New Hampshire Real Estate Commission

EXAM REQUIREMENTS

Under New Hampshire law, to become licensed, a person must have reached the age of eighteen, show proof of completion of educational requirements, and must successfully pass either a NH Real Estate broker’s or salesperson’s exam.

The New Hampshire Real Estate exams are developed and administered by Applied Measurement Professionals, Inc. of Olathe, Kansas, an independent testing company under contract with the State of New Hampshire.

The exams are provided through computer based testing, twice daily, Monday through Friday at four different locations:  Concord, Manchester, Nashua, and Portsmouth.  For additional information go to the testing company's web site:  www.goamp.com.

The registration fee for the salesperson examination is $155 and the registration fee for the broker examination is $170.  To obtain the registration form, go to the following link Registration Form or  go to the testing company's web site.

All exam registration forms, along with the examination fee must be submitted to the NH Real Estate Commission office at:

NH Real Estate Commission
64 South Street
Concord, NH 03301

 

 

IMPORTANT NOTICE FOR SALESPERSON'S APPLICANTS

  Candidates for the salesperson's examination shall show proof of completion of 40 hours of approved study, pursuant to RSA 331-A:10, I and administrative rule Rea 301.03 (o) and (p).
 

    Rea 301.03 (o) Candidates for the salesperson examination shall complete 40 hours of approved study prior to the date of examination, pursuant to RSA 331-A:10, I. 

    Rea 301.03 (p)  Evidence of beginning and successfully completing 40 hours of accredited pre-licensing education may be submitted consisting of the following:

        (1) New Hampshire accredited pre-licensing course with a minimum of 32 hours of classroom attendance and no more than 8 hours of distance education within 1 year prior to the date of examination in compliance with the following:

            a.  Pre-licensing distance education shall only be allowed for acceptable absences, such as, but not limited to:

                1.  Family emergencies;

                2.  Illnesses; and

                3.  Other unforeseen circumstances;

            b.  All distance education shall be provided through audio or visual recordings or correspondence delivery with a final examination consisting of a minimum of 25 questions; and

            c.  Pre-licensing distance education shall not exceed 2 classes; or

        (2)  A minimum of 32 hours of classroom attendance and no more than 8 hours of distance education within 1 year prior to the date of examination consisting of 34 hours of accredited national material completed in another state and a minimum of 6 hours of New Hampshire accredited state material.                           

      

IMPORTANT NOTICE FOR BROKER EXAM APPLICANTS

  Before registering to take the broker’s exam, please remember that there is an experience requirement under RSA 331-A:10, II that must be satisfied before the commission can process your registration. You must have been employed full time by an active principal broker for at least one year within 5 years of the date of application; or have at least 2000 hours part-time as a licensed salesperson in this state within 5 years of the date of application; or prove to the commission that you have the equivalent experience.

These waivers are very difficult to get but - if you have the experience and can prove it - you should consider contacting the licensing department of the Commission to schedule an appointment at 603/271-2702.

In addition to the experience requirement broker applicants will be required to submit evidence acceptable to the commission of at least 6 separate real estate transactions in which the applicant was actively involved and was compensated or proves to the commission that the applicant has equivalent experience.

PLEASE NOTE:  Candidates for the broker examination shall show proof of completion of 60 hours of approved study, pursuant to RSA 331-A:10 II and Rea 301.03(j) through (n), consisting of the following:

Rea 301.03 (j) Candidates for the broker examination shall show proof of completion of 60 hours of approved study, pursuant to RSA 331-A:10, II consisting of the following:

    (1)   A juris doctor degree from an accredited law school obtained by a licensed attorney who actively practices or practiced in real estate law within the last 5 years; or
  
    (2)  One of the following degrees within 5 years prior to the date of examination:

           a.  A bachelor's degree with a major in real estate from an accredited college, university or
                institute of higher learning; or

           b.  A bachelor's degree from an accredited college, university or institute of higher learning,
                having completed coursework equivalent to a major in real estate; or

           c.  An associate degree in real estate from an accredited institution; or

    (3)  Successful completion of the education requirements and receipt of the designation for at least one of the following within 5 years prior to the date of examination:

          a.  Certified Commercial Investment Member (CCIM); or
          b.  Graduate, Realtor Institute (GRI)
 

(k)  The following items may be applied towards the 60 hours of approved study:

     (1)  Real Estate continuing education courses previously approved by the New Hampshire Real
           Estate Commission for credit that have been successfully completed within 24 months prior to
           the date of examination may be submitted consisting of one or more of the following:

            a. One 3 hour accredited core course; and

            b. Accredited elective courses;

    (2)  Evidence of beginning and successfully completing 40 hours of accredited pre-licensing education may be submitted consisting of the following:

           a.  New Hampshire accredited pre-licensing education with a minimum of 32 hours of classroom attendance and no more than 8 hours of distance education within 1 year prior to the date of examination in compliance with the following:

                1.  Pre-licensing distance education shall only be allowed for acceptable absences, such as, but not limited to:

                    i.   Family emergencies;

                    ii.  Illnesses; and

                    iii. Other unforeseen circumstances;

            b.  A minimum of 32 hours of classroom attendance and no more than 8 hours of distance education within 1 year prior to the date of examination consisting of 34 hours of accredited national material completed in another state and a minimum of 6 hours of New Hampshire accredited state material; or


     (3)  Real estate related credit courses successfully completed within the past 5 years at an accredited college, university or institute of higher learning, and evidenced by a transcript, may be submitted to the commission for approval, including courses with topics, such as, but not limited to: 

           a.   Accounting;
           b.  Management;
           c.  Real estate law;
           d.  Finance;
           e.  Real estate investment;
           f.  Appraisal courses; and
           g.  Paralegal courses.

(l)  Each hour of the courses outlined in (k)(1) and (2) above, shall count towards one hour of credit toward the required 60 hours.  All 3 credit or more courses submitted and approved under (k)(3) as real estate related education shall receive 12 credit hours.

(m)  Schools or individuals may seek accreditation of education not included in (j)(3) and (k)(1) through (3) above or (o) below by submitting the course content outline, course materials, course hours, and certificate of completion to the New Hampshire real estate commission.

(n) For purposes of (k)(2) above, proof of a pre-licensing course previously used to fulfill the salesperson's education requirement shall not be used to fulfill the broker education requirement.
 

(q)  Candidates who pass any portion of the examination but fail to satisfy the education requirement pursuant to RSA 331-A:10 prior to the date of examination, shall be required to re-take the exam in its entirety.

(r)  Examination candidates shall not send the application for license and license fee to the real estate commission until after they have received notification that they passed both the uniform and state portions of the written examination, or passed the state portion for reciprocal non-resident licensees.    

"Exam Information"