New Hampshire Board of Nursing Logo
New Hampshire Board of Nursing banner
New Hampshire Board of Nursing - an official New Hampshire Government website
Smaller text size Reset text size Larger text size
skip navigation

How to obtain your Criminal Background Check in NH

Attention All Applicants and Licensees Requiring a Federal Bureau of Investigation Record Check

The State Police Criminal Records Unit now offers Livescan fingerprint capture for individuals requiring a record check through the FBI. This digital capture of fingerprint impressions will nearly eliminate poor print rejection from the FBI. Please see below for location, times of operation, and other pertinent information.

Department of Safety Building
33 Hazen Dr.
Concord NH  03305
First Floor, Room 124
Hours of Operation:  Monday thru Friday 8:30 am to 3:30 pm

Please call the NH State Police in Concord at (603) 223-3867 and ask to be scheduled for applicant (or licensee) fingerprinting. Please arrive 10 minutes prior to your scheduled time. Arrival of more than 10 minutes late will require you to reschedule at another date and time. Expect the process to take approximately 20 minutes.

Please note: a 24 hours notice is required for all cancellations.

  • Photo identification
  • Completed Criminal Record Release Authorization Form PDF file (sections I and II)
  • Payment by check, money order, or credit card (Visa, MasterCard, or American Express)
     

    Fees for appearing at State Police Headquarters in Concord

    $51.50 for licensing
    $26.50 for third time submission

Out of state applicants using other NH Law Enforcement Agencies will continue to mail fingerprint cards and Criminal Background Record Release Authorizations to the Board of Nursing office with fees indicated below:

  • Fingerprint cards and authorization forms will be provided by the Board of Nursing with endorsement and examination application forms;
  • The applicant only needs to submit one card;
  • The cost of the Livescan and inked cards to the NH State Police are $51.50;
  • Please note:  some law enforcement sites charge additional fees for their service;
  • If you are applying on-line, please contact the Board for fingerprint cards at boardquestions@nursing.state.nh.us  You will need the specific card from the Board of Nursing as they have a code number that allows communication of the results back to the Board Using a different card may result in the Board not receiving results and will delay the licensure process.
  • The fee of a Livescan performed out of state on cards mailed form the Board office is $51.50.

To challenge a FBI criminal record finding, click the below link or copy & paste the link into your browser and follow the instructions on the FBI web site.

PDF file Adobe Acrobat Reader format. You can download a free reader from Adobe.


New Hampshire Board of Nursing
121 South Fruit Street   |  Concord, NH 03301
Nursing (603) 271-2323  |  Nursing Assistant (603) 271-6282
Fax (603) 271-6605