
 

Application/licensing process not completed within 120 days will be purged. 
New Hampshire has a mandatory licensing law; no one shall practice as a licensed nursing-assistant (LNA) without a valid 

New Hampshire issued license. LNA Initial Application – Updated 10/2016 

 

State of New Hampshire 
OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL LICENSURE AND CERTIFICATION 
Board of Nursing 
121 South Fruit St Suite 102 
Concord NH 03301 
 

APPLYING FOR AN INITIAL NURSING ASSISTANT LICENSE 
There are three main ways to qualify for an initial NH Nursing Assistant License. 

The table and checklist below will help guide you in the application process. 

Section I Section II Section III 

License by Competency Evaluation: License by Comparable Education: License by Endorsement: 

This means that you have completed a NH 
Nursing Assistant Education Program and 
written and clinical testing. 

This means that you have completed the 
Nursing Fundamentals portion of a RN or 
LPN program or a LNA Challenge Exam 
and written and clinical testing. 

This means that you hold an active 
Nursing Assistant License, Certification   
or Registration in another state. 

 

Must be Completed for licensure: 
 

 ❑ YES I have followed Board directives (www.state.nh.us/nursing), to comply with the new FBI fingerprint and NH background 

check requirements and provided the required fee of $47.00, payable to: State of NH -Criminal Records. 
 

Your criminal record will be processed and sent directly to the Board of Nursing. Please be aware that the NH Board of 
Nursing cannot complete the application process until we have received and reviewed your criminal record report. The Board 
can only accept criminal record reports that are sent to us by the NH State Police. 

 

I have attached a copy of my LNA 
Education Program Certificate: 

YES ❑ 

 
        AND 

 
I have attached a final Report of my Written 
and Clinical Competency Testing Results: 

YES ❑ 

I have attached a copy of  my Nursing Program 
Official Transcript documenting completion of 

Nursing Fundamentals: 

YES ❑ 

OR 

Letter from my Nursing Program verifying 
completion of Nursing Fundamentals: 

YES ❑ 

   OR 

Challenge Exam Certificate and final report 
of Written and Clinical Competency 

Testing Results: 

  YES ❑ 

I have attached a copy of my out-of-state 
Nursing Assistant License or certificate: 

YES ❑ 

I have completed and sent request for 
verification of any/all out of state 

licenses/certifications/registrations: 

YES ❑ 

AND 
I have completed and attached the Contact 

Hour Documentation Form 

YES ❑ 

*You may make multiple copies of the 
verification form if needed* 

I have completed and attached the NH 

Board of Nursing 

 Application for Initial 

NH Nursing Assistant License 

YES ❑ 

I have completed and attached the NH 

Board of Nursing 

 Application for Initial 

NH Nursing Assistant License 

YES ❑ 

I have completed and attached the 

Board of Nursing  

Application for Initial  

NH  Nursing Assistant License: 

YES ❑ 

I have attached a check or money order 
for $35.00, payable to: Treasurer, State 
of New Hampshire (please note that all 

fees are non-refundable): YES ❑ 

I have attached a check or money order 
for $35.00, payable to: Treasurer, State of 
New Hampshire: (please note that all fees 

are non-refundable): YES ❑ 

I have attached a check or money order 
for $35.00, payable to: Treasurer, State of 
New Hampshire: (please note that all fees 

are non-refundable): YES ❑ 

 Print Name: 

 

 

 

 Signature:                  Date: 

Date: 
 

The Board of Nursing does not provide paper licenses and does not notify the applicant when licensed. 
Licensure can be verified on the Board website at www.nh.gov/nursing under the “On-Line Verification” link in the “Quick Links” box 

on the right hand side of the Home Page. 

http://www.state.nh.us/nursing),
http://www.nh.gov/nursing


 

Application/licensing process not completed within 120 days will be purged. 
New Hampshire has a mandatory licensing law; no one shall practice as a licensed nursing-assistant (LNA) without a 

valid New Hampshire issued license. LNA Initial Application – Updated 10/2016 

 

State of New Hampshire 
OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL LICENSURE AND CERTIFICATION 
Board of Nursing 
121 South Fruit St Suite 102 
Concord NH 03301 
  

Application for an Initial (New) Nursing Assistant License by  
Competency Evaluation or Comparable Education 

 
Please note that all questions must be answered or your application will be returned to you. 

Last Name: First Name: Middle: M
i
d
d
l
e
 
I
n
i
t
i
a
l
: 

Maiden/Other Names Used: 

Home Address:   Email: 

City or Town:  C
o
u
n
t
y
: 

State: Zip Code: 

Date of Birth: 
/   / 

Phone Number: 
(  )      -- 

Social Security # (required): 
__  __  __  --  __  __  --  __  __  __  __ 

If you answered YES to any question(s) 1 - 4, you must attach a letter of explanation. 

1. Have you ever received disciplinary action against any nursing assistant license, certification or nursing license, in any state 

or jurisdiction including reprimand, probation, suspension, revocation, educational or practice stipulations, fines or voluntary 

 surrender?  YES ❑  NO ❑ 

2. Have you previously or currently been impaired by or diverted any chemical substances that impaired your ability to 
practice that has not been annulled?    YES ❑  NO ❑ 

3. Have you ever been convicted of a felony or any criminal act, not including traffic offenses?                     YES ❑        NO ❑ 

 (Note:  Driving While Intoxicated and Driving Under the Influence are not “traffic violations.”) 

