses must be directly related to the employee’s job or enhance the 
employee’s potential advancement to a position within their profession which the 
individual has a reasonable expectation of achieving. 
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4. Courses must be from an accredited educational institution. Employees are 
expected to provide proof of accreditation, course description, enrollment, and cost. 
Written requests for educational assistance must be approved prior to enrollment. 
 

5. Courses must provide college credits or equivalent certification programs. 
Employees must maintain passing/transferable grades. Employees must have course 
recommendation/approval/authorization by the department head and Executive 
Director. Department heads will present the request through the Executive Director to 
the Commissioners for authorization. 
 

6. The employee must disclose funding and grants from other educational sources. 
 

7. Grafton County will contribute up to fifty percent (50%) of the registration and 
tuition fees and instructional material costs for approved courses. Assistance is limited 
to one course per semester, per employee, provided sufficient funding is available, and 
not to exceed one thousand ($1000) total per fiscal year for the County share. The 
Commissioners may limit assistance to one course per employee, per fiscal year, if 
funding is limited or committed. 
 

8. The employee is to pay full cost of approved course up front. With appropriate 
receipts and record of final grades, the County will reimburse its share upon receipt of 
proof of satisfactory completion of the course. To be considered for payment, all 
receipts and records of final grades must be submitted within ninety (90) days of 
completion of the course, unless funds are available when requested prior to the 
employee starting the course. 
 

9. Termination of employment prior to successful completion of course or within one 
(1) year after completion will nullify County agreement to reimburse. 
10. Class attendance and completion of study assignments shall be accomplished 
outside of the employee’s regular working hours. 
 

11. To assist employees who cannot afford up-front tuition payment, the 
Commissioners may authorize, with documented need, and interest-free loan of up to 
$1000 by signed Promissory Note. The advance funds will be paid directly to the 
provider and payroll deduction will begin immediately on the amount borrowed in excess 
of the approved amount of assistance, to be fully repaid within six (6) months. If the 
employee successfully completes class with a passing grade of at least a “C”, employee 
will receive up to $1000 of the loaned amount. 
 

12. The Promissory Note will include language that if the employee does not pass 
the course or terminates employment before payment is completed, the County is 
authorized to deduct the remaining balance from the employee’s paychecks. 
 

13. An application form must be completed before the beginning of the course and 
submitted to the department head for consideration and recommendations. 
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14. Applications will be reviewed considering relevancy of course to employee’s job, 
tenure, employee’s personnel record, job performance, and budgetary constraints. 

 

 

ARTICLE 45 

DRUG & ALCOHOL POLICY 

 

Purpose and Goal 
 

Grafton County employees are public servants and provide important services that 
require the ability to think clearly, make sound decisions and react in a manner that 
protects the safety, health and well-being of all employees, residents, inmates and the 
public.  The County also has a need to protect its property, information, equipment, 
operations and reputation.  We recognize that alcohol and drug use poses a threat to 
individuals and the County as a whole.  Our goal is to establish a drug-free workplace 
program that balances our respect for individuals with the need to maintain an alcohol 
and drug-free environment. 
 

All county employees should recognize that being under the influence of drugs or 
alcohol or suffering from the aftereffects of drugs or alcohol while at work can be 
disruptive, adversely affect the quality of work and job performance, pose serious risks 
to users and others, and have a negative impact on safety, productivity and morale.  
The County has no intention of interfering in the private lives of its employees unless 
involvement with alcohol and/or drugs off the job affects job performance.  As a 
condition of employment, the County requires that employees adhere to a strict policy 
regarding drugs and alcohol.  The County encourages employees to voluntarily seek 
help for drug and alcohol problems. 
 

 

Covered Employees 
 

This policy covers department heads, managers, supervisors, full-time, part-time, spare 
and per diem employees. 
 

