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PREAMBLE 

 
The UNITED ELECTRICAL, RADIO AND MACHINE WORKERS OF AMERICA (UE) 
LOCAL 278, hereafter referred to as the "'Union" and the COUNTY OF GRAFTON, 
hereinafter referred to as the "County" and collectively referred to as the "Parties" hereby 
agree as follows: 
 

ARTICLE 1 

RECOGNITION 
 
1.  The County hereby recognizes the Union as the sole and exclusive bargaining agent 
pursuant to the provisions of New Hampshire RSA 273-A per the Certification Case No. 
M-769 dated November 29, 1999 for the purpose of establishing the terms and conditions 
of employment for all bargaining unit employees. 
 
2.  The Bargaining Unit shall consist of all regular full-time and regular part-time 
employees of the Grafton County Nursing Home in the positions of: Licensed Nursing 

Assistant, Social Services Assistant, Activities Assistant Director, Certified Activities 
Aide, Uncertified Activities Aide, Nursing Home Unit Secretary,  Paid Feeding Assistant 
(PFA),  Unit Aide, Medical Transcriptionist, Cook, Nutrition/Dietary Aide, Dietary Aide, 
Restorative Aide, Seamstress, Laundry Aide,  Laundry Machine Operator, Senior 
Housekeeping Aide, Staffing Coordinator, Certified Housekeeping Aide, and Uncertified 
Housekeeping Aide.  Additionally, it is agreed that the following positions and employees 
are excluded from recognition or coverage under this Agreement: Administrator, MDS 
Coordinator, Director of Nursing Services, Health Information Manager, Social Services 
Director, Staff Development Director, Volunteer Coordinator, Activities Director, 

Housekeeping Director, Dietary Manager, RNs, Pharmacy Review Nurse, Office/Finance 
Manager, Bookkeeper/LAN Supervisor, Secretary, Driver, Purchasing Agent, Cook 
Supervisor, Licensed Practice Nurse, Bedmaker, Restorative Program Coordinator, 
Laundry Supervisor and Maintenance Workers, all other Department Heads, all other 
supervisors, professional and confidential employees, persons in a probationary or 
temporary status, employed seasonally, irregularly or on call, and all other employees of 
the County. 
 
3.  It is specifically agreed by the parties hereto that any rights, duties or authority existing 
by virtue of the New Hampshire Revised Statutes Annotated or other law shall in no way 
be abridged or limited by any of the provisions of this Agreement, and to the extent that 
any provision of this Agreement contradicts any such law, the provision(s) of law shall 
prevail. 
 

4.  Effective July 1, 2005 Student Dietary Aides shall have a starting rate of $7.00 per 
hour.  At such time as they graduate from high school or turn age 18, whichever occurs 
later, they shall move to Step 1 of the pay scale. This $7.00 per hour shall also be subject 
to the annual re-opener on wages.  Any students currently working in the Dietary 
Department shall be grandfathered to remain in the pay scale and progress as any other 
employee. 
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ARTICLE 2 

MANAGEMENT RIGHTS 

 
1.  Except as specifically limited or abridged by the terms of this Agreement, the 
management of the Grafton County Nursing Home in all its phases and details shall 
remain vested exclusively in the County and its designated agents.  The County and its 
agents shall have jurisdiction over all matters concerning the management of the Grafton 
County Nursing Home including, but not limited to: the exercise of all of the rights, 
responsibilities and prerogatives that are inherent in the Employer or its agents by virtue of 
any statues and/or ordinances, as well as all rights, responsibilities and prerogatives 
relating to, including, but not limited to, the direction of the work force, the establishment of 
rules and regulations, the right to hire, supervise, discipline or discharge, relieving 
employees from duty for lack of work or funds, the right to decide classifications, the right 
to abolish positions, the right to determine schedules of work, the right to determine the 
methods, processes and manner of performing work and the general control of all of the 
operations of the Grafton County Nursing Home in all its phases and details as well as all 
rights retained by virtue of, including, but not limited to, New Hampshire RSA Chapter 273-
A, and any other provision(s) of the Revised Statutes Annotated or other laws.  
 
2.  It is agreed that these enumerations of management rights shall not be deemed to 
exclude other management rights not specifically herein enumerated.  It is further 
specifically agreed that this Article and the exercise of any management rights shall not be 
subject to any grievance proceeding as hereinafter set forth. 

            

          ARTICLE 3 

                                                       UNION RIGHTS 
 
1.  Access to the Facility:   Upon prior notice and the approval of the Nursing Home 
Administrator or the Administrator‟s designee which approval will not be unreasonably 
denied, UE representatives shall be allowed to visit the non-restricted work areas of 
employees during working hours and confer on conditions of employment and for the 
purpose of assisting with the resolution of grievances, to the extent that such visitations 
occur during break periods and other times as approved by the Nursing Home 
Administrator or the Administrator‟s designee and do not disrupt any work activity. 
 
2.  Use of the Facilities:  Upon the approval of the Nursing Home Administrator or the 
Administrator‟s designee, members of the bargaining unit may be afforded the use of 
meeting rooms at the Nursing Home facility, so long as such use is not in conflict with 
County business. 
 
3.  Union Officials:  The County agrees to recognize the following Union officials duly 
authorized by the Union for purposes of handling Union business: President, Vice 
President/Chief Steward, and Stewards, or designees.  
 

There may be one Steward/designee on the day shift for each of the following 
locations: Maple, Profile, Granite, and Meadow, Kitchen, Housekeeping, Laundry and one 

to cover all others.  Each location may have one (1) alternate steward/designee from each 
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area to be recognized by the County to process initial grievances.  The other shifts may 
have a steward/designee covering several areas of the facility. 
 

The Union shall furnish the names of the Union officials, Stewards and/or 
designees and will keep the list current. 
 
 The Administrator may authorize a reasonable amount of time, during work hours 
without loss of pay to permit the Union Officials/Stewards to carry out responsibilities to 
the employees in the unit insofar as this activity does not interfere with the performance of 
duties.  However, it is understood that no more than one (1) steward per area shall be 
allowed work time to investigate grievances at any given time.  It is further agreed that 
union employees shall be permitted access to designated union officials to discuss union 
issues during work hours. The Union agrees that it shall guard against the use of 
excessive time. 
 
 Representatives of the Union and the Chief Steward shall have access to the 
facility, during their non-scheduled work time, for the purpose of adjusting grievances, 
negotiating the settlement of disputes and for carrying out the responsibilities of 
representation as required by the Union and this Agreement. 
 
4.  Union Leave:  Union members shall be allowed an aggregate of twenty (20) days off 
each contract year without pay to attend the annual National Convention of the UE and 
District 2 Council meetings.  The Union shall provide the County with no less than four (4) 
weeks notice of use of Union leave. 

 

ARTICLE 4 

NON-DISCRIMINATION/EMPLOYEE RIGHTS 

 
1.  The County and the Union reaffirm and will maintain the policy not to discriminate 
against any person because of race, color, national origin, citizenship, religion, sex, sexual 
orientation, marital status, age or disability.  All such claims under this Section shall be 
initiated through the grievance procedure herein before taking action with state or federal 
agencies.  This requirement shall not, however, restrict the filing of claims or complaints so 
as to prevent the expiration of time limits or appeal rights set forth by statute or regulation.   
 
2.   No employee shall, as a condition of employment, be required to become a member of 
the Union.  The County and the Union agrees that no employee shall, in any manner, be 
discriminated against, coerced or restrained on account of membership in, or lack of 
membership in, the Union or by reason of any lawful Union activity. 
 
3.   All references to employees in this Agreement designate both sexes and whenever 
one gender is used, it shall be construed to mean male and female employees equally. 

 

ARTICLE 5 

DUES CHECK-OFF AND FAIR SHARE 

 
1.  Subject to the provisions of this article and applicable laws, the County agrees to 
deduct equal amounts of regular union dues or collective bargaining fees from the wages 



 4 

of each employee who authorizes such deduction in writing in accordance with the check 

off authorization forms provided by the Union and approved by the County. (See page 74 

of this agreement.)  Such deductions shall begin with the first payroll period after receipt 
of the check off authorization form and said sum shall be transmitted on a monthly basis 
by mail to the designated Union Financial Secretary or designee.  The check shall be 
accompanied by a list of all dues paying members and the amount deducted from each 
employee‟s paycheck. 
 
1. All bargaining unit members who belong to the Union or who join the Union at any time 
 during the term of the contract shall have their dues deducted by the County in 
accordance with this Article, and must maintain their membership, as a condition of 
employment, throughout the term of this Agreement.  For purposes of this Article, a 
member in good standing means only the obligation of payment of periodic dues as 
uniformly required. 
 
3.  The Union agrees to notify the County in writing of the amount of the dues to be 
deducted from each employee, and notify the County in advance of any change in the 
amount to be deducted. 
 
4.  In the event that an employee‟s check is insufficient to deduct dues after all required 
deductions have been made, then no dues will be deducted or paid to the Union for that 
pay period. 
 
5.  The Union agrees to hold the County harmless from any claim or liability arising out of 
the deduction of dues and payment to the Union under this Article. 
 
6.  Orientation:  The County agrees to allow the Union to make a presentation to all newly 
hired employees in bargaining unit positions during orientation or within thirty (30) days of 
hire whichever comes last.  The Union shall be given up to one half (1/2) hour with each 
new employee at the time of orientation sessions or within thirty (30) days of hire. 
 

 It shall be the responsibility of the Union to distribute the Collective 

Bargaining Agreement to members of the bargaining unit. 

 
7.  Fair Share:  An employee who is not a member of the Union who requests the services 

of the Union with a grievance may (at the option of the Union) shall be charged the full 
fair share cost to the Union of such representation. 
 

8.  Subject to applicable law, all employees as of July 1, 2007 who are covered by this 
Agreement and who are not members of the Union in good standing on the effective date 
of this Agreement, shall be given an option to either: 
 

a. Become a member of the Union and pay full dues and initiation fees in 
accordance with the UE Local 278 Constitution & By-Laws; or 

 
b. Voluntarily Pay a monthly Collective Bargaining Service fee not to exceed 50% 

of the amount payable as dues as calculated by the Union, in full accordance 
with applicable laws.   
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The Collective Bargaining Service Fee will be used for the cost of 
representation, administration, and negotiations on behalf of bargaining unit 
members and shall be deducted in the same manner as regular UE dues. 
 

9.  Subject to applicable law, all employees who are members of the Union on July 1, 

2007 shall be given an option to either: 
 

a. Remain members of the Union and pay full dues in accordance with the UE 
Local 278 Constitution & By-Laws; or 

 
b.  Voluntarily pay a monthly collective bargaining service fee not to exceed 50% of 

the amount payable as dues as calculated by the Union, in full accordance with 
applicable laws.   

 
The Collective Bargaining Service Fee will be used for the cost of 
representation, administration, and negotiations on behalf of bargaining unit 
members and shall be deducted in the same manner as regular UE dues. 

 

ARTICLE 6 

SEXUAL HARASSMENT 
 
1.  The County will not tolerate the sexual harassment of any employee, client, vendor, or 
any other person dealing with the County. Conduct will be considered sexual harassment 
if: 
 
 A. Submission to or rejection of a request for a sexual favor is used as the 
basis for employment decisions affecting the person who did the submitting or rejecting; 
 

B. Submission to a request for sexual favors is made either explicitly or 
implicitly a condition of the individual's initial or continued employment; or 

 
C. Unwelcome sexual advances and other verbal or physical conduct of a 

sexual nature interferes with an individual's work performance or creates an intimidating, 
hostile, or offensive work environment. 

 
D. Any other conduct which has been determined as sexual harassment under law. 
 

2.  All complaints of sexual harassment should be referred immediately to the 
Administrator, or the Executive Director, at the employees own choosing, and the matter 
will be promptly investigated.  Confidentiality will be maintained to the extent possible 
consistent with the need to conduct a prompt and thorough investigation of a complaint.  
Retaliating or discriminating against an employee for complaining about sexual 
harassment is prohibited.  Any instance of sexual harassment as described herein, any act 
of retaliation, or any failure to cooperate in the investigation or resolution of a sexual 
harassment complaint may result in disciplinary action up to and including termination. 
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ARTICLE 7 

PROBATIONARY EMPLOYEES 
 
1.  All newly hired employees must serve a probationary period of six (6) continuous 
months from the date of hire and during this period shall be classified as probationary 
employees.  Probationary employees shall not be entitled to representation by the Union 
or covered by any of the terms of this Agreement, including, but not limited to, that which 
is set forth in Section 2 of this Article. 
 
2.  Probationary employees may be disciplined, including but not limited to, suspension or 
termination for any reason and at any time by the County in its sole discretion, and neither 
the employee so disciplined, suspended or terminated, nor the Union shall have recourse 
to the grievance procedure concerning any such discipline, suspension or termination. 

 

ARTICLE 8 

JOINT LOSS MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE 

 
1.  The Parties agree that a Joint Loss Management Committee (Safety Committee) will 
be established in the Nursing Home comprised of not more than two (2) employees 
appointed by the Union and two (2) representatives from the County.  Said committee 
members shall also be members of the County-wide Joint Loss Management Committee. 
 
2.  The committee shall meet as needed, but no less than once each calendar quarter 
during regular working hours. Minutes shall be kept and made available for review by 
employees. 
 
3.  The purpose of this committee is to discuss areas of concern and to bring to the 
attention of the Administrator conditions regarding health and safety.  The committee shall 
also make recommendations for the resolution of same.  This Committee shall also serve 
for the purpose of complying with Section (281-A:64-A) the New Hampshire's Worker's 
Compensation Law. 

 

ARTICLE 9 

HEALTH AND SAFETY 

 
1.  The County shall endeavor to provide and maintain safe and healthy working 
conditions, to the extent required by law, and the employees agree to follow all safety and 
health rules and regulations.  The Union will cooperate to that end and encourage the 
employees, at all times, to perform their assigned tasks in a safe and healthy manner.  It is 
understood that employees will immediately report any unsafe or unhealthy condition to 
the employee‟s supervisor as soon as it becomes known. 
 
2.  Safety rules and fire regulations shall be posted on bulletin boards. 
 
3.  Information and training regarding safety rules and fire regulations shall be made 
available to employees. 
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4.  All employees are required to report in writing to the employee‟s supervisor and to the 
Joint Loss Management Committee any conditions that they feel are fire hazards or likely 
to cause accidents. 

 

ARTICLE 10 

EMPLOYEES’ HEALTH & RECORDS 

 
1.  The County shall provide and maintain a program aimed at reducing occupational 
exposure to Hepatitis B Virus (HBV). Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV) and other 
illnesses which employees may encounter during their work activities. 

 
2.  The County will provide, without cost to the employee, tuberculosis screenings, HIV 
screenings (upon occupational exposure only), and hepatitis B vaccinations. Such 
screening and vaccinations shall be made available to individual employees upon request.  
 
3.  Employees who test positive for tuberculosis (Mantoux Test) shall be responsible for 
pursuing further medical advice.  Verification of physician follow-up must be submitted to 
the Administrator within thirty (30) days. 
 
4.  The County shall maintain in every unit adequate first-aid kits and safety precaution 
equipment to be located in secure but readily accessible areas.  On-the-job injuries, 
regardless of seriousness, shall be reported to the employee‟s supervisor within twenty 
four (24) hours. 
 
5.  Health records for employees shall be maintained separately from personnel files. 

 

ARTICLE 11 

BULLETIN BOARDS 

 
The County agrees to provide space for a bulletin board or space on its bulletin 

board(s) in designated areas, such as Staff Offices, Smoke Shack, Employee Locker 
Room and at the Time Clock for important notices, at the Nursing Home for the posting of 
proper Union announcements, notices, social events and other non-controversial matters 
addressed to its members.  Neither the Union nor employees shall post notices or other 
material of a derogatory, libelous, or profane nature, and said notices and material shall 
be limited to actual Union business.  Neither the Union nor employees shall post notices or 
other material at any other locations other than the approved Union bulletin board(s). 
 

ARTICLE 12 

EMPLOYMENT 
 
1.  Personnel Files: Employees shall have an opportunity to inspect their personnel files 
during normal administrative working hours and, upon at least twenty four (24) hours 
notice to the human resources office.  Employees may obtain a copy of all or any part of 
the file.  A fee may be imposed for said copies. 
  
2.  Performance Evaluations:  Regular employee evaluations shall be prepared by the 
employee‟s supervisor no less than once per year.  The purpose of such evaluation shall 
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be to evaluate and constructively assess the employee‟s strengths and weaknesses.  To 
this end, it is understood that supervisors shall not withhold critical assessments during 
periods between evaluations and shall provide employees with opportunities to specifically 
address and/or correct problem areas identified before formal evaluations are completed. 
 
 The employee‟s supervisor shall meet with the employee to discuss the evaluation.  
Employees shall be allowed to review the evaluation for no less than three (3) work days 
prior to the meeting, said waiting period may be waived by signing a form agreed to by the 
County and the Union.  Once the evaluation has been presented to the employee, it must 
be completed by all parties and no changes made thereafter. 
 
 If an employee‟s evaluation results in loss of a step increase, the employee may 
appeal the evaluation to an Evaluation Review Panel consisting of the Administrator, the 
Human Resources Director, and the employee‟s Supervisor.  The employee and a Union 
Steward, if requested by the employee, shall present to the Panel the reasons for the 
appeal.  A written decision will be furnished to the employee by the review panel within 
fifteen (15) work days of the appeal meeting. 
 
