New Hampshire Physical Therapy Governing Board
The site was developed to provide items of interest to licensees, applicants and consumers. It is our hope that the site is useful and informative. We invite you to contact the office with your comments, suggestions or further information on specific questions.
PASSING SCORES FOR THOSE WHO TOOK THE NATIONAL EXAM BEFORE 1996
An individual who took the National Exam before 1996 must achieve a passing score using a 1.5 deviation. The formula for calculating that score is as follows:
Standard Deviation shown on the score report X 1.5 = Total
Agerage Shown on the Score Report - Calculated Total = Passing Score
Raw Score (the score the tester received) must be higher than the calculated score to be a passing score in NH.
The above formula was adopted by the original members of the Physical Therapy Governing Board and has been the accepted standard since that adoption.
IMPORTANT NOTICE TO ALL
PHYSICAL THERAPIST AND PHYSICAL THERAPIST ASSISTANT
REGISTER AT www.fsbpt.org/JAM/NH.
Remember that New Hampshire licensed physical therapists and physical therapist assistants are required to complete the New Hampshire Jurisprudence Assessment Module each April, May, or June of years ending in "o" and "5". In addition, this is a requirement for licensure and reinstatement of licensure.
What is the New Hampshire Jurisprudence Assessment Module (NH JAM)? IT IS AN EXAMINATION
The JAM is an EXAMINATION and must be completed by the indivdual taking the exam. You may not take the examination in collaboration with any other indivduals. When you check the attestation you are swearing under penalty of perjury and disciplinary action pursuant to the Boards statutes and rules that you have not mechanically copied, hand copied, or reproduced the questions contained on the exam in any way, have not provided the exam to anyone else for review or copying, and you personally took the exam without the help of any other individual.The NH JAM* is an online learning and assessment tool consisting of 50 questions derived from the laws and administrative rules governing the practice of physical therapy in New Hampshire. NH JAM takers are allowed 1.5 hours to complete it and must answer 80% of the questions correctly to pass. The NH JAM is an “open-book” assessment, meaning that licensees are able to reference the laws and rules while taking the module. For convenience, takers will have access to the laws and administrative rules within the online NH JAM. Licensees are permitted as many attempts as necessary within the completion time frame but will have to pay for each attempt. It is advisable to review the laws and rules prior to taking the NH JAM.
Who must take the NH JAM?
All New Hampshire licensees must earn a passing score on the NH JAM as a requirement for renewal of licensure (Rule Phy 402.06.07 Jurisprudence Examination) in years ending in 0 and 5. In 2015, the designated period of time to pass the NH JAM is June 1 through August 31, 2015. Failure to complete the NH JAM with a passing score by August 31, 2015 shall result in an investigation by the New Hampshire Physical Therapy Governing Board and possible disciplinary action to your license. For more information contact the Board.
How to Register and Complete:
Registration will be available on www.FSBPT.org/JAM/NH beginning June 1, 2015. The NH JAM should be taken immediately after registering. If necessary, you may wait up to 48 hours after registration. Failure to complete the assessment within 48 hours will result in forfeiture of the registration fee. Please plan to register when you are assured you can complete it within the 48-hour period.
|June 1 through June 30, 2015||$40.00|
|July 1 through August 31, 2015||$48.00|
Please note that a 1.6% processing fee, rounded up to the nearest dollar, will apply. You must pay by Visa or Master Card at the time of registration. Fees are for the NH JAM only. Licensees must also go through the standard licensure renewal process required by the New Hampshire Physical Therapy Governing Board and pay the associated licensure renewal fees.
NH JAM takers will immediately receive a detailed score report indicating PASSED or FAILED, the total number and percent of questions answered correctly, and the number and percent of questions answered correctly within each content area (Consumer Advocacy, Patient Care Management, etc.). The score report also includes links to the sections of the laws, rules and regulations under which questions were answered incorrectly for the taker to review.
Please look for an update close to June 1 announcing the availability of the NH JAM.
*The NH JAM is developed and administered by the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy (FSBPT).
The Board is currently looking for 1 Public Member. If you are interested contact the Governors Office at 603-271-2121. If you would like information on the Boards functions contact Tina Kelley at 603-271-8389.
2 physical therapists who have actively engaged in the practice of physical therapy in this state for at least 3 years, 1 physical therapy assistant who has actively engaged in the practice of physical therapy in this state for at least 3 years, and 2 public members.
Available Seats on the Board
The Board is currently filled. Keep posted to this site for updates on openings for Board members.
The Board is looking for a New Hampshire licensed Physical Therapist volunteer their time to assist the Administrative Prosecutions Unit in investigations. The individual would serve as an expert in the field of physical therapy during various types of investigations.
Initial Licensure or Reinstatement of Licensure
To apply for an initial New Hampshire license or to reinstate a New Hampshire license, go to "Forms and Documents" and use our electronic submission feature to request an application packet or contact the Office of Licensed Allied Health Professionals at 603-271-8389 and request an application packet.
All physical therapy licenses expire on December 31st in every even-numbered year per New Hampshire Statute RSA 328-F:19. Depending on when your application is approved a license may be valid for a few months of the two-year cycle. Initial license fees are not pro-rated. Renewal notices are sent out from the office no later than October 15 of the renewal year. Continuing education requirements are dependent on initial and ongoing timelines of licenses.
Whether moving around New Hampshire or relocating to another state, every licensee is obligated to notify this office of any changes. Allied Health law RSA 328-F:21 states…" Licensees shall maintain their current business and home address on file with the applicable board. Any changes in address shall be provided to the office no later than 30 days from the date of the change." Keeping your file information current is your responsibility.