Bradford, New Hampshire
- One quarter mile north of the intersection of N.H.
Routes 103 and 114 on the Bradford Center Road in
Bradford. The bridge spans the west branch of the Warner River.
- Style of Bridge:
- Long truss
- Year of Construction:
- Original Cost:
- Structural Characteristics:
- The bridge is 60'6" long with a clear span of 53'9".
It has an overall width of 19'3" with a roadway width
of 16'2", and a maximum vertical clearance of 13'2". It is posted for three tons.
- Maintained By:
- Town of Bradford
- World Guide Number:
- New Hampshire Number:
- Historical Remarks:
This is the third bridge at this location. Tradition has it that
Colonel Stephen H. Long, a Hopkinton native and a member of
the U.S. Army Topographical Engineers, built the bridge entirely
of hemlock. No evidence was found however to support
or dispute the claim. Much of Colonel Long's bridge building
experience came from his employment with the Baltimore and
Ohio Railroad. While working for the railroad, he developed a
plan for a new covered bridge truss that became nationally
known as the Long truss. Long patented his design in 1830. In
1835 and 1837 he patented improvements to the design. The
town extensively rebuilt the bridge in 1947. The bridge was
closed in March 1968 and repaired by the state in 1969 for
$24,478.14. One-third of the cost was borne by the town.
Vehicular damage to the bridge was repaired in 1987 by the state
at a cost of $2,000. A cracked floor beam was repaired by the
town during the winter of 1989-1990. The Bement Bridge is
listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
Table of Contents
New Hampshire Bridges
New Hampshire Covered Bridges
Compiled and edited by
Richard G. Marshall
Chief System Planning
New Hampshire Department of Transportation
Color photographs by Arthur F. Rounds