Applicability 
 

This policy is intended to apply whenever covered employees are representing or 
conducting business for the County.  Therefore, this policy applies during all working 
hours, whenever conducting business or representing the County, while on County 
property or at County-sponsored events.  While at County-sponsored events such as 
the annual county conference, employees are permitted to consume alcohol in 
moderation after working hours.  Employees of departments that have internal Standard 
Operating Procedures must also follow their own departments’ SOP manuals regarding 
professional conduct and prohibited behavior.  Employees are not permitted to become 
impaired or intoxicated.   
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Definitions 
 

Alcohol  means anything edible or drinkable that contains ethyl alcohol (ethanol), 
including but not limited to beer, wine and distilled spirits. 
 

County premises means all property of Grafton County, including but not limited to the 
buildings and surrounding areas on county-owned or leased property, parking lots and 
storage areas.  The term also includes county-owned or leased vehicles and equipment 
wherever located. 
 

Illegal drug means any drug or controlled substance that is illegal to possess under 
NHRSA 318-B, the Controlled Drug Act, or legal drugs illegally obtained or used in a 
manner inconsistent with their intended use and recommended dosage. 
 

Legal drug means any prescribed drug or over-the-counter drug. 
 

Contraband means alcohol, illegal drugs and drug paraphernalia. 
 

Drug paraphernalia means any object or thing as defined in RSA 318-B. 
 

Reasonable suspicion means showing signs that would lead a prudent person to have a 
suspicion that there has been a violation of this policy.  Reasonable suspicion is proof or 
evidence that is more than a hunch, but less than probable cause, and must be based 
on specific, objective, articulable facts about the conduct of an individual. 
 

Substance abuse professional means a qualified licensed medical professional, a 
certified drug and/or alcohol counselor or an accredited treatment facility. 
 

Positive test result for alcohol means a blood alcohol content of .03% or more; for drugs 
means any result over the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services confirmatory 
limits. 
 

Prohibited Behavior 
 

Grafton County prohibits the manufacture, possession (*), use, sale, transfer or 
distribution of illegal drugs, drug paraphernalia or alcohol in the workplace, on county 
premises or at any other facility or another location while on duty, except for duly 
authorized authorities, e.g., law enforcement, who are permitted to possess illegal 
drugs, drug paraphernalia or alcohol while performing their duties, and nurses or MNA’s 
who are dispensing alcohol to residents pursuant to a doctor’s order.  Prohibited 
conduct will result in disciplinary action, up to and including discharge.  (*) Possession 
of alcoholic beverages in an unopened container with an unbroken seal securely locked 
in the employee’s vehicle is not prohibited, provided the employee is at least 21 years of 
age. 
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Prescription and over-the-counter drugs are not prohibited when used for the purpose 
intended by the manufacturer and taken in the recommended dosage and/or according 
to a physician’s prescription.  In accordance with RSA 318-B:14, I, controlled 
substances are to be possessed only in the container in which they were dispensed, or 
with proper ID (RSA 318-B:14, II (b) or in a medication organizer (RSA 318-B:14, II (c)).  
Any employee taking prescribed or over-the-counter drugs is responsible for consulting 
with the prescribing physician and/or a pharmacist to ascertain whether the medication 
may interfere with the safe performance of his/her job.  If the use of a medication could 
negatively affect the employee’s job performance or compromise the safety of the 
employee, co-workers, residents, inmates or the public, it is the employee’s 
responsibility to notify the supervisor and either request a change of duty, if possible, or 
abstain from working to avoid unsafe situations. 
 

Notification of Convictions 
 

Any employee who is convicted of an alcohol or drug offense must notify the County in 
writing within 5 calendar days of the conviction.  The County will take appropriate 
disciplinary action, up to and including discharge, in accordance will applicable 
personnel policies, collective bargaining agreements (if applicable), rules, regulations 
and statutes.  Whenever an employee is convicted of an alcohol or drug offense, the 
County will notify appropriate licensing agencies, if required, within 10 days of 
notification by the employee.  Employees of departments that have internal Standard 
Operating Procedures must also follow their own department’s SOP manuals regarding 
professional conduct and prohibited behavior, i.e., criminal conduct, investigations and 
personal (non-work-related) contact with law enforcement agencies. 
 