 Employees shall be allowed to respond in writing to the evaluation and to have such 
response appended to the evaluation for inclusion in the employee‟s personnel file. 
 
 An employee‟s signature on the evaluation shall signify receipt only and not 
necessarily agreement on the evaluation‟s content. 
 
 If the employee does not receive an annual step increase after the appeal process, 
they shall be reviewed in three (3) months and depending upon the evaluation shall 
receive their step increase at that time.  During this three (3) month period, the supervisor 
shall advise the employee of any reasons that may lead to another denial of their step 
increase.  Should an employee receive their step increase after such three (3) month 
evaluation, their next annual step increase will be due upon their anniversary date. 
 
 Evaluations shall not be subject to the grievance procedure. 
 
3.  Shift Openings: In the event that an opening occurs on any shift, qualified senior 
employees (as determined by the County) in the job classification shall have first option to 
move to the open shift before the position is posted and filled.  Qualifications shall include 
prior work performance and experience, skills and abilities, prior training and educational 
experience.  All employees shall be notified of the results of their job bid by one of the 
following: 
 
  A.   Verbally 
  B.   In writing – by formal letter 
  C.  Sealed note on time badge 
 
4.  Date of Hire – Anniversary Dates: 
All new employees hired after 1/1/2001 who receive a change in job status due to a 
promotion, certification, upgrade or transfer to a different department will retain his/her 
anniversary date (date of original hire) for purposes of step increments and accrued 
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benefits.  This employee will not be eligible for a merit increase until the trial period is 
completed. 
 
Current employees as of 1/1/2001 will retain their Job Classification anniversary date for 
the purposes of step increases.  These employees will retain his/her date of hire with the 
County for accrued benefits. 
 

ARTICLE 13 

NO STRIKE, NO LOCKOUT 
 
1.  Under no circumstances will the Union cause, encourage, sponsor or participate in any 
strike, sit-down, stay-in, stay-out, sick-in, sick-out, work slowdown, picketing of any kind 
while on duty, withholding of services or curtailment of work or restrictions or interference 
with the operations of the County or departments thereof during the term of this 
Agreement.  In the event of any such activity, the County shall not be required to negotiate 
on the merits of the dispute which gave rise to such activity until any and all such activity 
has ceased.  The County will not lock out any employees during the term of this 
Agreement. 
 
2.  Should any employee or group of employees covered by this Agreement engage in any 
activity prohibited by Section 1 of this Article, the Union shall forthwith disavow any such 
activity and shall use all means to induce such employee or group of employees to 
terminate such activity forthwith.  It is understood that any employee violating this Article 
shall be subject to disciplinary action up to and including  
discharge. 

 

ARTICLE 14 

SENIORITY 
 

1.  Seniority: Seniority shall be defined as an employee's total length of continuous service 
in the Grafton County Nursing Home. There shall be a seniority list for all Nursing Home 
employees, according to their total County seniority. Such list shall include, name, date of 
hire, position, and status whether full-time or regular part-time. 
 
2.  Classification Seniority: Upon receiving a promotion, an employee‟s name shall be 
entered at the bottom of the seniority list for that job classification, regardless of the 
employee‟s total County seniority, and the employee shall be considered to be the junior 
employee in that job classification. 
 
3.  Seniority Lists:  The Nursing Home shall provide to the Union an updated copy of the 
seniority list every three (3) months. Seniority lists shall be posted in each area of the 
Nursing Home. 
 
4. Probationary Employees: Probationary employees who have completed their 
probationary period and have become full-time or regular part-time employees shall have 
their seniority date adjusted to reflect the employee‟s original date of hire. 
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5.  Loss of Seniority:  An employee's seniority shall be terminated and the employee‟s 
rights under this Agreement forfeited for the following reasons: 
 
 A.  Termination of Employment. 
 B.  Exceeding an authorized leave of absence unless excused by management. 
 C.  Failure to return to work within seven (7) calendar days after notification of recall    
           from layoff by the County.  

D. Remaining on layoff status for more than twelve (12) months 
 

ARTICLE 15 

LAYOFF & RECALL 
 
1.  When it is determined by the County that a layoff is necessary, the County shall first 
ask for volunteers within the affected classification(s).  In the event there is an insufficient 
number of volunteers, employees shall be laid off in the order of their seniority beginning 
with the least senior in the affected classification(s).  It is understood that an employee 
retained must be qualified, as determined by the County, to perform the available work, or 
the least senior employee in the classification(s) shall not be laid off.  Qualifications shall 
include prior work performance and experience, skills and abilities, prior training and 
educational experience.  Generally, it is understood that probationary, temporary and per 
diem employees shall be laid off before regular full-time or regular part-time employees 
are laid off. 
 
2.  The County shall give an employee not less than fourteen (14) days written notice of 
layoff and a copy thereof shall be delivered to the Union steward in the affected areas.  
During this fourteen (14) day period the County shall meet with the Union so that the 
Union may present alternative proposals to avoid layoff and/or mitigate the impact on the 
employees. 
 
3.  Laid off employees may fill any vacancy for which the employee is qualified, in 
accordance with Article 16, Job Vacancies/Job Postings/Promotions of this Agreement. 
 
4.  In all cases, the remaining employees must be able to perform the required job duties. 
 
5.  RECALL:  Employees who are laid off shall be eligible for recall.  Recall of employees 
into positions shall be by qualifications in reverse order of layoff.  Qualifications, as 
determined solely by the County, shall include prior work performance and experience, 
skills and abilities, prior training and educational experience.  The right to recall shall be 
for twelve (12) months. 
 
6.  Any recall notice shall be mailed to the last known address in County records by 
certified mail.  It shall be the employee‟s responsibility to update such mailing address as 
necessary.  Any employee who fails to return to work within seven (7) calendar days of a 
recall notice, or who fails to make arrangements with the Administrator for the employee‟s 
return on some other date, shall lose all recall rights and seniority.  Any laid-off employee 
who rejects a recall to a bargaining unit position shall lose all recall rights and seniority. 
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ARTICLE 16 

JOB VACANCIES/JOB POSTINGS/PROMOTIONS 

 
1.  When a vacancy occurs and no employee has recall rights to such vacancy, the 
County will post the job opening for a period of not less than seven (7) calendar days to 
allow employees the opportunity to apply for available positions.  The postings shall 
indicate the job title, pay grade, shift hours, job status (full-time, part-time) and minimum 
qualifications for the position, date of posting, and close of posting. 
 
2.  The open position shall be awarded to the most qualified applicant, as determined by 
the County.  Qualifications shall include prior work performance and experience, skills and 
abilities, prior training and educational experience.  If the County determines that two (2) 
or more applicants are relatively equally qualified, seniority shall be the determining factor 
to award the position. 

 

ARTICLE 17 

TRIAL PERIOD 

 
1.  Upon promotion or transfer to a new bargaining unit position (or classification) a trial 
period shall take effect for up to six (6) months during which time the County may remove 
the employee if, in the County‟s sole discretion, the standards of the position have not 
been met.  In the event that the employee has not met the standards for the position, as 
determined solely by the County, the employee may in lieu of removal, or if the employee 
elects to decline appointment to the new position, return to the employee‟s former 
position, if the position is available.  Return to the employee‟s former position shall be at 
the employee‟s previous pay with no loss of seniority.  If the employee‟s former position is 
not available, the employee may fill a vacant position of the same or lower classification if 
the employee is qualified, as determined solely by the County.  If no vacancy exists, the 
employee shall be laid off and shall have recall rights in accordance with Article 15 of this 
Agreement. 
 
2.  There shall be at least two (2) informal evaluations and/or reviews by management 
during the trial period to afford the employee an opportunity to correct and improve any 
deficiencies in the employee‟s performance.  No merit increases are given during trial 
periods.  If due for an annual evaluation while serving a trial period, the annual evaluation 
will be foregone and two evaluations will be done during the trial period, the last of which 
will determine if the employee has successfully completed the trial period and will be used 
to determine if the employee‟s annual merit increase is warranted.  Merit increases will be 
retroactive. 

 
3.  Employees selected for a new position with a higher labor grade shall receive a rate of 
pay for the new position which gives the employee an increase in pay.  Employees 
selected for an open position which is a lower labor grade than the position previously 
held, shall receive the rate of pay consistent with the step level of the position they held 
prior to receiving the new position.  If an employee transfers to a new position with the 
same labor grade, he/she will maintain the same step.  The rate of pay in any new position 
cannot exceed the maximum for the labor grade. 
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All new employees hired after 1/1/2001 who receive a change in job status due to a 
promotion, certification, upgrade or transfer to a different department will retain his/her 
anniversary date (date of original hire) for purposes of step increments and accrued 
benefits.  This employee will not be eligible for a merit increase until the trial period is 
completed. 
 
Current employees as of 1/1/2001 will retain their Job Classification anniversary date for 
the purposes of step increases.  These employees will retain his/her date of hire with the 
County for accrued benefits. 

 

ARTICLE 18 

DISCIPLINARY PROCEDURE 

 
1.  It is the responsibility of each employee to observe work rules, policies, and 
regulations. 
 
2.  No employee shall be terminated from employment without just cause. 
 
3.  Employees shall have the right to have a Union steward or representative present 
whenever the employee is to be disciplined or interviewed regarding events or behavior 
which may lead to possible future discipline and the County shall notify the employee of 
that right prior to meeting with or interviewing the employee regarding said discipline or 
possible discipline. 
 

Should employees decline Union representation for such meeting, it shall not mean 
that the employee is waiving any future rights to Union representation regarding this 
incident or any other. 
 
 Employees shall have prior notification of any meeting that may result in disciplinary 
action and will have time to seek Union representation. 
 
4.  The County will normally use the procedure of progressive discipline including the 
following actions: 
    Oral reprimand 
    Written reprimand 
    Suspension without pay 
    Termination 
 
 It is understood that more serious offenses may warrant more serious discipline 
and not adhere to the above progressive discipline steps. 
 
 With the exception of compliance issues, in-service training shall be given prior to 
warnings being given. 
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a. Procedure:   
 

 The County shall notify the Chief Steward or designee as soon as 
reasonably possible if any employee is to be suspended or discharged. 

 Such employee shall have the right to consult with the Chief Steward or 
designee before the employee is suspended or discharged. 

 With the consent of the employee, the Chief Steward will be promptly 
given a copy of any recorded discipline within a reasonable period of 
time. 

 Filing of grievances shall be in accordance with Article 19. 

 Reinstatement – Any employee who has been determined through 
agreement, mediation or arbitration to have been unjustly suspended or 
discharged will be reinstated and it shall be recorded in their personnel 
file. 

 Such employee shall be reimbursed for lost time and benefits. 
 

5.  All oral reprimands shall become invalid after one (1) year after the disciplinary action 
is taken.   All written reprimands shall become invalid two (2) years after the written 
reprimand.  All suspensions shall become invalid five (5) years after the suspension.   
 
6.  Discipline shall be treated in a confidential manner, and employees shall not be 
reprimanded or otherwise disciplined in the presence of, or within the hearing or sight 
range of residents, other employees, or other persons not involved in the disciplinary 
process. 
 
7.  The County may suspend an employee with pay pending an investigation, but a 
suspension with pay for purposes of an investigation shall not be considered disciplinary in 
nature.  Such employees shall be advised on the nature of the investigation at the time of 
suspension. 
 
8.  The County will act to impose discipline within a reasonable time of the offense.  
Disciplinary actions shall identify the specific alleged action or non-action for which the 
discipline is being given, and shall cite the particular contract provision or published rule or 
regulation which is alleged to have been violated.  Disciplinary actions and any appeal of 
such actions taken pursuant to this Article shall not be subject to the provisions of RSA 
28:10-a and any appeal thereto shall be subject to the Grievance Procedure outlined in 
Article 19 of this Agreement. 
 
9.  Grounds for discipline include but are not limited to: 

 Failure to observe policies, procedures and regulations. 

 Failure to follow instructions of supervisors. 

 Failure or inability to satisfactorily perform all duties. 

 Compromising the dignity, privacy or well-being of a resident in any manner. 

 Manufacture, possession, use, sale, transfer or distribution of illegal drugs, 
drug  paraphernalia or alcohol while on duty or while off duty which affects 
performance while on duty. 

 Immoral conduct. 

 Fraternizing with inmates. 
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 Giving, selling, receiving or purchasing anything of monetary value from any 
Jail inmate or Nursing Home resident without Administrator approval. 

 Theft or misuse of county or resident funds or property. 

 Disclosure of confidential information. 

 Sleeping or dozing on duty. 

 Gross insubordination or other gross infraction to warrant immediate 
dismissal. 

 Destruction of county property. 

 Sexual harassment. 

 Keys left in vehicle on county property. 

 Unauthorized absenteeism or tardiness. 

 Swiping, altering or otherwise tampering with someone else‟s time badge, or 
any other act involving falsification of a time record. 

 Abuse of sick leave privileges. 

 Failure to attend mandatory training sessions. 

 Failure to maintain job-required licenses or certifications. 

 Any other conduct deemed detrimental to the County or its responsibilities. 
 
Being charged or convicted of any offense or crime may result in immediate suspension or 
dismissal. To ensure compliance with state and federal regulations, all employees are 
required on an on-going basis to notify the Administrator of any convictions for violation of 
the law, including any sanctions imposed by CMS (Medicare or Medicaid). 
 
All county vehicles must be turned off and locked when unoccupied/not in use, unless 
otherwise authorized by the Administrator.  Any employee who leaves keys in any vehicle 
is subject to immediate suspension or dismissal. 

 

ARTICLE 19 

GRIEVANCE PROCEDURE 

 
1.  This Article is to provide a procedure for adjusting grievances.  A grievance is defined 
as a dispute, claim or complaint raised by one (1) or more employees covered by this 
Agreement arising from an alleged violation, misinterpretation or misapplication of any 
provision of this Agreement. 
 
2.  The grievance procedure is designed, and it is the intention of the parties, to attempt to 
resolve grievances at the lowest possible level that is satisfactory to both parties. 
 
3.  The parties acknowledge that it is desirable for an employee and the employee‟s 
immediate supervisor to resolve problems through free and informal communication.  
Employees are therefore encouraged, though not required, to discuss concerns with their 
supervisor directly and informally prior to initiating formal grievances. 
 
4.  Nothing in this Article is intended to limit the rights of an employee to present a 
grievance or having the grievance adjusted without the involvement of the Union provided 
the adjustment is not inconsistent with the terms of this Agreement and the Union has 
been provided with a copy of the formal grievance and the resolution.  In addition, if 
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requested by the employee, the Union has been given the prior opportunity to be present 
at any discussion of the grievance.   
 

Step 1: The grievant involved and one (1) Union official shall have a meeting with the 
employee‟s supervisor to verbally discuss the problem.  This must take place within five  
(5) work days of the alleged violation or when the employee should have known of the 
event. 
 If the grievance is not resolved at this meeting, the supervisor shall have three (3) 
workdays to answer the grievance following the Step I meeting. If no decision has been 
rendered within said three (3) work days or if the supervisor‟s answer is unsatisfactory to 
the grievant, the grievance may be submitted to Step 2.  If the Union disagrees with the 
grievant‟s decision to accept the Step 1 answer as satisfactory, the Union shall be allowed 
to have its disagreement attached to and made part of the written record.  This statement 
shall be provided to the supervisor within three (3) work days of the Step1 answer. 
 

Step 2: The grievance shall be reduced to writing and presented to the Administrator or 
the Administrator‟s designee, within three (3) work days of the supervisor‟s decision, or the 
date upon which such decision should have been rendered.  The grievance shall specify 
the employee(s) involved, the date of the alleged offense, the specific contract provision(s) 
violated, and the remedy sought. 
 

The Administrator or the Administrator‟s designee shall meet with the aggrieved 
employee and the Union within five (5) work days of the Administrator‟s receipt of the 
grievance.  It is understood that there shall be no more than three (3) representatives from 
the Union in addition to the grievant(s) present at this meeting. 

 
If the grievance is not resolved at this meeting, the Administrator or the 

Administrator‟s designee shall render a decision within five (5) work days from the date of 
said grievance meeting.  If no decision has been rendered within five (5) work days or if 
the Administrator‟s decision is unsatisfactory to the grievant and the Union, the grievance 
may be submitted to Step 3. 
 

Step 3: The aggrieved employee and/or the Union shall advance the written grievance, to 
the Executive Director, or the Executive Director‟s designee, within five (5) work days  
of the Administrator‟s decision, or the date upon which such decision should have been 
rendered.  Within five (5) work days of the Executive Director‟s or the Executive Director‟s 
designee‟s receipt of notification that the Union wishes to advance the grievance, a 
meeting between the Executive Director or the Executive Director‟s designee and the 
aggrieved employee and/or the Union shall be held.  It is understood that there shall be no 
more than three (3) representatives from the Union in addition to the grievant(s) present at 
this meeting.  One (1) of the Union‟s representatives may include a representative of the 
UE‟s National Union. 
 

If the grievance is not resolved at this meeting then the Executive Director or the 
Executive Director‟s designee shall render a decision within five (5) work days from the 
date of said meeting.  If no decision has been rendered within five (5) work days or if the 
Executive Director‟s decision is unsatisfactory to the grievant and/or the Union, the 
grievance may be submitted to Step 4 within thirty (30) calendar days. 
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Nothing shall prevent the Parties from continuing to discuss grievances after Step 3 

of the procedure in an attempt to resolve the grievance prior to arbitration. 
 

