New Hampshire Genetic Counselors Governing Board
Under RSA 328-F the Board of Genetic Counselors was established with an effective date of July 1, 2013. At the same time RSA 326-K was established to create a pathway to license those individuals performing genetic counseling in the State of New Hampshire.
The Board invites you to contact the office with your comments, suggestions, or further information on specific questions.
The Board of Genetic Counselors consists of 5 members who serve a 3 year term. A Board member is only allowed to serve 2 consecutive 3 year terms. By New Hampshire Statute RSA 328-F:4 the Board must be comprised of the following 5 members.
3 licensed genetic counselors, who have actively engaged in the practice of genetic counseling in this State for at least 2 years, one practicing physician with experience in working with genetic counselors, and one public member. A Board member is only allowed to serve 2 consecutive 3 year terms.
Available Seats on the Board
The Board is currently looking for 1 Genetic Counselor member and 1 Public Member. The term is for 3 years. If you are interested contact Jennifer Kuzma in the Governors Office at 603-271-2121. For information regarding how the Board functions contact Tina Kelley at 603-271-8389.
Initial Licensure or Reinstatement of Licensure
The Board is currently working on rules that will establish a pathway for licensure and reinstatement of licensure. Keep posted to this web site for progress on those rules.
All Genetic Counselors licenses expire on December 31 in every odd-numbered years per New Hampshire Statute RSA 328-F:19. Depending on when your application is approved, a license may be valid for a few months of the two-year cycle. Initial license fees are not pro-rated. Renewal notices are sent out from the Office of Licensed Allied Health Professionals no later than October 15th of the renewal year.
Whether moving around New Hampshire or relocating to another state, every licensee is obligated to notify this office of any changes. Allied Health law RSA 328-F:21 states. .... "Licensees shall maintain their current business and home address on file with their governing boards. Any changes in address shall be provided to the Office of Licensed Allied Health Professionals no later than 30 days from the date of the change." Keeping your file information current is your responsibility.