Official New Hampshire government website
New Hampshire Board of Mental Health Practice
Consumers Licensees Candidates for Licensure


About the Board > Minutes of the Public Session
(Minutes are entered once read and approved by the Board)

BOARD MEETING MINUTES - February 19, 2010


Present:   Sheila Renaud-Finnegan, David Braiterman, Joan Staigers Haley, Deborah Warner, David Sundell and Gail Mears

Not present ---

Joni Haley called the meeting to order at 9:00 AM.

A hearing on the application of Lori Chase, MSW was held. 

Board meeting began at 10:20.

Draft minutes of the January 15, 2010 meeting were reviewed.  Motion was made by Sheila Renaud-Finnegan and seconded by David Braiterman to approve the minutes as written. 

Motion passed.


A  Martha Huckins – The Board reviewed a letter from Ms. Huckins asking where to find the information about “in residence” in the administrative rules and asking if there is such a restriction “why?”.  Motion was made by Sheila Renaud Finnegan and seconded by Gail Mears to refer Ms. Huckins to Mhp 302.17 (c) and (d).  The Board will also inform Ms. Huckins that face-to-face interaction gives a better preparation for a mental health degree when you will be face to face with people all of the time.  Motion passed unanimously.

B.  Paul Shagoury, Ph.D. – The Board reviewed a letter from Dr. Shagoury regarding paperless confirmation of continuing education units.  Attached to the letter was a printout from DHMC for continuing education in the health science. Motion was made by Sheila Renaud-Finnegan and seconded by Gail Mears to accept the printout as long as it is accompanied by the information hand-outs at the CEU event.  Motion passed unanimously.

C.  Sheila Gardner – The Board reviewed a letter from Dr. Gardner requesting a copy of a letter the Board wrote to Senator Sylvia Larson and Speaker Norelli which was referenced in the Board’s December 2009 meeting.  Motion was made by Gail Mears and seconded by David Sundell to send a copy of the letter to Dr. Gardner.  Motion passed unanimously.

D.  Sylvia Larsen – The board acknowledged receipt of a letter dated February 9, 2010 from Senate President Sylvia Larsen.

E.  Robert Desmarais & Brenda Desmarais were present at the meeting – The board reviewed correspondence from Mr. Desmarais dated February 3, 2010, Ms. Haley’s response to the February 3, 2010 letter dated February 8, 2010 and an email from Mr. Desmarais dated February 15, 2010.  The Board had a discussion with Mr. Desmarais for 35 minutes on the above referenced matters.  The Board stated that the information regarding the number of complaints, decision and orders and surrender of licenses noted in Board public minutes stands as the correct information.


A.  HB 410 – Ought to Pass March 3 consent calendar

B.  SB463-FN – Relative to changes to RSA 330-A:3, I; RSA 330-A:10, V; RSA 330-A:18 III; RSA 330-A:31.  Passed Senate by third reading resolution

C.  SB 499 – Admin. Support of boards by HHS.  Hearing held 2/16/2010

D.  HB 1690 – Repeals adv. Committees. Ought to pass with amendment #0556h     


A.  Peggy Lynch and Deb Warner will begin to gather information from other NE states about temporary/short term licensure/exemptions for discussion with the Board at a future board meeting.


A.  The date of the Board meeting has been changed from June 18 to June 11, 2010


A.  The subcommittee continues to review JLCAR comments to final text.


A.  Motion was made by David Braiterman and seconded by Joni Haley to send a letter to Governor Lynch explaining that the Board had to defer multiple matters on the agenda due to a lack of a quorum.  The letter will request that two public members be appointed as soon as possible.

VII.  HEARING – Application on Lori Chase, MSW

A.  A hearing was held on the application of Lori Chase, MSW.  The Board issued an Order on this matter which is available upon request.

Upon the motion of David Sundell and seconded by David Braiterman, the Board, by roll call vote, resolved to conduct a non-public session for the purpose of discussing application, investigations of alleged misconduct of licensees, in accordance with RSA 91-A:3, II (c), RSA 91-A:3, II (e), RSA 91-A:5, IV, Lodge v. Knowlton, 118 N.H. 574 (1978), and the Board’s executive and deliberative privileges.  Each member recorded his or her vote on the motion, which passed by the unanimous vote of all members present.

Upon the motion of David Sundell and the second of David Braiterman,  the Board by roll call vote, resolved to withhold the minutes of the preceding non-public session, with the exception of approved applications, responses to motions and disciplinary actions until they are served, from public disclosure pursuant to RSA 91-A:3, III on the grounds that public disclosure would be likely to affect adversely the reputation of a person other than a Board member and to render the proposed action ineffective.  Each member recorded his or her vote on the motion, which passed by the unanimous vote of all members present.


A.  Approved mental health counselors:  Jason Baker, Nancy Baker

B.  Approved clinical social workers:  Sheila Bryan, Cheryl Sutherland, Meghan Santos

C.  Approved psychologists:  no applicants reviewed this month

D.  Approved marriage & family therapists – no applicants reviewed this month

E.  Approved pastoral psychotherapists – no applicants reviewed  this month


A.  Mental Health Counselors:  Christine Colwell, Jystsana Sharma, Julia Reilly

B.  Social Workers: Kimberly Therrien, John Iudice

C.  Marriage & Family Therapists:  Neil Binnette,  Susan Hamann, Jessica Ross, Pilar Seidler

D.  Psychologists: no agreement reviewed this month

E.  Pastoral Psychotherapists:  no agreements reviewed this month


A.  Knar Gavin – The Board approved a Settlement Agreement with Ms. Gavin

Meeting was adjourned at 3:30 PM

Next meeting scheduled for March 19, 2010

Telephone: 603-271-6762
TDD Access: Relay NH 1-800-735-2954
NH State Seal | privacy policy | accessibility policy Copyright (c) State of New Hampshire, 2007