Official New Hampshire government website
New Hampshire Board of Mental Health Practice
Consumers Licensees Candidates for Licensure


About the Board > Minutes of the Public Session
(Minutes are entered once read and approved by the Board)



Present:   Sheila Renaud-Finnegan, David Braiterman,  Kay Sternenberg, Joan Staigers Haley, Tom Boulter, Karen Jennings, David Sundell

Not present: --- Gail Mears

Tom Boulter called the meeting to order at 9:00 AM

Draft minutes of the September 18, 2009 meeting were reviewed.  Motion was made by Joni Haley and seconded by Kay Sternenberg to approve the minutes as read.

Motion passed.

For: KJ, DS, SRF, KS, TB, JH
Opposed: 0
Recused: DB


A.  Robert Desmarais – Mr. Desmarais sent a letter to the Board, including a spreadsheet, comparing the Board News Complaint History dated April 2009 with information he found in Board minutes on the website.  Motion was made by Sheila Renaud-Finnegan and seconded by Kay Sternenberg to send a letter to Mr. Desmarais stating the Board is in receipt of his letter and has reviewed it.   Mr. Desmarais also suggested the Board list the number of licensees, broken down by profession, on the Board  website.  The Board will post this information and update it on an annual basis.  Motion passed.

B.  Joseph S. Rallo, Ph.D. – The Board reviewed paperwork from ASPPB asking them to affirm that they continue to meet the criteria for membership in the ASPPB Agreement of Reciprocity.  Motion was made by Karen Jennings and seconded by Kay Sternenberg to inform ASPPB that NH no longer wishes to participate in the agreement as they can no longer meet the requirement of the oral examination for psychologists due to final proposed rule changes.   Motion passed.


A.  Janet M. Schwenger, Ph.D. – A hearing was held on the application of Janet M. Schwenger, Ph.D. applicant for licensed psychologist.  The Board issued an Order granting Dr. Schwenger a license.


A.Motion was made by Joni Haley and seconded by David Sundell to add the following statement regarding goals to page 4 of the Candidate for Licensure: Supervision Agreement:  Please submit a goal specific to the code of ethics the candidate is bound to by the NH Code of Administrative Rules.  Motion passed


A.  The Board reviewed a draft form titled:  Report of Alleged Misconduct Form.  This form may be used by persons wishing to report alleged misconduct to the Board.  Motion was made by Tom Boulter and seconded by Kay Sternenberg to approve the form.  This form will be posted on the website but is not required to be used.


A.  The Board formally recognized and thanked Karen Jennings, Ph.D. for her six years of dedicated service to the Board.  Dr. Jennings was appointed by the Governor for two terms and served as the psychology member of the Board as well as Board investigator. 


A.  HB 410 (LADAC licensing) – Committee meeting scheduled for Tuesday, October 20, 2009.  Tom Boulter and Sheila Renaud-Finnegan will attend.  Motion was made by Kay Sternenberg and seconded by David Sundell to oppose HB410 as amended.  The Board also feels that if the bill passes and co-occurring disorders are added to the responsibility of the LADAC Board, the Legislature should make some changes to the Bill. Either the responsibility for oversight of the mental health aspect of MLADACs should be moved to the Board of Mental Health Practice or the LADAC Board should retain that responsibility but should increase their expertise in mental health treatment.  The Board of Mental Health Practice also feels the two Boards should create closer ties either by legislation or other informal agreement.   Motion passed.

B.  HB 2 (consolidation of Boards) – Committee meeting scheduled for Tuesday, October 20, 2009.  Ms. Lynch will attend.

Upon the motion of Kay Sternenberg and seconded by David Sundell, the Board, by roll call vote, resolved to conduct a non-public session for the purpose of discussing application, investigations of alleged misconduct of licensees, in accordance with RSA 91-A:3, II (c), RSA 91-A:3, II (e), RSA 91-A:5, IV, Lodge v. Knowlton, 118 N.H. 574 (1978), and the Board’s executive and deliberative privileges.  Each member recorded his or her vote on the motion, which passed by the unanimous vote of all members present.

Upon the motion of Kay Sternenberg and the second of David Sundell, the Board by roll call vote, resolved to withhold the minutes of the preceding non-public session, with the exception of approved applications, responses to motions and disciplinary actions until they are served, from public disclosure pursuant to RSA 91-A:3, III on the grounds that public disclosure would be likely to affect adversely the reputation of a person other than a Board member and to render the proposed action ineffective.  Each member recorded his or her vote on the motion, which passed by the unanimous vote of all members present.


A.  Approved mental health counselors:  no applications approved this month

B.  Approved clinical social workers:  Robert Thompson, Kimberly Heenan, Julie Lamb*

C.  Approved psychologists:  Sarah Kohl

D.  Approved marriage & family therapists – Kevin Kervick

E.  Approved pastoral psychotherapists – no applicants this month


A.  Mental Health Counselors:  Christopher Jones, Jill Burns, Sophia Dongas, Jodie Lubarsky

B.  Social Workers: John Iudice, Cynthia Wheeler, Leah Day, Holly Schaefer, Abigail Trnovsky 

C.  Marriage & Family Therapists:  Pilar Seidler

D.  Psychologists:  Sueyoung Song, Gretchen Huff Hunter, Graham Hunter

E.  Pastoral Psychotherapists – Amy Alletzhauser

Meeting was adjourned at 2:30 PM

Next meeting scheduled for Friday, November 20, 2009

Telephone: 603-271-6762
TDD Access: Relay NH 1-800-735-2954
NH State Seal | privacy policy | accessibility policy Copyright (c) State of New Hampshire, 2007