 All time limits may be extended by mutual agreement between the County and the 
Union.  Either or both Parties shall be granted one (1) automatic two (2) day extension for 
any step of this grievance procedure.  If a grievance is not reported and/or processed 
within the time limits set forth in this Article, the grievance shall be dismissed and no 
further action shall be taken with respect to such grievance.  If the County fails to answer a 
grievance within the limits set forth in this Article the Union shall be allowed to 
automatically process the grievance to the next step. 
 

Step 4:  In the event that the Union elects to proceed to arbitration, the Parties shall 
select, within five (5) work days of the written notice of appeal, two (2) members of the 
three (3) member Arbitration Panel to be composed as follows: 
 

(a) One (1) County Commissioner or designee; 
 
(b) One (1) Union representative; and 
 
(c) One (1) panel member selected by mutual agreement of the County and the 

Union within fifteen (15) work days of the written notice of appeal.  The Arbitration Panel 
shall schedule a hearing within thirty (30) days of the written notice of appeal.  A hearing 
before the Arbitration Panel will be held as expeditiously as possible, but no later than 
sixty (60) calendar days from the notice of appeal.   

 
If the Parties are unable to agree upon the third panel member within said fifteen 

(15) work days or to obtain a commitment to serve, the Union may submit a written 
request to the Public Employee Labor Relations Board (PELRB) to appoint an arbitrator in 
accordance with the rules and regulations of the PELRB.  The Union‟s request for PELRB 
appointment of an arbitrator must be within five (5) work days after the end of said fifteen 
(15) work day selection period. 
 
 The function of the Arbitration Panel is to determine interpretation of the specific 
provisions of this Agreement.  There shall be no right in arbitration to obtain and no 
Arbitration Panel shall have the power or authority, to add to, detract from, ignore, or 
modify any of the terms of this Agreement.  The decision of the majority of the Arbitration 
Panel shall be final and binding upon the Grievant, the Union and the County. 
 
5.  The expenses of the arbitrator shall be shared equally by the County and the Union. 
 
6.  Each grievance shall be separately processed at any arbitration proceeding unless the parties 

otherwise agree.  The Arbitration Panel shall furnish a written opinion  
within thirty (30) days of the parties submitting written briefs, specifying the reasons for the 
decision. 
 
7.  For the purpose of this grievance procedure, the "work day" means normal 
administrative work days Monday through Friday, excluding holidays and weekends. 
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8.  Grievances may be submitted to the grievance step involving the management 
personnel with the authority to resolve the grievance. 
 
9.  This procedure shall be followed for all grievances except that in the case of a 
grievance involving a termination or suspension, the grievance procedure shall commence 
with Step 3 with filing no later than five (5) days following the termination or suspension 
date. 
 
10.  It is understood that whenever possible all meetings referenced above (except Step 1) 
and incorporated herein as part of the grievance procedure shall take place during normal 
administrative work hours without loss of pay to participants so long as participants at 
grievance meetings were scheduled to work during the same time as the meeting has 
been scheduled. 
 
11.  Excluded from this grievance procedure are grievances which question the exercise of 
rights set forth in Article 2 of this Agreement, entitled Management Rights. 

 

ARTICLE 20 

HOURS OF WORK/OVERTIME 

 
1.  The hours of work for bargaining unit personnel shall be governed by Nursing Home 

policy pertaining to shifts, shift coverage, and assignments, as well as status, whether 

the employee is fulltime, 4/5's, 3/5's or per diem. (See Article 48 Definitions for 

details.) 

 
2.  There are a variety of workdays; however, for many employees the normal workday is 
eight (8) hours. 
 
3.  Should the County wish to create new shifts, the Administrator shall post any newly 
created shifts and said shifts shall be filled in accordance with Article 16 (Job Vacancies) 
contained herein. 

 
4.  Employees are required to be on their unit at the scheduled start time of their shift. 
Tardiness is subject to Article 18 Disciplinary Procedure of this Agreement. 

 
5.  Should the County wish to permanently modify the starting and quitting times for 
existing shifts, the Administrator shall notify the Union at least thirty (30) days in advance 
of any permanent changes in said starting and quitting times.  The Administrator shall 
meet with the Union during the course of the thirty (30) days to discuss the proposed 
changes in starting and quitting times.  The County agrees to consider alternative 
proposals made by the Union.   If, during these discussions, the Union has made an 
alternative proposal which has been rejected by the Administrator or if the Union has 
made no proposal, the County may change the starting and quitting times of existing 
shifts. 
 
6.  It is understood that an employee may submit a written request for an alternative start 
and/or end time for a given shift.  It is understood that such requests shall be granted at 
the discretion of the Administrator. 
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7.  Members of the bargaining unit will be allowed to swap shifts. Prior approval of the 
Department Head/Supervisor is required.  Requests must be submitted in writing to the 
Department Head/Supervisor.  Each request must include: both signatures of the 
participants, date of swap requested, shift requested, and reason for the request.  It is the 
bargaining unit employee(s) responsibility to assure that the reassigned shifts are covered.  
Failure to follow through as requested may lead to disciplinary actions. 
 
8.  Time and one-half (1.5) shall be paid for pre-authorized hours worked in excess of the 
normal forty (40) hour work week. If an employee works beyond the designated end of 
his/her shift, the applicable shift differential will continue until the employee punches out, 
unless the employee is working a double shift, in which case the shift differential that 
applies to each shift worked will be paid. Unauthorized overtime is not permitted.  Any 
unauthorized overtime will be subject to Article 18 Disciplinary Procedure of this 
Agreement. 

 
9.  Employees who work a double shift  (two (2) consecutive eight (8) hour shifts) shall  
receive time and one-half (1.5) for the second eight (8) hour shift, even if the employee  
has not worked forty (40) hours.  
 
10.  An employee who has a call-out during a week in which the employee has  
worked an overtime shift will not receive overtime for that shift; the employee will be  
compensated at straight time. An employee working an overtime shift during a week  
with a pre-scheduled holiday or annual leave will be compensated at time and one-half  
(1.5). 
 
11.  Holiday and Annual Leave shall be considered hours worked for the computation  
of overtime.  All other leaves shall not be considered hours worked for the computation of  
overtime. 

 
12.  Mandatory Overtime: Those wishing to volunteer up front to fill unmet needs will  
be given preference for the date(s) and time(s) they wish to work.  All other will be  
assigned according to least seniority.  The LNA roster will begin with the least seniority  
to those with the most seniority.  Once the LNA roster has cycled through, the process  
will begin again if there continues to be unmet needs on a schedule.  Any questions  
regarding the assigning of overtime shall be settled on the basis of the “Mandatory  
Overtime Guidelines” as agreed in Memorandum issued November 07, 2000. 

 
ARTICLE 21 

GUIDELINES FOR CALLING OUT 
 

In an attempt to reduce the number of call outs that occur, the following conditions may be 
arranged:  Shift Swapping which would include your week-ends and/or holidays to work. 
 
Members of the bargaining unit will be allowed to swap shifts. Prior approval of the Department 
Head/Supervisor is required. Requests must be submitted in writing to the Department 
Head/Supervisor. Each request must include: both signatures of the participants, date of swap 
requested, shift requested, and reason for request. It is the bargaining unit employee(s) 
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responsibility to assure that the reassigned shifts are covered. Failure to follow through as 
requested may lead to disciplinary action. 
 
If an employee is on approved FM LEAVE, MEDICAL LEAVE OR MATERNITY LEAVE, 
days missed are not considered call outs, except as relates to eligibility for the perfect 
attendance bonus. 

 
1. If an employee calls out for more than one day for the same spell of illness or 

emergency, it is counted as one call out. 
 
2. Every time an employee calls out it will be counted as one call out, even if the 

employee produces a doctor‟s note. 
 
3. If an employee calls out on his/her weekend to work, he/she must make up the time 

(a day for a day) on a weekend within eight (8) weeks, at the discretion of 
management.  For employees who work every weekend, each call-out situation will 
be reviewed on a case by case basis, and if warranted, time will be made up at the 
discretion of management.  

 
4. Time off that is not approved by the department head is a call out. 
 
5. Except in emergency situations, time off must be pre-approved before the schedule 

is posted.   
 
6. Pre-approved time is not counted against an employee on his/her evaluation. 
 
7.  Time lost due to an on-the-job injury is not considered a call out, except as relates 

to eligibility for the perfect attendance bonus. 
 
8. If an employee comes to work and then leaves, if he/she has not worked at least 

one half of his/her scheduled shift, it will be considered a call out.   
 
9. If an employee who is a volunteer firefighter is unable to report to work on time due 

to being actively engaged in fighting a fire, he/she will not be considered a call out 
and will not receive a disciplinary penalty of any kind.  He/she will be paid „other 
non-productive‟ time.  If able to work at the conclusion of the fire, he/she is 
expected to report for duty.  If already at work when toned out, he/she may not 
leave his/her position without prior supervisory approval. 

 
10. If an employee cannot make it to work due to circumstances beyond their control, it 

is not considered a call out.  This will be determined on a case by case basis as 
determined solely by the County. 

 
11. If an employee calls out due to inclement weather, he/she is not paid for time 

missed.  If non-essential employees are sent home due to inclement weather, they 
may use vacation time, if available. 
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12. If an employee has three (3) call outs in six (6) months, the supervisor will meet 
with the employee and put him/her on notice that the next call out will result in a 
verbal reprimand. 

 
13. If an employee has four (4) call outs in six (6) months, a verbal reprimand will be 

issued. 
 
14. If an employee has five (5) call outs in six (6) months, a written reprimand will be 

issued. 
 
15. If an employee has six (6) call outs in six (6) months, a three (3) day suspension 

may be issued. 
 
16. After suspension, continued call outs may result in termination. 
 
17. Emergency vacation time, emergency leave and funeral leave are not counted 

as call outs. 
 

The employee may present to management a reason for the call out with a request 
for the time to be excused, the outcome will be determined on a case by case basis as 
determined solely by the County. 

 

ARTICLE 22 

REST BREAKS 
 
1.   Employees will be allowed sixty (60) minutes of paid, non-productive time per eight (8) 
hour shift.  If possible this time will consist of one (1) thirty (30) minute break and two (2) 
fifteen (15) minute breaks.  
 

2.   Employees working a five (5), six (6) or seven (7) hour shift will be allowed forty five 
(45) minutes of  paid, non-productive time.  If possible, this shall consist of one (1) thirty 
(30)  minute break and one (1) fifteen (15) minute break. 
 

2.  Any employee working at least a four (4) hour shift shall be allowed one (1) fifteen  

(15) minute break.  Employees scheduled for less than a four (4) hour shift shall not 

receive a break. 
 
3. Employees working a regular shift of twelve (12) to fifteen and one-half (15.5) hours  
shall receive one (1) hour and thirty (30) minutes of paid, non-productive time per shift.  If 
possible this time will consist of two (2) thirty (30) minute breaks and two (2) fifteen (15) 
minute breaks. 
 
5.  Meal and break time is paid.  Employees may not leave the premises during these 
breaks. 
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ARTICLE 23 

SCHEDULE CHANGE  

 
 Any employee reporting to work their scheduled hours who is prevented from 
working their scheduled hours due to a change of the employee‟s schedule without prior 
notification, will be paid mileage to and from the County Complex and will receive two (2) 
hours at time and one-half (1.5) the employee‟s base rate of pay. 
 
 When the schedule has been changed after it has been posted employees will be 
notified. 
 

 If an employee is scheduled off for a holiday or annual leave and is called in to 
work, he/she will be compensated for actual hours worked, the holiday/annual leave will 
remain on the books to be taken at a later time. Employee will not be compensated for 
actual hours worked plus the non-productive time. 
 

A premium of seventy-five cents ($.75) per hour shall be paid if an employee is 

called in to work on his/her day off or a day when he/she was not scheduled to work.  This 

applies only when an employee is called in on the same day without prior notice. 

 

ARTICLE 24 

CALL BACK POLICY 

 
 Full-time employees called back to work after leaving the work premises or before 
the next scheduled starting time shall be paid for all hours worked with a minimum of two 
(2) hours, except when the employee is coming in to perform authorized scheduled work 
or mandatory in-service training. 

 

ARTICLE 25 

WAGES 

 

1.  Effective July 01, 2007, all employees shall receive a three and a third (3.3%) 

percent wage increase on their current base rate of pay.  

 

Term of Agreement to be three (3) years, with the exception of Article 25 Wages, 

including COLA, and Article 27 Health Insurance, which will be negotiated annually. 

 
 
2.   Wage Increments for Part Time Employees 
 
      Wage increments for current part-time employees as of 01/01/2001 may be authorized 
after working one calendar year.  Any wage increase will be given at the employee‟s next 
evaluation.  This evaluation date will become the date for his/her annual evaluation and 
merit increase if authorized.  Evaluation dates for new employees hired after 01/01/2001 
will be measured annually from their date of hire. 
 
3.   Annually in accordance with the County‟s current merit step plan, eligible bargaining 
unit employees shall receive a step increase in pay. 
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4.    Per Diem stipend for LNA‟s shall be $1.00 per hour. 
 
5.  Dietary Aides who cover for cooks will be compensated an additional $2.00/hour while 
they are performing those duties.  

 

ARTICLE 26 

SHIFT & WEEKEND DIFFERENTIALS 
 
1.  Differential and special increments are paid to eligible employees in accordance with 
the wage schedule in Appendix A attached and incorporated herein. 
 
2.  Wage differentials are added to the employee's base rate. Wage differentials shall be 
paid to an employee who works a minimum of four (4) hours during the evening, night or 
weekend shift as defined below. Differential payments are as follows: 

 
Evening Shift   3:00 PM – 11:00 PM    $1.00 per hour  

Night Shift     11:00 PM – 7:00 AM    Effective 7/1/2007   $2.00 per hour 
Weekend Shift     $1.00 per hour  
Weekend Shift is considered to be from 11:00 PM Friday through 11:00 PM Sunday 
 
3.  Shift differential shall be included in payment of annual leave, holiday pay and sick 
leave, if the employee normally receives such differential. 
 
4.  Shift differentials shall not be paid on any pay-offs of accumulated Sick Leave or 
Annual Leave at termination/retirement. 

 

ARTICLE 27 

HEALTH INSURANCE 
 
1.  The County shall make available the Matthew Thornton health insurance programs or 
similar plan to full-time employees in accordance with the coverage provisions of the 
health insurance carrier. 
 
2.  Application must be made upon employment or eligibility for benefits for membership to 
be effective the first of the month following the three (3) full months of employment. 
Eligibility must occur on the first business day of the month to receive credit for that month.  
If application is not made as stated above, membership can only be accepted on the 
County‟s group anniversary date of July 1 by making application before June 1. 
 
3.  Once membership is effective for employees regularly working thirty five (35) or more 
hours each week, the County and employees shall pay as follows: 

 

Effective July 01, 2007 employees hired before September 7, 2003 shall 

contribute fourteen (14%) per cent of the current (Fiscal Year  2008) premium as 

follows:  
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    Single   $33.44      

    2-person   $66.87   

    Family    $90.28 

 
Employee share shall be paid each pay period by payroll deduction. 
 

Effective July 01, 2007 new employees hired on or after September 7, 2003 shall 

contribute twenty (20%) per cent of the current (Fiscal Year 2008) premium as follows: 
   

Single     $47.77     

    2-person     $95.53   

    Family    $128.97 

 
Employee share shall be paid each pay period by payroll deduction. 
 
Employees regularly working twenty (20) to thirty five (35) hours per week may 

receive coverage at their own expense through payroll deduction.  The current 
“grandfathered” employees shall continue to be eligible for the health insurance benefit. 
 

 There shall be a re-opener in year two (2) and year three (3) of the contract to 

negotiate on health insurance and wages only.  See Appendixes B & C . 
 
4.  Any and all changes in marital/dependent status must be immediately reported to the 
Human Resources Department, in writing, so that the County will be in compliance with 
federal regulations relative to coverage continuation.  The County reserves the right to 
recapture, from the employee, the cost of providing erroneous health insurance premiums, 
due to employee failure to notify Human Resources of such changes. 
 

5.  Double Coverage: Married couples both working for the County and eligible for 
County-paid coverage cannot carry double coverage. They may individually carry single 
memberships or one spouse may carry the two-person or family membership covering 
both employees. For those spousal employees who are each, individually, eligible for 

County-paid coverage and have one joint policy, the County will pay $900 per year on a 

pro-rated monthly basis.  
 

6.  In lieu of carrying the County health insurance, the County will pay $1800 per year on 

a pro-rated monthly basis to any full-time employee who documents active health 

insurance coverage through a spouse's or other outside health insurance, excluding 

public assistance. 
 
7.  Payment is made on or around the 10th of each month for the previous month. The 
employee must work through the 15th of the month for credit for the month (i.e., 
termination, resignation, or retirement before the 15th will void eligibility for that month). 
 
8.  COBRA Extension:  Under Federal and State Law, the employee and the employee‟s 
spouse/children are entitled to continue group health insurance coverage at the 
employee‟s or the employee‟s spouse/children‟s own cost at group rates under certain 

circumstances.  Extension is not automatic. Health Trust  will make every effort to contact 
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the employee, as soon as practical after notification of qualifying event, advising the 
employee of the right to extension, at the same group rate as active employees. 
 
