Enforcement & Licensing Division
NEW HAMPSHIRE MAKES DIRECT SHIPPING SIMPLE!
Direct Shipping Law Change
Effective January 1, 2011, the direct shipping laws will change
creating a two tier application fee.
To learn more about the law change of Revised RSA 178-27 Click Here
Revised liquor rules LIQ1100's are in the process of being changed to
reflect the new law change. The NH Liquor Commission will post the revised
rules as soon as they are approved.
Be advised that the Application Requirements and Permit Restrictions
listed below will be changed on January 1, 2011 to reflect the law change.
Complete and return the State of New Hampshire Direct Shipper
In order to obtain a direct shipper permit your company must hold a
valid liquor license from your state of domicile as an alcohol
manufacturer, importer, wholesaler or retailer. A copy of that liquor
license must be submitted with your application for a direct shipper
If the applicant is a wine manufacturer, must attach a copy of your TTB
In order to obtain a direct shipper permit you must provide a copy of
your registration from your state of domicile Secretary of State or from
the appropriate governing authority.
Attach a check payable to the New Hampshire Liquor Commission
$100 Wine Manufacturer (WM)
$500 Importers, Retailers, and Wholesalers (IRW)
May ship up to 60 individual container of not more than one liter each
of liquor or to any consumer address in New Hampshire in any calendar
year. (RSA 178:27, III)
May ship up to 12 9-liter cases or equivalent of wine to any one
consumer in New Hampshire in any calender year. (RSA 178:27, III)
May ship up to 27 gallons of beer or beverage in individual containers
of not more than one liter to any consumer's address in New Hampshire in
any calendar year. No direct shipper shall ship beer or beverage to a
New Hampshire licensee. (RSA 178:27, IV)
Prior approval is required for all shipments into New Hampshire to
All direct shippers shall file reports for each shipment with the New
Hampshire Liquor Commission, and shall pay a fee of 8 percent of the
retail price for shipments of liquor, wine, beer or beverage to the
commission. Such reports shall be filed by the 15th of the month
for any month in which a shipment was made. ( RSA 178:27, V(a) )
All consumers must be 21 years of age or older. (RSA 178:27, II)
All packages must be clearly marked, "Alcoholic Beverages, adult
signature (over 21 years of age) required". (RSA 178:27, II)
Any person holding a direct shipper permit under this section who ships
liquor, wine & beer to a person under 21 years of age, shall be
guilty of a class B felony and shall have such permit permanently
revoked. (RSA 178:27, VII)
No direct shipper shall ship to a dry town. (Ellsworth, Millsfield,
Monroe, and Sharon)
Direct shipping application
Adobe Acrobat format
To learn more about New Hampshire's direct shipping law you can email
Ms. Cheryl Classon or
Ms. Amy O'Brien for further information or to answer questions about
your application materials.
The complete text of New Hampshire's Direct Shipping law is in
title 13 Chapter 178 Section 27 .