 

 

 

Searches 
 

Any on-duty supervisor who is highest in the chain of command in his/her department at 
the time or any county department head may conduct unannounced inspections and 
searches for drugs and/or alcohol in or on county premises, including but not limited to 
all property of Grafton County, buildings and surrounding areas on county-owned or 
leased property, parking lots, storage areas, county-owned or leased vehicles and 
equipment wherever located.  Employees are expected to cooperate.  An employee’s 
refusal to sign a consent to search and inspection and to cooperatively facilitate a 
search and inspection is insubordination and a violation of this policy, and will result in 
discharge.  Every employee is required to sign an acknowledgment of this fact either 
upon implementation of this policy or upon hire.  Search of an employee’s pockets, 
clothing, personal property, lockers, desks, file cabinets, work spaces, equipment and 
vehicles on county premises while on county business may be made if there is 
reasonable suspicion that an employee has violated this policy.  Employees have no 
expectation of privacy, including but not limited to the employee’s pockets, clothing, 
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personal property, lockers, desks, file cabinets, work spaces, equipment and vehicles in 
or on county premises / county-owned or leased property. 
An employee who is found to possess contraband on county premises while on county 
business will be subject to discipline up to and including discharge, except for duly 
authorized authorities, e.g., law enforcement, who are permitted to possess contraband 
while performing their duties, and nurses who are dispensing alcohol to residents 
pursuant to a doctor’s order. 
 

Voluntary Treatment 
 

The County strongly encourages persons with drug or alcohol problems to seek 
immediate treatment.  Employees are encouraged to use the Employee Assistance 
Program, which can provide information on counseling and rehabilitation.  If an 
employee believes he/she has a problem with drugs or alcohol, he/she may seek a 
leave of absence, in accordance with Grafton County personnel policies or the collective 
bargaining agreement (if applicable), for the time needed to complete an approved (*) 
rehabilitation program at his/her own cost, if not covered by health insurance.  The 
employee will not receive a disciplinary penalty of any kind for this decision.  However, 
this does not apply if, prior to requesting a leave of absence, the employee is a) 
involved in a situation where a possibility exists he/she may be asked to take a test, or 
b) is informed by the County he/she will be tested, or c) is tested.  (*) An “approved” 
rehabilitation program is one that is conducted by a substance abuse professional. 
 

Drug Testing 
 

Reasonable Suspicion:  Employees will be required to participate in a drug and/or 
alcohol screening when showing signs that would lead a prudent person to have a 
reasonable suspicion that there has been a violation of this policy.  Only the County 
Attorney, Nursing Home Administrator, Sheriff, Register of Deeds, Human Services 
Director, Maintenance Superintendent, Corrections Superintendent, Farm Manager, 
Human Resources Director, Executive Director or their designees may authorize the 
test.  The person authorizing the test will inform the employee about the facts upon 
which the suspicion of impairment and the decision to test is based.  Employees who 
are requested to submit to a drug and/or alcohol test will be expected to complete a 
“Consent / Release” form authorizing an agent of a County-designated facility to 
perform the test and to release the results to the County.  (Sample copies of the 
“Consent / Release” form is attached.)  Refusal to complete and sign a “Consent / 
Release” and to promptly take a required test as instructed by the employer is 
insubordination, a violation of this policy, and will result in termination. 
 

Pre-employment:  Upon being presented with an offer for employment, all applicants 
must submit to a drug screen within 2 business days following receipt of the offer.  If an 
applicant has a positive test, fails to appear for the test as instructed by the employer or 
otherwise violates this policy, the offer of employment will be withdrawn and the 
applicant may not be considered for employment in the future. 
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Post-accident:  All employees are required to take a drug and/or alcohol test following a 
work-related injury that results in medical treatment by a licensed physician if the 
employer has reasonable suspicion to believe the accident was a result of drug or 
alcohol use.  The employer must be able to articulate objective evidence that led the 
employer to believe the accident was a result of drug or alcohol use.   
 

Substances that will be tested for include but are not limited to alcohol, amphetamines, 
barbiturates, benzodiazepine, benzolylecgonine, cannabinoids (THC), cocaine, 
methadone, methaqualone, opiates, and phencyclidine (PCP).  The County uses U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services (USDHHS) cut-off levels for drug testing.  A 
confirmed result above the USDHHS cut-off will be considered a positive drug test.  A 
blood alcohol content of .03% or more will be considered a positive alcohol test.  
Positive results without legitimate explanation are considered violation of this policy. 
 

Testing for the presence of alcohol may be conducted by breath or saliva, the manner to 
be determined by the testing facility.  Testing for the presence of drugs generally will be 
done by urinalysis.  Testing conducted by other authorities, whether by blood, breath or 
urine, may be used by the County to determine if there has been a violation of this 
policy. 
 

To ensure the accuracy and fairness of our testing program, all testing will be conducted 
according to USDHHS guidelines at a USDHHS approved laboratory.  An initial drug 
screen which shows positive for drug(s) will be subjected to a confirmatory test.  All 
confirmed positive tests shall be reviewed by the laboratory’s Medical Review Officer 
(MRO), who will offer the employee the opportunity to contest or explain the positive 
result.  Absent a valid explanation, a confirmed positive test results in the conclusion 
that the employee has violated this policy. 
 

During the period pending receipt and review of final test results, the County reserves 
the right to suspend the employee without pay and/or place him/her on leave in 
accordance with applicable statutes, collective bargaining agreements (if applicable) 
and Grafton County personnel policies. 
   
Pre-employment drug screenings is done on site.  For all other testing the test site is as 
follows:  
 

Test site:  Littleton Regional Hospital 
           Occupational Health Department 
Phone:     603-444-9294 
 

Employees who are under the age of 18, along with their parent or legal guardian, must 
sign for receipt of this policy and acknowledge its content.  In the event a minor 
becomes a candidate for drug or alcohol testing, the minor’s parent or legal guardian 
must be contacted and either 1) give written consent for testing before the minor leaves 
county premises or 2) remove the minor from county premises. 
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To avoid placing the employee or others in a situation that might endanger the safety of 
the employee or the public, the County is responsible for transporting the employee to 
the testing site and back to the employer’s work site. 
 

The results of the drug or alcohol test shall be given to the Human Resources Director 
and will be maintained in a separate confidential file.  The following individuals or 
organizations shall have access to the results of the test: the employee, the employee’s 
department head, the County management, Union or Employee Council representatives 
if the employee files a grievance, persons participating in the grievance process, the 
Board of Commissioners, any local, state or federal agency which requests the 
information or which the County determines should have the information, including but 
not limited to Workers’ Compensation, Employment Security, and any person who uses 
process of law to secure the results. 
 

Consequences 
 

One of the goals of our drug-free workplace program is to encourage employees to 
voluntarily seek help for alcohol and/or drug problems.  If, however, an individual 
violates any part of this policy, the consequences are serious. 
 

Any employee who violates this policy will be immediately removed from duty and 
suspended without pay and/or placed on leave in accordance with statutes, Grafton 
County personnel policies (and collective bargaining agreements, if applicable).  If 
he/she tested positive for drugs or alcohol, he/she must seek advice of a substance 
abuse professional, comply with all recommendations made, and if recommended, seek 
treatment.  The employee must also provide the Director of Human Resources, within 
five (5) business days of the County’s action, a written statement from the substance 
abuse professional that 1) the employee consulted him/her, 2) whether rehabilitation is 
recommended, 3) an estimated time frame for treatment, and 4) whether the employee 
is cooperating and following the substance abuse professional’s recommendations 
and/or treatment plan.  The Director of Human Resources will advise the employee’s 
department head of the employee’s anticipated absence, if any.  If the employee fails to 
seek professional help from a substance abuse professional, follow the substance 
abuse professional’s recommendations and/or treatment plan and present a written 
statement from the substance abuse professional within a time frame specified by the 
County or meet the goals of the treatment plan, discharge will result.  An employee 
receiving treatment will be required to present periodic proof, as specified by the 
County, of on-going treatment while he/she is away from work. 
 