9.  Retirement and MediComp III: At age 65, full-time employees (and spouses as 
applicable) must apply for Medicare coverage (only Part A is required until the employee 
retires) to supplement County coverage. As long as the employee remains a full-time 
employee, the employee is entitled to the regular group coverage in accordance with the 
provisions of the insurance carrier.  Upon retirement at 65 years of age or older, the 
employee must convert to the group's MediComp III (Part B) coverage to supplement 
Medicare (Part B is required to obtain Medicomp III coverage).  It is advised that the 
employee contact the local Social Security Administration Office prior to retirement to 
make arrangements to obtain Part B of Medicare.  Spouses of deceased retirees may 
remain on the County‟s health insurance policy, at their own expense, indefinitely, 
provided the retiree and the spouse were covered by the County‟s health insurance at the 
time of the retiree‟s death. Health insurance coverage may continue to be paid by the 
County under the following conditions: 
 

a. Any employee who has accrued ten (10) years of continuous full-time paid 
employment during which the employee was eligible (*) for County-paid medical benefits 

may receive County-paid medical benefits upon retirement at age 62 or thereafter.  All 

employees hired on or before June 30, 2007 shall be grandfathered to receive the 

above mentioned benefit.  All employees hired after June 30, 2007 who have twenty 

(20) full-time years of continuous paid time during which the employee was eligible 

(*) for County-paid medical benefits may receive County-paid medical benefits upon 

retirement at age 62 or thereafter. 

 

Any employee who has thirty (30) years full time equivalent of continuous paid 

time during which the employee was eligible (*) for County-paid medical benefits 

may receive County-paid medical benefits upon retirement at age 60 or thereafter.  
 

b. Upon reaching the age of 65, it will be mandatory for the retiree (spouse as 
applicable) to sign up for Medicare. The County will pay for the retiree only (one person), 
at the single rate for age 60-65 or age 62-65, whichever applies, and for MediComp III 
(supplement to Medicare) at age 65 and over. (*) An employee will not be ineligible, if 
otherwise eligible, but covered by spouses health insurance plan or due to a break in 
continuous service because of FMLA or Worker's Compensation,  unless the employee 
continues coverage at  the employee‟s own expense. For those employees retiring after 
July 01, 1997, and eligible for County-paid continuation, the County will pay the premium 
level  of the Matthew Thornton Senior Plan or other senior plan in effect.  Any additional 
premium expense will be borne by the retiree.   

 

c.  Transition Care – Health Trust continues COBRA coverage for up to twelve 

(12) months after a covered employee’s death, at no cost to previously enrolled 

family members, regardless of the covered employee’s cause of death.  The 

employee and eligible family members must have been enrolled in a Health Trust 

medical plan at the time of the employee’s death, the employee must have been 

actively employed and the employee’s death cannot be the result of an act of war or 

terrorism. 
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d.  Survivor Care – Health Trust continues COBRA coverage, at no cost to 

previously enrolled family members, for up to thirty-six (36) months if a covered 

employee dies as a result of performing his/her job responsibilities.   In addition, 

Health Trust may continue coverage after the COBRA period ends.  The employee 

and eligible family members must have been enrolled in a Health Trust medical plan 

at the time of the employee’s death, the employee’s death must result from an 

eligible worker’s compensation death claim, the employee must have been actively 

at work and the employee’s death cannot be the result of an act of war or terrorism. 

 

Transition & Survivor Care benefits will be discontinued if no longer offered by 

Health Trust. 
 

An employee officially retiring under NH Retirement System guidelines under age 
62, may continue health insurance coverage at  the employee‟s own expense indefinitely.  
In the event of employee retirement, the spouse of said employee may elect, at the time of 
the employees retirement, to continue health insurance coverage by paying the costs of a 
one-person membership.   While available under special agreement with the NH Municipal 
Association Health Insurance Trust, in the event of an employee's death while in active 
service, the spouse and eligible dependents may continue coverage indefinitely, at group 
rates, at their own cost. 

 
 Employees should contact the NH Retirement System for all available options when 
nearing retirement age. 
 
10.  Worker's Compensation: While on Worker's Compensation, County payment for 
health insurance shall cease after three (3) months.  At the end of three (3) months 
payment after a catastrophic injury, as determined by the County, health insurance may 
be taken from the sick pay accruals or donations from other employees if the employee 
has exhausted their sick pay.  This shall be on a case by case basis, at the discretion of 
the County. 
 
11.  Employee Assistance Program; So long as the NH Municipal Association Insurance 
Trust provides the Employee Assistance Program, the County shall make the service of 
such a program available to its employees.  The County will distribute written information 
regarding the program upon an employee‟s date of hire and upon a regular basis 
thereafter. 
 
 Such services shall include a free referral service which shall be available to all 
employees whether or not such employees participate in the County‟s various health 
plans. 
 
 The EAP help line shall provide confidential, professional counseling, assessment, 
and referral services to employees and family members who need help with personal 
problems including but not limited to marital problems, substance abuse, elder care, 
emotional illness, and financial problems. 
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ARTICLE 28 

DENTAL INSURANCE 

 
1.  Dental insurance shall be available to eligible employees who regularly work at least 
twenty (20) hours per week and qualifying dependents in accordance with the provisions 
of the insurance carrier.  
 
2.  Application for dental insurance must be made upon employment or eligibility for 
benefits for membership to be effective the first of the month following three (3) full 
months of employment/eligibility.  Otherwise, membership can only be accepted on the 
County‟s group anniversary date (July 01) by applying before June 01.  Current provisions 
are: those eligible for coverage are the employee, spouse and all unmarried children up to 
the age of 19; coverage is extended to age 23 if the child is a full-time student at an 
accredited school or college; and eligible children include stepchildren and legally adopted 
children, provided they are claimed as dependents for federal income tax purposes. 
 
3.  Once membership is effective, bi-weekly payroll deductions will be established for 
coverage for that month. The employee must pay the entire premium for dental coverage.  
Any changes in family status (birth, adoption, marriage, divorce, death, etc.) should be 
reported to Human Resources to adjust premiums, if necessary.  Rates for FY 08 are: 
  
  Employee    $34.92 per month 
  Employee & spouse     68.96 per month 
  Employee & child(ren)    77.44 per month 
  Family     111.48 per month  
 
4.  Termination of Dental Insurance coverage is effective on the last day of the month 
following :  
 

a Termination of employment,  
b. Regular work week drops below twenty (20) hours, 

 c. Premiums are not paid, 
 d. On the 16th consecutive date of service in any armed forces, 
 e. Voluntary cancellation of the policy, 
 f. Cancellation of the policy by the County or insurance carrier, 

g. Cancellation of the policy by the County upon prior notice to the bargaining unit 
and substantially similar replacement. 

 

ARTICLE 29 

LIFE INSURANCE, DEFERRED COMPENSATION 

AFLAC, CREDIT UNION 

 

1.  LIFE INSURANCE - The County shall make available a life insurance program through 
TransAmerica or a similar program through another carrier to employees who regularly 
work at least twenty (20) hours per week.  The life insurance program shall be governed 
by the terms of the policy and the insurance carrier‟s requirements.  Life insurance shall 
be at the employee‟s expense.  The employee selects a benefit level and pays the 
appropriate premium.  Premiums are paid via payroll deductions and the premium cost 
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varies depending on the plan(s) selected.  This life insurance can be converted to private 
pay upon an employee‟s retirement, provided this option is available through the vendor. 
 

Monumental/Transamerica Life:  Insurance is available to all employees consistently 

working at least twenty (20) hours per week at the employee’s own expense.  

Coverage is effective the first day of the month following three (3) full months of 

employment or eligibility.  Premiums are paid via payroll deductions and the costs 

vary depending on the amount of insurance purchased. 

 

Concord Heritage:  Insurance is available to all employees working at least twenty 

(20) hours per week, effective the first of the month following three (3) full months of 

employment or eligibility.  For employees consistently working at least twenty (20) 

hours per week but less than thirty-five (35) hours per week, the employees pay 

100% of the premium.  For employees consistently working thirty-five (35) or more 

hours per week, the employees pays $.21 per week for the Basic Plan 1 ($10,000 

term life insurance), and the County pays the balance.  Enrollments are done 

quarterly by a representative of the agency. 

 

Additional amounts of insurance, including extra term life, accidental death and 

dismemberment, whole life and disability insurance, may be purchased by the 

employee at his/her own expense.  Premiums are paid via payroll deduction and the 

costs vary depending on the amount of insurance purchased.  Coverage is 

guaranteed, regardless of health status, within the employee’s first ninety (90) days 

of eligibility.  After ninety (90) days, coverage is subject to underwriting.  Upon 

termination of employment, the covered employee may opt to convert to a non-

group policy and continue premium payments by being directly billed by the 

insurance agency. 
 

2.  DEFERRED COMPENSATION - The County shall make available a deferred 
compensation program through PEBSCO or a similar program through another provider.  
The deferred compensation program shall be governed by the program requirements of 
the provider and applicable law.  Deferred compensation shall be solely by employee 
contribution. 
 

3.  AFLAC - AFLAC accident, cancer, hospital indemnity, hospital intensive care and 
disability insurance are available at the employee‟s expense.  Employees are eligible to 
apply after completing three (3) full months of employment.  Premiums are paid via payroll 
deductions and the premium cost varies depending on the plan (s) selected. 
 
4.  If the County or carrier/provider cancels or modifies the current life insurance AFLAC or 
deferred compensation benefits, the County shall provide the Union with immediate notice 
and shall meet to discuss the impact of such change or modification. 
 

4. CREDIT UNION - Credit union services are offered to all employees. 
 

N.H. Federal Credit Union - The NH Federal Credit Union in Concord, NH is a full service 
credit union offering a wide range of banking services. You can become a member by 
completing a membership application and opening a share (savings) account with a 
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minimum balance.  There is also a one time application fee to cover the cost of processing 
your application.  Deposits are made via payroll deductions, and NHFCU also offers free 
telephone transaction services.   
 
In addition, members receive $1,000.00 free accidental death and dismemberment 
insurance, with additional coverage available at the employee‟s expense.  Once you join 
the NHFCU, you can retain your membership for life.  You may also join the credit union 
any time by contacting the Human Resources Department. 
 
The County will continue to provide this benefit so long as the benefit is available to the 
County through the NH Federal Credit Union. 

 

Service Credit Union:  SCU offers a wide range of banking and financial services, 

including free checking accounts.  Their local office is at Dartmouth Hitchcock 

Medical Center, 1 Medical Center Drive, Lebanon, NH 03756.  To join SCU, 

employees must complete a membership application form and open a savings 

account, with an initial deposit of $50.  Deposits are federally insured.  SCU 

membership includes $1,000 of free accidental death and dismemberment 

insurance.  To open an account with SCU, contact Human Resources for an 

information packet. 
 

ARTICLE 30 

FLEXIBLE BENEFIT PLAN 

 
1.  The Flexible Benefit Plan is a Cafeteria Plan under Section 125 of the Internal 
Revenue Code. 
 
2.  Flexible Benefit Plan employees may use before-tax dollars deducted from the 
employee‟s salary to pay for the following: 
 

a. The Premium Offset Plan for payment of the employee‟s share of the 
medical and dental insurance premium, if applicable. 

 
b. The Dependent Care Reimbursement Plan which provides an account for 
reimbursement of dependent day daycare expenses, and 
 
c. The Health Care Reimbursement Plan which reimburses employees for 
health care expenses that are not reimbursed from any other source, such as 
insurance. 
 

3.  The amounts contributed to reimbursement accounts or applied to the payment of 
insurance premiums are not subject to Federal Income or Social Security Taxes. 
 
4.  Pay reduction adjustments for insurance premiums (if applicable), Dependent Care, 
and Health Care Reimbursement will be taken from an employee's gross wages before 
tax. If an employee elects to participate in the Dependent Care Reimbursement Plan, 
and/or Health Care Reimbursement, the pay reductions will be taken in equal deductions 
from each paycheck throughout the year and/or until the Plan maximum, or the maximum 
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designated has been reached. Each time an employee receives a payroll check, an 
amount equal to the pay reduction will be added to the employee's Dependent Care 
and/or Health Care reimbursement account. 
 
5.  Properly submitted claims are paid on a bi-weekly basis.  Dependent Care claims will 
not be reimbursed, if the claim exceeds the actual funds paid into the employee's account.  
Forms obtained from the Commissioner‟s Office  must  be completed, signed, and 
returned to the company administering the flexible benefits program on behalf of the 
County, along with required supporting documentation. Dependent Care and Health Care 
Reimbursement accounts may be used only for reimbursement of eligible expenses 
incurred during the Plan Year (July 1 through June 30). Any balance remaining in the 
account as of ninety (90) days following the end of the Plan year is forfeited. 
 
 
 
6.  Plan annual maximums are as follows: 
 

a.  Premium Offset Plan - Actual Premium Cost.  
b.  Dependent Care Reimbursement - $5,000.  
c.  Health Care Reimbursement Plan - $1,000. 
 

7.  Each year employees will have the opportunity to enroll in the Plan.  Enrollment in the 
Dependent Care and/or Health Care Reimbursement Plans do not carry forward from one 
year to the next.  Enrollment must be in writing on the form provided and received prior to 
the first day of the period of coverage (July 1

st
 ). If an employee fails to return the required 

enrollment form by July 1st, the employee will not be permitted to participate for that plan 
year.  
 
8.  Once an enrollment becomes effective employees may not change their selection 
during the Plan Year, except under the following circumstances: 
 

a. If the premium amount for a health/dental plan significantly increases, an 
employee may make a corresponding change in salary reduction election, or revoke the 
election and receive coverage under another health/dental plan with similar coverage  
(if available), 
 

b. If the coverage under a health/dental plan is significantly curtailed or ceases, an 
employee may revoke an election and receive coverage under another health/dental plan 
with similar coverage (if available), 
 

c. If an employee has a “Life Event” change in family status, as defined by the 
Flexible Benefits Plan Provisions and the insurance carriers, the employee may be 
allowed to revoke their selection and make a new selection for the remainder of the Plan 
Year.  Current provisions are: a change in family status includes marriage or divorce, 
death of a child, spouse, birth or adoption, termination or commencement of spouse's 
employment, change from full-time to part-time (or vice versa) of you or your spouse, a 
significant change in health/dental coverage of the employee's or the employee's spouse 
attributable to the spouse's employment. An employee may revoke an election for the 
balance of the Plan Year and file a new election only if both the revocation and the new 
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election are due to and consistent with the reason that such change was permitted. The 
employee must make the new selection within thirty (30) days after the date the event 
occurred which caused the “Life Event” family status change. 
 
9.  An employee's participation in the Plan will cease upon termination of employment or if 
the employee no longer meets the eligibility requirements. 

 

ARTICLE 31 

PENSION PLAN 
 
1.  Employees are covered by the State Employer's Retirement System under New 
Hampshire State Law RSA 100: 1-51, and as such, participation is mandatory for all 
eligible personnel.  Employees must work a minimum of thirty-five (35) hours per week to 
be considered "full-time" and eligible. 
 
2.  Eligible employees must apply for membership immediately upon employment, with 
membership to be effective as of the 1st day of employment. In the case of current part- 
time employees who become eligible, application must be made as soon as full-time 
status is approved, with membership to be effective the first day of eligibility. Retirement 
application must be submitted to the Payroll/Personnel Coordinator before the payroll can 
be processed. 
 
3.   Any member whose hourly work status is reduced to a level below the thirty-five (35) 
hours minimum standard shall be ineligible for continued membership. 
 
4. Retirement category:   Group I – Employee: All full-time employees  

 
5.   A summary of the retirement plan will be provided to each employee as they reach full-
time status. 
 
6.   Employees should contact the New Hampshire Retirement System for all available 
options when nearing retirement age. 

 

ARTICLE 32 

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION 

 
1.  If absent for three (3) days or less, employees may use Sick Leave for those days.  
Worker's Compensation pays 60% of the employee's average gross wage and the County 
will pay 20% - from the employee's Vacation or Sick time with the choice being the 
employee's. This would not take effect unless the employee is out over fourteen (14) days, 
in which case it would be retroactive to when Worker's Compensation began. 
 
2.  While absent from work while on Worker's Compensation, every employee must report 
to the employee's Supervisor every two (2) weeks.  It is the employee‟s responsibility to 
seek further medical attention, if required. Subsequent to each doctor's appointment, a 
written note and report of outcome must be presented to the Supervisor within five (5) 
calendar days. 
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3.  Prior to return to work, every employee must present a written doctor's release to the 
employee's Supervisor. 
 
4.  County liability for health insurance ceases after three (3) months on Worker's 
Compensation.  All other benefits are suspended as of the effective date of Workers‟ 
Compensation.   At the end of three (3) months payment after a catastrophic injury, as 
determined by the County, health insurance may be taken from the sick pay accruals or 
donations from other employees if the employee has exhausted their sick pay.  This shall 
be on a case by case basis, at the discretion of the County. 
 
5.  Time that an employee is off work for a work-related injury or illness will be counted as 
Family Medical Leave of Absence (FMLA) time.   
 
