Official New Hampshire government website
New Hampshire Board of Mental Health Practice
Consumers Licensees Candidates for Licensure


About the Board > Minutes of the Public Session
(Minutes are entered once read and approved by the Board)



Present:   Sheila Renaud-Finnegan, Gail Mears, Joan Staigers Haley,  Kay Sternenberg, David Braiterman, Tom Boulter and Karen Jennings.

Not present:   David Sundell

Tom Boulter called the meeting to order at 9:00 AM

Draft minutes of the March 27, 2009 meeting was reviewed.  Motion was made by Joni Haley and seconded by Kay Sternenberg to approve the minutes as read. 

Motion passed.

For: GM, KJ, JH, SRF, KS, DB, TB
Opposed: 0

I.  Correspondence

A.  Michael Kandle – The Board reviewed an inquiry from Dr. Kandle regarding the Notes from the Board sent out with the renewal information.  Motion was made by Karen Jennings and seconded by Gail Mears to inform Dr. Kandle that the correct answer to his inquiry is his interpretation #1.  These are frequently occurring themes but in no particular order.  Motion passed.

B.  Appeal of Laurence Kelly, Ed.D. – The Board read and filed the Decision of the Supreme Court on this matter.  The Board recognizes the reversed decision and has removed all information from the National Data Bank.

II.  HB 410 – relative to the licensing of drug and alcohol counselors

A.  Motion was made by Joni Haley and seconded by Gail Mears to send a letter to Laurie Harding, Vice Chair of ED & A asking that the Board be included on the study committee of this bill.  Motion passed.

Upon the motion of David Braiterman and seconded by Joni Haley, the Board, by roll call vote, resolved to conduct a non-public session for the purpose of discussing application, investigations of alleged misconduct of licensees, in accordance with RSA 91-A:3, II (c), RSA 91-A:3, II (e), RSA 91-A:5, IV, Lodge v. Knowlton, 118 N.H. 574 (1978), and the Board’s executive and deliberative privileges.  Each member recorded his or her vote on the motion, which passed by the unanimous vote of all members present.

Upon the motion of David Braiterman and the second of Joni Haley, the Board by roll call vote, resolved to withhold the minutes of the preceding non-public session, with the exception of approved applications, responses to motions and disciplinary actions until they are served, from public disclosure pursuant to RSA 91-A:3, III on the grounds that public disclosure would be likely to affect adversely the reputation of a person other than a Board member and to render the proposed action ineffective.  Each member recorded his or her vote on the motion, which passed by the unanimous vote of all members present.


A.  Approved mental health counselors: Maria Coy, Cheryl Regal, Lauren Rhodes, Sue Vanden Bosch, Rebecca Partridge

B.  Approved clinical social workers:  Meredith Bollinger, Regina Mattrella,  Dina Solomon, Judith Santy, Christine Howard, Gary Chandler, Kathleen MacArthur.

C.  Approved psychologists:  none

D.  Approved marriage & family therapists – no applicants this month

E.  Approved pastoral psychotherapists – no applicants this month


A.  Mental Health Counselors:  Daniel Hannon, Thomas Burwell, Elizabeth Portash,  Ryan Long,  Jeanette Carreiro, Codie Chevalier, Susan Brown, Mary Margaret Wirth,  David Gotjen,  Barbara Nett.

B.  Social Workers:  Michelle Keyworth, Sarah Bragdon, Pamela Hoskins, Julie Gamache, Jennifer Decato, Adrianna Crooker Catlin.

C.  Marriage & Family Therapists:  no applicants this month

D.  Psychologists:  no applicants this month

E.  Pastoral Psychotherapists – no applicants this month


A.  Elizabeth Haywood Niler, Ph.D.–  The Board approved a Joint Motion to Clarify the Voluntary Surrender of License approved last month.  The effective date of the Voluntary Surrender is April 17, 2009. 

Meeting was adjourned at 2:30 PM

Next meeting scheduled for Friday, May 15, 2009


Telephone: 603-271-6762
TDD Access: Relay NH 1-800-735-2954
NH State Seal | privacy policy | accessibility policy Copyright (c) State of New Hampshire, 2007