Official New Hampshire government website
New Hampshire Board of Mental Health Practice
Consumers Licensees Candidates for Licensure


About the Board > Minutes of the Public Session
(Minutes are entered once read and approved by the Board)


Present: Alan Goodman, LCMHC, Shawn Hassell, LMFT, Deborah Warner, LP, David Sundell, LPP, Kim Spencer, LICSW, Kathleen Skinner Shulman, Ed.D., Public Member and Honorable Joseph P. Nadeau, Public Member present by teleconference call as allowed by RSA 91-A:2 III.

Not present: ----

Board meeting was called to order at 9:01 AM.

Pursuant to RSA 91-A III (a) Joseph Nadeau stated that he was 1500 miles away and unable to attend the meeting in person.

Pursuant to RSA 91-A III (e) all votes taken during the meeting were by roll call vote.

Draft minutes of the February 17, 2012 meeting were reviewed by the Board. Motion was made by Deborah Warner and seconded by David Sundell to add the words “deliberation” and “of a complaint” to the last sentence listed in IA (letter to Dr. Randolph ).

Vote: For: KS, SH, DW,DS
Opposed: KSS, AG, JN
Recused: 0

Motion was made by Alan Goodman and seconded by Kathleen Skinner Shulman to approve the minutes as amended.

Vote: For: KS, KSS, SH, DW, DS, AG
Opposed: 0
Recused: 0
Abstained: JN

I. CORRESPONDENCE – no correspondence this month


A. SB 343-FN – establishing an independent board of psychologists- passed full senate vote. This bill is currently with the Senate finance committee. Motion was made by Alan Goodman and seconded by David Sundell to send a letter to the President of the Senate finance committee stating it supports the current Board staff needed for the Board of Mental Health Practice, the office space used and the current budget needed by the Board of Mental Health Practice.

Vote: For: SH, KS, KSS, DS, AG, JN
Opposed: 0
Recused: 0
Abstained: DW

B. HB 1173 – relative to complaints against psychologists – inexpedient to legislate

C. HB 1338 – failure to renew a professional or occupational license – interim study with the ED & A committee

D. SB 407-FN – establishing an office of professional licensure and transferring administrative and clerical operations of certain professional licensing and certification boards to the office. – This bill is currently with the Senate finance committee.

E. HB 1508 – relative to procedures of the board of mental health practice – due out of committee 3/22/2012.


A. Applications for licensure – no changes suggested at this time

B. Complaint form – The Board discussed making changes to its complaint form regarding affirming that the complaint is true by adding additional language to the current complaint form. A draft complaint form will be reviewed by the Board at its April 27, 2012 meeting.

Upon the motion of Alan Goodman and seconded by Deborah Warner, the Board, by roll call vote, resolved to conduct a non-public session for the purpose of discussing applications, investigations of alleged misconduct of licensees, final disciplinary action and other adjudicatory decisions, in accordance with RSA 91-A:3, II (c), RSA 91-A:3, II (e), RSA 91-A:5, IV, Lodge v. Knowlton, 118 N.H. 574 (1978), RSA 330-A:29, V, and the Board’s executive and deliberative privileges. Each member recorded his or her vote on the motion, which passed by the unanimous vote of all members present.

[Non-public minutes held separately]

Upon the motion of Deborah Warner and the second of David Sundell, the Board by roll call vote, resolved to withhold the minutes of the preceding non-public session, with the exception of approved applications, responses to motions and disciplinary actions until they are served, and CEU’s for Professional Conduct Investigators from public disclosure pursuant to RSA 91-A:3, III on the grounds that public disclosure would be likely to affect adversely the reputation of a person other than a Board member and to render the proposed action ineffective. Each member recorded his or her vote on the motion, which passed by the unanimous vote of all members present.


A. Approved mental health counselors: Elizabeth Bean, Melissa Chickering, Jeannette Nogales, Jody Snow and Julie Hogue.

B. Approved clinical social workers: Laura Carrera, Rebecca Parizo, Cynthia Kurahara, and Stephanie Santora

C. Approved psychologists: no applications for full licensure reviewed this month

D. Approved marriage & family therapists – Walter Lowe

E. Approved pastoral psychotherapists – no applicants reviewed this month


A. Mental Health Counselors: Dawn Marie Alie, Erin, Debra Buckley, Matthew Constable, Cynthia Hanlon, Dawna Jones, Jennifer Stevens, Emily Yergeau, Shauna Delworth, Lisa Price, Kimberly Franzoso, Amy Reynelli and Sharasa Culbertson.

B. Social Workers: Kelly Cascio, Karen Frarie, Michael Lawless, Kate Donovan and Jennifer Comeau.

C. Marriage & Family Therapists: no agreements for review this month

D. Psychologists: Cristina Filippelli, Eftihia Linardatos and Cerissa Desrosiers

E. Pastoral Psychotherapists: no agreements for review this month.


A. Mary McCrae, Ph.D. – Professional Conduct Investigator, Mary McCrae, was awarded 20 continuing education hours for completing a Report of Investigation for the Board.

Meeting was adjourned at 3:00 PM

Next meeting scheduled for April 27, 2012

Telephone: 603-271-6762
TDD Access: Relay NH 1-800-735-2954
NH State Seal | privacy policy | accessibility policy Copyright (c) State of New Hampshire, 2007