New Hampshire Liquor Commission Division of Enforcement Logo
New Hampshire Liquor Commission Division of Enforcement - an official New Hampshire Government website
Smaller text size Reset text size Larger text size
skip navigation

Direct Shipper Permit

New Hampshire Makes Direct Shipping Simple!

Direct Shipping Law Change

Effective January 1, 2011, the direct shipping laws will change creating a two tier application fee.

Learn more about the law change of Revised RSA 178-27. pdf file

Revised liquor rules LIQ1100's are in the process of being changed to reflect the new law change. The NH Liquor Commission will post the revised rules as soon as they are approved.

Be advised that the Application Requirements and Permit Restrictions listed below will be changed on January 1, 2011 to reflect the law change.

Application Requirements

  • Complete and return the State of New Hampshire Direct Shipper Application. pdf file
  • In order to obtain a direct shipper permit your company must hold a valid liquor license from your state of domicile as an alcohol manufacturer, importer, wholesaler or retailer. A copy of that liquor license must be submitted with your application for a direct shipper permit.
  • If the applicant is a wine manufacturer, must attach a copy of your TTB winery permit.
  • In order to obtain a direct shipper permit you must provide a copy of your registration from your state of domicile Secretary of State or from the appropriate governing authority.
  • Attach a check payable to the New Hampshire Liquor Commission
    • $100 Wine Manufacturer (WM)
    • $500 Importers, Retailers, and Wholesalers (IRW)

Permit Restrictions

  • May ship up to 60 individual container of not more than one liter each of liquor or to any consumer address in New Hampshire in any calendar year. (RSA 178:27,III)
  • May ship up to 12 9-liter cases or equivalent of wine to any one consumer in New Hampshire in any calender year. (RSA 178:27,III)
  • May ship up to 27 gallons of beer or beverage in individual containers of not more than one liter to any consumer's address in New Hampshire in any calendar year. No direct shipper shall ship beer or beverage to a New Hampshire licensee. (RSA 178:27,IV)

  • Prior approval is required for all shipments into New Hampshire to licensees.
  • All direct shippers shall file reports for each shipment with the New Hampshire Liquor Commission, and shall pay a fee of 8 percent of the retail price for shipments of liquor, wine, beer or beverage to the commission. Such reports shall be filed by the 15th of the month for any month in which a shipment was made. (RSA 178:27,V(a))
  • All consumers must be 21 years of age or older. (RSA 178:27,II)
  • All packages must be clearly marked, "Alcoholic Beverages, adult signature (over 21 years of age) required". (RSA 178:27,II)
  • Any person holding a direct shipper permit under this section who ships liquor, wine & beer to a person under 21 years of age, shall be guilty of a class B felony and shall have such permit permanently revoked. (RSA 178:27,VII)
  • No direct shipper shall ship to a dry town. (Ellsworth, Millsfield, Monroe, and Sharon)

Contact Information

To learn more about New Hampshire's direct shipping law you can email Ms. Cheryl Classon or Ms. Amy O'Brien at directshippers@liquor.state.nh.us for further information or to answer questions about your application materials.

The complete text of New Hampshire's Direct Shipping law is in Title XIII Chapter 178 Liquor Licenses And Fees Section 178:27 Direct Shippers.

Adobe Acrobat Reader Symbol Adobe Acrobat Reader format. You can download a free reader from Adobe.


NH Liquor Commission, Division of Enforcement
57 Regional Drive  |  Suite 8  |  Concord, NH 03301
(603) 271-3521