6.  Worker‟s compensation time runs concurrently with FM LEAVE and MEDICAL LEAVE. 
 
 

ARTICLE 33 

ALTERNATIVE WORK DUTY 
  
1.  Alternate duty is defined as transitional work responsibilities of a limited nature 
designed to bring an employee injured on the job or with a work related illness back to 
work while accommodating the temporary limitations imposed by the employee's treating 
physician. Examples include shortened hours or responsibilities with limited walking, 
bending, standing, or reaching. The specific elements of the work responsibilities are 
variable as the employee's work capacity increases. 
 
2.  Alternative duty assignments are transitional and temporary in nature, normally not to 
exceed twelve (12) weeks. Any extensions in alternative assignments must be certified as 
necessary by the attending physician and approved by the Executive Director. 
 
3.  Alternate duty will be offered only when the employee‟s attending physician: (a) 
certifies that an injury or illness was sustained by the employee at work, (b) describes in 
detail the limitations imposed on the employee's return to work. The County shall provide 
the physician with the employee's job description to assist the physician in defining the 
work limitations. 
 
4.  No alternate duty assignment shall be offered to an injured employee unless: (a) a 
written job description stating the job duties and limitations is signed by the employee and 
the Supervisor; and at the employee‟s request may have a Union steward present; and (b) 
the work to be performed is deemed by the Supervisor and the Administrator in charge to 
be necessary to the fulfillment of the County‟s legal responsibilities.  
 
5.  Hours worked in an alternative duty assignment cannot exceed the average number of 
hours worked prior to the injury. 
 
6.  Compensation for alternative duty positions will be paid by the County at 66.67% of the 
regular position's wage (differential included).  Additional compensation of sixty percent 
(60%) of the difference between the employee‟s workers‟ compensation average weekly 
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wage and said County payment shall be paid by the workers‟ compensation carrier.  This 
is subject to change by the compensation carrier. 
 
7.  If returning to work for less than a full eight (8) hour day, the employee will be paid from 
the employee's Sick Leave to equal eight (8) hours and then the entire day‟s pay shall be 
paid at 66.67% of the regular position wage (differentials included). 

 

ARTICLE 34 

LONGEVITY 
 
1.  Longevity shall be payable on or before December 31

st
 , for any employee who is on 

the payroll November 30 and has completed over six (6) full years of continuous full-time 

service prior to midnight November 30 shall be paid annually the sum of  $90.00 in 

addition to the employee‟s normal salary, and an additional $90.00 for each additional 

year of continuous full-time service.  Effective July 1, 2008 amount shall be increased 

to $95.00 and effective July 1, 2009 amount shall be increased to $100.00. 
 
2.  Part-time employees will be authorized longevity after working the aggregate total 
equivalent to a full six (6) years of employment plus an additional year for each additional 
aggregate full year of service thereafter. 
 
3.  Employees leaving in good standing, i.e. not as a result of disciplinary action or without 

two (2) weeks notice, will be paid longevity on a pro-rated basis at termination of 
employment. “Pro-rated” means to pro-rate on a monthly basis the amount of longevity an 
employee had earned‟ as of the previous November 30, plus pro-rating an additional 

$90.00  accumulating in the current longevity year. 
 
4.  An employee on an authorized medical leave of Absence on November 30 will be 
eligible for longevity earned as of the previous November 30, and will be eligible for the 

additional $90.00 pro-rated on the actual hours worked for the current longevity year. 
Longevity is based on the employee‟s date of employment, not job anniversary date. 
 
5.  In the event of rehire of a retired County employee, previous tenure for longevity does 
not apply. 

 

ARTICLE 35 

LEAVES OF ABSENCE 

 

FAMILY & MEDICAL LEAVE ACT OF 1993 

 

INTRODUCTION 

The County recognizes that employees occasionally need to take time away from 

work to care for important family and medical needs.  This FAMILY AND MEDICAL 

LEAVE policy (FM LEAVE) is designed to meet those needs in a manner that is 

beneficial to employees, their families and the County. 

 

EMPLOYEE ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS 

To be eligible for a leave of absence under this policy, an employee must: 
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1.  have been employed for at least twelve (12) months; and 

                                           

 2.  have worked at least twelve hundred fifty (1,250) hours during the twelve (12) 

months preceding the commencement of the leave; and 

               

 3.  work at a work site where fifty (50) or more employees are employed within 

seventy-five (75) miles of the work site. 

 

REASONS FOR LEAVE 

Eligible employees may be entitled to take a leave of absence for the following 

reasons: 

 

 1.  The birth of a child or the placement in your home of a child for adoption or for 

foster care (NEW CHILD LEAVE); 

 

 2.  The need to care for your spouse, son, daughter or parent who has a serious 

health condition (FAMILY LEAVE); 

 

 3.  A serious health condition that prohibits you from performing essential 

functions of your job (EMPLOYEE LEAVE). 

 

DEFINITION OF SERIOUS HEALTH CONDITION 

A serious health condition is an illness, injury, impairment or physical or mental 

condition which involves the following: 

 

1.  inpatient care; or 

 

2.  period of incapacity of more than three (3) consecutive calendar days (including 

any subsequent treatment or period of incapacity relating to the same condition) 

that involves treatment two (2) or more times by a health care provider,  by a nurse 

or physician’s assistant under direct supervision of a health care provider or by a 

health care service under orders of or on referral by a health care provider; or 

 

 3.  a period of incapacity of more than three (3) consecutive calendar days 

(including any subsequent treatment or period of incapacity relating to the same 

condition) that involves treatment by a health care provider on at least one  

occasion which results in a regimen of continuing treatment under the supervision 

of the health care provider; or  

                                                                     

4.  a chronic condition which requires periodic visits for treatment by a health care 

provider or by a nurse or physician’s assistant under direct supervision of a health 

care provider and continues over an extended period of time (including recurring 

episodes of a single underlying condition) and may cause episodic absence rather 

than a continuing  period of incapacity (e.g., diabetes, epilepsy); or 
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 5.  a period of incapacity which is permanent or long-term due to a condition for 

which treatment may not be effective.  The employee or family member must be 

under the continuing supervision of, but need not be receiving active treatment by a 

health care provider (e.g., Alzheimer’s, a sever stroke); or 

 

  6.  a period of absence to receive multiple treatments (including any period of 

recovery there from) by a health care provider or by a provider of health care 

services under orders of or on referral by a health care provider, either for 

restorative surgery after an accident or other injury or for a condition which would 

likely result in a period of incapacity of more than three (3) consecutive calendar 

days in the absence of medical intervention or treatment (e.g., chemotherapy, 

radiation, dialysis); or 

 

 7.  any period of incapacity due to pregnancy or for prenatal care. 

 

AMOUNT OF LEAVE AVAILABLE 

An eligible employee may take up to twelve (12) weeks of leave in a twelve (12) 

month period.  The amount of leave available is determined by looking at the 

amount used during the twelve (12) months preceding the date leave would begin; 

the total amount of leave available in this twelve (12)-month period may not exceed 

twelve (12) weeks.  Different rules may apply when both spouses work for the 

County. 

 

New Child Leave must be taken in consecutive weeks within twelve (12) months 

after the child’s birth or placement of the child by adoption or foster care. 

 

The County has the right to designate as FM LEAVE all time missed by an employee 

which would qualify under this policy. 

 

 

NOTIFICATION BY EMPLOYEE 

1.  Foreseeable Events.  The employee must notify Human Resources, by written 

application, at least thirty (30) days in advance of foreseeable leaves, such as leaves 

for planned medical treatment or for the employee’s child’s birth. 

 

2.  Unforeseeable Events.  For unforeseen events, such as accidental injury causing 

a serious health condition, premature birth or a sudden change in the employee’s 

health, he/she must notify Human Resources of his/her need for leave as soon as it 

is possible and practical to do so.  In most cases, the employee should notify 

Human Resources of an unforeseen leave and request an application within one day 

of when he/she finds out when leave is needed. 

 

3.  Failure to Give Notice.  Failure to give notice as required here may result in delay 

or denial of FM LEAVE.  In the case of foreseeable leaves, the County may delay the 

leave for up to thirty (30) days from the date the employee notified it of the need to 

take the FM LEAVE. 
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NOTIFICATION BY THE COUNTY 

The County will notify an employee when it designates absences as FM LEAVE.  In 

appropriate cases, the County will designate leave as FM LEAVE even if not 

requested by the employee. 

 

MEDICAL CERTIFICATION 

The employee must submit a Certification of Health Care Provider no later than 

fifteen (15) days following his/her request for EMPLOYEE LEAVE or FAMILY LEAVE.  

The Certification of Health Care Provider must be completed by a qualified health 

care provider. 

 

The County retains the right to have the employee examined by another health care 

provider (and possibly a third one, if  the first two (2) medical opinions are 

inconsistent) at its expense.  The County reserves the right to request periodic 

additional medical certification during the term of a leave of absence. 

 

INTERMITTENT OR REDUCED SCHEDULE 

If and only if it is medically necessary, FAMILY LEAVE or EMPLOYEE LEAVE may be 

taken on an intermittent or reduced schedule basis.  Intermittent or reduced 

schedule leave will be counted on a quarter-hour basis to apply toward the twelve 

(12) week maximum per twelve (12) months. 

 

The employee must submit a Certification of Health Care Provider to support his/her 

need for an intermittent or reduced schedule leave.  Furthermore, the employee 

must inform the County of the anticipated treatment schedule and the reasons for 

the proposed schedule. 

 

The County may require the employee to work in a different position or on a 

different schedule during the period on an intermittent or reduced schedule leave 

that will better accommodate the necessities of his/her schedule.  The alternative 

position will have the same pay and benefits as the position held prior to 

commencement of the leave. 

 

For all leaves involving planned medical treatments, including intermittent and 

reduced schedule leaves, the employee is obligated to plan for treatments so that 

they will cause the least disruption to the County. 

 

The County retains the right to deny an intermittent or reduced schedule leave for 

NEW CHILD LEAVE. 

 

PAY AND BENEFITS 

The FM LEAVE is unpaid.  However, the employee must use sick leave and annual 

leave, if any, during this leave, unless the leave is running concurrently with 

Worker’s Compensation leave.  Sick leave is utilized beginning with the first day of 

leave.  Employees are required to use annual leave when their sick leave is 

exhausted.  Employees must exhaust their own sick leave and annual leave before 

receiving donated time.  Regardless of whether the employee receives pay during 
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the leave, the full amount of leave will be counted toward the twelve (12) week 

maximum leave available in a twelve (12) month period. 

 

The employee will not accrue any benefits during the FM LEAVE.  While on leave, 

the employee may not receive government compensation (unemployment, etc.) or 

perform work for another employer. 

 

The employee will continue to be covered by the County’s group health insurance  

plan during the FM Leave, if he/she pays his/her portion of the premium.  Insurance 

may stop if the County learns the employee does not intend to return to employment 

or does not return to employment or does not pay his/her portion of the premium.  

In some cases, the County may request the employee to reimburse it for any 

premiums it has paid on his/her behalf during the leave, unless the reason he/she 

did not return was because of a continued serious health condition or for other 

reasons beyond his/her control. 

 

RETURN TO WORK 

An employee returning from EMPLOYEE LEAVE must provide written medical 

certification that he/she is able to resume working.  Prior to returning to work, the 

employee must contact the Human Resources office to submit the written medical 

clearance to return to work and to determine when to report for duty.  Failure to 

follow these procedures may result in delay when he/she is ready to come back to 

work.  The County may require the employee to submit to a fitness-for-duty exam at 

its own cost. 

 

The employee will be returned to the same or an equivalent employment position 

unless he/she has been notified that he/she is a “key employee”.  The employee will 

not lose any seniority or benefits because of the leave. 

 

Failure to return to work at the end of the FM LEAVE may be considered a 

resignation.  The County will try to contact the employee and determine why the 

employee has not returned to work. 

 

FAILURE TO COMPLY WITH THIS POLICY 

If an employee fails to follow the guidelines in the policy or falsifies any information 

related to the medical certification, his/her leave may be delayed or denied and 

discipline, up to and including discharge, may result. 

 

MEDICAL LEAVE 

 

INTRODUCTION AND ELIGIBILITY 

This policy applies when an employee has completed a six (6) month probationary 

period and has a medical condition which keeps him/her from working and he/she 

has completed his/her probationary period, but he/she is not eligible for FM LEAVE 

or has used all of that leave.  Otherwise, the time off will fall under the FM LEAVE 

policy. 
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AMOUNT OF LEAVE AVAILABLE 

An employee may be absent from work for up to four (4) weeks in a twelve (12) 

month period and a position will be held for him/her.  

 

The amount of MEDICAL LEAVE available is determined by looking at the amount of 

MEDICAL LEAVE used during the twelve (12) months preceding the date leave 

would begin.  Additionally, employees who have exhausted their twelve (12) week 

entitlement under FM LEAVE may take up to four (4) weeks of additional MEDICAL 

LEAVE for the same spell of illness of the employee or qualifying family member 

upon receipt of a specific written statement of need from the patient’s treating 

physician.  If a husband and wife are both eligible County employees, they are each 

entitled to four (4) weeks.  MEDICAL LEAVE runs concurrent with MATERNITY 

LEAVE. 

 

The County has the right to designate as MEDICAL LEAVE all time missed by an 

employee which would qualify under this policy. 

 

NOTIFICATION BY EMPLOYEE 

 

 1. Foreseeable Events:  The employee must notify Human Resources, by 

written application, at least thirty (30) days in advance of foreseeable 

leaves. 

 

 2. Unforeseeable Events: For events such as accidental injury or a 

sudden change in the employee’s health, the employee must notify 

Human Resources of his/her need for leave and request an application 

as soon as it is possible and practical to do so.  In most cases, the 

employee should notify Human Resources of an unforeseen leave 

within one day of when he/she finds out leave is needed. 

 

 3. Failure to Give Notice:  Failure to give notice as required here may 

result in delay or denial of MEDICAL LEAVE.  In the case of foreseeable 

leaves, the County may delay the leave for up to thirty (30) days from 

the date the employee notified it of the need to take MEDICAL LEAVE. 

 

NOTIFICATION BY THE COUNTY 

The County will notify an employee when it designates absences as MEDICAL 

LEAVE. 

In appropriate cases, the County will designate leave as MEDICAL LEAVE even if 

not requested by the employee. 

 

MEDICAL CERTIFICATION 

Within seven (7) days of the first day absent for MEDICAL LEAVE, the employee 

must provide a doctor’s statement that the employee cannot work due to a medical 

condition and the date the employee is expected to be able to return to work.  If the 

employee cannot return on the expected date, he/she must provide another doctor’s 

statement that he/she cannot work and the new date of expected return. 
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The County retains the right to have the employee examined by another health care 

provider (and possibly a third one if the first two (2) medical opinions are 

inconsistent) at its expense.  The County reserves the right to request periodic 

additional doctor’s statements during the term of the leave of absence. 

 

INTERMITTENT OR REDUCED SCHEDULE 

If and only if it is medically necessary, MEDICAL LEAVE may be taken on an 

intermittent or reduced schedule basis.  Intermittent or reduced schedule leave will 

be counted on a quarter-hour basis to apply toward the four (4) week maximum per 

twelve (12) months. 

 

The employee must submit a doctor’s statement to support his/her need for an 

intermittent or reduced schedule.  Furthermore, the employee must inform the 

County of the anticipated treatment schedule and the reasons for the proposed 

schedule. 

 

The County may require the employee to work in a different position or on a 

different schedule during the period on an intermittent or reduced schedule.  The 

alternative position will have the same base pay and benefits as the position held 

prior to commencement of the leave. 

 

For all leaves involving planned medical treatments, including intermittent or 

reduced schedule leaves, the employee is obligated to plan for treatments so that 

they will cause the least disruption to the County. 

 

PAY AND BENEFITS 

The employee must use accrued sick leave and annual leave, if any, during 

MEDICAL LEAVE.  Sick leave is utilized beginning with the first day of MEDICAL 

LEAVE.  Employees must exhaust their own sick leave and annual leave before 

receiving donated time.  Regardless of whether the employee receives pay during 

MEDICAL LEAVE, the full amount of leave will be counted toward the four (4) week 

maximum leave available. 

 

The employee will not accrue any benefits during MEDICAL LEAVE.  While on 

MEDICAL LEAVE, the employee may not receive government compensation 

(unemployment, etc.) or perform work for another employer. 

 

If the employee is covered by the County’s group health insurance plan, he/she will 

continue to be covered during MEDICAL LEAVE if he/she pays his/her portion of the 

premium.  Insurance may stop if the County learns the employee does not intend to 

return to employment or does not return or does not pay his/her portion of the 

premium.  In some cases, the County may request the employee to reimburse it for 

any premiums it has paid on his/her behalf during the leave, unless the reason 

he/she did not return was because of a continued medical condition or for other 

reasons beyond his/her control. 
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RETURN TO WORK 

An employee returning from MEDICAL LEAVE for his/her own illness must provide 

written medical certification that he/she is able to resume working.  Prior to 

returning from MEDICAL LEAVE the employee must contact Human Resources to 

submit written medical clearance to return to work if required, and to determine 

when to report for duty. If circumstances change and the employee can return to 

work sooner than anticipated, the employee must immediately notify Human 

Resources.  Failure to follow these procedures may result in delay when he/she is 

ready to return to work.  The County may require the employee to submit to a 

fitness-for-duty exam at its expense. 

 

The County will make every effort to return the employee to the same or equivalent 

position; however, due to business necessity, this cannot be guaranteed.  The 

employee will not lose any seniority or benefits because of the MEDICAL LEAVE. 