Prior to reinstatement, the employee will be required to present a written statement from 
the substance abuse professional that the employee has complied with all of the 
substance abuse professional’s recommendations, and, if recommended, is engaged in 
on-going treatment or has completed a treatment program.  Prior to reinstatement, the 
employee will also be required to pass a fitness-for-duty drug and/or alcohol screening.  
Failure to do any of these things will result in discharge.  The employee will also be 
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subject to on-going, fitness-for-duty follow-up testing for a period of 2 (two) years.  Any 
subsequent violation of this policy or confirmed positive test will result in discharge. 
 

If an employee refuses the screening/test, drinks water or other liquid excessively, 
alters, adulterates, dilutes or otherwise tampers with the specimen in any way, 
substitutes the specimen with that from another person or sends an imposter, will not 
complete and sign the required forms or refuses to cooperate in the testing process in 
such a way that prevents completion of the test, or if the test result reveals the presence 
of substances intended to mask the presence of drugs or alcohol, it will constitute failure 
of the employee to submit to the testing, and shall be considered insubordination and a 
violation of this policy, and will result in termination.  It is understood that an 
inconclusive test result does not necessarily mean the sample was adulterated. 
 

Time away from work for testing is paid.  If the initial or confirmed test is negative, the 
employee will be paid in full for time missed during any period of unpaid suspension or 
leave.  In the case of employees who have undergone or are undergoing treatment, 
time used during the regular work day for follow-up testing is also paid.  Except under 
the provisions of the County’s Family and Medical Leave of Absence policy (FMLA) and 
the County’s Medical Leave policy, The County does not guarantee the availability of 
work during treatment or after the employee completes treatment if the County 
determines that no work appropriate for the employee is available or the employee’s 
absence will create a hardship for the employer. 
 

If an employee is the subject of an investigation by Grafton County or by a law 
enforcement agency because of suspected prohibited alcohol or drug use, he/she may 
be suspended and/or placed on leave in accordance with statutes, Grafton County 
personnel policies and the collective bargaining agreement (if applicable) pending 
completion of the investigation. 
 

 

 

Rehabilitation: 
 

Rehabilitation assistance given by Grafton County includes the Employee Assistance 
Program, medical benefits that may be available in the employee’s medical benefits 
plan, if eligible, and use of any leave time available in accordance with statutes, Grafton 
County personnel policies and collective bargaining agreements (if applicable). 
 

Education: 
 

Grafton County will notify its employees of this policy by providing to each employee a 
copy of the policy, and obtaining a written acknowledgment from each employee that 
the policy has been received. 
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Support of the Drug and Alcohol Policy: 
 

All employees are expected to support the County’s goal of establishing and 
maintaining a drug free workplace program that balances our respect for individuals with 
the need to maintain an alcohol and drug free workplace.  It is the responsibility of any 
employee who witnesses a violation of this policy to immediately and confidentially 
report it to his/her supervisor in accordance with the internal chain of command.  If 
circumstances prohibit this response, then report should be made to the Executive 
Director, Director of Human Resources or their designee.  Failure to do so will result in 
discipline, up to and including discharge. 
 

In the event that the County determines that it should fund and implement a program of 
random testing of employees for the purpose of enforcing a drug-free work place policy, 
the Union hereby agrees to bargain collectively with the County in an effort to create a 
mutually agreeable system for such testing.  Further, the Union agrees not to refuse to 
bargain on this particular issue if the County makes a request to bargain in mid-term. 
 

In the event of drug testing or the implementation of a random drug testing program, 
such program shall be in accordance with the Littleton Hospital Occupational Health 
protocol. Testing results shall remain confidential to the extent possible. The County 
shall pay for all testing costs.  

 

ARTICLE 46 

MISCELLANEOUS PROVISIONS 

 

1. Staff meals: All employees, on all shifts, are eligible to receive staff meals at the 
Nursing Home facility. Bargaining unit employees will pay equally with other Grafton 
County employees for meals at the Nursing Home. The charge for all staff meals will be 
$3.00 and is limited to one (1) meal per shift during the 30 minute lunch break period 
outlined under Article 21 (Rest Breaks) contained herein. Those employees working 
less than a 5 hour shift will also be eligible for staff meals, but will not be allowed to do 
so on duty. Employees who stay over will be provided meal at no charge. 
 

