STATE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE
INSURANCE DEPARTMENT

In Re: Connecticut Attorneys Title Insurance Company
Consent Order and Agreement
Docket No.: Ins. No. 08-049-EP

Connecticut Attorneys Title Insurance Company (“CATIC”) and the New Hampshire
Insurance Department hereby entered in to this Consent Order and Agreement to resolve,
without resort to hearing, issues relative to the company’s insurance activity in the state
of New Hampshire.

STIPULATED FACTS

1. CATIC is a foreign title insurer, licensed in the New Hampshire, which provides title
insurance to licensed producers.

2. For producers Bradford Atwood and Peter Minkow, CATIC acknowledged that the
licenses of Messrs. Atwood and Minkow expired on July 31, 2006 and January 31, 2006,
respectively. When the expirations were discovered, CATIC informed the producers and
had them file the license applications for reinstatement in April and May 2008. In the
applications, the producers indicated that they had transacted business during the time the
license was expired.

3. CATIC also acknowledged that during the time of the expired licenses, approximately
two years, they paid commissions to each producer.

4. RSA 402-]J:13, I states:

“I. An insurance company...shall not pay a commission...or other valuable
consideration to a person for selling, soliciting or negotiating insurance in this
stated if that person is required to be licensed under this chapter and is not so
licensed.”

5. RSA 405:17-b states:

“Foreign insurance or surety companies, although authorized to transact business
within this state, shall only make, write, place, or cause to be made, written, or
placed, policies or contracts of insurance or suretyship which are to be effective
within this state through producers who are licensed and properly appointed to
transact business in this state.”

6. RSA 400-A:15, III states:



“I1I. Any person who knowingly violates any statute, rule, regulation, or order
of the commissioner may, upon hearing, except where other penalty is
expressly provided, be subject to such suspension or revocation of certificate
of authority or license, or administrative fine not to exceed $2,500 per
violation, as may be applicable under this title for violation of the statute or
the provision to which the rule, regulation, or order relates.”

AGREEMENT AND ORDER

1. The Respondent knowingly waives the statutory right to notice and hearing on this
matter.

2. The Respondent shall pay an administrative penalty in the amount of Five Thousand
Dollars ($5000.00) to the New Hampshire Insurance Department. The administrative
penalty shall be made payable to the Treasurer, State of New Hampshire. The
administrative penalty shall be payable upon Respondent’s execution of this Consent
Order and Agreement.

3. The Department and Respondent agree that all insurance regulatory issues relating to
the aforementioned violation are fully resolved. However, nothing herein shall prohibit
the use of this Consent Order and Agreement in any future enforcement actions brought
by the Department based upon subsequent matters relative to Respondent’s compliance
with applicable insurance law and/or regulation.

4. This Consent Order and Agreement shall be fully enforceable in any Superior Court in
the State of New Hampshire.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

New Hampshire Insurance Department
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