New Hampshire Board of Nursing Logo
New Hampshire Board of Nursing banner
New Hampshire Board of Nursing - an official New Hampshire Government website
Smaller text size Reset text size Larger text size
skip navigation

Frequently Asked Questions > RNs and LPNs

How do I verify my New Hampshire license when I apply for a nursing license in another state?

Where can I find a description of the scope of practice for RNs and LPNs?

Can I apply for a temporary license?

If my license is inactive and I have not worked as a nurse for 400 hours in the past 4 years, what do I need to do in order to reinstate my license?

How do I apply for a NH license by endorsement?

back to top

How do I verify my New Hampshire license when I apply for a nursing license in another state?

If New Hampshire was the state in which you first became licensed and you would like to obtain a nursing license from another jurisdiction, contact the Board of Nursing in the state in which you seek licensure and request forms for applying for a license by endorsement. A directory of the board of nursing of all the states can be found at www.ncsbn.org.

As of January 1, 2006, New Hampshire has joined the national license verification center known as NURSYS. In order to provide license verification to another jurisdiction if you are applying for a nursing license, you must activate your license information by contacting NURSYS directly at www.nursys.com to complete the process on line, or write directly to NURSYS, National Council of State Boards of Nursing, Inc., 35531 Eagle Way, Chicago IL 60678-1353. The fee for activating your license information is $30.00, payable by credit card if you register on line, and by certified check, cashier's check or money order if you register by mail. License information will be accessible by the Board of Nursing to which you are applying within 1 week of receipt of your application and fee by National Council. The verification report will remain active in the NURSYS data base for 90 days, after which it expires, and will no longer be accessible. If you have questions, please contact the NURSYS License Verification Department at (312) 525-3780 or toll free at (866) 819-1700.

Where can I find a description of the scope of practice for RNs and LPNs?

The scope of practice for each category of licensees is found in the Nurse Practice Act which is officially known as New Hampshire Law, RSA 326-B. The Nurse Practice Act and the Administrative Rules that govern nursing practice in New Hampshire can be found under the heading of Nurse Practice Act.

  • For Registered Nurses, the scope of practice is found in RSA 326-B:12.
  • For Licensed Practical Nurse, the scope of practice is found in RSA 326-B:13.

back to top


 

Can I apply for a temporary license?

The following individuals may apply for a temporary license:

  • New graduates from RN or LPN programs who live in NH or a non-compact state and have also applied for a New Hampshire license by examination, but have not yet taken NCLEX for the first time
  • Students who are enrolled in a program leading to a registered nursing degree who have completed 600 hours of nursing study in fundamentals of nursing, medical-urgical nursing, and maternal-child health nursing and who have applied to take the NCLEX-PN examination and live in NH or a non-compact state.
  • RNs and LPNs who have an active license in another US jurisdiction who have applied for a New Hampshire license by endorsement.
  • Graduates of nurse practitioner programs who have a New Hampshire RN license, have applied for ARNP licensure in New Hampshire, and who have scheduled a date to take their national certification exam.
  • RNs and LPNs who are enrolling in one of the RN or LPN re-entry programs.
  • RNs and LPNs who are enrolling in one of the RN or LPN re-entry programs MUST have a temporary license before beginning the re-entry program. All temporary licenses expire 120 days from the date of issue, or 120 days from the date the application for license by examination is received, or upon notification of passing or failing the NCLEX or certification examination.
  • No temporary license can be issued until the Board of Nursing has received and reviewed your criminal background check and fingerprint results.
  • All temporary licenses issued by the Board of Nursing are single state licenses and allow the individual to practice nursing only in New Hampshire.

back to top


 

If my license is inactive and I have not worked as a nurse for 400 hours in the past 4 years, what do I need to do in order to reinstate my license?

If you have not been "active in practice" for at least 400 hours in the past 4 years, you must complete a re-entry program approved by the Board of Nursing. You can read about re-entry programs by going to Re-enty Process for RNs and LPNs.

How do I apply for a NH license by endorsement?

In order to apply for a license by endorsement, you must have an active license in another state. In addition, you must meet the continuing competence requirements in NH which include having earned 30 continuing education contact hours in the past 2 years, and having been "active in practice" for a minimum of 400 hours in the past 4 years. "Active in practice" means working in your license category, either for pay or in a volunteer status. Information about continuing competence can be found under Continuing Competence and directions & forms for license application are available under Forms.

  • If your permanent residence is in a compact state other than New Hampshire, you are not eligible for a New Hampshire nursing license. In order to practice nursing in New Hampshire, you must obtain a multi-state license in the compact state you declare as your permanent address.
  • If you are moving to New Hampshire from another compact state, you may practice nursing in New Hampshire with your multi-state license from the compact state from which you are moving for 30 days. You must obtain a nursing license in New Hampshire within 30 days of moving to New Hampshire. Failure to obtain a NH nursing license within 30 days may result in disciplinary action for working without a valid license. Information about the Nurse Licensure Compact is available on the web site.
  • If you are applying for a RN or LPN license by endorsement from another state, you may request an application for a temporary license to allow you to practice nursing while your application is being processed. See information above about temporary licenses. A temporary license will allow you to practice in New Hampshire, but will not allow you to practice in another compact state.

In order to process your application for license by endorsement, you must provide the following to the New Hampshire Board of Nursing:

back to top


New Hampshire Board of Nursing
121 South Fruit Street   |  Concord, NH 03301
Nursing (603) 271-2323  |  Nursing Assistant (603) 271-6282
Fax (603) 271-6605