FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: December 8, 2009
Mary Kate Ryan, NH Division of Historical Resources
Shelly Angers, N.H. Department of Cultural Resources
Six properties added to New Hampshire State Register of Historic Places
The New Hampshire Division of Historical Resources is pleased to announce that the State Historic Resources Council has added six individual properties to the New Hampshire State Register of Historic Places. Two of those properties were added to the Francestown Main Street Historic District, which was established in June 2008.
The State Register has helped honor the significance of many historic properties across New Hampshire. Publicly owned State Register-listed properties may be eligible for Conservation License Plate (“Moose Plate”) funds or other grants for repair and restoration.
The most recent additions to the New Hampshire State Register of Historic Places are:
Jeremiah Smith Grange #161, Lee. This former church, built in 1841, was converted to a grange hall in 1891 and still serves as a center for community gatherings in the agricultural town of Lee.
Moulton-Greene-Leach House, Moultonborough. This house is an excellent example of a Greek Revival-style connected farm building, the once-common house style that is key to the historic agricultural landscape of New England.
Nathan Gould House, Stoddard. Built in 1833, this house—which records indicate may incorporate an 1815 farmhouse that was moved to town—showcases the work its carpenter-owner and is an excellent example of Greek Revival architecture.
Old Thornton Town Hall, Thornton. Built in 1789 and substantially renovated in 1861, this building shows the changing needs of a small town hall and reflects a community’s unique adaptation of those needs.
The two properties added to the Francestown Main Street Historic District are the James Crombie House, built in 1819 by a local doctor, and The Beehive, once part of the Francestown Academy.
Anyone wishing to nominate a property to the New Hampshire State Register of Historic Places must research the history of the nominated property and document it fully on individual inventory forms from the New Hampshire Division of Historical Resources. Having a property listed in the Register does not impose restrictions on private property owners. For more information, visit www.nh.gov/nhdhr.
New Hampshire's Division of Historical Resources, the “State Historic Preservation Office,” was established in 1974. The historical, archeological, architectural, engineering and cultural resources of New Hampshire are among the most important environmental assets of the state. Historic preservation promotes the use, understanding and conservation of such resources for the education, inspiration, pleasure and enrichment of New Hampshire’s citizens. For more information, visit us online at www.nh.gov/nhdhr or by calling (603) 271-3483.