Official New Hampshire government website
New Hampshire Board of Mental Health Practice
Consumers Licensees Candidates for Licensure


About the Board > Minutes of the Public Session
(Minutes are entered once read and approved by the Board)

BOARD MEETING MINUTES - September 18, 2009


Present:  Sheila Renaud-Finnegan, Gail Mears,  Kay Sternenberg, Joan Staigers Haley, Tom Boulter, Karen Jennings, David Sundell

Not present: --- David Braiterman

Tom Boulter called the meeting to order at 9:00 AM

Draft minutes of the July 17, 2009 meeting were reviewed. Motion was made by David Sundell and seconded by Kay Sternenberg to approve the minutes as read.

 Motion passed.

For: GM, KJ, DS, SRF, KS, TB
Opposed: 0
Recused: JH


A. Charlotte O’Connell, NASW president – Ms. O’Connell notified the Board that Sheila Renaud-Finnegan, Board member, has been chosen as one of two recipients of the ASWB Sunny Andrews Award for outstanding commitment to social work regulatory board service. The Board congratulated Ms. Renaud-Finnegan on this award which will be presented to her at ASWB’s annual meeting in Florida in October.

B. Catherine Stone – Ms. Stone’s wrote to the Board asking if Capella University satisfies the residency requirement of Mhp 302.17 (c) (d) for licensure in the State of NH? Motion was made by Sheila Renaud-Finnegan and seconded by Kay Sternenberg to respond to Ms. Stone informing her that the Board does not pre-approve specific programs and that she should take her concerns up with Capella University as they would need to meet NH standards. Motion passed

C. Dr. Prouty, Ph.D., LMFT - petitioned the board for a waiver of Mhp 301.05 (a)(3) for clinicians while they are enrolled in Antioch’s MFT doctoral program. Motion was made by Joni Haley and seconded by Kay Sternenberg to send Dr. Prouty a letter explaining the Board cannot issue a blanket waiver and to inform her that if there are any Antioch MFT doctoral students who are applying for licensure before the new rules are adopted they need to request a waiver and the Board will grant it.

D. Robert Desmarais – Mr. Desmarais wrote to the Board asking for various demographic information regarding board investigators, trainings, CEU’s etc. Motion was made by Tom Boulter and seconded by Sheila Renaud-Finnegan to       let Mr. Desmarais know that he is welcome to come to the Board office to view all public materials available regarding investigators, trainings and disciplinary actions taken by the Board. Motion passed.


A. Elyse Barry, Ph.D. – The Board issued an Order postponing the hearing on Dr. Barry’s application for clinical mental health counselor. The hearing scheduled for October 16, 2009 is postponed and a prehearing conference on this matter is scheduled for November 20, 2009 at 10 AM.


A. Mhp 100 Final Proposal – Motion was made by Kay Sternenberg and   seconded by Karen Jennings to approve Mhp 100 final proposal. Motion passed   

B. Mhp 200 Final Proposal – Motion was made by David Sundell and seconded by Kay Sternenberg to approve Mhp 200 final proposal.   Motion passed.

C. Mhp 300-500 Final Proposal – Motion was made by Gail Mears and seconded by David Sundell to approve Mhp 300-500 final proposal. Motion passed.


A. HB 410 (LADAC licensing) – Committee meeting scheduled for Tuesday, September 22, 2009. Tom Boulter and Sheila Renaud-Finnegan will attend.

B. HB 2 (consolidation of Boards)– Committee meeting scheduled for Tuesday, September 22, 2009. Ms. Lynch will attend.


A. Motion was made by Kay Sternenberg and seconded by Tom Boulter to find a representative to submit proposed law changes to RSA 330-A: 12, RSA 330-A:18, RSA 330-A:19 and RSA 330-A:31. Motion passed.

Upon the motion of Kay Sternenberg and seconded by David Sundell, the Board, by roll call vote, resolved to conduct a non-public session for the purpose of discussing application, investigations of alleged misconduct of licensees, in accordance with RSA 91-A:3, II (c), RSA 91-A:3, II (e), RSA 91-A:5, IV, Lodge v. Knowlton, 118 N.H. 574 (1978), and the Board’s executive and deliberative privileges. Each member recorded his or her vote on the motion, which passed by the unanimous vote of all members present.

Upon the motion of Kay Sternenberg and the second of David Sundell, the Board by roll call vote, resolved to withhold the minutes of the preceding non-public session, with the exception of approved applications, responses to motions and disciplinary actions until they are served, from public disclosure pursuant to RSA 91-A:3, III on the grounds that public disclosure would be likely to affect adversely the reputation of a person other than a Board member and to render the proposed action ineffective. Each member recorded his or her vote on the motion, which passed by the unanimous vote of all members present.


A. Approved mental health counselors:  Matthew Anderson, Franchesca Demaria, Erin Kelly, Jill Lerner.

B. Approved clinical social workers: Katherine Ellsworth, Melissa Fitzpatrick, Beth Ann Clauss, Kelly Fox, Gretchen Lacouture, Gail Minschwaner, Danielle Oliver and Deb Proulx.

C. Approved psychologists: John Petrou, Laura Kroodsma, Gina Pasquale

D. Approved marriage & family therapists – no applicants this month

E. Approved pastoral psychotherapists – no applicants this month


A. Mental Health Counselors: Darcie Blodgett, Christine Lamirande, Heather Crowell, Sarah Morin, Allison Smith, Jeffrey Hardy, Stacie Lucious, Shannon Wong, Tiffany Toom, Elizabeth Bean, Erin Crangle, Peter Fifield.

B. Social Workers: Nancy Gill, Elizabeth Enright, Laura Brien, Catherine Robitaille, Rebecca Parizo, Rebecca Austin, Amanda Babineau, Stacy Carpenter, Katherine Hersom, Heidi Moran, Adrienne Cameron, Gavin Smith.

C. Marriage & Family Therapists: Pilar Seidler

D. Psychologists:  Beth Connelly, Christopher Griffith, Rachel Whipple.

E. Pastoral Psychotherapists – no applicants this month


A. Mary McCrae – Dr. Mary McCrae has been appointed as an investigator for the Board.

Meeting was adjourned at 3:45 PM

Next meeting scheduled for Friday, October 16, 2009


Telephone: 603-271-6762
TDD Access: Relay NH 1-800-735-2954
NH State Seal | privacy policy | accessibility policy Copyright (c) State of New Hampshire, 2007