Official New Hampshire government website
New Hampshire Board of Mental Health Practice
Consumers Licensees Candidates for Licensure


About the Board > Minutes of the Public Session
(Minutes are entered once read and approved by the Board)



Present:   Sheila Renaud-Finnegan, Gail Mears, Thomas Boulter, David Sundell,  David Braiterman, Joan Staigers Haley and Kathleen Sternenberg.

Not present:  Karen Jennings

Joan Staigers Haley called the meeting to order at 9:00 AM

Draft minutes of the May 16, 2008 meeting were reviewed.  Motion was made by Sheila Renaud-Finnegan and seconded by David Braiterman to approve the minutes as read. 

Motion passed.

For:  SRF, TB, KJ, DS, DB, GM, JH
Opposed: 0
Recused: 0

I.  Correspondence

A.  Su McKinnon, Ed.D. – The Board reviewed a letter from Ms. McKinnon in which she requested the Board review coursework.    Motion was made by David Braiterman and seconded by Kay Sternenberg to respond to Ms. McKinnon that the Board does not comment on specific coursework until a full application for licensure is submitted and refer her to the rules for specifics.  Motion passed unanimously.

B.  Robert E. Murphy – The Board read and filed a copy of correspondence from Mr. Murphy regarding Laurence M. Kelly, Ed.D. addressed to the NH Supreme Court regarding a Notice of Appeal.

II.  Rules

A.  Draft rules reviewed.  Ms. Lynch will try to complete the final draft with strike outs and deletions as required by the Division of Administrative Rules for Board review at the July 18, 2008 meeting.  The Board anticipates the rules to be filed in Fall 2008. 

 III.  Application for PCI

A.  Ms. Lynch will redraft the application with changes suggested by the Board.

IV.  Statement of Financial Interests

A.  Statements of Financial Interest were distributed to Board members to be completed.  The completed forms will be submitted to the Secretary of States’s office.

V.  Review of 2004 Audit Report Observations

A.  The Board reviewed the draft memorandum to the 2004 audit report.  Revisions suggested by the board will be made and the report will be re-reviewed in July.

VI.  ED & A and Mental Health Commission

A. This committee will meet on 7/11/08 to discuss co-occurring disorders and   LADAC’s.  The meeting will be held at 105 Pleasant Street, Main Building, 3rd floor.

 VII.  On-line renewal

A.   On line renewal will be discussed in detail at a later date. 

Upon the motion of Tom Boulter and seconded by David Braiterman, the Board, by roll call vote, resolved to conduct a non-public session for the purpose of discussing application, investigations of alleged misconduct of licensees, in accordance with RSA 91-A:3, II (c), RSA 91-A:3, II (e), RSA 91-A:5, IV, Lodge v. Knowlton, 118 N.H. 574 (1978), and the Board’s executive and deliberative privileges.  Each member recorded his or her vote on the motion, which passed by the unanimous vote of all members present.

Upon the motion of Tom Boulter and the second of David Braiterman, the Board by roll call vote, resolved to withhold the minutes of the preceding non-public session, with the exception of approved applications, responses to motions and disciplinary actions until they are served, from public disclosure pursuant to RSA 91-A:3, III on the grounds that public disclosure would be likely to affect adversely the reputation of a person other than a Board member and to render the proposed action ineffective.  Each member recorded his or her vote on the motion, which passed by the unanimous vote of all members present.


A. Approved mental health counselors: Jennifer Ivas, Wayne Castro.

B.  Approved clinical social workers:  Lori Edwards, Sara Pelletier, Lynne Edgecomb-Nickerson, Shirley Daigneault, Janet LaCourse.

C.  Approved psychologists:  Benjamin Presskreischer, Margit Berman, Naomi Leavitt, Edward Heck, Susan Hawes, Scott Schinaman, Melissa Wallace, Stephen Kelliher, Martha Dunn

D.  Approved marriage & family therapists – no applicants approved this month

E.  Approved pastoral psychotherapists – no applicants this month


A.  Mental Health Counselors:  Judith Allen, Jacob Champney, Gavin Cherry, Dorinda Washer, Heather Crowell, Kelly Marston, Sara Bergeron, Susan Wright, Lisa Josephs.

B.  Social Workers:  Douglas Weed

C.   Marriage & Family Therapists:  Kristen Johnson, Patricia Pasquarelli, Elizabeth LaChapelle,

D.  Psychologists:  Antoinette Mathisen

E.  Pastoral Psychotherapists – no agreements this month

III.  DOCKETED MATTER – Laurence Kelly, Ed.D.  Docket No. 07-006

A.   The Board reviewed Respondent’s Motion for Rehearing/Reconsideration and   Hearing Counsel’s Objection to Motion for Rehearing/Reconsideration in non-public session.  Motion was denied.

B.   The Board reviewed an Assented Motion for Stay in non-public session.  Motion was denied.

IV.  NOTICE OF HEARING – Lauren Rhodes, Ed.D.  – Docket No. 08-001

A.  A hearing on the application of Lauren Rhodes is scheduled for October 17, 2008 (Applying for LCMHC)

Meeting was adjourned at 3:30 PM

Next meeting scheduled for Friday, July 18, 2008

Telephone: 603-271-6762
TDD Access: Relay NH 1-800-735-2954
NH State Seal | privacy policy | accessibility policy Copyright (c) State of New Hampshire, 2007