Smaller text size Reset text size Larger text size
skip navigation
Air Rail Highway Bike/Ped Public Transit
Operations > Turnpikes > Turnpike System

The New Hampshire Turnpike System presently consists of 88.9 miles of limited access highway, 36 miles of which are part of the US Interstate Highway System, comprising a total of approximately 656 total lane miles. Since beginning operations in 1950, the Turnpike System has contributed to the development of New Hampshire. It has also been a major factor in the growth of the tourism industry in the state. The Turnpike System is comprised of three limited-access highways: the Blue Star Turnpike (I-95) and the Spaulding Turnpike, which are collectively referred to as the Eastern Turnpike, and the F.E. Everett Turnpike, also known as the Central Turnpike.

The Turnpike System uses an open barrier system of toll collection consisting of 9 toll plazas (5 main line and 4 ramp). All plazas include attended lanes and dedicated E-ZPass lanes for all classes of vehicles. The Merrimack Ramp Plazas have automatic exact change lanes for cars. NH Turnpike System customers may pay toll charges with cash or E-ZPass.

No food, gas or vehicle service facilities are located on the Turnpike System, with the exception of vending machines at the Hooksett rest areas and Seabrook Welcome Center (northbound only). Motorist services are located near most interchanges on the Turnpike System and are privately operated.

Toll Rates The Commissioner of the Department of Transportation with the approval of the Governor and Council is authorized to establish toll rates for the Turnpike System. Tolls have been set at levels at least sufficient to meet operating expenses and maintenance costs and debt service on Bonds and general obligation bonds issued for the Turnpike System purposes. State law expressly provides that a bond resolution authorizing turnpike revenue bonds may include provisions setting forth the duties of the State in relation to the fixing, revision and collection of tolls and that the State has pledged to perform all such duties as set forth in such bond resolution. State Turnpike Map


Central New Hampshire Turnpike

The Central Turnpike, commonly known as the F. E. Everett Turnpike, extends from the Massachusetts state line in Nashua to Exit 14 in Concord. Its distance is 39.5 miles and, in part, constitutes a portion of US Interstate Highways 93 and 293. It connects three urban centers in New Hampshire (the cities of Concord, Manchester and Nashua). more …


Spaulding Turnpike

The Spaulding Turnpike segment of the Turnpike System extends from Portsmouth to Exit 18 in Milton. It is 33.2 miles in length and is the major north-south artery in the eastern corridor of the state. more …


Blue Star Turnpike

The Blue Star Turnpike segment of the Turnpike System extends from the Massachusetts state line in Seabrook to the Maine state line in Portsmouth. It is 16.2 miles in length and constitutes all of I-95 in NH. more …


NHDOT Bureau of Turnpikes
(603) 485-3806

copyright 2015. State of New Hampshire