Every licensee must renew her/his license every two years, before midnight of her/his birthday. Post cards reminding licensees of the need to renew are mailed about 6 weeks prior to the expiration date to the address that you have filed with the Board of Nursing. Failure to notify the Board of your address change may result in a $10.00 fine, and a delay in renewing your license.
We encourage you to renew your license on line. If you don't have personal access to a computer, you may try the library in your town. If you are unable to renew your license on line, return your renewal postcard to the Board of Nursing requesting a paper application to be sent to you. Remember that your license renewal may be delayed if you must wait for mail services. Renewing on line is easy and quick. Instructions to access your code will be available on the renewal postcard We accept only MasterCard, Visa and Discover for on-line licensing. If your license application has been marked for Continuing Education audit, you can download the form and return to firstname.lastname@example.org or mail the required documentation.
Names of licensees who are scheduled to renew in the next monthly cycle will be posted on the web site. Even if you have not received a postcard, you may begin the online process if your name appears on the renewal list. Go to the on-line renewal section and follow the directions to obtain a registration code.
Failure to receive the renewal reminder post card does not relieve you of the responsibility of renewing your license by the expiration date.
Your license entitles you to work under a specific scope of practice. If you choose to work at a lower level of licensure, you must apply for and have an active license for that level. You must also meet the requirements for work hours and continuing education for that level of licensure.
Make sure you Notify the Board of any address change before your license expires.
The Board of Nursing is no longer issuing a paper copy of a license. You can print a verification of your license status 24/7 through the on-line verification system. The on-line verification provides the most up-to-date record of license status changes. You must verify that you have completed the process as instructed.
Change of address and name forms are on the web site under "Licensure, Applications and Other Forms." You can mail the completed Change of Address form to:
New Hampshire Board of Nursing
121 South Fruit Street
Concord, NH 03301
You can fax the completed form to (603) 271-6605
You can email your changes to email@example.com
Please be sure to include your name, license number, former address (and/or name) and new address (and/or name). If you fail to notify the Board of Nursing of your address change, you may be fined $10.00.
If you do not renew your license, your license will automatically become inactive at midnight on your birthday in your renewal year. Your name will always be kept on file at the Board of Nursing, and you can reinstate your license at any time if you meet continuing competence requirements which include "active in practice" and continuing education requirements.
Remember! You may not work as a nurse or nursing assistant in New Hampshire or, for RNs and LPNs, in another compact state if your license has expired. If you work as a nurse or nursing assistant after your license is expired, you must pay a fine (see fee schedule). If you live in New Hampshire, you may not work as a nurse in another compact state if your license has expired. If you move your residence to another compact state, you must obtain a nursing license in the state to which you have moved within 30 days of moving. You must notify the Board of Nursing that you have moved. Your NH nursing license will automatically be inactivated 30 days following a change of residence to another nurse compact state.
If your license has expired, you may reinstate your license and pay the fee for reinstatement if you meet continuing competence requirements which include "active in practice" and continuing education. To reinstate your license, call the Board of Nursing (603 271-2323) or send an email to firstname.lastname@example.org and request a reinstatement application. The original license number you were assigned will always be your license number. When you complete your reinstatement application you must attest that you have met all the continuing competency requirements which includes "active in practice" for the required hours and have completed the required number of continuing education hours.
If you wish to reinstate your license, but you have not met the continuing competency requirements, you must complete the re-entry process appropriate for your license category.
REMEMBER! You may not work as a nurse or nursing assistant in New Hampshire or as a nurse in another compact state if your license has expired. If you work as a nurse after your license is expired, you must pay a fine (see fee schedule).
The active in practice in practice requirements for all licensees are described under Continuing Competence.
The continuing education requirements for all licensees are described Continuing Competence.
A contact hour is equal to 60 minutes of attendance at an education program, or 50 minutes of time devoted to completion of a self-learning program or computerized program. A CEU is 10 Contact Hours. The requirements for your license renewal are stated in terms of contact hours. Nurses must complete 30 contact hours every 2 years, and LNAs must complete12 contact hours every year.
The Board does not require that your contact hours be earned at conferences that provide "official" contact hours from a professional certifying organization. Any organized learning program that enhances your nursing or nursing assistant knowledge, judgment, or skills may qualify to meet the requirements for re-licensure. You may complete any or all of your contact hours through professional journal continuing education programs or via Internet learning programs. However, in order for self-learning activities to be valid for license renewal, you must complete the journal or Internet process by submitting the post test to the sponsor or complete other requirements in order to receive your certificate. Examples of activities that meet continuing education requirements for licensure are found under Continuing Competence.
If the postcard you receive reminding you of the need to renew your license is stamped with "CE Audit" in red letters, you have been selected for an audit of your continuing education activities. You must submit a description of your continuing education along with your renewal application. You do not need to send copies of the certificates that you received when you attended programs. You must write down on the form provided a list of program titles, contact hours awarded, and the sponsoring agency for continuing education you completed in the past 2 years. Only activities that were completed within the 2 calendar years preceding your license renewal date can be considered. You will be able to print out the Continuing Education Audit Form when you begin the on-line process. You must send electronically or mail the completed form to the Board office. See information on Continuing Competence.
A license is issued by the Board of Nursing "in good faith" based on actual receipt of the licensing fee. If the funds in your checking account are insufficient to cover the cost of the license, the license will immediately become invalid. Your license will be posted as "inactive" on the on-line verification system if your check is returned to us by the NH Treasury for insufficient funds. You are responsible for checking the verification web site to assure your license is valid. If you work as a nurse or nursing assistant in New Hampshire while your license is invalid, you are working without a license, and are subject to an administrative fine.
New Hampshire Board of Nursing
121 South Fruit Street | Concord, NH 03301
Nursing (603) 271-2323 | Nursing Assistant (603) 271-6282
Fax (603) 271-6605