Smaller text size Reset text size Larger text size
skip navigation
NHDOT Home CAD/D Home MicroStation MX v8i OpenRoads Downloads
CAD/D Home > MicroStation > MicroStation v8 FAQ

MicroStation v8 FAQ

This section of the documentation is created from user questions and problems.  It should be consulted before calling with a problem. 

Return to previous page

MX (v8i) FAQ

MX to MicroStation FAQ



When I try to start MicroStation I get an error message or warning that my user configuration cannot be found.

If you have never used MicroStation before, it is possible that your user configuration file does not exist or is named incorrectly. Contact a CAD/D Support person.

If you have used MicroStation before, it may be a network problem. Check to make sure the N: drive is available. If not, then MicroStation cannot access the user configuration files.
 


I have a dual monitor setup yet only one display was shown when my I started a second MicroStation session.

This is a known problem with v8.  The first session opened will lock the user preference files. Later sessions cannot access these settings and revert to the default settings. 
 


Levels are turned on in my Level Manager but do not display on the drawing.

In v8 there are two ways to control which levels are turned on and off (more if you consider filters). If the Level Manager (Settings -> Level -> Manager) indicates that the levels are turned on then check the Level Display (Settings -> Level -> Display). They may be turned off there.

Since level manager has the ability to turn levels on and off, there is some confusion about which one to use. The two are intended for different purposes. Level display is for turning levels on and off. Level manager is used for importing level libraries. 

Problems arise when different people working on the project use a different method for adjusting the level display. If levels are turned off with level display, the setting is not changed in level manager. Therefore, someone using level manager will think the levels are turned on, but not see any detail. Conversely, levels turned off in level manager will appear off in level display.

To make things more confusing, level display has options for "View Display" and "Global Display". View Display is the default value and works as described above. When the setting is changed to Global Display, the level display will act like level manager, including the part about levels that are turned off using the "View Display" settings do not appear to be off when you toggle to the "Global Display" setting. 


I am trying to delete a level that is not used but cannot.

A level is shown in bold print in the level manager is considered used. If a level is shown in bold print yet the "Used" column is not checked, it is possible that the level contains an element contained within a cell. Since the level isn't truly empty, it cannot be deleted. It is also possible that the level is locked. Open the level manager and check the "locked" property of the level. 

All of my reference files appear gray.

One of the side effects of upgrading projects to v8 is that reference files will often appear in gray. To correct this open the Reference Manager (File > Reference) or click the ref file icon icon. The Reference Manager will appear. Select the Reload All command on the Tools menu. Next, open the Level Manager (Settings > Level > Manager). Reload reference files, then click the icon icon.
 

How do I edit text in cells?

In v8, text within cells can be modified with the Edit Text tool if your text editor is set to "Word Processor". Otherwise, you can use the Find/Replace Text option on the Edit menu. To set your text editor style, select Preferences from the Workspace menu. The user preferences dialog will appear. Select the Text option in the left panel. Use the drop-down menu labeled "Text Editor Style" to select the style you prefer. This is a user setting and will not affect other users. 
 

The power went out and I lost some data. That didn't happen in MS/J.

In MicroStation/J, design file changes were stored in a temporary file even if the user did not have the "Immediately Save Design Changes" option selected in their user preferences. Therefore, when a MicroStation session terminated unexpectedly, such as during a power failure, the changes made since the last save could be recovered. v8 does not have this same feature. 
 

Problems Related To User Preference Files.

V8 seems to be susceptible to user preference file corruptions. If you are having a problem that is not happening to your neighbor, it is possibly a corruption in the user preference file. The solution is to delete the UPF file so a new one will be created. The files are stored in directories under N:\cadd\cadd\V8Workspace\Users. Each user has their own directory. In that directory is a file with your username and a .upf extension. If that file is deleted, a new one will be created the next time a MicroStation session is started. After this is done some settings, such as mouse buttons, will need to be restored.
 

I sent a plot, but not all the detail in the view was plotted.

There are two possibilities here.  First, are the missing elements construction elements? By default, construction elements do not plot. Secondly, in level manager, there is a "Plot" setting for each level. It is possible that some levels have been set to not plot. You can check by opening the level manager (Settings > Level > Manager). If the "Plot" column is not displayed, right-click on the column headings and turn it on. Look through the list to see if the Plot setting is unchecked for any level.




New Hampshire Department of Transportation
PO Box 483 | 7 Hazen Drive | Concord, NH | 03302-0483
Tel: 603.271.3734 | Fax: 603.271.3914

copyright 2014. State of New Hampshire