Official New Hampshire government website
New Hampshire Board of Mental Health Practice
Consumers Licensees Candidates for Licensure


About the Board > Minutes of the Public Session
(Minutes are entered once read and approved by the Board)


Present: Alan Goodman, Ph.D., LCMHC, Shawn Hassell, MS, LMFT, David Sundell, D.Min., LPP, Kim Spencer, MSW, LICSW, Deborah Warner, Ph.D., LP, Jane Power Kilcoyne, Ed.D., Public Member and Honorable Joseph P. Nadeau, Public Member present by teleconference call as allowed by RSA 91-A:2 III.

Not present: Kathleen Skinner Shulman, Ed.D., Public Member
Pursuant to RSA 91-A III (a) Joseph Nadeau stated that he was 1500 miles away and unable to attend the meeting in person.
Board meeting was called to order at 9:00 AM.

Upon the motion of Alan Goodman and seconded by Jane Kilcoyne, the Board, by roll call vote, resolved to conduct a non-public session for the purpose of discussing applications, investigations of alleged misconduct of licensees, final disciplinary action and other adjudicatory decisions, in accordance with RSA 91-A:3, II (c), RSA 91-A:3, II (e), RSA 91-A:5, IV, Lodge v. Knowlton, 118 N.H. 574 (1978), RSA 330-A:29, V, and the Board’s executive and deliberative privileges. Each member recorded his or her vote on the motion, which passed by the unanimous vote of all members present.

Upon the motion of Shawn Hassell and the second of Jane Kilcoyne, the Board by roll call vote, resolved to withhold the minutes of the preceding non-public session, with the exception of approved applications, responses to motions and disciplinary actions until they are served, and CEU’s for Professional Conduct Investigators from public disclosure pursuant to RSA 91-A:3, III on the grounds that public disclosure would be likely to affect adversely the reputation of a person other than a Board member and to render the proposed action ineffective. Each member recorded his or her vote on the motion, which passed by the unanimous vote of all members present.

[Non-public minutes held separately]


A.Approved mental health counselors: Erin Bell, Heather Perron, Gavin Cherry, Cynthia Bolin and Ross Davidson.

B. Approved clinical social workers: Cynthia Hogan, Sean Breidenthal, Kimberly Jeansen, Corinne Holbrook, Barbara Zinman and Gretchen Kosegarten.

C. Approved psychologists: Maureen Piana

D. Approved marriage & family therapists: Ozgur Akbas and Caitlin Southmayd

E. Approved pastoral psychotherapists: no applicants reviewed for licensure this month


A. Mental Health Counselors: Joan Lemmon Bella, Brenda Kummerer-Cyr and Jennifer Stevens.

B. Social Workers: Lindsay Herdman, Kimberly Wyborney, Jon Eaton, Cynthia Lynch (request for extension of end date granted).

C. Marriage & Family Therapists: no agreements for review this month

D. Psychologists: no agreements for review this month

E. Pastoral Psychotherapists: Ara Heghinian (request for extension of end date granted).


A. Docket No. 13-001 -Sandra Clark, LICSW – The hearing has been rescheduled to Friday, May 17, 2013 at 1:00 PM.

Public session resumed.

Draft minutes of the February 15, 2013 meeting were reviewed by the Board. Motion was made by Alan Goodman and seconded by David Sundell to approve the minutes with a change to IV PRESENTATION on page 3 and 4. The minute should read:

IV. PRESENTATION – Attorney Volinsky appeared before the Board with Thomas Chalmers McLaughlin, Ph.D. to address the Board’s regulations and their impact upon the graduates of the University of New England’s on line MSW program. Motion made Joseph Nadeau and seconded by Deborah Warner to rescind the action taken at the public meeting of the Board on May 18, 2012, under item I Correspondence, relating to the granting of licenses. The action was unnecessary since the Board acts, and will continue to act, on each application based upon individual compliance with New Hampshire requirements and Board rules, including residency requirements.

The Board notes that all applicants who were granted licenses between May 18, 2012 and February 15, 2013 met all professional standards required by Board rules, including residency.

The Board is required to follow its current administrative rules.

Vote: For: JN, SH, DS, AG, DW, KS
Opposed: 0
JK did not vote on the minutes because she was not present at the 2/15/2013 meeting.

I. CORRESPONDENCE – no correspondence this month


  • HB 234 – related to occupational and professional board and commissions procedures concerning military service and occupational experience or training. Passed the House/adopted with amendment
  • HB469 – relative to time limits for regulatory boards and commissions to hold disciplinary proceedings. Retained in committee.


The Board reviewed a report titled Board Action on Letters of Alleged Misconduct - January 2012 through December 2012. The report will be posted on the Board’s website.
The meeting was adjourned at 12:00 PM

Next meeting scheduled for April 26, 2013

Docket No. 12-004- Kimberly Marsh, MSW - application for LICSW – A hearing was held at 1:00 pm. Participating members were: David Sundell, D.Min., Shawn Hassell, MS, Deborah Warner, Ph.D., Jane Power Kilcoyne, Ed.D and Sheila Renaud- Finnegan, MSW (sub member as allowed by RSA 330-A:9 II). A decision and order was issued March 26, 2013 approving the application of Ms. Marsh






Telephone: 603-271-6762
TDD Access: Relay NH 1-800-735-2954
NH State Seal | privacy policy | accessibility policy Copyright (c) State of New Hampshire, 2007