Welcome to the NH Department of Labor
The Department of Labor monitors employers, workers' compensation, and insurance carriers to insure that they are in compliance with New Hampshire labor laws.
|James W. Craig - Commissioner
||Kathryn J. Barger - Deputy Commissioner|
NH Department of Environmental Services Drought Management Update
The NH Department of Environmental Services has issued a notice on drought management for the state of New Hampshire. Please follow this link for the drought management program.
Change Regarding Youth Employment Law HB 1105
Effective June 9, 2016, HB 1105 provides an exemption from RSA 276-A:4, VII for 16/17 year olds who work for the summer camps for minors. Please follow this link to view HB 1105 on the NH General Court site.
Change Regarding Youth Employment Law HB 1301
Effective August 23, 2016, HB 1301 amends RSA 276-A:5 to permit parents or legal guardians to issue youth employment certificates. Please follow this link to view HB 1301 on the NH General Court site.
Change Regarding Protection Legislation Law SB 416
Effective September 1, 2016, SB416 adds a new paragraph, 37-b to RSA 275 and prohibits the employer from retaliating against an employee who requests a flexible work schedule. Please follow this link to view SB 416 on the NH General Court site.
Change Regarding Protection Legislation Law & Minimum Wage Law HB 1339
Effective November 1, 2016, HB 1339 amends RSA 275: 43-a, and provides an exemption for certain employees of ski resorts from the 2 hours law. This same bill adds paragraph V-a to RSA 279:21, the minimum wage law, an exemption for ski area employees who exclusively performs welcoming and guest relation services which are not essential to the functional operations of the ski area. Please follow this link to view HB 1339 on the NH General Court site.
Jun 7, 2016
New Hampshire Administrative rule, chapter Lab 800 Payment of Wages and requirements of Employers, has been readopted with amendments see link above for access to summary and the Lab 800 rule on the NH General Court site
December 31, 2015
Effective January 1, 2016 the standard mileage reimbursement rate for transportation expenses will be 54 cents per mile
Change Regarding RSA 281-A:24 Payment for Reasonable Value of Services
September 4, 2015
Effective September 4, 2015 under RSA 281-A: 24 Payment for Reasonable Value of Services has switched the burden of establishing the reasonableness of a bill for services rendered. It is now the provider's burden to establish that the bill for services is reasonable. The parties are to make every effort to resolve any dispute as to the reasonable value of service prior to applying to the commissioner for resolution of the dispute. To view the change in RSA 281-A: 24 Payment for Reasonable Value of Services please click here (RSA 281-A: 24).
New Hampshire Department of Labor |
95 Pleasant Street | Concord, NH 03301
Telephone: 603-271-3176 |
Hours of Operation: 8am - 4:30pm M-F