 

Failure to return to work at the end of the MEDICAL LEAVE may be considered a 

resignation.  The County will try to contact the employee and determine why the 

employee has not returned to work. 

 

FAILURE TO COMPLY WITH THIS POLICY 

If an employee fails to follow the guidelines in the policy or falsifies any information 

related to the medical certification, his/her leave may be delayed or denied and 

discipline, up to and including discharge, may result. 

 

MATERNITY LEAVE 

 

A pregnant employee should let her supervisor know her due date and whether she 

expects to return to work after the birth.  She must provide a specific written 

doctor’s statement setting out any work limitations her condition may require, if 

any, as well as a written doctor’s statement indicating when she should cease work 

prior to the birth. 

 

AMOUNT OF LEAVE AVAILABLE 

The employee will receive six (6) weeks leave during her time off for MATERNITY 

LEAVE.  If she needs more time off, she must provide a specific, written statement 

from her doctor stating that she cannot work due to her medical condition. 

 

The County has the right to designate as MATERNITY LEAVE all time missed by an 

employee which would qualify under this policy. 

 

PAY AND BENEFITS 

The employee must use accrued sick leave and annual leave, if any, during 

MATERNITY LEAVE.  Sick leave is utilized beginning with the first day of 

MATERNITY LEAVE.  Employees must exhaust their own sick leave and annual 

leave before receiving donated time.  Regardless of whether the employee receives 

pay during MATERNITY LEAVE, the full amount of leave will be counted toward the 

six (6) week maximum leave available. 
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The employee will not accrue any benefits during MATERNITY LEAVE.  While on 

MATERNITY LEAVE, the employee may not receive government compensation 

(unemployment, etc.) or perform work for another employer. 

 

If the employee is covered by the County’s group health insurance plan, she will 

continue to be covered during MATERNITY LEAVE if she pays her portion of the 

premium.  Insurance may stop if the County learns the employee does not intend to 

return to employment or does not return to employment or does not pay her portion 

of the premium.  In some cases, the County may request the employee to reimburse 

it for any premiums it has paid on her behalf during the leave, unless the reason she 

did not return to work was because of her continued medical condition or for other 

reasons beyond her control. 

 

 

RETURN TO WORK 

The employee is expected to return when she is physically able to work.  She must 

provide written medical certification that she is able to resume working.  Prior to 

returning to work, she must contact the Human Resources office to submit the 

written medical clearance to return to work and to determine when to report for 

duty.  Failure to follow these procedures may result in a delay when she is ready to 

return to work.  The County may require the employee to submit to a fitness-for-duty 

exam at its expense. 

 

The employee will be returned to the same or a comparable position, unless 

business requirements make it impossible, impractical or unreasonable.  The 

employee will not lose any seniority or benefits because of MATERNITY LEAVE. 

 

Failure to return to work at the end of MATERNITY LEAVE may be considered a 

resignation.  The County will try to contact the employee and determine why the 

employee has not returned to work. 

 

If the employee is eligible for FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE, then she may take time 

off consistent with that policy. 

 

FAILURE TO COMPLY WITH THIS POLICY 

If an employee fails to follow the guidelines in the policy or falsifies any information 

related to the medical certification, her leave may be delayed or denied and 

discipline, up to and including discharge, may result. 

 

ARTICLE 36 

SICK TIME 

 
1.  Full time employees shall be entitled to sick leave with pay on the basis of the formula 
given below and computed at the end of each completed month of service: 
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Accrued Per Month Accrued Per Year        Maximum Accumulation 
 1.25 day         15 days    110 days 
 
Employees working a minimum of 3/5 status shall earn sick leave on a prorated basis. 
 
 
2.  Sick leave pay shall be at the employee‟s regular base rate of pay (including 
differentials). 
 
3. Sick leave may be utilized for absences due to illness, injury, exposure to contagious 
disease, or quarantine.  Up to five (5) days of sick leave per calendar year may be used to 
attend to the sickness or injury of the employee‟s spouse, child, or parent. Sick leave may 
be used for pre-scheduled and emergency doctor‟s appointments for the employee, 
his/her spouse, child or parent only, or dependent as defined by the IRS regulations.  It is 
understood that paid sick leave may also be used during leaves covered by the Family 
Medical Leave Act in accordance with Article 34 of this Agreement.  An employee who is 
unable to report for work is required to call in each day no less than two (2) hours before 
the beginning of the shift. 
 
4. Sick leave is earned from the first day of employment and may be used as earned 
(excluding probationary employees). 
 
5.  The County may require an employee who takes three (3) or more consecutive days of 
sick leave to provide the County with a doctor‟s certificate certifying said illness or injury, 
and certifying that said employee is well enough to return to work.  The County may also 
require the employee to furnish a doctor‟s certificate when sick leave is taken adjacent to a 
holiday or scheduled days off, or on scheduled annual leave.  The employee shall not be 
paid for said days if the employee fails to comply with said request.  Once this provision 
has been invoked for an employee, said employee will be required to furnish doctor‟s 
certificates for a period of six (6) months. 
 

6.  Perfect Attendance Bonus–  If an employee who is employed full time as of 

January 1 of the year being tracked has perfect attendance (misses no work 

whatsoever, other than pre-approved vacation, holidays and perfect attendance 

bonus days), in a six (6) month period he/she will be given one and one-half bonus 

days to be used at his/her preference, provided staffing needs of the department are 

met.   The bonus may be in the form of paid time off or pay at the employee’s base 

rate of pay, with the choice being the employee’s.   Bonus days must be scheduled 

before the schedule is posted and may not be used to cover call outs. If an 

employee took Sick Leave, Family Medical Leave, Medical Leave or Maternity Leave 

during the six (6) month period, he/she will be ineligible for the perfect attendance 

bonus. 
 
7. Employees who retire pursuant to the provisions of RSA 100-A shall be paid at their 
regular base rate of pay for thirty three percent (33%) of their accumulated sick leave to a 
maximum of twenty (20) days. 
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Effective 7-01-2007:  Maximum days allowed as follows: 
 

Years of Service   Maximum Days Allowed 
          0-14         Twenty (20) days 
          15-29         Twenty-five (25) days 
     30-35         Thirty (30) days 
     Over 35         Thirty-five (35) days 
 
8.  The County may also require a doctor‟s note for a period of six (6) months where an 
employee has a pattern of taking sick leave or where an employee has a prior disciplinary 
record for abuse of sick leave. 
 
9. Sick leave shall not accrue during unpaid leaves of absence and workers‟ 
compensation leave. 
 

10.  Employees may voluntarily donate annual leave hours only to any employee 

who exhausts all of the employee’s sick leave and annual leave.  Documentation will 

be provided to each employee as to the amount of time donated and used.  Also a 

list provided to the employee receiving the time so they can acknowledge who 

donated time.  Both lists will be provided upon return to work of the employee 

receiving time. 

 

Annual leave hours cannot be donated to probationary employees. An employee 

who is not eligible for FM LEAVE OR MEDICAL LEAVE may only receive a donation 

of up to five (5) days for family illness (i.e. the employee, his/her spouse, child or 

parent only). Employees on FM LEAVE or MEDICAL LEAVE  for personal illness, that 

have not exceeded twelve (12) weeks or the four (4) week extension, if granted, and 

have exhausted their accumulated leave time may receive donated time up to the 

maximum allowed for their FM LEAVE or MEDICAL LEAVE.  
 
11.  If an employee has given an oral or written resignation, and then call outs, he/she will 
not be paid without a doctor‟s note. Anyone who has resigned may not donate time. 

 

ARTICLE 37 

ANNUAL LEAVE 
 
1.  Department employees regularly employed on a full-time basis shall be entitled to 
annual leave with full pay on the basis of the following schedule: 
         
Years of Service Accrued Per Month Days Per Year   Maximum Accumulation 
               0-4      .84   10   30 
     5-9              1.25   15   30 
 10-14                1.67   20   40 
 15-19   1.75   21   40 
 20-24   1.83   22   40 
 25-29   1.92   23   40 
 30-35   2.00   24   40 
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2.  Department employees regularly employed on a 4/5‟s basis shall be entitled to annual 
leave with full pay on the basis of the following schedule: 
 
Years of Service Accrued Per Month Days Per Year   Maximum Accumulation 
     0-4     .67     8   24 
     5-9   1.00   12   24 
 10-14   1.33   16   32 
 15-19   1.42   17   32 
 20-24   1.50   18   32 
 25-29   1.58   19   32 
 30-35   1.67   20   32 
 
3.  Department employees regularly employed on a 3/5‟s basis shall be entitled to annual 
leave with full pay on the basis of the following schedule: 
 
 
 
Years of Service Accrued Per Month Days Per Year   Maximum Accumulation 
     0-4     .50     6   18 
     5-9     .75     9   18 
 10-14   1.00   12   24 
 15-19   1.08   13   24 
 20-24   1.17   14   24 
 25-29   1.25   15   24 
 30+   1.33   16   24 
 
4.  Every full time employee shall be afforded the opportunity to receive two (2) 
consecutive weeks of annual leave.  Leave may only be taken in full or half-day 
increments.  Upon approval from the supervisor annual leave may be taken in two (2) hour 
increments. 
 

Employees shall be allowed to use the above listed increments of full, half-day or 
two (2) hours due to extreme circumstances that are beyond their control and shall not be 
considered a call out.  This will be determined on a case by case basis as determined 
solely by the Grafton County Nursing Home Administrator/designee. 
 
5.  Annual leave of up to two (2) weeks shall be scheduled on the basis of department 
seniority.  To avail oneself the rights of seniority the employee must notify the supervisor 
in writing prior to April 1

st
 of employee‟s choice of time for annual leave.  Employees shall 

be notified regarding the disposition of their vacation request by April 15.  After April 1
st
, 

leave shall be assigned on a first come basis subject to the needs of the department as 
determined solely by the County.  The employee shall be notified regarding the disposition 
of their vacation request within fourteen (14) days after the request.  Vacation requests 
whether approved or denied will be passed directly to the employees or sealed in an 
envelope.  Should the time be denied the reason for the denial shall be written on the 
request when it is returned. There will be direct contact providing the employee arranges 
to pick up the notice from the supervisor while the supervisor is on duty. 
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6.  Employees who have been employed continuously for a period of six (6) months 

or longer shall be paid at their base rate of pay for any unused accumulated annual 

leave upon resignation of employment or decrease to per diem status, provided they 

actually work out a two (2) week written notice. Employees involuntarily terminated 

by the County or employees who resign or decrease to per diem status without 

giving and working out at least two (2) weeks written notice shall not be paid for any 

unused accumulated annual leave upon termination of employment or reduction to 

per diem status.  In the event of a death of an employee said annual leave shall be 

paid to the employee’s estate. If an employee is on pre-scheduled vacation and gets 

sick or needs an emergency or funeral day, the pre-scheduled vacation time is 

utilized first.  Special situations may be reviewed on a case by case basis and 

determined solely by the County. 

 
7.  Annual leave is earned from the first day of employment but may only be used as it is 
accrued and may not be used until the employee has been employed continuously for a 
period of six (6) months (excluding probationary employees). 
 
8.  For licensed nursing assistants, activities aides and dietary, no annual leave shall be 
granted during the week inclusive of Christmas Day and New Years Day.  Employees shall 
not be granted annual leave for holidays for which the employee is scheduled to work.  
The Administrator reserves the right to deny or modify any annual leave request in the 
case of emergency. 
 
9.  Only annual leave that has been earned may be used.  No employee shall use leave 
time that has not been earned. 
 
10.  Annual leave must be pre-scheduled at least ten (10) working days in advance.  In 
case of emergency, a written request may be submitted no less than twenty-four (24) 
hours in advance. 
 
11. Annual Leave shall not accrue during unpaid leaves of absence and workers‟ 
compensation. 
 
12.  If an employee exceeds the maximum annual leave accrual and would lose annual 
leave time due to the County not allowing the employee to take their annual leave, such 
amounts will be allowed to accrue over the maximum and will not be lost. 

 

13.  Employees may voluntarily donate annual leave hours only to any employee 

who exhausts all of the employee’s sick leave and annual leave.  Documentation will 

be provided to each employee as to the amount of time donated and used.  Also a 

list provided to the employee receiving the time so they can acknowledge who 

donated time.  Both lists will be provided upon return to work of the employee 

receiving time. 
 

Annual leave hours cannot be donated to probationary employees. An employee 

who is not eligible for FM LEAVE OR MEDICAL LEAVE may only receive a donation 

of up to five (5) days for family illness (i.e. the employee, his/her spouse, child or 

parent only). Employees on FM LEAVE OR MEDICAL LEAVE for personal illness, 
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that have not exceeded twelve (12) weeks or the four (4) week extension, if granted, 

and have exhausted their accumulated leave time may receive donated time up to 

the maximum allowed for their FM LEAVE OR MEDICAL LEAVE. 

 

ARTICLE 38 

HOLIDAYS 
 
1.  Employees working a minimum of 3/5 status must be employed for six (6) months 
before receiving paid holidays. After six (6) months, two (2) retroactive holidays will be 
given to employees.  Per-holiday accrual is based upon the following schedule:  
 

Status      Accrual 
Full Time - 40 hours/week   8.00 hours/holiday 
4/5 status - 32 hours/week   6.40 hours/holiday 
3/5 status - 24 hours/week   4.80 hours/holiday 

  Full-time 36 hours (12 X 3)   8.00 hours/holiday 
  Full-time 35 hours (7 X 5)   7.00 hours/holiday 
 

If an employee who normally works a twelve (12) hour shift takes the holiday off, 
he/she will be paid eight (8) hours of holiday pay including shift differentials, if the 
employee normally receives such differentials and may use four (4) hours of annual leave 
to make up the difference, the choice being the employee‟s. If an employee who normally 
works 3/5 or 4/5 takes a holiday off, he/she will be paid 4.80 hours if 3/5 and 6.40 if 4/5 
including shift differentials, if the employee normally receives such differentials and may 
use annual leave to make up the difference with the choice being the employee‟s. It is the 
responsibility of the employee to request the annual leave in writing in the same pay 
period. If the election is not made within the time frame specified, the annual leave hours 
will not be paid. 

 
2.  To be eligible for holiday pay, an employee must have worked the last scheduled day 
before, and the first scheduled day after, the scheduled holiday unless on pre-approved, 
pre-scheduled paid leave.  Call outs shall void holiday pay and the holiday shall not be 
rescheduled. 
 

An employee may be excused for a call-out and not lose their holiday due to 
extreme circumstances that were beyond the employee‟s control.  This approval shall be 
based on a case by case basis at the sole discretion of the Grafton County Nursing Home 
Administrator/designee.  This shall apply to the day before the holiday, the actual holiday, 
and/or the day after the holiday. 

 
3. Recognized holidays are as follows: 
 

New Year‟s Day     Labor Day 

Civil Rights Day (floating holiday)  Columbus Day 
Election Day (alternate years only)  Veteran‟s Day 
Presidents‟ Day     Thanksgiving 
Memorial Day     Friday After Thanksgiving 
Independence Day    Christmas 
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4.  Employees shall work every other holiday and receive an alternative day off to be 
scheduled by approval of the head of the department.  Approval shall not be unreasonably 
denied.  Election day and the Friday after Thanksgiving are not considered in the 
alternative holiday schedule.  Employees working three (3) twelve (12) hour shifts would 
receive the same benefits as other full-time employees.  These benefits include receiving 
all designated County holidays. These holidays are paid at eight (8) hours including shift 
differentials, if the employee normally receives such differentials.  Employees who work 
their twelve (12) hours on a holiday will be paid for the actual hours worked. If these same 
employees take the holiday off or wish to buy back the holiday they will do so at eight (8) 
hours straight time.  Employees working a twelve (12) hour rotating shift receive every 
other holiday off. Employees work set days do not work every other holiday. 
 

  If Christmas was your normal holiday off and you are now mandated to work that 
day, you will be allowed to swap with another LNA, who is willing to work for you, for all or 
part of that day.  You and the other LNA must receive prior approval from the Director of 
Nurses and sign off on an agreement sheet.  All other guidelines for mandatory overtime 
remain the same. 

 

5.  Holidays are automatically rolled into annual leave if they are not bought back within 

the same pay period or taken on the actual holiday.  The buy back does not apply to 

retroactive holidays, which will automatically roll into annual leave after six (6) 

months. 
 
6.  Employees shall have the option of receiving payment in lieu of paid holiday time off.  If 
an employee chooses to receive such payment, the employee shall not be given days off.  
Holiday buy backs must be pre-approved by the department head.  No more than three (3) 
outstanding holidays will be paid at one time, and none will be paid in advance.  Pay will 
be calculated at the employee‟s straight time base rate of pay including any applicable 
differentials.  
 
7.  Time and one half will be paid to employees for all hours worked on the actual 
Thanksgiving and Christmas holidays.  Any employee working eight (8) hours or more  on 
Thanksgiving or Christmas shall be entitled to schedule another day off.  Any employee 
called in on the actual Thanksgiving or Christmas holiday will be compensated at double 
time with no alternate day off. 
 

8.  If an employee is scheduled to work a holiday and calls out on the holiday, 

he/she may not substitute any other kind of pay, except funeral or approved 

emergency leave, for the holiday.  The day is without pay and the holiday is lost (not 

rescheduled). 