2. Mileage & Reimbursement of Expenses: Employees will be reimbursed mileage 
at the current approved County rate for using private automobiles with the prior approval 
of the Administrator; provided the County vehicle is not available (vouchers must justify 
use of private car). 
 a. Actual reasonable expenses for meals (excluding alcoholic beverages) not 
to exceed $8.00 for breakfast, $15.00 for lunch and $25.00 for dinner. 
  

b. Expenses must be itemized with receipts and statement of purpose 
attached and approved by the Administrator prior to submission for reimbursement. 
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ARTICLE 47 

APPLICABILITY CLAUSE 

 

The terms and conditions in this agreement would supersede any provisions 
listed in the Grafton County Handbook. If there are any terms and conditions that are 
not covered in this agreement, then the provisions in the Grafton County Handbook 
would be applicable to all employees under Article 1. 
 

 

ARTICLE 48 

SEPARABILITY CLAUSE 

 

If any Article of this Agreement or any application of any portion of any Article of 
this Agreement to any employee or group of employees is held to be contrary to law, 
then such Article or portion thereof shall be deemed invalid, but all other provisions of 
the Agreement shall continue in full force and effect. 

  

ARTICLE 49 

FULL AGREEMENT 

 
1. The parties acknowledge that during the negotiations which resulted in this 
Agreement, each had the unlimited right and opportunity to make demands and 
proposals with respect to any subject or matter not removed by law from the area of 
collective bargaining and that the understandings and agreements arrived at by the 
parties after the exercise of that right and opportunity are set forth in this Agreement.  
Therefore, the County and the Union, for the life of this Agreement, each voluntarily and 
unqualifiedly waive the right, and each agrees that the other shall not be obligated, to 
bargain collectively with respect to any subject or matter not referred to or covered in 
this Agreement, even though such subjects or matters may not have been within the 
knowledge or contemplation of either or both of the parties at the time this Agreement 
was negotiated or signed.  The parties may, however, voluntarily agree to reopen 
contract negotiations on any subject at any time. 
 

2.  This instrument constitutes the entire agreement and final resolution of all matters in 
dispute between the County and the Union arrived at as a result of collective 
bargaining negotiations, except such amendments hereto as shall have been negotiated 
by mutual agreement and reduced to writing and signed by the parties. 
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ARTICLE 50 

DEFINITIONS 

 
1. County: The term “County” as used in this Agreement refers to the County 
Administration and/or the administration of the Grafton County Nursing Home. 
 

2. Union: The term “Union” as used in this Agreement refers to the United Electrical 
Radio and Machine Workers of America (UE) and its affiliate Local 278. 
 

3. Employee: The term “Employee” as used in this Agreement refers to a member 
of the bargaining unit. 
 

4. Union Representatives: The term “Union Representative” as used in this 
Agreement refers to employees authorized by the Union for purposes of handling Union 
business as described herein in Article 3 Union Rights.  
 

ARTICLE 51 

DURATION 

 
Term of Agreement to be three (3) years, with the exception of Article 25, Article 
28 and Article 37.5, which will be negotiated annually. 
 

1. This Agreement shall become effective upon execution by the parties and shall 
remain in full force and effect through June 30, 2016. 
2. Re-negotiation of this Agreement shall be initiated by written notification by one 
party to the other no later than January 1, 2016. The parties shall mutually agree upon a 
time and place for negotiations and shall commence within thirty (30) days of receipt of 
such notice. Such written notice shall be deemed given when mailed by certified mail. 
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APPENDIX A 

 
Executive, Management, Administrative, Professional and Office Support Scale 

Effective July 1, 2013 
 

G4 
40% 
Spread 

Step 
1 

Step 
2 

Step 
3 

Step 
4 

Step 
5 

Step 
6 

Step 
7 

Step 
8 

Step 
9 

Step 
10 

Step 
11 

Step 
12 

 $15.31 $15.77 $16.24 $16.73 $17.23 $17.75 $18.28 $18.83 $19.39 $19.98 $20.58 $21.19 

