Official New Hampshire website
NHSCA logo 50th anniversary tagline


 nh arts home
 program services
trans div
 arts & artists
   arts ed roster
   traditional artists
   health care artists
   poet laureate
   artist laureate
trans div
nh folklife
 news & calendar
 about us
 site map



Arts & Artists  

Governors Arts Award Categories

Governors Arts Awards have been presented since 1980. The Award categories have grown over time. Below is the list of award categories for the 2015 awards.

Arts Education Award:
Recognizes an individual, nonprofit organization, school district or community that has made an outstanding contribution to arts education within the past three years. Contributions may include innovation and/or sustained contributions to arts education in the classroom, leadership in a school such as the implementation of a comprehensive arts curriculum; the securing of increased funding to arts education; or other significant contribution to arts education.

Cultural Access Leadership Award:
Recognizes a New Hampshire nonprofit organization for providing increased access to the arts for individuals in health care settings and/or individuals with physical, mental or emotional disabilities. Access can include adapting the presentation of art-making, art exhibits, musical performances, and theatrical productions so that people with disabilities have opportunities to experience the arts and/or bringing enriching arts activities into hospitals, nursing homes or rehabilitation centers to support an environment of healing.

Community Spirit Award:
Recognizes a city, town, or village government or community wide organization (e.g. Municipality, Chamber of Commerce, or Main Street program) or an individual that significantly fostered the arts through funding and/or program initiatives within the past three years. Examples include major municipal support to a cultural facility or public art program, establishment of a local arts commission or council, the creation of unique public/private partnerships to promote cultural tourism and/or significant increases in local public support for the arts.

Distinguished Arts Leadership Award:
Recognizes an individual who has played a sustained role in the advancement, direction, or management of a New Hampshire not-for-profit arts organization. Examples may include Executive Director, Artistic Director or Board President.

Folk Heritage Award:
Recognizes a New Hampshire traditional folk artist who has made a significant contribution to his or her art form and the cultural community, reflecting a lifetime of achievement. Traditional art forms are those art forms, passed informally from generation to generation, that reflect the culture of a particular community defined by ethnic heritage, occupational, religious, geographic, or familial groups.

Individual Arts Patron Award:
Recognizes a New Hampshire resident who has made a significant contribution to the support of the arts in New Hampshire. Contributions may include donations of money, time, goods, or services that over time have significantly increased support for the arts.

Lotte Jacobi Living Treasure Award:
Recognizes a professional New Hampshire artist, in any discipline, who has made a significant contribution to his or her art form and to the arts community of New Hampshire, reflecting a lifetime of achievement. This award is named after the late Johanna Alexandra (Lotte) Jacobi (1896-1990), a photographer of great national and international renown. Born in Germany, she immigrated to the United States and spent her latter years as a resident of Deering, NH.

Special Awards:
Occasionally, the State Arts Council recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the arts in New Hampshire but do not fit into any of the above categories. These unique awards are determined by the State Arts Council and presented at Governors Arts Awards.


Last updated: February 12, 2015

nh | privacy policy | accessibility policy