Official New Hampshire government website
State Seal New Hampshire Commission for Human Rights

 

 

 
bullet
How To File A Complaint
   
 

 

   
 
WHO MAY FILE
  • Any person who believes that he or she has been subjected to unlawful discrimination on the basis of age, sex, race, creed (religion), color, marital status, physical or mental disability, national origin or sexual orientation in employment, housing, public accommodations or commercial property, may file a complaint with the Commission. In addition, in the area of housing only, charges alleging familial status discrimination can be filed.

WHEN TO FILE

  • A charge should be filed as soon as possible after the act of discrimination occurs.
  • A charge MUST be filed within 180 days of the last date of discrimination. (Under certain circumstances a charge may be filed up to 300 days from the date of alleged discrimination. If you are beyond 180 days, contact the Commission immediately to find out if you have the basis to file a timely charge.)

PROCEDURES AFTER FILING

  • A copy of the Charge is sent to the respondent for a written response.
  • An investigator is assigned to the case and begins an impartial investigation of the Charge.
  • If the complainant decides during the investigation that he or she does not want the investigation to be completed, the complainant may withdraw the Charge without prejudice.
  • Throughout the investigation, the Commission encourages both parties to consider how they might be willing to resolve the case. The Investigator can assist the parties at any time with settlement discussions. The Commission also offers voluntary mediation [link] at no cost.
  • The parties will provide relevant information to the assigned investigator upon request.
  • If the case cannot be resolved, the investigator completes the investigation and prepares a report. The assigned Investigating Commissioner will make a decision of Probable or no
  • Probable Cause. The parties are sent a copy of the Investigative Report.
  • If there is a finding of Probable Cause by the Investigating Commissioner, the Executive Director will issue an Order of Notice scheduling a Public Hearing. Prior to the Public Hearing, the Commission will attempt to conciliate the case. The parties can decide to remove the case to court. If the Commission hears the case, a Decision is issued either finding in favor of the charging party and ordering appropriate relief, or finding in favor of the responding party and dismissing the charge.
  • Either party can appeal the Commission's decision to Superior Court.
  • To get a further understanding of the complaint, investigation, and post-Probable Cause process, please review our Commission Statute, RSA 354-A, and the Commission's Administrative Rules, HUM 100-406.
  • There is no filing fee to file a complaint at the Commission.

IF YOU WANT TO FILE

You may contact the Commission either by telephone, or in writing by using an Intake Questionnaire form. Neither being interviewed, nor filling out the questionnaire automatically creates a formal charge of discrimination. You will be contacted by the Commission regarding the filing of a formal charge if your situation comes under our jurisdiction.

  1. If your issue involves a claim of employment discrimination or discrimination in hiring, you may either,

    (a) click here to access our Intake Questionnaire form, print out the form, write or type in your answers and mail to the Commission at the below address;

    or

    (b) call the Commission @ 603.271.2767 (or TDD ACCESS: Relay NH 1.800.735.2964) to speak with an intake investigator.

  2. If your issue involves a housing or commercial property discrimination claim you may either,

    (a) click here to access our Intake Questionnaire form, print out the form, write or type in your answers and mail to the Commission at the below address;

    or

    (b) call the Commission @ 603.271.2767 (or TDD ACCESS: Relay NH 1.800.735.2964) to speak with an intake investigator.

  3. If your issue involves a claim for discrimination in a place of public accommodation, you may either:

    (a) click here to access our Intake Questionnaire form, print out the form, write or type in your answers and mail to the Commission at the below address;

    or

    (b) call the Commission @ 603.271.2767 (or TDD ACCESS: Relay NH 1.800.735.2964) to speak with an intake investigator.

  4. Intake Questionnaire Mailing Address:
    Intake Department
    NH Commission for Human Rights
    2 Chenell Drive
    Concord, NH 03301
 
 
 
New Hampshire Commission for Human Rights
2 Chenell Drive, Concord, NH 03301-8501
 
state seal
Copyright (c) State of New Hampshire, 2005