 

ARTICLE 39 

FUNERAL AND/OR EMERGENCY LEAVE 
 

An employee shall be entitled to up to three (3) days paid leave if a serious 
emergency or death occurs in the immediate family and the employee is scheduled to 
work.  Such leave must be approved by the Administrator such approval shall not be 
unreasonably denied.  Immediate family is defined as parents or step-parents, children or 
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step-children, sister, step-sister, brother, step-brother, spouse/live-in partner, son-in-law, 
daughter-in-law, legal guardian, grandparents, grandchildren, sister-in-law, brother-in-law, 
and spouse‟s or live-in partner‟s parents and grandparents. 

 
 

ARTICLE 40 

JURY DUTY & CRIME VICTIM EMPLOYMENT LEAVE 

Jury Duty:  An employee called to serve on county, municipal or federal jury 
must give advance notice of the need for time off for jury duty. A copy of the 
summons should accompany the request. Employees must request from the court a 
certificate of juror's attendance stating the dates the employee served as a juror and 
amounts that will be paid to the employee. Absences for jury duty are not counted 
as hours worked and therefore do not count toward overtime. The employee shall 
be reimbursed at the employee's rate of pay, minus any per diem juror's fee. The 
employee retains any mileage fee from the court. Employees are expected to report 
for work when not needed for jury duty. 

Crime Victim Employment Leave:  Effective January 1, 2006, an employee 
who is a victim of a crime may leave work to attend court or other legal or 
investigative proceedings associated with the prosecution of the crime. An 
employee who exercises his or her right to leave work pursuant to RSA 275:62 shall 
not be discharged, threatened or otherwise discriminated against regarding his or 
her compensation, terms, conditions, location or privileges of employment because 
he or she has exercised his or her right to leave work. 

The County is not required to compensate the employee while he or she is 
away from work to attend court or other legal or investigative proceedings; how-
ever, the employee may elect to use accrued annual leave, if available, with the 
decision being the employee's. If the employee is suffering from injuries resulting 
from the crime that prevent him or her from working, then he or she may elect to 
use sick leave.   It is the employee's responsibility to notify the staffing coordinator 
or department head if he/she elects to be paid for time missed. 

In cases where an employee became a crime victim in the course of his or 
her employment, he or she may not use accrued time if he or she is receiving his or 
her regular rate of pay. If the employee is receiving worker's compensation, if 
absent for three (3) days or less, he or she may use sick leave for those days. 
Worker's compensation pays sixty per cent (60%) of the employee's average gross 
wage and the employer will pay twenty per cent (20%) from the employee's vacation 
or sick time, with the choice being the employee's. This would not take effect 
unless the employee is out over fourteen (14) days, in which case it would be 
retroactive to when worker's compensation began. 

An employee will not lose seniority while absent from his or her employment 
under RSA 275:62. The employee is expected to work when not attending court or 
other legal or investigative proceedings associated with the prosecution of the 
crime. 
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Before an employee may leave work, he or she shall provide the employer 
with a copy of the notice of each scheduled hearing, conference or meeting that is 
provided to the employee by the court or agency responsible for providing notice to 
the employee. The employer will maintain the confidentiality of any written 
documents or records submitted by the employee relative to the employee's request 
to leave work pursuant to RSA 275:62. 

The employer may limit the leave if the employee's leave creates an undue 
hardship to the employer's business. "Undue hardship" means a significant 
difficulty and expense to a business, and includes the consideration of the size of 
the employer's business, the employee's position and role within the business, and 
the employer's need for the employee. Only the Executive Director, Human 
Resources Director or Nursing Home Administrator have the authority to limit an 
employee's leave. It is the County's intention that leave would ordinarily not be 
limited, except in the cases of unusually long, continuing proceedings. In such 
cases, the employer's need for the employee to return to work would be reviewed 
with the affected employee on a case by case basis. 

 

ARTICLE 41 

MILITARY DUTY 
 

1.  Any regular full-time employee who is a member of any reserve component of the 
armed forces of the United States, or of the State of New Hampshire, shall, upon request, 
be entitled to no more than fifteen (15) working days leave of absence in any one (1) 
calendar year for the purpose of engaging in military drills, training, or other temporary 
duty under military or naval authority. 
 
2.  An employee called to serve on temporary military duty will be reimbursed the 
difference, if any, of regular pay over military pay. The employee will be returned to the 
employee's position and rate of pay upon completion of the duty. Employees may take 
accrued vacation time in conjunction with military duty. 
 
3.  The provisions of this section shall not apply to any such employee who has been 
inducted or has enlisted in active service in the armed forces of the United States, or for 
extended period of service. 

 

ARTICLE 42 

TRAINING 

 
1.  In-service training programs are available, and attendance will be mandated as 
appropriate. Employees must participate in programs offered in their area of duty; 
mandatory training sessions are a job requirement.  It is understood that in service training 
programs will be at least thirty (30) consecutive minutes in duration.  For any job area that 
requires certification, failure to maintain certification shall result in termination. 
 
2.  The County will pay up to a regular work days wages and expenses for approved job-
related, off-premises training and education. Overtime will not be paid on travel time or on 
hours in excess of the regular workday. 
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3.  If the outside training is mandatory, clocking in and out is required, and the employee 
will be paid travel time. Overtime will not occur unless forty (40) hours has been worked for 
the week. Travel time will not be paid for voluntary training sessions. 
 
4.  Employees authorized to take extended training to enhance their position or to gain 
certification for a specific job position will be expected to sign off training costs. 

 

ARTICLE 43 

EDUCATIONAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM 
 
1.  County employees who have worked full-time for not less than one (1) year are eligible 
to apply for tuition assistance. 
 
2.  Assistance may be granted to permanent part-time employees working at least twenty 
four (24) hours per week, after completing an aggregate total of 2080 hours (one year) 
and pro-rated on their 3/5 or 4/5 workweek. 
 
3.  Courses must be directly related to the employee's job or enhance the employee's 
potential advancement to a position within their profession which the individual has a 
reasonable expectation of achieving. 
 
4.  Courses must be from an accredited educational institution. Employees are expected 
to provide proof of accreditation, course description, enrollment, and cost. Written 
requests for educational assistance must be approved prior to enrollment. 
 
5.  Courses must provide college credits or equivalent certification programs Employee 
must maintain passing/transferable grades.  Employees must have course 
recommendation/approval/authorization by the department head and Executive Director. 
Department heads will present the request through the Executive Director to 
the Commissioners for authorization. 
 
6.  The employee must disclose funding and grants from other educational sources. 
 
7.  Grafton County will contribute up to fifty per cent (50%) of the registration and tuition 

fees and instructional material costs for approved courses. Assistance is limited to one 

course per semester, per employee, provided sufficient funding is available, and not 

to exceed seven hundred fifty dollars ($750) total per fiscal year for the County 

share. The Commissioners may limit assistance to one course per employee, per fiscal 
year, if funding is limited or committed. 

 
8.  The employee is to pay full cost of approved course up front. With appropriate receipts 
and record of final grades, the County will reimburse its share upon receipt of proof of 
satisfactory completion of the course.  To be considered for payment, all receipts and 
records of final grades must be submitted within ninety (90) days of completion of the 
course, unless funds are available when requested prior to the employee starting the 
course. 
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9.  Termination of employment prior to successful completion of course or within one (1) 
year after completion will nullify County agreement to reimburse. 
 
10.  Class attendance and completion of study assignments shall be accomplished 
outside of the employee‟s regular working hours. 
 
11.  To assist employees who cannot up-front tuition payment, the Commissioners may 
authorize, with documented need, an interest-free loan of up to $750 by signed 
Promissory Note. The advance funds will be paid directly to the provider and payroll 
deduction will begin immediately on the amount borrowed in excess of the approved 
amount of assistance, to be fully repaid within six (6) months. 
 
12.  The Promissory Note will include language that if the employee does not pass the 
course or terminates employment before payment is completed, the County is authorized 
to deduct the remaining balance from the employee's paychecks. 
 
13.  An application form must be completed before the beginning of the course and 
submitted to the department head for consideration and recommendations. 
 
14.  Applications will be reviewed considering relevancy of course to employee's job, 
tenure, employee's personnel record, job performance, and budgetary constraints. 

 

ARTICLE 44 

DRUG & ALCOHOL POLICY 

 

Purpose and Goal 

 

Grafton County employees are public servants and provide important services that 

require the ability to think clearly, make sound decisions and react in a manner that 

protects the safety, health and well-being of all employees, residents, inmates and 

the public.  The County also has a need to protect its property, information, 

equipment, operations and reputation.  We recognize that alcohol and drug use 

poses a threat to individuals and the County as a whole.  Our goal is to establish a 

drug-free workplace program that balances our respect for individuals with the need 

to maintain an alcohol and drug-free environment. 

 

All county employees should recognize that being under the influence of drugs or 

alcohol or suffering from the aftereffects of drugs or alcohol while at work can be 

disruptive, adversely affect the quality of work and job performance, pose serious 

risks to users and others, and have a negative impact on safety, productivity and 

morale.  The County has no intention of interfering in the private lives of its 

employees unless involvement with alcohol and/or drugs off the job affects job 

performance.  As a condition of employment, the County requires that employees 

adhere to a strict policy regarding drugs and alcohol.  The County encourages 

employees to voluntarily seek help for drug and alcohol problems. 
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Covered Employees 

 

This policy covers department heads, managers, supervisors, full-time, part-time, 

spare and per diem employees. 

 

Applicability 

 

This policy is intended to apply whenever covered employees are representing or 

conducting business for the County.  Therefore, this policy applies during all 

working hours, whenever conducting business or representing the County, while on 

County property or at County-sponsored events.  While at County-sponsored events 

such as the annual county conference, employees are permitted to consume 

alcohol in moderation after working hours.  Employees of departments that have 

internal Standard Operating Procedures must also follow their own departments’ 

SOP manuals regarding professional conduct and prohibited behavior.  Employees 

are not permitted to become impaired or intoxicated.   

 

Definitions 

 

Alcohol means anything edible or drinkable that contains ethyl alcohol (ethanol), 

including but not limited to beer, wine and distilled spirits. 

 

County premises means all property of Grafton County, including but not limited to 

the buildings and surrounding areas on county-owned or leased property, parking 

lots and storage areas.  The term also includes county-owned or leased vehicles 

and equipment wherever located. 

 

Illegal drug means any drug or controlled substance that is illegal to possess under 

NHRSA 318-B, the Controlled Drug Act, or legal drugs illegally obtained or used in a 

manner inconsistent with their intended use and recommended dosage. 

 

Legal drug means any prescribed drug or over-the-counter drug. 

 

Contraband means alcohol, illegal drugs and drug paraphernalia. 

 

Drug paraphernalia means any object or thing as defined in RSA 318-B. 

 

Reasonable suspicion means showing signs that would lead a prudent person to 

have a suspicion that there has been a violation of this policy.  Reasonable 

suspicion is proof or evidence that is more than a hunch, but less than probable 

cause, and must be based on specific, objective, articulable facts about the conduct 

of an individual. 

 

Substance abuse professional means a qualified licensed medical professional, a 

certified drug and/or alcohol counselor or an accredited treatment facility. 
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Positive test result for alcohol means a blood alcohol content of .03% or more; for 

drugs means any result over the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services 

confirmatory limits. 

 

Prohibited Behavior 

 

Grafton County prohibits the manufacture, possession (*), use, sale, transfer or 

distribution of illegal drugs, drug paraphernalia or alcohol in the workplace, on 

county premises or at any other facility or another location while on duty, except for 

duly authorized authorities, e.g., law enforcement, who are permitted to possess 

illegal drugs, drug paraphernalia or alcohol while performing their duties, and 

nurses or MNA’s who are dispensing alcohol to residents pursuant to a doctor’s 

order.  Prohibited conduct will result in disciplinary action, up to and including 

discharge.  (*) Possession of alcoholic beverages in an unopened container with an 

unbroken seal securely locked in the employee’s vehicle is not prohibited, provided 

the employee is at least 21 years of age. 

 

Prescription and over-the-counter drugs are not prohibited when used for the 

purpose intended by the manufacturer and taken in the recommended dosage 

and/or according to a physician’s prescription.  In accordance with RSA 318-B:14, I, 

controlled substances are to be possessed only in the container in which they were 

dispensed, or with proper ID (RSA 318-B:14, II (b) or in a medication organizer (RSA 

318-B:14, II (c)).  Any employee taking prescribed or over-the-counter drugs is 

responsible for consulting with the prescribing physician and/or a pharmacist to 

ascertain whether the medication may interfere with the safe performance of his/her 

job.  If the use of a medication could negatively affect the employee’s job 

performance or compromise the safety of the employee, co-workers, residents, 

inmates or the public, it is the employee’s responsibility to notify the supervisor and 

either request a change of duty, if possible, or abstain from working to avoid unsafe 

situations. 

 

Notification of Convictions 

 

Any employee who is convicted of an alcohol or drug offense must notify the 

County in writing within five (5) calendar days of the conviction.  The County will 

take appropriate disciplinary action, up to and including discharge, in accordance 

with applicable personnel policies, collective bargaining agreements, rules, 

regulations and statutes.  Whenever an employee is convicted of an alcohol or drug 

offense, the County will notify appropriate licensing agencies, if required, within ten 

(10) days of notification by the employee.  Employees of departments that have 

internal Standard Operating Procedures must also follow their own department’s 

SOP manuals regarding professional conduct and prohibited behavior, i.e., criminal 

conduct, investigations and personal (non-work-related) contact with law 

enforcement agencies. 
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Searches 

 

Any on-duty supervisor who is highest in the chain of command in his/her 

department at the time or any county department head may conduct unannounced 

inspections and searches for drugs and/or alcohol in or on county premises, 

including but not limited to all property of Grafton County, buildings and 

surrounding areas on county-owned or leased property, parking lots, storage areas, 

county-owned or leased vehicles and equipment wherever located.  Employees are 

expected to cooperate.  An employee’s refusal to sign a consent to search and 

inspection and to cooperatively facilitate a search and inspection is insubordination 

and a violation of this policy, and will result in discharge.  Every employee is 

required to sign an acknowledgment of this fact either upon implementation of this 

policy or upon hire.  Search of an employee’s pockets, clothing, personal property, 

lockers, desks, file cabinets, work spaces, equipment and vehicles on county 

premises while on county business may be made if there is reasonable suspicion 

that an employee has violated this policy.  Employees have no expectation of 

privacy, including but not limited to the employee’s pockets, clothing, personal 

property, lockers, desks, file cabinets, work spaces, equipment and vehicles in or 

on county premises / county-owned or leased property. 

 

An employee who is found to possess contraband on county premises while on 

county business will be subject to discipline up to and including discharge, except 

for duly authorized authorities, e.g., law enforcement, who are permitted to possess 

contraband while performing their duties, and nurses and MNA’s who are 

dispensing alcohol to residents pursuant to a doctor’s order. 

 

Voluntary Treatment 

 

The County strongly encourages persons with drug or alcohol problems to seek 

immediate treatment.  Employees are encouraged to use the Employee Assistance 

Program, which can provide information on counseling and rehabilitation.  If an 

employee believes he/she has a problem with drugs or alcohol, he/she may seek a 

leave of absence, in accordance with Grafton County personnel policies or the 

collective bargaining agreement, for the time needed to complete an approved (*) 

rehabilitation program at his/her own cost, if not covered by health insurance.  The 

employee will not receive a disciplinary penalty of any kind for this decision.  

However, this does not apply if, prior to requesting a leave of absence, the 

employee is a) involved in a situation where a possibility exists he/she may be 

asked to take a test, or b) is informed by the County he/she will be tested, or c) is 

tested.  (*) An “approved” rehabilitation program is one that is conducted by a 

substance abuse professional. 

 

Drug Testing 

 

Reasonable Suspicion:  Employees will be required to participate in a drug and/or 

alcohol screening when showing signs that would lead a prudent person to have a 

reasonable suspicion that there has been a violation of this policy.  Only the County 
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Attorney, Nursing Home Administrator, Sheriff, Register of Deeds, Human Services 

Director, Maintenance Superintendent, Corrections Superintendent, Farm Manager, 

Human Resources Director, Executive Director or their designees may authorize the 

test.  The person authorizing the test will inform the employee about the facts upon 

which the suspicion of impairment and the decision to test is based.  Employees 

who are requested to submit to a drug and/or alcohol test will be expected to 

complete a “Consent / Release” form authorizing an agent of a County-designated 

facility to perform the test and to release the results to the County.  Refusal to 

complete and sign a “Consent / Release” and to promptly take a required test as 

instructed by the employer is insubordination, a violation of this policy, and will 

result in termination. 

 

Pre-employment:  Upon being presented with an offer for employment, all 

applicants must submit to a drug screen within two (2) business days following 

receipt of the offer.  If an applicant has a positive test, fails to appear for the test as 

instructed by the employer or otherwise violates this policy, the offer of employment 

will be withdrawn and the applicant may not be considered for employment in the 

future. 

 

Post-accident:  All employees are required to take a drug and/or alcohol test 

following a work-related injury that results in medical treatment by a licensed 

physician if the employer has reasonable suspicion to believe the accident was a 

result of drug or alcohol use.  The employer must be able to articulate objective 

evidence that led the employer to believe the accident was a result of drug or 

alcohol use.   

