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PLEASE READ CAREFULLY 
 

GENERAL INFORMATION 
 

Each applicant for licensure to practice dentistry in the state of New Hampshire must complete all of the 

information on the attached “Dentist Application for Licensure” form.  The Board must have each 
licensee’s social security number on the “Dentist Application for Licensure” form to ensure accurate 
identification of the applicant’s identity.  Pursuant to Federal Law 42 U.S.C.A§666(a)(13) and New 
Hampshire state law RSA 161-B:11, VI-a the Board may also: 
 

1. Provide the licensee’s social security number to the Department of Health and Human Services in 
conjunction with proceedings or actions to establish paternity or to establish or enforce child support. 

  
2. Provide the licensee’s social security number to National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) in the event 

of final adverse action against the licensee and to inquire of NPDB of any final adverse actions against 
the licensee in other jurisdictions. 

 
Under current law an applicant’s or licensee’s social security number is confidential and not subject to the 
right to know law. 

 
LICENSURE BY EXAMINATION 
 

Any person who has successfully completed the Northeast Regional Board, or similar clinical examination 

acceptable to the Board of Dental Examiners with the written part of the NERB, within the 3 year period 
prior to completing the licensure process for a New Hampshire license, shall be considered for licensure by 
examination. 
 

LICENSURE BY ENDORSEMENT CERTIFICATION 
 

Any person holding a current, unsuspended, unrestricted license to practice dentistry in one or more states, 

and who has maintained an active dental practice for the 3 year period prior to completing the licensure 
process for a New Hampshire license, and has a history of satisfying the above license by examination 
requirement, shall be considered for licensure by endorsement.  Dental specialty training and active military 
dental service are considered active dental practice. 
 

APPLICATION FEE 
 

A certified check or money order in the amount of $200.00, made payable to the “TREASURER, STATE 

OF NEW HAMPSHIRE” must accompany the application, or if presented in person, the payment may be 
cash. 
 

REQUIREMENTS FOR APPLICATION 
 

In addition to the application form, the following documents shall be filed with the Board: 
 

 TRANSCRIPT:  An official copy of the applicant’s dental school transcript, bearing the  
registrar’s original signature and the school’s seal, sent directly by the school to the New Hampshire 
Board of Dental Examiners. 
 

NATIONAL BOARD EXAMINATION:  The applicant’s original grade card, denoting successful 
completion of the examination, sent directly by the National Board of Dental Examiners to the New 
Hampshire Board of Dental Examiners.  Please contact the National Board directly (1-800-621-8099) 
or write to:  National Board of Dental Examiners, 211 E. Chicago Ave., Chicago IL  60611. 
 



 
BIRTH CERTIFICATE:  An original or certified copy of the applicant’s birth certificate written in 
English or translated to English.  A certified copy of a passport written in English or translated to 
English can be used in place of a birth certificate. 
 

LETTER OF GOOD STANDING:  A certified statement submitted directly from the Dental Board 
of each state in which the applicant has ever held a license (whether active, inactive, or lapsed), 
stating whether the applicant’s license has been subject to disciplinary action, has disciplinary action 
pending, has been under stayed probation or is under investigation.  This statement will have to be 
updated if more than 4 months old. 
 

REGIONAL BOARD SCORES:  If applying for licensure by examination, the applicant shall 
advise NERB or a similar testing agency to make his or her scores available to the Board online.  
Applicants must send scores from other regional boards directly to the Board’s office.  Passage of the 
written portion of NERB and passage of another regional board’s clinical examination with a score 
of 75% or better on each part of the examination is also acceptable. 
 

SPECIALTY TRAINING:  An official copy of your specialty training certificate bearing the 
registrar’s original signature and the school’s seal or a letter on school letterhead, sent directly by the 
school, if you intend to declare a dental specialty in New Hampshire. 

 
 CONTROLLED DRUG PRESCRIPTION HEALTH AND SAFETY PROGRAM (PDMP):  
 By June 30, 2015, all applicants who after licensure obtain a DEA number to prescribe schedule II-
 IV controlled substances are required to register with the PDMP within 90 days of the initial issuance 
 of a license pursuant to RSA 318-B:33, II and Ph 1503.01(a).  Once obtained, licensees shall provide 
 the DEA number to the Board.  Failure to register shall constitute professional misconduct within the 
 meaning of RSA 317-A:17, II and shall be grounds for disciplinary action.   
 
 

JURISPRUDENCE EXAMINATION 
 

After the application and all the supporting documents are received, the application file will be reviewed by 
the New Hampshire Board of Dental Examiners or its representative.  If the file is acceptable to the Board or 
its representative, the applicant will be notified that the application is complete and that the jurisprudence 
examination may be taken.  The applicant shall take a test on the contents of RSA 317-A Dental Practice Act, 
administrative rules Den 100 through Den 500, the American Dental Association’s Principles of Ethics and 
Code of Professional Conduct, and the American Dental Hygienists’ Association Code of Ethics for Dental 
Hygienists.   
 