4. Do you have a mental or physical problem that makes you incompetent to provide nursing-related activities? 

  YES ❑         NO ❑ 

Do you want your name and address on a list of nurses that may be made available for purchase?  YES ❑    NO ❑ 

Do you want your name and address on a list that may be made available for individuals conducting healthcare research? 

                        YES
.
 ❑         NO ❑ 

Name of Nursing or Nursing Assistant Program: 

Date of Program Certificate or completion of fundamentals of 
Nursing course: 

Written and Clinical Evaluation Date:  

Were any special arrangements made for you during the nursing assistant program or competency testing because of a physical or 

mental condition?      *YES ❑  NO ❑ *If YES, please attach a letter of explanation. 

Were there any special arrangements made for you during the nursing assistant program or competency testing because of a physical 

or mental condition?  *YES ❑ NO ❑          *If YES, please attach a letter of explanation. 

Name of current or previous Employer: Phone Number of  Employer: 
 

(         )             -- 

Check here if you are not currently employed   
as a Nursing Assistant  ❑ 

Have you received reimbursement for your LNA education?  YES ❑ NO ❑ 

Do you now hold or have you ever held a Nursing Assistant Certification, License or 

Registration in any other state?  YES
.
 ❑   NO ❑ *If you answered YES, please list 

each state in which you have held a certification, license or registration.  

(You can use the back of this page) 
 

State(s): Lic. Type: Exp Date: 

UNDER PENALTY OF PERJURY, I state the information provided is accurate to the best of my knowledge and belief. I understand knowingly 
providing false information may be grounds for denial, probation, reprimand, suspension or revocation of a license (RSA 326-B:37) and 
may be grounds for conviction of a misdemeanor (RSA 641:3). 

 Full Signature of Applicant: Date: 

 

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY 

Fee: ________________ 

Rec'd: _______________ 

Ck/MO # _____________ 

LIC # ________________ 

Issued: _______________ 



     State of New Hampshire   Criminal Records Unit 

         Department of Safety        33 Hazen Drive, Concord, NH  03305 
                     DIVISION OF STATE POLICE 

 
 NEW HAMPSHIRE BOARD OF NURSING RECORD INFORMATION AUTHORIZATION 
 

BOARD OF NURSING NH RSA 326-b:15 

            
                           INSTRUCTIONS 

NH RSA 106-B:14 and Administrative Rule Saf-C 5700 authorizes the dissemination of NH Criminal History Record Information (CHRI)  for non-
criminal justice purposes.   In NH, all CHRI is confidential and released only upon the knowledge and permission of the individual of whom the 
request is made.  Individuals requesting their own record in person need only to complete Section I.  If the CHRI is to be released to a third party, 
both Section I and Section II must be completed.  All requests by mail must have both sections completed and Section II notarized. 

SECTION I (PLEASE PRINT CLEARLY) 

Last Name___________________________ First Name _____________________Maiden __________________ MI____ 

Address________________________________ City_____________________________ State_______ Zip____________ 
 
Date of Birth _________________________ Hair Color____________ Eye Color__________             Male        Female 
 
Driver’s License Number___________________________________   State______________ 
 
  My signature below signifies I am the individual listed above and the information provided is true. 
 

Signature ___________________________________________________  Date ___________________________ 
                  Signed under penalty of unsworn falsification pursuant to RSA 641:13 

 

      SECTION II 
I hereby authorize the release of my criminal record conviction(s), if any, to the following: 
 

New Hampshire Board of Nursing 

 
 Address   121 South Fruit Street         City Concord           State  NH       Zip   03301       
 
Your Signature_____________________________________________________________   Date___________________ 
 
Notary’s Signature __________________________________________________________ (AFFIX SEAL) 

 
Signature of person/entity to receive record      New Hampshire Board of Nursing         Date _________________ 
   

 

       RECORD CHALLENGE 
Saf-C 5703.12 Procedure for Correcting a CHRI  (a)  Persons or their attorneys desiring access to their CHRI for the purpose of challenge or correction shall appear at the 
central repository.  (b)  A copy shall be provided to a person if after review he/she indicates he/she needs the copy to pursue the challenge. (c)  Any person making a challenge 
shall identify that portion of his/her CHRI which he/she believes to be inaccurate or incorrect, and shall also give a correct version of his/her record with an explanation of the 
reason that he/she believes his/her version to be correct.  (d)  The director shall take the following actions within 30 days of receipt of challenge:  (1)  Review the records and 
contact the law enforcement agency or court which submitted the record to compare the information to determine whether the challenge is valid; (2)  If the challenge is valid, 
which means there is a discrepancy between the information submitted and the information maintained by the law enforcement agency or court, the record shall be corrected and 
the person and appropriate CJAs shall be notified; and (3)  If the challenge is invalid, the person shall be informed and advised of the right to appeal pursuant to RSA 541. (e)  
When a record has been corrected, the division shall notify all non-criminal justice agencies, to whom the data has been disseminated in the last year, of the correction.(f)  The 
person shall be entitled to review the information that records the facts, dates, and results of each formal stage of the criminal justice process through which he passes, to ensure 
that all such steps are completely and accurately recorded. 
 

WARNING: The Division of State Police is the Criminal Record Repository for the State of New Hampshire. The record you 
have received is based only on what has been reported to the Repository and may not be a complete Criminal 
History Record of the named individual.  

 

                          FEES 
 

          LIVESCAN - $37.00 ($47.00 if printed at a state police Livescan site)          INKED - $47.00 
 
     NOTE: Make check or money order payable to:  State of NH – Criminal Records 
           
 
                        Applicant fingerprint card must be submitted at the same time as payment and this form. 

 

DSSP387 
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