 

Substances that will be tested for include but are not limited to alcohol, 

amphetamines, barbiturates, benzodiazepine, benzolylecgonine, cannabinoids 

(THC), cocaine, methadone, methaqualone, opiates, and phencyclidine (PCP).  The 

County uses U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (USDHHS) cut-off 

levels for drug testing.  A confirmed result above the USDHHS cut-off will be 

considered a positive drug test.  A blood alcohol content of .03% or more will be 

considered a positive alcohol test.  Positive results without legitimate explanation 

are considered violation of this policy. 

 

Testing for the presence of alcohol may be conducted by breath or saliva, the 

manner to be determined by the testing facility.  Testing for the presence of drugs 

generally will be done by urinalysis.  Testing conducted by other authorities, 

whether by blood, breath or urine, may be used by the County to determine if there 

has been a violation of this policy. 

 

To ensure the accuracy and fairness of our testing program, all testing will be 

conducted according to USDHHS guidelines at a USDHHS approved laboratory.  An 

initial drug screen which shows positive for drug(s) will be subjected to a 

confirmatory test.  All confirmed positive tests shall be reviewed by the laboratory’s 

Medical Review Officer (MRO), who will offer the employee the opportunity to 
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contest or explain the positive result.  Absent a valid explanation, a confirmed 

positive test results in the conclusion that the employee has violated this policy. 

 

During the period pending receipt and review of final test results, the County 

reserves the right to suspend the employee without pay and/or place him/her on 

leave in accordance with applicable statutes, collective bargaining agreements (if 

applicable) and Grafton County personnel policies. 

 

Test site:  Littleton Regional Hospital 

             Occupational Health Department 

Phone:     603-444-9294 

 

Employees who are under the age of eighteen (18), along with their parent or legal 

guardian, must sign for receipt of this policy and acknowledge its content.  In the 

event a minor becomes a candidate for drug or alcohol testing, the minor’s parent 

or legal guardian must be contacted and either 1) give written consent for testing 

before the minor leaves county premises or 2) remove the minor from county 

premises. 

 

To avoid placing the employee or others in a situation that might endanger the 

safety of the employee or the public, the County is responsible for transporting the 

employee to the testing site and back to the employer’s work site. 

 

The results of the drug or alcohol test shall be given to the Human Resources 

Director and will be maintained in a separate confidential file.  The following 

individuals or organizations shall have access to the results of the test: the 

employee, the employee’s department head, the County management, Union or 

Employee Council representatives if the employee files a grievance, persons 

participating in the grievance process, the Board of Commissioners, any local, state 

or federal agency which requests the information or which the County determines 

should have the information, including but not limited to Workers’ Compensation, 

Employment Security, and any person who uses process of law to secure the 

results. 

 

Consequences 

 

One of the goals of our drug-free workplace program is to encourage employees to 

voluntarily seek help for alcohol and/or drug problems.  If, however, an individual 

violates any part of this policy, the consequences are serious. 

 

Any employee who violates this policy will be immediately removed from duty and 

suspended  without pay and/or placed on leave in accordance with statutes, Grafton 

County personnel policies and collective bargaining agreement.  If he/she tested 

positive for drugs or alcohol, he/she must seek advice of a substance abuse 

professional, comply with all recommendations made, and if recommended, seek 

treatment.  The employee must also provide the Director of Human Resources, 

within five (5) business days of the County’s action, a written statement from the 
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substance abuse professional that 1) the employee consulted him/her, 2) whether 

rehabilitation is recommended, 3) an estimated time frame for treatment, and 4) 

whether the employee is cooperating and following the substance abuse 

professional’s recommendations and/or treatment plan.  The Director of Human 

Resources will advise the employee’s department head of the employee’s 

anticipated absence, if any.  If the employee fails to seek professional help from a 

substance abuse professional, follow  the substance abuse professional’s 

recommendations and/or treatment plan and present a written statement from the 

substance abuse professional within a time frame specified by the County or meet 

the goals of the treatment plan, discharge will result.  An employee receiving 

treatment will be required to present periodic proof, as specified by the County, of 

on-going treatment while he/she is away from work. 

 

Prior to reinstatement, the employee will be required to present a written statement 

from the substance abuse professional that the employee has complied with all of 

the substance abuse professional’s recommendations, and, if recommended, is 

engaged in on-going treatment or has completed a treatment program.  Prior to 

reinstatement, the employee will also be required to pass a fitness-for-duty drug 

and/or alcohol screening.  Failure to do any of these things will result in discharge.  

The employee will also be subject to on-going, fitness-for-duty follow-up testing for 

a period of two (2) years.  Any subsequent violation of this policy or confirmed 

positive test will result in discharge. 

 

If an employee refuses the screening/test, drinks water or other liquid excessively, 

alters, adulterates, dilutes or otherwise tampers with the specimen in any way, 

substitutes the specimen with that from another person or sends an imposter, will 

not complete and sign the required forms or refuses to cooperate in the testing 

process in such a way that prevents completion of the test, or if the test result 

reveals the presence of substances intended to mask the presence of drugs or 

alcohol, it will constitute failure of the employee to submit to the testing, and shall 

be considered insubordination and a violation of this policy, and will result in 

termination.  It is understood that an inconclusive test result does not necessarily 

mean the sample was adulterated. 

 

Time away from work for testing is paid.  If the initial or confirmed test is negative, 

the employee will be paid in full for time missed during any period of unpaid 

suspension or leave.  In the case of employees who have undergone or are 

undergoing treatment, time used during the regular work day for follow-up testing is 

also paid.  Except under the provisions of the County’s Family and Medical Leave of 

Absence policy (FM Leave) and the County’s Medical Leave policy, The County does 

not guarantee the availability of work during treatment or after the employee 

completes treatment if the County determines that no work appropriate for the 

employee is available or the employee’s absence will create a hardship for the 

employer. 

 

If an employee is the subject of an investigation by Grafton County or by a law 

enforcement agency because of suspected prohibited alcohol or drug use, he/she 
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may be suspended and/or placed on leave in accordance with statutes, Grafton 

County personnel policies and the collective bargaining agreement pending 

completion of the investigation. 

 

Accident Reporting: 

 

If an employee driving a county vehicle or driving a personal vehicle while on 

county business is involved in an accident, a law enforcement officer must be called 

as soon as safely possible and an accident report must be filed, regardless how 

minor the accident. 

 

Rehabilitation: 

 

Rehabilitation assistance given by Grafton County includes the Employee 

Assistance Program, medical benefits that may be available in the employee’s 

medical benefits plan, if eligible, and use of any leave time available in accordance 

with statutes, Grafton County personnel policies and collective bargaining 

agreement. 

 

Education: 

 

Grafton County will notify its employees of this policy by providing to each 

employee a copy of the policy, and obtaining a written acknowledgment from each 

employee that the policy has been received. 

 

Support of the Drug and Alcohol Policy: 

 

All employees are expected to support the County’s goal of establishing and 

maintaining a drug free workplace program that balances our respect for individuals 

with the need to maintain an alcohol and drug free workplace.  It is the 

responsibility of any employee who witnesses a violation of this policy to 

immediately and confidentially report it to his/her supervisor in accordance with the 

internal chain of command.  If circumstances prohibit this response, then report 

should be made to the Executive Director, Director of Human Resources or their 

designee.  Failure to do so will result in discipline, up to and including discharge. 
 

In the event that the County determines that it should fund and implement a 

program of random testing of employees for the purpose of enforcing a drug-free 

workplace policy, the Union hereby agrees to bargain collectively with the County in 

an effort to create a mutually agreeable system for such testing.  Further, the Union 

agrees not to refuse to bargain on this particular issue if the County makes a 

request to bargain in mid-term. 

 

In the event of drug testing or the implementation of a random drug testing program, 

such program shall be in accordance with the Littleton Hospital Occupational 

Health protocol. Testing results shall remain confidential to the extent possible. The 

County shall pay for all testing costs. 
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ARTICLE 45 

MISCELLANEOUS PROVISIONS 

 

1.  Staff meals:      All employees, on all shifts, are eligible to receive staff meals at the 
Nursing Home facility.  Bargaining unit employees will pay equally with other Grafton 
County employees for meals at the Nursing Home. The charge for all staff meals will be 
$3.00 effective July 1, 2005 and is limited to one (1) meal per shift during the thirty (30) 
minute lunch break period outlined under Article 22 (Rest Breaks) contained herein.  
Those employees working less than a five (5) hour shift will also be eligible for staff meals, 
but will not be allowed to do so while on duty. Employees who stay over will be provided 
with a meal at no charge. 
 
2.  Mileage & Reimbursement of Expenses:  Employees will be reimbursed mileage at the 
current approved County rate for using private automobiles with the prior approval of the 
Administrator, provided the County vehicle is not available (vouchers must justify use of 
private car). 
 
A. Actual reasonable expenses for meals (excluding alcoholic beverages) not to 
exceed $8.00 for breakfast, $10.00 for lunch and $15.00 for dinner. 
 
B. Expenses must be itemized with receipts and statement of purpose attached and 
approved by the Administrator prior to submission for reimbursement. 

 

ARTICLE 46 

SEPARABILITY CLAUSE 
 
If any Article of this Agreement or any application of any portion of any Article of 

this Agreement to any employee or group of employees is held to be contrary to law, then 
such Article or portion thereof shall be deemed invalid, but all other provisions of the 
Agreement shall continue in full force and effect. 
  

ARTICLE 47 

FULL AGREEMENT 

 
1.  The parties acknowledge that during the negotiations which resulted in this Agreement, 
each had the unlimited right and opportunity to make demands and proposals with respect 
to any subject or matter not removed by law from the area of collective bargaining and that 
the understandings and agreements arrived at by the parties after the exercise of that right 
and opportunity are set forth in this Agreement.  Therefore, the County and the Union, for 
the life of this Agreement, each voluntarily and unqualifiedly waive the right, and each 
agrees that the other shall not be obligated, to bargain collectively with respect to any 
subject or matter not referred to or covered in this Agreement, even though such subjects 
or matters may not have been within the knowledge or contemplation of either or both of 
the parties at the time this Agreement was negotiated or signed.  The parties may, 
however, voluntarily agree to reopen contract negotiations on any subject at any time. 
 
2.  This instrument constitutes the entire agreement and final resolution of all matters in 
dispute between the County and the Union arrived at as a result of collective 
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bargaining negotiations, except such amendments hereto as shall have been negotiated 
by mutual agreement and reduced to writing and signed by the parties. 

 

ARTICLE 48 

DEFINITIONS 
 
1.  County: The term "County" as used in this Agreement refers to the County 
Administration and/or the administration of the Grafton County Nursing Home. 
 
2.  Union: The term "Union" as used in this Agreement refers to the United Electrical Radio 
and Machine Workers of America (UE) and its affiliate Local 278. 
 
3.  Employee: The term "Employee" as used in this Agreement refers to a member of the 
bargaining unit. 
 
 
 
4.  Partially benefited part-time employee:  The term “part time employee: as used in  
this Agreement refers to an employee who consistently works at least twenty (20) hours 
per week but less than twenty-four (24) hours per week, and is eligible to purchase, at 
his/her own expense, the County‟s health insurance, dental insurance and life insurance.  
A partially benefited part-time employee receives no benefits other than those listed in this 
paragraph. 
 
5.  Un-benefited part-time employee:  The term “un-benefited part time employee: as       
used in this Agreement refers to an employee who receives no benefits, works up to 
twenty-four (24) hours per week, does not consistently work at least twenty (20) hours per 
week, and whose hours are not guaranteed and may fluctuate according  to scheduling 
needs. 
 
6.  3/5 Employee: The term "3/5 employee" as used in this Agreement refers to personnel 
consistently (every payroll) working a minimum of twenty-four (24) hours, three (3) days 
per week, for six (6) months are eligible for benefits on a pro-rated basis. 
 
7.  4/5 Employee: The term "4/5 employee" as used in this Agreement refers to personnel 
consistently (every payroll) working a minimum of thirty-two (32) hours, four (4) days per 
week, for six (6) months are eligible for benefits on a pro-rated basis. 
 
8.   Full-time Employee: The term "Full-time employee" as used in this Agreement refers to 
personnel regularly working a minimum of thirty-five (35) hours per week constitutes full-
time employment as related to eligibility for the pension plan and County participation in 
the health insurance plan. 
 
9.  Per Diem Employees: The term "Per Diem employee" as used in this Agreement refers 
to personnel working on a day by day basis who receive a stipend in lieu of any and all 
benefits (i.e. health insurance, retirement, sick time, holidays, and annual leave). 
Nursing Home per diem employees are expected to work at least three (3) times per 
month, with one (1) of those times being on a weekend, and must also work one (1) of the 
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major holidays, i.e., July 4
th

, Labor Day, Thanksgiving, Christmas Eve, Christmas Day or 
New Year‟s Eve or New Year‟s Day.  If/when any “needs bonuses” are in effect, per diem 
staff must work the expected three (3) times per month before being eligible for a needs 
bonus payment.  When an employee goes from a benefited position to a per diem 
position, all accrued benefits, including longevity bonus, will be paid off and benefits will no 
longer accrue from that point on.  However, the employee will retain his/her anniversary 
date and receive the per diem stipend in lieu of benefits. 

 
10.  Union Representatives:  The term “Union Representative” as used in this Agreement 
refers to employees authorized by the Union for purposes of handling Union business as 
described herein in Article 3 Union Rights. 

 

ARTICLE 49 

DURATION 

 
1.  This Agreement shall become effective upon execution by the parties and shall remain 

in full force and effect through June 30, 2010.  

 

Term of Agreement to be three (3) years, with the exception of Article 25  

Wages, including COLA, and Article 27 Health Insurance, which will be negotiated 

 annually. 

 
2.  Re-negotiation of this Agreement shall be initiated by written notification by one party to 

the other no later than October 01, 2009.  The parties shall mutually agree upon a time 
and place for negotiations and shall commence within thirty (30) days of receipt of such 
notice.  Such written notice shall be deemed given when mailed by certified mail. 
IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the parties hereto by their authorized representatives have 

executed this Agreement on this _______ day of __________ 2007. 

 

 
 
FOR THE COUNTY:     FOR THE UNION: 
 

Grafton County Commissioners 
 

____________________________                   __________________________ 

Michael Cryans     Rachel Clough, UE Field Organizer 

 

____________________________  __________________________ 

Raymond S. Burton    Stuart Goodwin, UE 278 President 

 

____________________________    

Martha Richards      
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GRAFTON COUNTY CLASSIFICATION SCHEDULE 

                (Nursing Home Bargaining Unit) 

 
                Classified Positions by Department 
Position        Grade 

  Executive   Technical  
Wage Scale            Wage Scale 

Student         Minimum Wage 

Dietary Services: 
Cook           7 
Nutrition Dietary Aide         3  
Dietary Aide          2 
 

Nursing Services: 
MNA           8 
LNA 3 (Team Leader)         8 
LNA2           6  
LNA1 (Unlicensed)          5 
Unit Aide          2 
Staffing Coordinator         7 
Paid Feeding Assistant (PFA)       3 

 
Health Information: 

Medical Transcriptionist      3 
Unit Secretary      2 
 

Physical Therapy: 
Restorative Aide/LNA        6 
 

Activities: 
 Assistant Director         7 

Certified Activities Aide         4 
Uncertified Activities Aide        3 
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GRAFTON COUNTY CLASSIFICATION SCHEDULE (Cont'd) 

(Nursing Home Bargaining Unit) 

 
  Executive        Technical  
Wage Scale       Wage Scale 

Laundry & Linen:  
Seamstress          3 
Machine Operator         4 
Laundry Aide         2 

 
Housekeeping: 

Senior Housekeeper        4 
Certified Housekeeper        3 
Uncertified Housekeeper       2 

 
Social Services: 
 Social Services Assistant     4 
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APPENDIX A 

 

(Wage Scales) 

 

Effective June 24, 2007 
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APPENDIX B 

 

(Wage Scales) 

 

Effective July 1, 2008 
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APPENDIX B-1 

 

(Wages and Health Insurance) 

 

Effective July 1, 2008 
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APPENDIX C 

 

(Wage Scales) 

 

Effective July 1, 2009 
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APPENDIX C-1 

 

(Wages and Health Insurance) 

 

Effective July 1, 2009 
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CHECK-OFF AUTHORIZATION 

 
 To:____________________________________________________________ 
 
 

I authorize and direct you to deduct from my biweekly pay, while I am employed by 
the County in the Unit covered by the collective bargaining Agreement, an amount 
equal to UE membership dues and assessments (Fair Share) as designated by the 
Union and to promptly remit the same to UE Local _____ , United Electrical and 
Machine Workers of America (UE). I have been informed and understand that, as a 
condition of employment, I do not have to become a member of the Union.  I further 
understand and have been informed that I must maintain my membership, including 
the payment of periodic dues for the life of the current collective bargaining 
Agreement. 
 
This assignment and authorization shall continue until revoked and cannot be 
revoked unless it is revoked by me within thirty (30) days preceding the expiration of 
the collective bargaining agreement.  Such notice of revocation shall become 
effective respecting the dues for the month following the month in which such 
written notice is given. 
 
Revocation shall be effective only if I give the County and UE Local _______, 
United Electrical, Radio & Machine Workers of America (UE) written notice, and it is 
received and postmarked during the period specified above. 
 
 
 
Employee Signature: ______________________________________________ 
 
Department: _____________________________________________________ 
 
Effective Date: ___________________________________________________ 

 

 