REGISTRATION 
 

A registration fee in the amount of $335.00 is required at the time of licensure and each biennial registration 

thereafter.  Certified checks or money orders should be made payable to “TREASURER, STATE OF NEW 

HAMPSHIRE.”  If presented in person, the payment may be made in cash.  The biennial license period for 

dentists commences MAY 1st of even-numbered years.  Biennial registration requires that registration forms 
be mailed by the Board before February 15th of even-numbered years.  Licensees are required to report a 
change of business or residential address and phone number within 10 days of any change to the Board.  

Written notification to the Board is required. 
 

 

IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS OR NEED ASSISTANCE, PLEASE CONTACT THE BOARD’S 
ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICE AT THE ADDRESS OR TELEPHONE NUMBER ON THE FRONT 
SIDE OF THIS INFORMATION SHEET. 
 



 

NEW HAMPSHIRE BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS   
DENTIST APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE 

 
Examination/Endorsement application (circle one) to practice dentistry. 
 

False statements, knowingly made by the applicant, shall void any license issued.  All questions must 
be completed or this application will be returned or rejected. 
 

PRINT OR TYPE 
 

1.  Name in Full (first, middle, last)_______________________________________________________________ 
 
2.  Date of Birth (month, day, year)  ______________________________________________________________ 
 
3.  Place of Birth (city, county, state)  _____________________________________________________________ 
 
4.  Social Security Number  _____________________________________________________________________ 
 
5.  Have you ever been known by any other name?    yes  _____     no  _____    If yes, give other    
     name(s)  __________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

6.  Current address:  __________________________________________________________________________ 
                                   ___________________________________________________________________________ 
 
     Primary email address (either business or personal): _____________________ 
 
     Day Time Telephone:  _______________________________________________________________________ 
 
7.  Educational background: 
 
          College  ____________________________________________  Date of Graduation  __________________ 
 
 Degree, if any   __________________________________________________________________________ 
 
     Dental School(s)        Month and Year 
     __________________________________                           _________, _____ to ________, _____ 
 
     __________________________________  _________, _____ to ________, _____ 
 
     I received the degree of   ____________________ on ______________________________ 
      
     from ______________________________________________________________________ 
 
8.  Post Graduate Dental Program:  Type  _________________________________________ 
 
     Location  __________________________________________  Dates  _________________  
 
     Degree or Specialty Training Certificate  _______________________________________ 
 
9.  Have you taken and passed: 
 
 The National Board   yes  _____ no  _____ Year  ______ 
 The NERB (written)   yes  _____ no  _____ Year  ______ 
 The ADEX (clinical)   yes  _____ no  _____ Year  ______ 

Others (name) 
   ______________________  yes  _____ no  _____ Year  ______ 
   ______________________  yes  _____ no  _____ Year  ______ 
 
10.  Are you currently certified in CPR?       yes  _____     no  _____     (Please provide proof.) 
        By April 1, 2016, applicants shall be certified in basic life support for healthcare providers (BLS-HCP).

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY 
PAID $__________ 
 

CASH, CHECK OR MO # 
____________________ 
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11.  List all places where you have possessed a license to practice dentistry. 
       If none, so state:  ____________________________________________________________ 
 

      State and License No.  Issue Date Active/Inactive  Dates of Practice 
      ___________________ __________ ______________  ________________ 
      ___________________ __________ ______________  ________________ 
      ___________________ __________ ______________  ________________ 
      ___________________ __________ ______________  ________________ 
      ___________________ __________ ______________  ________________ 
 
12.  Professional Employment History 
 

 Dates    Location    Status (e.g., Military, 
           Residency, Private Practice) 
      From  ______  to ______ _________________________   
    _________________________  _________________________ 
 
      From  ______  to ______ _________________________   
    _________________________  _________________________ 
 
      From  ______  to ______ _________________________   
    _________________________  _________________________ 
 
      From  ______  to ______ _________________________   
    _________________________  _________________________ 
 

13.  Have you ever been convicted of any felony, misdemeanor, or driving under the influence of alcohol or 
drugs which has not been annulled?                  yes  _____     no  _____ 

 
14.  Have you ever been convicted of the illegal practice of dentistry?           yes  _____     no  _____ 
 
15.  Have you ever been denied dental licensure?         yes  _____     no  _____ 
 
16.   Have you ever been or are you currently subjected by a professional licensing body to any investigation 
        (excluding dismissed complaints), sanction, or disciplinary action including but not limited to probation   
        or stayed probation, limitation or restriction, fine, reprimand, or been required to submit to care,  
        counseling, supervision or further education?        yes  _____   no  _____ 
 
17.  Has your license to practice dentistry ever been revoked, suspended, placed under probation or stayed 
       probation, restricted, not renewed, voluntarily or involuntarily relinquished, or otherwise sanctioned, 
       or is currently under review in any jurisdiction or state?            yes  _____     no  _____ 
 
