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October 2005
New Hampshire Insurance Department
Roger Sevigny, Commissioner

To All Property and Casualty Insurers in the State of New Hampshire

Reminder of Statutory Requirements Regarding Certificates of Title Upon Payment of Total Losses for
Motor Vehicles and Mobile Homes

In the wake of the catastrophic property damage occurring during the 2005 and 2004 hurricane
seasons, the Office has received information indicating that owners may be selling cars and other
vehicles without disclosing the fact that the vehicle has been damaged by water. The purpose of this
Informational Memorandum is to remind insurers of the requirements of (NH RSA 261:22), which
defines a "total loss" of an insured motor vehicle or mobile home for purposes of requiring a salvage
title.

RSA 261:22 (Il and V) which states, ...

I1. Any insurance firm or representative thereof who shall declare a motor vehicle
other than an exempt vehicle as provided in RSA 261:3 as having been a total loss shall
make application for a salvage certificate of title within 20 days of the total loss
payment. Such application shall be accompanied by:

(a) Any certificate of title;

(b) Any other information and documents the director reasonably requires to
establish ownership of the vehicle and the existence or nonexistence of security interest
in it; and

(c) The required fee of $10.

VI. For purposes of this section, a total loss vehicle shall mean either an unrecovered
stolen vehicle or one which has sustained damage or injury so extensive that it is
physically or economically impractical to repair.

Proper notification to the Division of Motor Vehicle by insurers allows a vehicle title to be identified
properly and puts the end purchaser on notice of past vehicle use, defects, damages and restrictions
regarding sale and transferability. This is especially important given the many losses to motor vehicles
and mobile homes sustained during the 2004 and 2005 hurricane seasons.

Willful violations of these provisions of New Hampshire law are punishable by law. In addition, this
Office may take administrative action, as it may deem necessary, against licensed insurers violating
these requirements.

For further information, contact the Property & Casualty Market Conduct unit at (603) 271-2261.
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