Center for the Book Logo Center for the Book at the New Hampshire State Library
About the Center
  Advisory Board
  Bylaws [pdf]
  Announcements & Media Advisories
  Directions & Parking
Join the Center
NH's Literary Community
NH's Literary Tradition
Programs & Activities
News & Events
About the Center  

Press Release
NHSL logo

The Center for the Book at New Hampshire State Library

For Immediate Release
Contact: Mary Russell, 603-271-2866
April 7, 2011

Letters About Literature New Hampshire Semi-finalists Have Been Selected

Letters About Literature is a reading and writing promotion program of the Center for the Book in the Library of Congress, presented in partnership with Target Stores and coordinated in New Hampshire by the Center for the Book at the New Hampshire State Library.

This year forty-seven semi-finalist letters were selected out of 624 letters received from New Hampshire students. There are three competition levels in the program: upper elementary, middle school, and high school. In April, the Center for the Book at the New Hampshire State Library will award $100 to first place winners from each competition level. State winners will advance to the national competition where they could win a $500 Target GiftCard and a $10,000 LAL Reading Promotion Grant for their community.

To enter, young readers wrote a personal letter to an author explaining how his or her work changed their view of the world or themselves. Readers selected authors from any genre—fiction or nonfiction, contemporary or classic. The contest’s theme encouraged young readers to explore their personal response to a book and then express that response in a creative, original way.

Congratulations to all the 2011 Letters About Literature New Hampshire semi-finalists!

Abigayle Rasmussen - Stratham

Adam Letarte - Milford

Andrew Kwist - Gilford

Andrew H. Thomson - Hopkinton

Angela Toth - Nashua

Annika Barth - Lee

Arun Falk - Madbury

Bethany Clarke - Gilford

Camryn Lavoie - Stratham

Chelsea Bonollo - Hopkinton

Drew Stetson - Stratham

Elizabeth Higgins - Lisbon

Elizabeth G. Morse - Center Sandwich

Emma Gagne - Pembroke

Erin Angel Choate - Lisbon

Gabriele Nedeau - Sandwich

Gordie MacDonald - Hopkinton

Haley Jodoin - Pembroke

Jake Tinkham - Gilford

Jamison Edge - Center Sandwich

John Boynton - South Hampton

John Barron Fredricks - Rochester

Kaitlyn Nelson - Milford

Katy Gore - Londonderry

Kayla Bullwinkel - Milford

Kristin Chan - Nashua

Logan Westfall - Londonderry

Lucy Cunningham - Center Sandwich

Meghan Michel - Greenland

Micaela Griffin - Hampstead

Mitchell Genkinger - Rochester

Morgan Barlow - Milford

Morgan Jones - Stratham

Morgan Sulham - Bath

Parker Caswell - Sandwich

Rachel Ann Malcolm - Alstead

Sarah Lappin - Meriden

Sedona Clothier - Madbury

Serena Uliano - Salem

Sophie Higgerson - Norwich, VT

Storm Sideleau - Contoocook

Sydney Simo - Milford

Victoria Nafranowicz - Pembroke

Wyett MacDonald - Plainfield

Please note that in addition to the students listed here, there were 3 additional students honored as semi-finalists who had not given us permission to announce their names as of today.

--- END ---

nh seal NH.gov | Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy