Official New Hampshire government website
New Hampshire Board of Mental Health Practice
Consumers Licensees Candidates for Licensure


About the Board > Minutes of the Public Session
(Minutes are entered once read and approved by the Board)


Present:   Sheila Renaud-Finnegan, Gail Mears, Thomas Boulter, Karen Jennings, David Sundell,  David Braiterman, Joan Staigers Haley and Kathleen Sternenberg.

Not present:  ----

Joan Staigers Haley called the meeting to order at 9:00 AM

Draft minutes of the April 18, 2008 meeting were reviewed.  Motion was made by David Braiterman and seconded by Tom Boulter to approve the minutes with a change of wording under the Karen Wayment correspondence from:  will begin to look into this matter to by doing further research with other states. 

Motion passed.

For:  SRF, TB, KJ, DS, DB, GM
Opposed: 0
Recused: KS, JH

I.  Correspondence

A.  Samuel Feldman  - The Board reviewed a letter requesting the International College of Professional Psychology, Inc. (ICPP) be granted recognition/approval parity with entities to whom the Board currently grants such privileges.  Motion was made by Karen Jennings and seconded by Gail Mears to deny this request.  Motion passed unanimously.

II.  September Board meeting date change

A.  Motion was made by Gail Mears and seconded by Tom Boulter to change the date of the September board meeting from 9/19/08 to 9/12/08.  Motion passed unanimously.

III.  Rules

A.  The Board discussed revisions suggested from advisory committees and made some changes.  A draft of the rules will be presented at the June 13, 2008 meeting for Board review.

IV.   Report Review

The Board received a report by James McKay titled Fulfilling the Promise: Transforming New Hampshire’s Mental Health System.

Ms. Renaud-Finnegan informed the Board that there is a legislative committee that meets monthly to discuss LADAC’s and co-occurring disorders.  Motion was made by Kathleen Sternenberg and seconded by Tom Boulter to have Ms. Lynch contact Mr. McKay and let him know that the Board would like to be a part of this discussion.  Motion passed unanimously.

Upon the motion of Tom Boulter and seconded by David Braiterman, the Board, by roll call vote, resolved to conduct a non-public session for the purpose of discussing application, investigations of alleged misconduct of licensees, in accordance with RSA 91-A:3, II (c), RSA 91-A:3, II (e), RSA 91-A:5, IV, Lodge v. Knowlton, 118 N.H. 574 (1978), and the Board’s executive and deliberative privileges.  Each member recorded his or her vote on the motion, which passed by the unanimous vote of all members present.

Upon the motion of Tom Boulter and the second of David Braiterman, the Board by roll call vote, resolved to withhold the minutes of the preceding non-public session, with the exception of approved applications, responses to motions and disciplinary actions until they are served, from public disclosure pursuant to RSA 91-A:3, III on the grounds that public disclosure would be likely to affect adversely the reputation of a person other than a Board member and to render the proposed action ineffective.  Each member recorded his or her vote on the motion, which passed by the unanimous vote of all members present.


 A.  Approved mental health counselors: Andrew Engert, Elizabeth Cirelli, Amy Lewis, Lindsay Goldstein and Eric Andrews.

B.  Approved clinical social workers:  Lisa Chichester, John LeBow, Audrey Marshall, Joanne Watson and Marjorie Briand.

C.  Approved psychologists:  Suzanne Kuchel,  Denise Leville and Cynthia Whitaker.

D.  Approved marriage & family therapists – no applicants this month

E.  Approved pastoral psychotherapists – no applicants this month


A.  Mental Health Counselors:  Leah Breckridge, Robert Novak, Loren Caruso, Mary Short, Ellen Eberhart, Amy Kolemick, Gail Farrington, Elizabeth Tomai, Dorinda Washer, Donna Torney, Laurel Sutton (DB and JH recused from DT)

B.  Social Workers:  Lisabeth Townsend, Kimberly Cushing, Leslie Henderson, Chris Dearborn

C.  Marriage & Family Therapists:  no agreements this month

D.  Psychologists:  Fred Gerhard

E.  Pastoral Psychotherapists – no agreements this month

III.  DOCKETED MATTER – Laurence Kelly, Ed.D.  Docket No. 07-006

A.  The Board reviewed Respondent’s Motion for Rehearing/Reconsideration and Hearing Counsel’s Objection to Motion for Rehearing/Reconsideration in non-public session.  Motion was denied.

B.  The Board reviewed an Assented Motion for Stay in non-public session.  Motion was denied.

Meeting was adjourned at 3:30 PM

Next meeting scheduled for Friday, June 13, 2008



Telephone: 603-271-6762
TDD Access: Relay NH 1-800-735-2954
NH State Seal | privacy policy | accessibility policy Copyright (c) State of New Hampshire, 2007