Official New Hampshire government website
New Hampshire Board of Mental Health Practice
Consumers Licensees Candidates for Licensure


About the Board > Minutes of the Public Session
(Minutes are entered once read and approved by the Board)



Present:  Sheila Renaud-Finnegan, Gail Mears, Thomas Boulter, David Sundell, David Braiterman, Joan Staigers Haley, Karen Jennings and Kathleen Sternenberg.

Not present: ---

Joan Staigers Haley called the meeting to order at 9:00 AM

Draft minutes of the June 13, 2008 meeting were reviewed. Motion was made by Sheila Renaud-Finnegan and seconded by Gail Mears to approve the minutes with a word change (memorandum to replace response) on page 2, V.

Motion passed.

For: SRF, TB, KJ, DS, KJ, GM, JH
Opposed: 0
Recused: 0
Not participating: DB

I.   Correspondence – no public correspondence this month

II. Rules

A. Motion was made by Karen Jennings and seconded by David Sundell to approve the final draft rules Mhp 100-500 as the initial proposal and to obtain a fiscal impact statement from the Legislative Budget Assistant. Motion passed.

III. Application for PCI

A. The revised application for PCI was approved.

IV. Review of 2004 Audit Report Observations

A. Motion was made by David Sundell and seconded by Kay Sternenberg to put the Board’s Memorandum to the 2004 LBA Audit Report on file at the Board office. Motion passed.

V.  Spanish Bill of Rights

A. Motion was made by Joni Haley and seconded by Karen Jennings to expend funds from Class 020 to have Graphic Services print 100 copies of the Spanish Bill of Rights in the formal format. Motion passed.

VI.  Presentation on a program to assist impaired professionals

A. Dr. Sally Garhart – Dr. Garhart, Medical Director of the New Hampshire Health Program (PHP) presented information to the Board about a program she runs for impaired professionals.

Upon the motion of Tom Boulter and seconded by Kay Sternenberg, the Board, by roll call vote, resolved to conduct a non-public session for the purpose of discussing application, investigations of alleged misconduct of licensees, in accordance with RSA 91-A:3, II (c), RSA 91-A:3, II (e), RSA 91-A:5, IV, Lodge v. Knowlton, 118 N.H. 574 (1978), and the Board’s executive and deliberative privileges. Each member recorded his or her vote on the motion, which passed by the unanimous vote of all members present.

Upon the motion of Tom Boulter and the second of Kay Sternenberg, the Board by roll call vote, resolved to withhold the minutes of the preceding non-public session, with the exception of approved applications, responses to motions and disciplinary actions until they are served, from public disclosure pursuant to RSA 91-A:3, III on the grounds that public disclosure would be likely to affect adversely the reputation of a person other than a Board member and to render the proposed action ineffective. Each member recorded his or her vote on the motion, which passed by the unanimous vote of all members present.


A. Approved mental health counselors: Judith Glick, Kris Geno, Christine McNiff, Valerie Piper, Mark Robinson. (GM recused from vote on Ms. Glick and Ms. McNiff)

B. Approved clinical social workers: Anne Gray, Cindy Lamontagne, Sara Kachnowski, Michael Haliski, Rachael Robertson, Megan Taylor, Alison Kinsman.

C. Approved psychologists: Kathryn Workman

D. Approved marriage & family therapists – Hana Lowe, Jillian Beverstock, Laurie Ann Chase

E. Approved pastoral psychotherapists – no applicants this month


A. Mental Health Counselors: Lindsay Bergeron, Susan Huebel, Michelle Zoeller, Christine Meehan, Derek Edge, Peter Marshall, Christine Ricard, Codie Chevalier, Jessica Turgeon, Theresa McCafferty, Priscilla Thompson, Crystal Cookman.

B. Social Workers: Gretchen Grappone, Catherine McAllister-Charles, Rebecca Blake, Dawn Wyman, Melissa Henrick, Stacy Carpenter.

C. Marriage & Family Therapists: Jessica Ross, Roclyn Porter (3)

D. Psychologists: Meghan Estey

E. Pastoral Psychotherapists – no agreements this month

III. DOCKETED MATTER – DeVries, Kit  Docket No. 07-2004

A. Motion was made by Gail Mears and seconded by David Sundell to issue the Decision and Order on this matter.

Motion passed.

For: TB, DB, SRF, DS, GM
Opposed: 0
Recused: KJ, JH
Not participating: KS

Meeting was adjourned at 3:00 PM

Next meeting scheduled for Friday, September 12, 2008

Telephone: 603-271-6762
TDD Access: Relay NH 1-800-735-2954
NH State Seal | privacy policy | accessibility policy Copyright (c) State of New Hampshire, 2007