Official New Hampshire government website
New Hampshire Board of Mental Health Practice
Consumers Licensees Candidates for Licensure


About the Board > Minutes of the Public Session
(Minutes are entered once read and approved by the Board)


Present:   Sheila Renaud-Finnegan, David Braiterman, Joan Staigers Haley, Deborah Warner, Gail Mears and David Sundell. 

Members of the public present for the discussion on testing by mental health professionals licensed with the Board of MHP were:  Shawn Hassell, MS, LMFT, Phyllis Mackey, MS, LMFT, George Samuels, MA, MSW, LMFT, LICSW, Tom Burns, Ph.D.,Licensed Psychologist, Leisl Bryant, Ph.D. Licensed Psychologist and Alan Goodman, Ph.D., LCMHC.

Not present ---

Board meeting was called to order at 9:00 AM.

Draft minutes of the April 16, 2010 meeting were reviewed.  Motion was made by Sheila Renaud-Finnegan and seconded by David Braiterman to approve the minutes with a correction to the vote on the minutes.  It should be noted that Gail Mears abstained from the vote on the March 19, 2010 minutes because she was not present at that meeting.   

Motion passed.  DS abstained because he was not present at the 4/16/10 meeting 


A.  Tracy George – The Board reviewed a letter from Ms. George asking the Board if there are any practice guidelines for letting an intern observe individual or family therapy sessions.  Motion was made by David Sundell and seconded by David Braiterman to thank Ms. George for her diligence and refer her to NASW Code 1.03 f which addresses her question.  Motion passed unanimously.


A.  HB 410 – Passed the House and the Senate.  This billis relative to the licensing of alcohol and drug counselors and goes into effect 60 days after it’s passage which was May 12, 2010. 

B.  SB 463 – Passed the House and the Senate.  This bill makes changes to RSA 330-A and goes into effect July 1, 2010.

C.  SB 499 – Passed the House and the Senate.  This bill is relative to administration support of certain professional regulatory boards by the Dept. of Health and Human Services.  The Board of MHP is included in this bill which goes into effect July 1, 2010.


A.  The Board held this discussion in response to a letter they received from an LICSW inquiring what is necessary for her to develop expertise in administering and interpreting achievement and psychometric tests. 

B.  Members of the public presented commentary both oral and written

C.  The Board’s position on this matter is that all persons licensed with the Board of Mental Health Practice are licensed to do mental health practice as defined by NH Law RSA 330-A: VI.  All persons licensed with this Board need to abide by their Codes of Ethics and provide services in areas in which their education, training, license, supervision and other experience render them competent to perform.


A.  The final text with changes made in response to the JLCAR comments to MHP 200 and Mhp 300-500 will be put on the agenda for a vote at the next meeting which is scheduled for Friday, June 11, 2010. 

Upon the motion of David Sundell and seconded by David Braiterman, the Board, by roll call vote, resolved to conduct a non-public session for the purpose of discussing application, investigations of alleged misconduct of licensees, in accordance with RSA 91-A:3, II (c), RSA 91-A:3, II (e), RSA 91-A:5, IV, Lodge v. Knowlton, 118 N.H. 574 (1978), and the Board’s executive and deliberative privileges.  Each member recorded his or her vote on the motion, which passed by the unanimous vote of all members present.

Upon the motion of David Sundell and the second of David Braiterman,  the Board by roll call vote, resolved to withhold the minutes of the preceding non-public session, with the exception of approved applications, responses to motions and disciplinary actions until they are served, from public disclosure pursuant to RSA 91-A:3, III on the grounds that public disclosure would be likely to affect adversely the reputation of a person other than a Board member and to render the proposed action ineffective.  Each member recorded his or her vote on the motion, which passed by the unanimous vote of all members present.


 A.  Approved mental health counselors:  Deena Lewis, *James O’Hearn, Anna Sommer-Cutts.

B.  Approved clinical social workers:  Elizabeth Enright, Jeannine Ouellette, Melissa Fernald, Iphigenia Hatt,    Lisa Lawry, Paul Caver.

C.  Approved psychologists:  2 applicants approved to sit for EPPP.

D.  Approved marriage & family therapists – no applicants reviewed this month

E.  Approved pastoral psychotherapists – no applicants reviewed  this month

  *Gail Mears recused from James O’Hearn


A.  Mental Health Counselors: Akira Stuckey, Sarah Morin, Adrienne Cress, Kathleen May, Sandra Luiz.

B.  Social Workers: Adrienne Cameron, Leah Elliott, Lori Chase, Pamela Haskins, David Marshall, Gretchen Grappone.

C.  Marriage & Family Therapists:  Dana Burns

D.  Psychologists: Lauren Shaw, Katerina Tolstikova, Alisa Hurwitz

E.  Pastoral Psychotherapists:  no agreements reviewed this month


A.  Jason E. Butler, MSW -A Show Cause Hearing as to why the Board should not revoke the license of Jason E. Butler, MSW is scheduled for 6/11/2010 at 9 AM at the Board office, 117 Pleasant Street, Concord, NH 03301.

B.  Alan Gladsden, Ph.D. – The Board issued orders on the following motions submitted by his attorney

1.  Assented to Motion to Extend Deadline

2.  Motion for Instructions

Meeting was adjourned at 3:30 PM

Next meeting scheduled for June 11, 2010

Telephone: 603-271-6762
TDD Access: Relay NH 1-800-735-2954
NH State Seal | privacy policy | accessibility policy Copyright (c) State of New Hampshire, 2007