18.  a.  Do you have any physical or mental illness that impairs your ability to practice dentistry? 
      yes  _____     no  _____ 
 

       b. Has a health practitioner or mental health practitioner advised you that you have any physical or 
 mental illness that impairs your ability to practice dentistry?               yes  _____ no  _____ 
 
19.  Is your ability to practice dentistry impaired by an addiction to alcohol, narcotics, or other mind     
       altering drugs?           yes  _____ no  _____ 
 
20.  Have you ever had a DEA license that has been revoked, suspended, denied, placed on probation,  
       restricted or otherwise sanctioned by any state or federal licensing/regulatory board or agency, or which 
 is currently involved in an investigation or disciplinary process?           yes  _____ no  _____ 
 
21. Have you ever been or are you currently named as a party in any malpractice or professional liability claim 
 or lawsuit or is there any pending?       yes  ___ no  ___ 
 
22. Have your hospital privileges been revoked, suspended, restricted, denied, not renewed or involuntarily
 relinquished?      yes  _____     no  _____ 
 
If you have answered yes to questions 13 through 22, attach a statement explaining the circumstances fully. 
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23.  Do you have a DEA number to prescribe schedule II-IV controlled substances?   yes  ___   no  ___ 
 

           If yes, provide DEA number:          DEA # ___________________________ 
 
 Have you registered with the PDMP as required in RSA 318-B:33, II and Ph 1503.01 (a)?   
 

    yes  ___   no  ___  
                    
 
24.  Excluding pre-doctoral or specialty training, list the dental continuing education courses you have taken 
 during the last two (2) years.  If none, so state.  __________   (Please do not attach documentation.) 
 
Date  Course     Location   Hours 
 
_____________ __________________________________ ___________________________ ______ 
_____________ __________________________________ ___________________________ ______ 
_____________ __________________________________ ___________________________ ______ 
_____________ __________________________________ ___________________________ ______ 
_____________ __________________________________ ___________________________ ______ 
_____________ __________________________________ ___________________________ ______ 
_____________ __________________________________ ___________________________ ______ 
_____________ __________________________________ ___________________________ ______ 
_____________ __________________________________ ___________________________ ______ 

____________ _______________________________ _________________________ ______  
____________ _______________________________ _________________________ ______ 
 

 
STATEMENTS OF PROFESSIONAL CHARACTER 
(Statements from family members are not acceptable) 

 
Note:  If you have had previous employment as a dentist, at least 2 of the 3 signatures should be by a licensed 
dentist in good standing. 
 
We, the undersigned, are personally acquainted with _________________________________, named in this 
application, and recommend h____ as a person of good professional character. 
 
 
Signature:  ___________________________ Address:  _____________________________________ 
 
Printed Name:  ________________________ Occupation:  __________________________________ 
 
If a dentist, License # _____________, state _____ Length of time applicant known __________________ 
 
 
Signature:  ___________________________ Address:  _____________________________________ 
 
Printed Name:  ________________________ Occupation:  __________________________________ 
 
If a dentist, License # _____________, state _____ Length of time applicant known __________________ 

 
 
Signature:  ___________________________ Address:  _____________________________________ 
 
Printed Name:  ________________________ Occupation:  __________________________________ 
 
If a dentist, License # _____________, state _____ Length of time applicant known __________________
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EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS 

 
I certify that ____________________________________________  ATTACH PHOTOGRAPH 
                           (Name of Applicant) 
 
has attended the required courses in the study of dentistry and 
was graduated from: 
 
______________________________________________________ 
               (Name of Dental School) 
 
______________________________________________________ 
  (Date degree conferred) 
 
and the photograph attached is a likeness of 
 
_______________________________________________________ 
  (Name)       Photograph must be a passport 
         photo and not more than 6  
________________________________________________________  months old.  Seal of School must 
  (Signature of Dean, Registrar, or Secretary)  be impressed over a portion of 
         the photograph and a portion of 
________________________________________________________  the application.   
  (Date) 
 
 
 
 
 

STATEMENT BY APPLICANT 
(Must be sworn to before a notary public) 

 
I understand that by signing the application I am: 
 
1. Waiving any confidentiality regarding disclosure to the Board from any other jurisdiction about any pending 

complaints or action being taken against my license to practice dentistry. 
2. Giving consent for a criminal background check. 
 
 
I, _________________________________________________________________________________________,  
of full age, under the penalties for falsification pursuant to RSA 641:1 through RSA 641:3, state that I am 
the person referred to in the foregoing application, that I have carefully read the instructions given and questions 
asked in the application form, and that all statements made therein are true and correct as of  this 
 

__________________ of ______________________, 20____. 
              (day)                                      (month) 

      
__________________________________________________ 

       Signature of Applicant 
 
 
Sworn to before me and subscribed in my presence 
on this ______ day of ______________, 20___ 
_______________________________________ 
my commission expires:  ___________ 
 
 
 
           Adopted:  5-6-2015 


