Official New Hampshire government website
New Hampshire Board of Mental Health Practice
Consumers Licensees Candidates for Licensure


About the Board > Minutes of the Public Session
(Minutes are entered once read and approved by the Board)


Present:   Sheila Renaud-Finnegan, David Braiterman, Joan Staigers Haley, Deborah Warner, David Sundell.  As allowed by RSA 330-A:9 the Board appointed Thomas Boulter to serve as a substitute board member for the purpose of obtaining the minimum quorum of five members.

Not present --- Gail Mears

8:30 AM – Prehearing Conference – Alan Gladsden, Ph.D.

A prehearing conference was held by Hearing Officer Joan Staigers Haley on the matter of Alan Gladsden, Ph.D. Docket No. 10-001.   The Respondent presented a Consent Decree for Board review.   The Consent Decree was approved by the Board in non-public session and brought forward to the public minutes.    

Board meeting was called to order at 9:00 AM.

Draft minutes of the February 19, 2010 meeting were reviewed.  Motion was made by Sheila Renaud-Finnegan and seconded by David Braiterman to approve the minutes with additions and corrections to I. Correspondence E.   

Motion passed. 


A.  Robert Desmarais – The Board reviewed a letter from Mr. Desmarais regarding various issues.  Motion was made by David Sundell and seconded Tom Boulter to thank Mr. Desmarais for his helpful suggestions, inform him that the hearing he attended on February 19, 2010 was a hearing on a license application, not a disciplinary hearing on a supervisor, that absent a specific name the Board cannot provide the information he is looking for and the names in the minutes stand as the correct information.  Motion passed unanimously.

B.  Rep. Maurice Pilotte. – The Board reviewed a letter from Rep. Pilotte in response to the Board’s correspondence to him dated December 15, 2009 and January 19, 2010 regarding the November 19, 2009 JLCAR hearing on the proposed rules submitted by the Board.  Motion was made by David Braiterman and seconded by Deb Warner to thank Rep. Pilotte for his letter and that the Board also looks forward to a constructive process.  Motion passed unanimously.


A.  HB 410 – Passed House/No dates scheduled for Senate

B.  SB463-FN – Subcommittee work session with House ED & A licensing subcommittee scheduled for March 30, 2010 at 10 am.

C.  HB 499 – Due out of House ED & A committee 5/6/2010

D.  HB 1690 – Subcommittee hearing on repeal of board advisory committees scheduled for April 5 1 – 3 pm.

Upon the motion of David Sundell and seconded by David Braiterman, the Board, by roll call vote, resolved to conduct a non-public session for the purpose of discussing application, investigations of alleged misconduct of licensees, in accordance with RSA 91-A:3, II (c), RSA 91-A:3, II (e), RSA 91-A:5, IV, Lodge v. Knowlton, 118 N.H. 574 (1978), and the Board’s executive and deliberative privileges.  Each member recorded his or her vote on the motion, which passed by the unanimous vote of all members present.

Upon the motion of David Sundell and the second of David Braiterman,  the Board by roll call vote, resolved to withhold the minutes of the preceding non-public session, with the exception of approved applications, responses to motions and disciplinary actions until they are served, from public disclosure pursuant to RSA 91-A:3, III on the grounds that public disclosure would be likely to affect adversely the reputation of a person other than a Board member and to render the proposed action ineffective.  Each member recorded his or her vote on the motion, which passed by the unanimous vote of all members present.


 A.  Approved mental health counselors:  Carol Gay, Jessica Schupp, Jennifer Turner, Marion Roman, David Gotjen

B.  Approved clinical social workers:  Jennifer Sumner, Kristin Honsberger, Katherine Hatem

C.  Approved psychologists:  no applicants approved this month

D.  Approved marriage & family therapists – Carol Ann Miller, Linda Sue Webb

E.  Approved pastoral psychotherapists – no applicants reviewed  this month


A.  Mental Health Counselors:  Marci Albert, Thomas Burwell, Jessica Salas, Sandra Volkman

B.  Social Workers: Kirsten Davin, Alyson Tankard, Kristen Valente, Ryan Shiirilla, Catherine Robitaille

C.  Marriage & Family Therapists:  no agreements reviewed this month

D.  Psychologists: Sonya Wendell

E.  Pastoral Psychotherapists:  no agreements reviewed this month


A.  Gladsden, Alan, Ph.D. – The Board approved a Consent Decree with Dr. Gladsden.


A.  Mendes, Anita, LICSW – hearing scheduled for Friday,  June 4, 2010

B.  Kelley, Cheryl, Ed.D. – hearing scheduled for Friday, June 25, 2010


A.  Alan Goodman, LCMHC was approved as a member of the MHC Advisory      Committee.

Meeting was adjourned at 2:30 PM

Next meeting scheduled for April 16, 2010

Telephone: 603-271-6762
TDD Access: Relay NH 1-800-735-2954
NH State Seal | privacy policy | accessibility policy Copyright (c) State of New Hampshire, 2007