 
Social Services Assistant 
Medical Transcriptionist 

 

G3 
40% 
Spread 

Step 
1 

Step 
2 

Step 
3 

Step 
4 

Step 
5 

Step 
6 

Step 
7 

Step 
8 

Step 
9 

Step 
10 

Step 
11 

Step 
12 

$13.44 $13.84 $14.26 $14.69 $15.13 $15.58 $16.05 $16.53 $17.03 $17.54 $18.06 $18.60 

 
No positions currently in this grade level 
                                                                                                                                                                    

G2 
40% 
Spread 

Step 
1 

Step 
2 

Step 
3 

Step 
4 

Step 
5 

Step 
6 

Step 
7 

Step 
8 

Step 
9 

Step 
10 

Step 
11 

Step 
12 

$11.61 $11.96 $12.32 $12.69 $13.07 $13.46 $13.86 $14.28 $14.71 $15.15 $15.60 $16.07 

Nursing Home Unit Secretary         

G1 
40% 
Spread 

Step 
1 

Step 
2 

Step 
3 

Step 
4 

Step 
5 

Step 
6 

Step 
7 

Step 
8 

Step 
9 

Step 
10 

Step 
11 

Step 
12 

$10.07 $10.37 $10.68 $11.00 $11.33 $11.67 $12.02 $12.38 $12.76 $13.14 $13.53 $13.94 

No positions currently in this grade level 
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Technical, Supervisor, Trades, Crafts, General Labor Scale 

Effective July 1, 2013 
 

G10 
35% 
Spread 

Step 
1 

Step 
2 

Step 
3 

Step 
4 

Step 
5 

Step 
6 

Step 
7 

Step 
8 

Step 
9 

Step 
10 

Step 
11 

$16.03 $16.51 $17.01 $17.52 $18.04 $18.58 $19.14 $19.71 $20.31 $20.92 $21.54 

No positions currently in this grade level 

G9 
35% 
Spread 

Step 
1 

Step 
2 

Step 
3 

Step 
4 

Step 
5 

Step 
6 

Step 
7 

Step 
8 

Step 
9 

Step 
10 

Step 
11 

$14.98 $15.43 $15.89 $16.37 $16.86 $17.37 $17.89 $18.42 $18.98 $19.55 $20.13 

No positions currently in this grade level 

G8 
35% 
Spread 

Step 
1 

Step 
2 

Step 
3 

Step 
4 

Step 
5 

Step 
6 

Step 
7 

Step 
8 

Step 
9 

Step 
10 

Step 
11 

$14.00 $14.42 $14.85 $15.30 $15.76 $16.23 $16.72 $17.22 $17.73 $18.27 $18.81 

MNA 
Nursing Home Staffing Coordinator 

G7 
35% 
Spread 

Step 
1 

Step 
2 

Step 
3 

Step 
4 

Step 
5 

Step 
6 

Step 
7 

Step 
8 

Step 
9 

Step 
10 

Step 
11 

$13.64 $14.05 $14.47 $14.90 $15.35 $15.81 $16.29 $16.78 $17.28 $17.80 $18.33 

Cook 
  

G6 
35% 
Spread 

Step 
1 

Step 
2 

Step 
3 

Step 
4 

Step 
5 

Step 
6 

Step 
7 

Step 
8 

Step 
9 

Step 
10 

Step 
11 

$12.72 $13.10 $13.49 $13.90 $14.32 $14.75 $15.19 $15.64 $16.11 $16.60 $17.09 

LNA 
Restorative Aide/LNA 

G5 
35% 
Spread 

Step 
1 

Step 
2 

Step 
3 

Step 
4 

Step 
5 

Step 
6 

Step 
7 

Step 
8 

Step 
9 

Step 
10 

Step 
11 

$12.48 $12.85 $13.24 $13.64 $14.05 $14.47 $14.90 $15.35 $15.81 $16.28 $16.77 

No position currently in this grade level                                                                                                                                                          

G4 
35% 
Spread 

Step 
1 

Step 
2 

Step 
3 

Step 
4 

Step 
5 

Step 
6 

Step 
7 

Step 
8 

Step 
9 

Step 
10 

Step 
11 

$11.94 $12.30 $12.67 $13.05 $13.44 $13.84 $14.26 $14.68 $15.13 $15.58 $16.05 

Certified Activity Aide 
Laundry Machine Operator 
Senior Housekeeper 

G3 
35% 

Step 
1 

Step 
2 

Step 
3 

Step 
4 

Step 
5 

Step 
6 

Step 
7 

Step 
8 

Step 
9 

Step 
10 

Step 
11 

$11.23 $11.57 $11.91 $12.27 $12.64 $13.02 $13.41 $13.81 $14.23 $14.65 $15.09 
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Spread Certified Housekeeper 
Seamstress 
Uncertified Activity Aide 
Unit Aide/Paid Feeding Assistant 

G2 
35% 
Spread 

Step 
1 

Step 
2 

Step 
3 

Step 
4 

Step 
5 

Step 
6 

Step 
7 

Step 
8 

Step 
9 

Step 
10 

Step 
11 

$10.58 $10.90 $11.22 $11.56 $11.91 $12.27 $12.63 $13.01 $13.40 $13.80 $14.22 

Dietary Aide 
Laundry Aide                                                                                                                                                                           
Unit Aide 

G1 
35% 
Spread 

Step 
1 

Step 
2 

Step 
3 

Step 
4 

Step 
5 

Step 
6 

Step 
7 

Step 
8 

Step 
9 

Step 
10 

Step 
11 

$10.05 $10.35 $10.66 $10.98 $11.31 $11.65 $12.00 $12.36 $12.73 $13.11 $13.51 

No positions currently in this grade level 
  

 
 
Student Bedmakers/ Student Dietary Aides -- $7.25/hour 
 
 
Wages and Health Insurance Premiums for the 2nd and 3rd years will be available 
when negotiated. 
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CHECK-OFF AUTHORIZATION 

 

 

To: ___________________________________________________________________ 
 

 

I authorize and direct you to deduct from by biweekly pay, while I am employed by the 
County in the Unit covered by the collective bargaining Agreement, an amount equal to 
UE membership dues and assessments (Fair Share) as designated by the Union and to 
promptly remit the same to UE Local _____, United Electrical and Machine Workers of 
America (UE). I have been informed and understand that, as a condition of employment, 
I do not have to become a member of the Union. I further understand and have been 
informed that I must maintain my membership, including the payment of periodic dues 
for the life of the current collective bargaining Agreement. 
 

This assignment and authorization shall continue until revoked and cannot be revoked 
unless it is revoked by me within thirty (30) days preceding the expiration of the 
collecting bargaining agreement. Such notice of revocation shall become effective 
respecting the dues for the month following the month in which such written notice is 
given. 
 

Revocation shall be effective only if I give the County and UE Local _______, United 
Electrical, Radio & Machine Workers of America (UE) written notice, and it is received 
and postmarked during the period specified above. 
 

 

Employee Signature: ___________________________________________ 
 

 

Department: __________________________________________________ 
 

 

Effective Date: ________________________________________________ 
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COLLECTIVE BARGAINING SERVICE FEE AGREEMENT 

 

I, ____________________________________ in accordance with Article 5 of the 
Collective Bargaining Agreement between Grafton County Nursing Home and United 
Electrical, Radio and Machine Workers of America (UE) Local 278, do hereby agree to 
pay a monthly Collective Bargaining Service Fee that is not to exceed 50% of the 
amount payable as dues as calculated by the Union. This fee shall be deducted from 
my paycheck in the same manner as regular UE dues and will be used for the cost of 
representation, administration and negotiations on my behalf as a bargaining unit 
member. 
 

Deductions will be taken effective the first pay period of the month of 
___________________ 20__. 
 

 

__________________________________   ____________________ 

Employee Signature      Date 
 

 

______________________________________ 

Witness 
 

 


